PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from murray
Other Reviews by this User
 
September 20, 2014 @ 05:22 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By
murray

Beer Reviews
(12)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






no
user
photo

12
Beer Reviews from murray
   
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome!
Great Good Great Great

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Good Great

Establishment: Oggi's Pizza and Brewing Company, Vista, CA

Oggi's in Vista is probably the most underrated North San Diego County brewery. The standard beers are good, and they almost always have something interesting among their specialty beers. This visit we had ESB which was excellent and Dark Invader, which had incredible mouthfeel and a heavy amber taste. Not sure what style of brew this was, but it was great. Don't pass this place over if you're near Vista.

(12/04/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Good N/A Great Great

Establishment: Green Flash Brewing Company, Vista, CA

I've been drinking Green Flash for years, mostly when I need a break from the "big" beers made by Stone or Alesmith. I stopped by on Saturday to taste the 2nd Anniversary Ale which was described as a barleywine but I thought was a cross between that and a double IPA. Excellent whatever it is! Very friendly lady working the taps and some great folks drinking as well. Took a growler of their excellent IPA home. They also brew for Reaper Ale and had those available for taste or growlers as well, but as I was in the mood for something a little mellower, I'll save that for next visit, as Reaper is firmly in the Stone category when it comes to aggressive beer. My only complaint with Green Flash is that they don't do a Porter or Stout. But what they do offer, they do very well. Definitely deserving of a stop when in North San Diego County on a Friday or Saturday afternoon.

(09/25/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Great Great

Establishment: Ballast Point Brewing Company, San Diego, CA

Ballast Point makes some of the best beer around. Not super strong like Stone or Alesmith but satisfying. Wish they bottled some of their specialty brews, but these are worth seeking out on tap. Friendly folks too! My growler is getting worn out!

(12/25/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: The Liar's Club, San Diego, CA

Maybe the coolest bar in the United States, let alone San Diego. Thank god it doesn't overlook the beach, so the Miller Lite party ball types stay away! If they had Alesmith IPA, it would be perfect. As it is, it's damn close.

(12/20/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A Great Good

Establishment: Nimbus Brewing Company, Tucson, AZ

Best beer in Tucson, but without much competition. Everyone I dealt with was friendly and the place was a comfortable place to drink. Had the Pale Ale and the Nut Brown, both of which were excellent. I wish the beers had a bit more body, though. Maybe they brew light for the desert climate?

(11/03/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good N/A Great So So

Establishment: Thunder Canyon Brewery, Tucson, AZ

I didn't notice bad service like others have, but my beers were on the VERY light side. The IPA tasted like hoppy water and the ESB was pretty bland. Maybe I'm just spoiled by Alesmith, Stone, and Ballast Point in San Diego?

(11/02/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: On Tap Bistro and Brewery, San Diego, CA

Went to try On Tap on 10/17/2003 and a sign in the window said it closed and everything was up for auction.

(10/18/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Great

Establishment: Oggi's Pizza and Brewing Company, San Diego, CA

Even though this is a chain, and I usually shy away from those, given all the independent in San Diego, these guys make great beer. The IPA is great as is the nut brown that my wife is partial to. Also the spinach and garlic pizza is great even with no cheese, which is good for vegans. Over all, a great place!

(08/22/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Good Good

Establishment: Yard House, San Diego, CA

Tons of good beers, annoying tourist/yuppie/chain atmosphere, and overpriced. There are too many good locally owned places to get good beer in San Diego to waste your time on this place.

(08/20/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Great Awesome!

Establishment: O'Brien's Pub, San Diego, CA

Very good local beer selection. Like other people said, heavy on the hops. Just moved into town and the best places in town are O Brien's, the Liars Club, and San Diego Brewing, if you want good quality local beers. And unlike the Liars Club, this place has a/c which is nice during the summer. Highly recommended. Weird location, but great service and great beer. Just go!

(08/16/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Awesome! Great

Establishment: San Diego Brewing Company, San Diego, CA

Great selection of beer, including their own. Many locally brewed guest taps including from Alesmith which is harder to find on tap than Stone but better in my opinion. Can't rate the food since I'm vegan all I could have were the fries, though they were very good. Very nice bartenders! Laid back atmosphere. Go to this place; don't let the strip center location fool you!

(08/02/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Great

Establishment: The Liar's Club, San Diego, CA

Just moved to San Diego; been here three times! I'm all about supporting home team brew and this place has the best selection, with $2 pints Friday 4-10! Go here, but if it's a hot day, don't sit inside or you'll bake. Very friendly too!

(06/19/2003)














(0.081 seconds) 17:22:30 54.87.156.29, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS