PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from matthew l. buteyn
Other Reviews by this User
 
April 18, 2014 @ 12:59 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By
matthew l. buteyn

Beer Reviews
(96)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






no
user
photo

96
Beer Reviews from matthew l. buteyn
   

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ 4 ] [ ALL ]
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good
Good Good Great Good

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Stuffed Sandwich, San Gabriel, CA

This is a must stop if you are in the area. We walked in here back in '99 and noticed that he was pouring out of a paper cup, so I was forced to buy a gift set that included a glass. As fate would have it, it was Arrogant Bastard. I thank Stuffed Sandwich for exposing me to a fantastic beer.

(01/15/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! N/A Great Great

Establishment: Flying Saucer, Nashville, TN

Absolute best place for beer in Nashville. Great selection and atmosphere. The waitress we had was great, not sure what the earlier complaints were about.

(01/15/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Good Good

Establishment: Beer Sellar, Nashville, TN

With this many taps and the name of the pub, I expected more. There were quite a few taps, but many lame beers that you can get just about anywhere. They did have Rogue Dead Guy and Arrogant Bastard, so all was not lost.

(01/15/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Good Great

Establishment: Boscos Nashville Brewing Company, Nashville, TN

Very nice place and beer. My only regret is that we didn't get to sample the cask IPA.

(01/15/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Good Great

Establishment: Roman's Pub, Milwaukee, WI

Best tap selection in Milwaukee--no contest. Benno's isn't bad, but this place always has a cask ale and a variety of beers you won't find anywhere else.

(12/22/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good

Establishment: Brew City Barbeque, Milwaukee, WI

Very mediocre place for a beer snob. This is a college bar, nothing more.

(12/22/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So Great Good So So

Establishment: Water Street Brewery, Milwaukee, WI

The beer still sucks. For a brief moment in time about five years ago, they had a good brewmaster. Now it's back to crapola.

(12/22/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Hooligan's Super Bar, Milwaukee, WI

Not sure why anyone would ever give this place a "lousy" rating for any category. If I had to guess, I'd say that most of these reviews were from the same person or someone reviewed the wrong place. Even if you had a terrible time (which I never have), how do you rate thirty-some quality taps as lousy? Maybe someone tried to pick up a waitress and got shot down--I don't know. I can tell you that this is easily the best sports bar in Milwaukee. Don't let the reviews of a few fool you.

(11/17/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Great Good

Establishment: Mishawaka Brewing Company, Mishawaka, IN

The beer was average, but I consider this place worth a stop if you are looking for something in the area. If you want great beer, stop in Chicago, but if you're standards are quite as high, this isn't a bad option.

(10/21/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy So So N/A N/A So So

Establishment: Moosejaw Pizza and Brewing Company, Wisconsin Dells, WI

People here are easily satisfied. First of all, beer should never be served ice cold or served out of a frosty mug. This is the first indication that they are targeting their product for the trailor-dwelling masses. If you are looking for good beer, look elsewhere. These people are not serious about beer in any way.

(04/26/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great

Establishment: Flying Saucer, San Antonio, TX

A nice addition to the Flying Saucer chain. I wish they would open one in Milwaukee or Madison.

(01/12/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A Lousy N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Dick's Last Resort, San Antonio, TX

We checked the beer selection and left.

(01/12/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So N/A Good Good

Establishment: Durty Nellie's, San Antonio, TX

If you are looking for a good beer, go somewhere else. If you are on the Riverwalk and want to try an interesting place, give it a shot.

(01/12/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Blue Star Brewing Company, San Antonio, TX

We came down to watch the Badgers beat Colorado in the Alamo Bowl and drink good ales. The best beer we found in San Antonio was right here. Their cask pale ale was fantastic. It was so good, I never bothered to try anything else.

(01/12/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Good Great Great

Establishment: Ashley's, Ann Arbor, MI

This is a great beer bar, but I wish it was a bigger bar. There is very little room to sit at the bar, but the booth seating isn't bad. There is also a bar downstairs where you can get quite a few (but not all) of their beers. If you're looking to do some tasting, the sampler is a great option. This, along with Arbor Brewing, are two great options for fine ales in Ann Arbor.

(12/15/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A Good Good

Establishment: Leopold Brothers of Ann Arbor Brewery, Ann Arbor, MI

We stopped in after the Wisconsin-Michigan game and had a couple here. The beers were good, but the selection left a bit to be desired. For those who like ales, this might not be your place. From what I've seen, this is a lager-only brewpub. But if you are looking for a place near the stadium where you can find a few good beers before or after the game, this is a decent option.

(12/15/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Arbor Brewing Company, Ann Arbor, MI

I can't tell you about anything other than the cask IPA, because after having one, I didn't want to have anything else. This is a very cool brewpub. We finished our Badger roadtrip at this fine pub and thoroughly ejoyed ourselves. I wasn't expecting that much from Ann Arbor, but was happy to find some very beer-friendly establishments and this was the best of the bunch.

(12/15/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great

Establishment: Michigan Brewing Company, Webberville, MI

Holy crap, they're brewing Celis up here now! They bought the equipment and the rights to the product and are doing a pretty good job of it. I guess Piere himself is making sure they get it right. The only other local beer I tried was the IPA, which was very strong. The atmosphere leaves a bit to be desired (more of a glorified tasting room), but this is one of the better breweries I have encountered.

(10/28/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good

Establishment: Travelers Club Restaurant / Tuba Charlie's Brewpub, Okemos , MI

By comparison (to other establishments in the area), the beer selection here might be considered great. It wasn't bad, they had Arcadia IPA on tap and Bell's Two-Hearted. Other than that, there wasn't too much. This place seemed more like a diner than a pub. It is, however, very unique and worth a stop. Watch out for the stuff they brew--it is quite unique.

(10/28/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good

Establishment: Nuthouse, Lansing, MI

Not a bad place for a sports bar. The beer selection wasn't terrible--they had Bell's Amber on tap, but it wasn't great either. This is a decent sports bar with a few good beers, but not a beer bar.

(10/28/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Living Room, Madison, WI

The Living Room is closed and is now something else.

(09/05/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Great Great

Establishment: Spanish Peaks Brewing Company, Bozeman, MT

In response to Montana Beer Fan, I am quite aware that they own the brewery in California. The brewer that is currently brewing their beer helped them set it up. Before this they had their bottled beer contract brewed by Ranier and August Schell. Before that, it was brewed in Lacrosse. What was produced by Schell was usually better than what was brewed at the other two sites. What is brewed in California is not up to par with what was contract brewed nor what was brewed on site. Once they started selling the beer from California at the brewpub, one could easily notice the change. Just as a person can now tell it is brewed locally again. The local brewer was brewing four of their ales until the owners had a problem with licensing and needed him to brew all of them--let's just hope it continues. And please don't question my knowledge of the beer scene, you'll find I know more about beer than you can ever imagine.

(08/06/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Great Great

Establishment: Spanish Peaks Brewing Company, Bozeman, MT

Things are beginning to look up again at the Peaks. At the moment, all the beers are being brewed by the original brewmaster about four blocks from the restaurant. As long as the beers are produced locally, this brewpub retains its charm. If they ever revert back to shipping their beers in from California again, they will lose even more of their clientele. Hopefully, they have learned their lesson and will continue working with their original brewer.

(08/04/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So N/A Great So So

Establishment: Ram Restaurant and Brewery, Schaumburg, IL

I should have known as soon as the bartender reached for the frosty mug that this place was going to be another example of how lame chain brewpubs can be. The IPA I was forced to drink had absolutely no redeeming value. If you care about beer, go somewhere else.

(07/24/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Good Good So So

Establishment: Water Street Brewery - Lake Country, Delafield, WI

Water Street has never aimed too high on the beer chain. They appeal mostly to those who care far more about the food than the beer. Just look around and see how many idiots are drinking Miller Lite at the bar. If you are a beer snob, skip this place and head across the highway to the Delafield Brewhaus.

(06/20/2002)


Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ 4 ] [ ALL ]













(0.159 seconds) 00:59:12 54.205.59.78, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS