PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from mw
Other Reviews by this User
 
April 19, 2014 @ 07:36 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By
mw

Beer Reviews
(7)

Restaurant Reviews
(1)






no
user
photo

7
Beer Reviews from mw
   
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great
Great Good Great Good

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Great

Establishment: Tampa Bay Brewing Company, Tampa, FL

Tampa Bay Brewing is a great BrewPub. It is more than a one story ugly strip mall. Ybor City is the historic area of Tampa. No way is it a Strip Mall, as one reviewer claimed. We have been to TBB a several times on every visit to Tampa. The service and Ales and food seem better every time we go. The last time we went our server was a young man who immigrated to this country with his family years ago. He made our dinner enjoyable. My daughter and wife do not enjoy the BrewPub experience like I do. But they do like Tampa Bay Brewing. That is saying a lot. My daughter and wife can make eating out a difficult choice. When in Tampa they are always willing to go. A word of caution: If you have a family of younger ones, go before 8:00 p.m. The twenty somethings come out at that time. They go bar hopping and the language at times can damage young ears.

(12/30/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Awesome! Great

Establishment: Legends of Notre Dame Alehouse, Notre Dame, IN

Food has always been very consistent. Good-Great but not Awesome. Recently they have changed their beer selection on the draught side to a more domestic taste. Got rid of some of the best ales they had on tap...Alpha King/Downtown Brown, e.g. I started going to Legends because of the selection of Micros on tap. It was the best in the area. Their current election of brews on tap does not cover the palate well. No good Porter or IPA. Now at least five/six of their taps are allocated to Upland, which includes Legends Ales(made by Upland). I have yet to have a good Beer/Ale from Upland. When I think about it, Upland microbrews are the worst I've tasted. They do have cooler lines from the keg to the tap, beer is chilled. Service is always great. Very knowledgeable and friendly staff. Go for a visit, you'll go back.

(06/17/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A Lousy So So Lousy

Establishment: , ,

My wife wanted to take me to lunch. Villa Macri was the place she wanted to go, as it has just moved and is in a new building. Villa Macri has several rooms where it is possible for the hostess to sit a customer. One is a sports bar type setting, another is a large sunroom facing south, the bar area, outside patio and I guess, the Martini room, which we did not see. She sat us in the sports bar without asking us our preference where we might want to sit. It was a dark and not a pleasant room ( well maybe when the sky is grey, snowing outside and college football is being played) . We ended up moving ourselves to the patio, outside the sunroom area, to enjoy the sunny day. Our waitress did not know the beer prices, telling us they were priced from $4.00 to $8.00. I ended up having to go to the bar and find out the price of beer and order my own beer. It was apparently to much for her to do. Prior to moving this spring of 2008, Macri's was a casual sports bar type setting, with decent food and reasonable prices. It is now trying to be very upscale without the servers, food or details to warrant the increase in prices. The old Macri's had much more friendly and knowledgeable servers. The sandwiches my wife and I had were the worst sandwiches we have eaten in years. Subway or McDonald's does a much better job. The cold slaw that came with the sandwich was runny and nasty. Cigarette butts littered the ground on the patio. The microbrew I ordered was starting to go sour. Between the Buns, Mancino's, Martin's deli or Legends at ND is a much better value and the food is better! Save your money and enjoy yourself and go elsewhere!

(06/17/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Turtle Mountain Brewing Company, Rio Rancho, NM

On a Saturday afternoon, traffic on Rio Rancho roads leading to Turtle Mountain Brewing is horrible. Be advised. It is probably as bad or worse during rush hour. That's the bad, everything else about Turtle Mountain was Great. I had second thoughts about visiting TMB while driving through Rio Rancho, struggling with the traffic, thinking it was a small strip mall establishment with mediocre brews. Was all the bumper banging going to be worth the trip? TMB is on a short street, not well signed, causing me to drive by and miss the turn a couple of times. Parking was somewhat a problem, but was accomplished. Once inside TMB, I was impressed. It is spacious, clean and there is a big outdoor patio. Unfortunately, it is on the patio where the smokers hang out. No smoking inside. Had a couple of Ale pints and taste tests. All the Brews were excellent. Serving staff was very informal in their dress and the way they carried themselves. The server was very helpful in describing the beer/ale. Food and service was very good. Want to visit again when in Albuquerque.

(11/09/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A Great Good

Establishment: Ska Brewing Company, Durango, CO

Ska does not serve food at the tasting room.(they do have popcorn) Not all their brews are on tap. Depends on the what they have most recently brewed and availability. They are currently building an additional brewery with an expanded tasting room. Current tasting room is small and homey. Although Ska's brews are good I don't think the taste of their brews are keeping up with the best of the small brewers. ESB and True Blond are very good, but they do not always have these brews on tap in their tasting room. Many of the clientele are local and very friendly. Almost always have a daily special and and prices are low in comparison to some of the establishments in Durango. Definitely worth a visit or more.

(11/06/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Awesome!

Establishment: Carver Brewing Company, Durango, CO

Visit Durango at least once a year. This is the best Brew Pub in Durango. Always visit Carver's several times when there. Atmosphere, food and friendliness also excellent. In the summer sitting out on the back patio in the evenings is extremely enjoyable. Their brews are always very good and consistent in taste. Durango has another Brew Pub and a number of Restaurants and Bars that sell Micro Brews. Carvers is by far the most relaxing. When I have been in Durango, Carver's never has brew specials and sometimes the prices are a little higher than the other establishments. Very clean.

(11/06/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Awesome! Good

Establishment: Silverton Brewery, Silverton, CO

Visited in Sept. 2007 and met the original brew master who migrated to Silverton from Indiana. He was nice enough to give me a tour of the brewery. The brewing room was small and a work in progress, yet impressive. He really seemed to understand the brewing process to the point of being artistic with his brew creations. Among the topics we discussed was the effect of altitude on the brewing process. Had the Porter and Red Ale. Both were very good. Was surprised at the quality due to the small size of the brewery, its off-beaten path and newness. This is not a fancy establishment. At lunch, there were no locals in the Brewery Restaurant, only tourists off the Train.

(11/06/2007)














(0.063 seconds) 07:36:02 54.196.23.239, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS