PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from m. stephens
Other Reviews by this User
 
September 30, 2014 @ 11:34 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By
m. stephens

Beer Reviews
(5)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






no
user
photo

5
Beer Reviews from m. stephens
   
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great
Good Good Great Great

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Awesome! Great

Establishment: McMenamins Old Saint Francis School, Bend, OR

Stayed here for my fiance's Birthday and we had a dinner here, drinks much later that night, as well as a breakfast. The Breakfast was so-so, but the dinner was great, with the beers complimenting many different dishes. They close the main restaurant around 11 I think, but they keep the Fireside Bar open until 2:30. It's a great place to hang out with the friends after a lot of people in the area have gone to sleep. I can't say enough about the service of the place, everyone was fantastic.

(10/04/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Vista Brewing Company, Columbia, SC

This place closed about a year and a half ago. No longer known by the same name. Now it's called The Clubhouse and is a sports bar.

(09/23/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: French Broad Brewing Company, Asheville, NC

I had the pleasure of visiting the tasting room a few weeks back while I was in Asheville, and I enjoyed the hell out of myself. Jason, one of the owners, showed us around the brewing area, then he sat down with us and went over their beers. I'd have to say they specialized in lagers, although they had an excellent ESB and Wit as well. Their lambic was still being brewed, so no dice on it, but everything else was delicious. NC rescinded the 6% max law, so you'll probably notice that the brewers in the area are going to town on the heavier beers. The Wee Heavy was pretty pleasant, although you probably wouldn't want to drink too many of them. The tasting room isn't open very late, but more often than not they have bands playing, all really talented locals. I hope to make it back soon.

(09/23/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy So So So So Lousy Lousy

Establishment: Southend Brewery and Smokehouse, Charleston, SC

Beautiful location.... and that's all they have going for them. I came in on a Saturday around 5 and the place was empty, but THAT little fact didn't mean I'd be served any faster. Not for lack of waitstaff either, it's just that they were over watching TV at the bar and bickering over who would pick up our table. I would have left after 10 minutes, but my friends wanted to try the beer, and it was the only brewpub we'd known of in Charleston at the time. So, I waited it out and ordered the sampler around 15 minutes after I'd been seated. Another 5 or 10 later, the sampler came out, and like someone that reviewed before me, I found the beer to taste a bit off. All of it. Almost like they left soap scum in the glasses, or didn't bother keeping their hops fresh or something. Either way, I was extremely disappointed by this place. I recommend driving and hour and a half and going to the Hunter-Gatherer in Columbia. It's a beautiful drive, and the beer and food is far superior.

(09/23/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A N/A Great

Establishment: Palmetto Brewing Company, Charleston, SC

I tried their Pale and Amber about a year and a half back, bottled. Crummy. It was probably just that I'd gotten a six-pack that had been stored poorly or something, but it was enough to turn me off the beer for a long time. I saw it on tap at a restaurant, and it being the only micro handle at the bar, I decided to give it another shot. Great stuff! The pale tasted SO much fresher, with a very crisp, hoppy bite to it. The amber was a good example of that type, but I'm not the biggest fan of amber's in general. So my advice? If it's on draft, drink it. If it's bottled beware.

(09/23/2006)














(0.064 seconds) 11:34:09 54.234.244.98, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS