PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from mandy
Other Reviews by this User
 
November 23, 2014 @ 01:55 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By
mandy

Beer Reviews
(93)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






no
user
photo

93
Beer Reviews from mandy
   

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ 4 ] [ ALL ]
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good
Great Good Good Good

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Awesome! Great Great

Establishment: Wynkoop Brewing Company, Denver, CO

Food was great and service was great. I found myself a little underwhelmed with the beers -this place is well-regarded with the locals so it was high on our list to visit- They have about 10 beers on tap when we arrived and we tried all of them.

I was really looking forward to the Railyard Red which I had heard so much about, but I found it a little thin and mostly boring.

I think I was expecting a greater number of really excellent beers. The beers they did have were basically good and true to type, however the only really notable ones to me were the Chili Beer (difficult to brew without tasting absolutely horrible) and the B3K Schwarz Bier.

Wynkoop is fefinately worth a stop- try to hit it for lunch for a beer sampler, hummus plate, and the Gorgonzola Ale Soup.

(10/24/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Great Great

Establishment: Rock Bottom Brewery, Denver, CO

I have always been a fan of Rock Bottom; the food is consistently good and while the beers vary by location I have found them to be solid and true to type at a minimum. Most every location has at least one really outstanding beer and here at Denver 16th Street its got to be the Molly Titanic Brown Ale and/or the Red Rocks Red.

(10/24/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great N/A Good N/A

Establishment: Pumphouse Brewery, Longmont, CO

Great beer selection and all of the beers were good, nothing outstanding. The Copper Ale is however notable, and worth the stop.

(10/24/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great N/A Good Great

Establishment: Odell Brewing Company, Fort Collins, CO

Worth a stop on the Ft. Collins Brewery Tour; when we arrived here this place was absolutely jammed. The beers they offered were solid and true to type, most notable to me was the IPA (which 2 days after my visit took gold this year at the GABF for American Style IPA- congrats).

(10/24/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: New Belgium Brewing Company, Fort Collins, CO

For someone who hates the cold and snow, visiting New Belgium makes me wish I lived in Ft. Collins.

This place is sacred to beer lovers- I have been trying to get here for years. Beautiful facility, fantastic staff, and outstanding tasting room. You can taste the normal beers that they distribute (including sunshine wheat and fat tire) and a couple dozen or so other specialty and seasonable beers.

The brewers here are artists in the truest sense of the word. The staff was friendly and knowledgeable- the ambience here is fun and festive, you can't not have a great time. Every beer I had here was terrific.

I am sure they don't serve food here because if they did people would never ever leave (myself included). I'll be back.

(10/24/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Great Awesome!

Establishment: Great Divide Brewing Company, Denver, CO

I think this was my favorite brewery stop on our tour of Denver/Boulder/Ft. Collins (tied with New Belgium). Beautiful little tasting room in downtown Denver. They had a great selection on tap when we visited. I was most impressed with the rice brewed beer (Samurai), The Fresh Hop IPA, the Hercules Double IPA (which was very similar to the Foothills Brewery Double IPA) and the Yeti Stout (probably my favorite). I could have spent the weekend sitting in this tasting room. Great Divide is a must stop in Denver. I can't wait to go back.

(10/24/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A N/A Good

Establishment: Fort Collins Brewery, Fort Collins, CO

A small brewery with a little tasting room. I liked the ambiance of the tasting room and the patio. They offered a respectable array of beers for sampling, but none really stick out. For some reason when we were here they would only give you one 2 ounce sample at a time as opposed to giving you samples all together for you to sample as you prefer. If you are up in Fort Collins touring the breweries, I recommend a stop, but don't expect the experience to be on par with O'Dell or New Belgium. I think they are still pretty young, I will be interested to stop back in a couple years from now and see how they've grown.

(10/24/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Good Good Good

Establishment: Denver ChopHouse and Brewery, Denver, CO

This place is a chophouse above all, I think the brewery part is mostly a gimmic. None of their beers were very good, but the food and service on our visit was excellent. I recommend this place for dinner, but not a stop on a brewery tour of Denver.

(10/24/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Good Good

Establishment: Avery Brewing Company, Boulder, CO

Avery is definately hard to find, tucked back in an industral area but it's worth the trip. Nice little tasting room (it was jammed when we stopped by). A great selection on tap and all the beers were great.

(10/24/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great N/A Good Good

Establishment: Breckenridge Brewery and BBQ, Denver, CO

We made a point to get over to Breckenridge during our trip to Denver for Great American Beer Festival. The brewery itself has a great setup, I loved that you can sit up front by the windows with a view of Coors Field. They have about 15 different brews available including a couple of guest taps. While the selection was good, the Breckenridge beers themselves were only "good" none I would consider outstanding or noteworthy.

(10/24/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Good So So So So

Establishment: William D. Alandale Brewing Company, Kirkwood, MO

First things first, I find it surprising that a brewpub would not offer beer samplers. They will bring you a little taster of a specific beer if you ask, but they do not have the option of getting a sampler tray of each beer.

We went for a late lunch on a Wednesday, so the place was fairly empty and service was fine. The food was pretty good, the portion sizes are huge. While they offered a selection of about 8 beers, none of us were particularly impressed with any of them, I thought they were drinkable yet unremarkable.

Too many excellent micros brewed in St. Louis, it's a tough market to break into. I wouldn't go out of my way for the beer here.

(08/28/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So N/A Good Good

Establishment: Jack Of The Wood / Green Man Brewery, Asheville, NC

We were here on New Years Eve and since it was New Years Eve they were only serving in plastic and therefore didn't have the beer samplers available. Too bad. I had the IPA and the Pale Ale; they were incredibly similar, the only difference is probably the additional final hop- but they were quite good. I believe they had only 5 beers available at the time. This is a cool place to just hang out, got a lot of character. Worth checking out.

(01/03/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good So So Good

Establishment: Asheville Pizza and Brewing Company, Asheville, NC

I think we hit this place at a bad time. They were completely mobbed. Trying to eat on the Salad/Pizza bar was an adventure. There was no pizza or no plates. But, the beer was good.

They had 8 different beers on tap and all except th stout were quite good, most notable the Shivia IPA, Scottish Ale, and ESB.

If you are in Asheville looking to sample the local brews this stop is a must on your list.

(12/30/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Good Good

Establishment: Asheville Pizza and Brewing Company, Asheville, NC

I think we hit this place at a bad time, it was completely mobbed. The places seems really unorganized, trying to eat from the pizza buffet was an adventure. Either there was no pizza or no places. They didn't seem to be able to keep up on the salad fixin' either. But the beer is good! We samples the current drafts, had I believe 8. Most notable were: Shivia IPA, Scottish Ale, and the ESB. The rest were all pretty good as well, the only beer I did't care for was the stout. If you are in touring Asheville and looking for the good local brews, inspite of the chaos, the beer makes this place worth the stop.

(12/30/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Good Great

Establishment: Triple 7 Brewpub, Las Vegas, NV

I have to agree with most of the previous posts, this place is a diamond in the rough. I have been to the Main Street Casino before, it is what it is. But now, with the Triple 7s Brewery, I will definately be back every time I am in Vegas. They had 6 beers on tap: Pale Ale, Double IPA, Porter, Red, Golden and a seasonal Pumpkin Ale. The pumpkin ale is horrible. Every other beer was above average to fantastic. I hate Porters as a style generally, but theirs was great- tasted less bitter and more like a stout. The Red, Pale Ale, and Double IPA were excellent, very drinkable. The golden was even above average. If you are into beer, I would rate this a must on the Vegas Brewery circuit. I will definately be back. Oh yeah, and while your gambling they will typically bring you beers free, at the Main Street they will actually bring you pints of the Triple 7s beers.

(11/08/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So N/A Good Good

Establishment: Sin City Brewing Company, Las Vegas, NV

I didn't get to actually go to the brewery proper, we went to the little brewpub at the Mircle Mile Shops (Planet Hollywood). They have 4 beers on draft; we tried the Oktoberfest and the Stout. The Oktoberfest was above average, but the Stout was really great. Light, with some coffee notes. Great beer and that light type of stout you can drink a lot of.

(11/08/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Great

Establishment: Amos Howard's Restaurant and Brew Works was Olde Hickory, Hickory, NC

Absolutely worth a stop. Had dinner and a sampler here- I believe there were 11 beers in all, including 3 seasonals. The majority of the beers were true to type and quite good. Food was fantastic, they even have a Vegetarian menu section. Service was great.

(09/24/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Good Awesome!

Establishment: Square One Brewery, Saint Louis, MO

Opening a brewery in St. Louis is not an easy feat- and Square One has pulled it off beautifully. Sister brewery to Augusta Brewing Company, Square One is located on Lafayette Square. Beautiful interior and patio area, great food, and terrific beer. It's been added to my revisit list whenever I am in St. Louis.

(07/03/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good

Establishment: Top of the Hill Restaurant and Brewery, Chapel Hill, NC

Nothing too spectacular; the IPA and Saison were very good, everything else was a little over average.

(04/30/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Liberty Steakhouse, High Point, NC

Definately worth a stop. They had a fantastic variety of beers on tap when we were there (11 I believe) and all were true to form and at least above average. Food was great as well.

(02/04/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A Great Great Good

Establishment: Hilton Head Brewing Company, Hilton Head Island, SC

This place is tough to find, call for directions. We stopped in there on 12/29 and found out they had just reopened after being closed for months. A new owner had bought the place, kept the name, updated the interior and brought in a new brewer. When we were there they said they had only been open for about 2 weeks. They were still brewing their beer so they had nothing available on tap. We did get to try the Palmetto Breweing Company Beer (the Pale and Amber, the Pale is fantastic). Service was good, food was great (try the wings). We're just going to have to make a trip back later to taste the beer.

(01/02/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Palmetto Brewing Company, Charleston, SC

I think it's important to say this location is where they actually brew. It was closed when we were there, but it's doesn't look like they offer tastings or anything else. So if you are looking to try their beer, hit the local pubs.

(01/02/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy So So Lousy Lousy Lousy

Establishment: Southend Brewery and Smokehouse, Charleston, SC

Wow. Yeah I walked into this eyes wide open. I check this place out on Pubcrawler before we went and although the beer didn't get great reviews the food seemed to be okay and since we were meeting non-beer drinking family, we thought we'd go here and give it a shot. Wow. The beer was all horrible. All 8 of them. The food was awful. The only thing at the table that anyone had that was any good was the She Crab Soup. The service was terrible. The location is wonderful downtown near the harbor in an old historic building. Swing through for the soup but don't bother with anything else.

(12/30/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! N/A Great Great

Establishment: Mash House Restaurant and Brewery, Fayetteville, NC

Very impressed with Mash House. Great beers, everything was true to form and well above average. The stout and hefe were especially good- great place, nice atmosphere and terrific service. Didn't have the chance to dine here, but we'll be back.

(12/30/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Lousy N/A Good Lousy

Establishment: Huske Hardware House Brewing Company, Fayetteville, NC

Stopped in yesterday and was terribly disappointed. All of the beer was horrible. They only had 4 on draft, the sampler consists of 5, so the bartender told us he'd give us a second sample of whichever we liked the best. They were so bad we didn't even get a last sample. No hops at all all were very falt. Three of the four tasted exactly the same, and can only be described as dishwater. The place has a great atmosphere I will say.

(12/30/2006)


Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ 4 ] [ ALL ]













(0.462 seconds) 01:55:20 54.211.219.68, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS