PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from muzzlehatch
Other Reviews by this User
 
August 22, 2014 @ 10:51 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By
muzzlehatch

Beer Reviews
(52)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






no
user
photo

52
Beer Reviews from muzzlehatch
   

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ ALL ]
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good
Good Good Good Good

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Great Great

Establishment: Dark Horse Brewing Company, Marshall, MI

This is a really nice little hippie-bar that just happens to make its own beer. My friends and I had pizza and played Scrabble on the back patio while drinking an excellent Tripel, very good IPA and surprisingly decent Raspberry Wheat. Great to see a place like this in an otherwise fairly nondescript area.

(07/26/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good

Establishment: Marietta Brewing Company, Marietta , OH

This is a very nice little brewpub in a beautiful old antibellum town on the Ohio river...if you're visiting for a little while, make sure to stay at the Lafayette Hotel and take a good long stroll around town. The brewpub is housed in an old storefront, with the brewing equipment right in the window. Lovely long copper bar, airy yet intimate enough seating. Beer is all decent, with the Scotch Ale worth a trip, and food is fine. This place doesn't knock my socks off, but it's amazingly good for a small-town brewpub in an area not exactly known for sophisticated tastes.

(07/23/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So N/A Good So So

Establishment: Harrison's Brewing Company, Orland Park, IL

While I totally appreciate the last poster's view on being happy to have anything in Orland Park (a more soulless community would be hard to find)...do you have to go to a crappy brewpub that's 5 minutes away when you could go to a great one (Flossmoor) that's not that much further? I am not exaggerating when I tell you that when my buddies and I visited after a wedding a few weeks ago, we were the only people in the place that didn't have fake tans, fake smiles and drive SUVs. Most of the women looked like they had implants. This is a soulless, shallow yuppie pickup bar, a cookie-cutter "brewpub" because "brewpubs" are "cool", that serves beer that's little better than Heineken. Hit Flossmoor or 3 Floyds if you want real beer S of Chicago, or go into the city. If you want to get blitzed and pick-up a perfectly-groomed hot chick with nothing upstairs, this is the place for you.

(07/22/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Awesome! Great

Establishment: Carlyle Brewing Company, Rockford, IL

I can't say much more than what "The Enemy" just below me has already posted. This is the closest brewpub to where I grew up (Clinton, WI, about 25 miles away), so I looked forward to it with longing and trepidation...I expected little, and it delivered far more than I'd believed it could. First, they didn't have a "light" though I suppose the honey beer was close enough...second it was dark and corner-bar-like, very inviting I thought...third the service was great, very friendly, informative and involved...and fourth the beer overall was above average and well-made. Nothing amazing, mind you, though the stout was worth making a trip for; they need to have more food, and get the word out! I hope this place is the start of a downtown Rockford renaissance! A man can dream.

(07/21/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So So So Good So So

Establishment: Milwaukee Ale House, Milwaukee, WI

I wish that there was a field in these ratings for "ambience" because if so, the Milwaukee Ale House would get one high number from me. This is one of the best-looking converted-warehouse-to-brewpub jobs I've ever seen, maintaining a distinct shopworn look yet having all the modern conveniences...and it's a huge place with two distinct balcony levels overlooking the river. That's cool. What's not cool is the beer, which apart from a very good Hefe was all mediocre, and the food, a really really lame pizza in my case. Service was fine, but this was a real disappointment, I'd read all kinds of good things on another site about it. Well, it wasn't so bad that it's not worth one more shot, so perhaps I'll re-review in the future...

(07/21/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Good Great

Establishment: Lancaster Brewing Company, Lancaster, PA

Two visits, in April and July of 2004. Overall I've found the beers to be excellent, especially the famous milk stout and the pils, which must be had on tap, very fresh...it's one of the best N American pils. Food was decent on the first visit (some kind of fish I think), awesome the next (lamburger)...service a little slow, though friendly both times. Nice ambience; its a typical old converted factory/warehouse, but they did it right. Great seasonal selections, if I lived less than 10 hours away I'd visit often.

(07/21/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Lousy So So Good So So

Establishment: Govnor's Public House, Lake in theHills, IL

I have to admit, I was a bit prejudiced against this place before I walked in...the tract-housing-dominated suburban setting, surrounded by malls and Applebees and the like is really anathema to me. I can't imagine living in a place like this. But the brewpub is huge and kinda cool-looking. Sure it's faux-English pub on a mammoth scale but for some reason that's neat. Alas, first impression was right here. It's bad. Benefit of the doubt on "quality" because the beers were ok for what they were, but a lamer selection couldn't be found. Fruit beer, hefe, cream ale, light, and a stout that was hardly that. Food was extremely greasy and rather bland. Everybody seemed to be smoking, so tasting beer and food was difficult (I sat outdoors). The NW suburbs really need a brewpub that's not aimed at dumb yuppies with kids in tow.

(07/20/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good

Establishment: Moosejaw Pizza and Brewing Company, Wisconsin Dells, WI

Given what I would expect to find in a hideous artificial tourist sinkhole like Wisconsin Dells, this is actually pretty good. The beers were, to my palate, generally competent, unspectacular, but quite drinkable. You can sample all 10 on a cool Wisconsin-shaped platter. The Dunkel was the best, Pils and Blonde Bock were nice as well. Food: I had a taco pizza, odd choice I suppose but not at all bad. Friendly, efficient service. Hey, this is one of those times I'm not looking for "the best" and I didn't get it, but it was a nice pit stop on the road to the Twin Cities and I've certainly met worse, much worse food and beer in my travels.

(07/19/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Barley John's Brew Pub, New Brighton, MN

I'm a tough critic, and it's hard for me to fathom the ass-kissing that often goes on here, but I've got to give this place some love. I recently did a 21-day, 25+ brewpub, 200+ beer tour of the midwest/middle Atlantic and this place stands out as #1. The Dark Knight Imperial Porter would probably be among the top 20 beers out of the 2000 or so I've tried lifetime, and every other beer (except maybe the Stockyard IPA) was well above average for style. Fabulous Maibock, great Bitter, a Mild that almost gets me to liking the style, a Brown that belies the general boring nature of that style...I could go on. If you're into a good time, I'd hit Town Hall first in the Twin Cities -- no disrespect meant to that fine brewpub -- but if you are really serious about beer and want creativity and fearlessness in your drinking experiences, hit this place above the others. It's that good. And we got some free samples, to boot, despite not ordering food and it being a bit busy.

(07/19/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Lousy Good Good So So

Establishment: Bricktown Brewery and Blackwater Grill, Dubuque , IA

Cool-looking place; yeah, it's a typical factory-turned brewpub, but it's huge and nicely restored. Service reasonably attentive, food (I just had some crab-artichoke dip) was fine...but the beer was basically awful. Only five drafts, and the root beer that came with the sample was better than any of the "real" beers. Scottish ale drinkable, the rest generally off and sourish, with minimal flaovr and hops. Might be worth hitting for a meal if you have some reason to be in Dubuque, but forget the beer.

(07/19/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So Lousy So So So So

Establishment: Front Street Brewery, Davenport, IA

Early in the week, yes. I popped in for some quick samples and a little dinner. My ahi tuna sandwich tasted microwaved, and the lettuce and tomato were inedible. My server was bored and careless, it took absolutely forever to get water. Guess I didn't look like a high roller from the casino across the way. Beers were mediocre-to-terrible with the exception of the Raging River, a decent little English pale type. Nice atmosphere, boring beer list, hey it's a midwest casino town, what do you expect?

(07/19/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Awesome! Good Great

Establishment: McKenzie Brew House, Glen Mills, PA

I was a little disappointed, as I had expected great things (from comments by others on Ratebeer and Beeradvocate, primarily). The ambiance is surburban huge new ugly "American Brewpub 2000", I don't know how to describe; I've seen several brewpubs that look exactly like this in ugly suburban areas. The beer was mostly just ok, though I haven't yet had any of the three (well-rated) bottles I bought. Service was fine; what saved the evening was the food which was one of the best brewpub meals I've had: flawless rare sesame-crusted salmon, black rice, well prepared veggies. I'd certainly recommend, but I'm guess the best beer is in the bottles you'll take home

(05/30/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Great Good

Establishment: Nodding Head Brewery and Restaurant, Philadelphia, PA

Nice place. Old, narrow building with the brewpub on the second floor. The room at the top of the stairs is the barroom, and it's quite loud and boisterous. To your left is the dining room, more subdued but still hopping. Fairly dark, with a patina of age and memory over everything...ambiance is really something for a citylover. I liked the food quite a bit, mussels were excellent as was the salad. Fairly basic menu, but everything our group had was fine. Beer was hardly outstanding, but the 11% Kung Fu Grip (Belgian strong ale) was very nice and nothing was bad. Seemed expensive to me, but it was our first night in Philly and we soon learned that it was far from exceptional pricewise. I'd recommend it.

(05/30/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Good Good

Establishment: Lake Placid Pub and Brewery, Lake Placid, NY

I've only ever been in the divey, locals-heavy bar area in the basement, and can't say I'm terribly impressed with the ambience....it always depresses me to go into a place that brews its own beers and see every patron besides myself drinking Bud, Coors, etc. Why do you even have this crap? The beer is pretty good, a bit better IMHO than that of Great Adirondack downtown...but the experience on the whole is lacking I feel. Feel free to ream me out now as I know only "Awesome" reviews are tolerated on PC.

(04/13/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Good Good Good

Establishment: Great Adirondack Brewing Company, Lake Placid, NY

My first visit in a couple of years; clam chowder & fries very good, and everything I saw while greedily eyeing others' tables looked good. Prompt, friendly service, nice Northwoods atmosphere, but the beer alas is just OK. The Wee Heavy & Smoked Porter were decent, but very by-the-numbers, and everything else was mediocre. Still worth visiting in summer, sitting on the patio & taking in the people.

(04/13/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Great Awesome!

Establishment: Dieu du Ciel!, Montreal, QC

The best brewpub (of 49 in the USA and Canada to date) that I have ever visited; I'm not even sure what the closest competition would be. The coffee Imperial Stout, Peche Mortel, is a world classic; Route des Epices (black pepper beer) is almost as good, the Belgians and Scotch Ales have been excellent .. really I don't think I've had a bad beer yet out of nearly 20. Food is Montreal bar food; I've had good little pizzas, mostly; service efficient if a bit reserved. Just around the corner for Sgt. Recruteur which I've never been able to get to, because DDC is so extraordinary. No non-smoking section of course (this is Quebec) but ventilation must be pretty good because I've never had a significant problem. I would consider moving to Montreal just to live nearer this masterful establishment.

(02/09/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So Good Good Good

Establishment: Maple Leaf Malt and Brewing, Wilmington, VT

Update, February 2004. Not being an NFL fan at all and wanting to get away from the Pats frenzy I did the natural -- went brewpub hopping. I knew I'd end up at McNeills (no TV!) but decided to check this place out again first. I must say I was pleasantly surprised. There were only 3 house beers on tap, alas, which our server explained was due to "grain problems." What the...? Luckily, 2 of the 3 were good choices, the English Special being something of a high-test ESB, and the Barley Wine a very sweet, smooth, "aged" example of the style. The Black Diamond (Imperial) Stout alas tasted flawed, spoiled milk or something like that. Food was nothing special, your basic brewpub fare, but cheap and quickly served. On the whole, a much better time than I had last year; I'd say, go for the stronger, more adventurous stuff and you'll have a better time than if you try the brown ales, pales, etc.

(02/02/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So Good Good So So

Establishment: Latchis Grille and Windham Brewery, Brattleboro, VT

The Windham Brewery is indeed up and running again, and you can get their beers at the Lucca Bistro, in the basement of the Latchis Hotel. I'm not sure that its worth it coming here just for the beers, which were just ok -- the Pale and IPA would be the only ones I'd order again from the 6 samples I had; and the food seems pricey, though pretty good. But McNeills is just around the corner and up the street, so why not hit both?

(02/02/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So Good So So So So

Establishment: O'Callagh was Original Saratoga Springs Brewery, Saratoga Springs, NY

Took us a long time to get seated; our server, though perky & friendly, had absolutely no knowledge of beer and wasn't the quickest to help us. Food was decent, I think we mostly had pastas. Beer ranged from terrible (not surprisingly, the raspberry wheat) to drinkable (the porter). I always say, you know you're in trouble when a brewpub has neither an IPA or a stout on the menu, and this place didn't. Skip it.

(01/30/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good

Establishment: Hereford and Hops, Wausau, WI

Surprisingly solid large brewpub on the outskirts of Wausau. I say "surprising" because the name and the appearance (faux-rustic Northwoodsy hunting lodge) led me to believe this was going to be a place that focused on mammoth portions of comfort foods with beer for Coors Lite drinkers. I was pleasantly mistaken, as the beers were mostly pretty decent, distinct from one another, and obviously the products of a brewer that is trying to make real beer and not just please the ill-informed "give me your lightest" types. The Kolsch, Hefe and Bohemian Pils were all nice, the Black Springs Stout very good, service quite speedy and friendly, and the food solid if unspectacular. I'd go again.

(01/30/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good N/A So So So So

Establishment: J.T. Whitney's Brewpub and Eatery, Madison, WI

Sat at the bar with me brother. Boring sports bar/family restaurant kind of atmosphere, bad 80s music on the soundsystem. The Old Ale was pretty good, and judging from some of the other stuff they've done (Imperial Stout, Dark Alt, Barley Wine, Smoked), the brewer has talent and creativity; but alas I only saw it in that one example of the 8 I tried. Porter was decent, the rest poor to mediocre. Slow disinterested service. From what I've read, this place has had many ups and downs over the years; perhaps I just caught it at a bad time. I'm sure I'll hit it again, I'm in Madison a couple of times a year at least; but for now it's a distant third to Angelic and Great Dane.

(01/30/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Good Good Good

Establishment: Grumpy Troll Restuarant and Brewery, Mount Horeb, WI

The beer selection looked good: rye bock, spiced ale, kolsch; but alas, the beers did not live up. All of the samples I had were fairly dry, low in hops, thinnish, lacking in sweetness. Food was decent, I just had a burger, nothing much to say about it. Typical brewpub/sportsbar atmosphere in an old restored building. Pretty mediocre overall, but still its nice to see a brewpub in a little town like New Glarus. The Mustard Museum (and store) is a mandatory visit, just about a block away, so this is worth a stop if you're in town for that.

(01/30/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So N/A Good So So

Establishment: Seven Barrel Brewery, West Lebanon, NH

I had the set of six samples, which I wouldn't recommend. I think I've finally figured out that less than 4 oz samplers, served in tiny little mugs as these were, just don't give you a reasonable approximation. I'm saying all of this in part because this pub's "big sister", Vermont Pub and Brew, has become one of my favorites and so I wanted to give this place a fair shake. As at the VT Pub, the porter was one of the better efforts, but it really wasn't distinctive here. Nothing stood out, though nothing was awful either. I'll probably get there again and just have one or two full-sized beers. Certainly, I've been to plenty of worse places.

(01/30/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Awesome! Great

Establishment: Flying Goose Brewpub and Four Corners Grill, New London, NH

This is one of those brewpubs with a vast number of selections (see Great Dane in Madison, WI and Dieu du Ciel in Montreal also for comparison), with the lighter, less complex (top of the beer menu, usually) stuff geared towards macro drinkers and the more interesting, stronger, and seasonal stuff really showing what the brewer is capable of doing. In this case, quite a lot! The barley wine is stellar, Treaty of 1914 Stalt (dry stout) very good, Strong Brown and IPA both well worth trying. The light, regular Brown, Pale, you can skip. They're made for people who think Bud is as flavorful as they need. The food (I just had a fish sandwich) was good, awesome view of the mountains, nice little conversation with the brewer, and the prices were very reasonable. Support this excellent young brewer!!

(01/30/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Switchback Brewing Company, Burlington, VT

I live a few blocks from the brewing company, and wish that I was more impressed thus far. Most of the pints of Switchback that I've had (at Three Needs and Ken's Pizza) have had a rather sour, soapy aftertaste. I've had it enough times, and had enough other pints at these establishments, to have to conclude that it's the beer. OK peachy/hoppy/smoky flavors at the front, but inconsistent overall. The brewer certainly needs to come up with a couple more beers if he wants to compete in this local-beer-saturated market. I'll certainly give any upcoming new beers a chance.

(01/30/2004)


Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ ALL ]













(0.193 seconds) 22:51:41 54.196.199.118, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS