PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from louie strano
Other Reviews by this User
 
October 30, 2014 @ 08:50 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By
louie strano

Beer Reviews
(54)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






no
user
photo

54
Beer Reviews from louie strano
   

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ ALL ]
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great
Great Good Great Great

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great

Establishment: Dunsmuir Brewery Works, Dunsmuir, CA

Finally stopped here on our Snowbird flight path. The Oso-licious porter was perfect and the pale ale (Pusher?) was nice. The natural carbonation and cool temperature of the beer (not frigid or served in frozen mugs) allowed the beer to go smoothly over the tongue and into the belly. The porter was 4+% alc., which I find great 'cause I believe beer should be enjoyed (especially when having more than one) and not mind-numbing. Norman was a great guy to talk with about the beers and the breweries in the area. Really good experience. We'll be back!

(04/15/2014)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good N/A Great Great Great

Establishment: Chula Vista Brewery and Pizzeria, Chula Vista, CA

Can't go wrong, especially during happy hour. The brewery's own brews were nice, so didn't have to try the others. Boy, those pizzas look good....

C. V. Bwy brews a drinkable pale and amber while also serving many other notable guest beers. HH: M-F 5-7, half off appies, $1 off pints. Looks like they make great pizza, too. Sports bar and serves breakfast.

(11/13/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Awesome! N/A Great Great

Establishment: Peaks Pub, Port Angeles, WA

We came to enjoy the brewpub's own beers. They were HIGH in alcohol at 6+-7+%. When an ESB is the weakest that's offered, you know what you're in for. The alcohol overpowered whatever flavor might have been in the beer. There are certainly plenty of other guest microbrews on tap, so one has a choice -- what it is all about.

(10/20/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Awesome! Great

Establishment: Hazel Dell Brewpub, Vancouver, WA

This is a great place to meet nice, friendly, helpful people who really enjoy beer and good food. The red ale and halibut are the specialties. We arrived during happy hour (3-5), really enjoyed the demeanor and friendliness of the other customers. Would be a great place to spend the evening. Can't give a fair rating on the food because we split a halibut quesadilla, that's all. However, the bar person, without prompting, was quick to serve us pints of ice water to cleanse our tongues so we could continue to enjoy our beer. I enjoy a pint of water between pints of beer anyway.

(10/20/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Awesome! N/A Great Great

Establishment: Peaks Pub, Port Angeles, WA

We stopped here because we had been here years ago before the brewpub actually brewed its own beer. We tasted and drank some of the pub's brews. They are HIGH in alcohol (6-7+%). I would not want to drink on an empty stomach here. But why was no one else eating here at 6:30 at night? Anyway, I didn't want a winter warmer type beer to watch the game by, I would prefer a session beer. So, we finished our pints and went on our way while still sober. BTW, they do have a large array of guest beers from small brewers in Oregon and Washington, so you have a choice -- the most important thing about beer drinking.

(10/18/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Great Good

Establishment: Scuttlebutt Brewing, Everett, WA

Nice beers that go down well. Simple, friendly place. Worth the stop.

(04/25/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good

Establishment: Old Market Pub, Portland, OR

Zeroed in on this place for Happy Hour snacks and beers. Tried several ales and the porter. All good.

(04/25/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Good Good

Establishment: Lucky Labrador Brewing Company, Portland, OR

We visited the PH on Capitol Hwy. Just stopped in for a quick pint. Nice. Ask Amy about female homebrewers club.

(04/25/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Awesome!

Establishment: Brewers Union Local 180, Oakridge, OR

Revisited this establishment 16-April, 2010. Loved the cask conditioned ales! They have 5 on cask and 5 guest beers. The food is great, too, and on a nice day it is beautiful to sit outside... If you are staying in town, try the Blue Wolf on the south side, it's very economical, clean and has "all" the necessities, whatever they may be.

(04/24/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Good Good

Establishment: Great Basin Brewing Company, Sparks, NV

Visited 15-April, 2010. Shared a pitcher of Jackpot Porter -- nice.

(04/24/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Great Great

Establishment: Silver Peak Restaurant and Brewery, Reno, NV

Tried the porter, rockbeer (smokey, but like a porter) and the Sierra IPA. The Jambalya was really good.

(04/24/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Good Good

Establishment: Boiler Room Brew Pub, Laughlin, NV

Visited this place on 15-April, 2010. The brewpub does not currently have a license to brew since it changed hands 13 weeks ago. They are still hopeful, but who knows. They did have a reasonable selection of guest beers and it is a nice place.

(04/24/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Great

Establishment: Lengthwise Brewing Company, Bakersfield, CA

If you are in the area, definitely come here. THIS IS A BREWPUB, contrary to confusion in beer newspapers. I was all set to have to buy bottles or growlers, but then saw with my very own eyes the thriving pub. The Centennial Ale was very nice. The Crude Porter was great, exactly what a porter should be. The Three Hop was well-balanced -- not three times the hops, just hopped at three stages.

A good experience and one to be repeated.

(10/24/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A So So Good

Establishment: BrewBakers, Visalia, CA

We must have arrived during a dead time 'cause we got little attention. The Possum Porter was a stout, but didn't taste like 6.6%. The IPA (6.8%) was cloudy. It was hoppy, of course, and tasted cleaner than some. Couldn't stay, and didn't see a reason to do so.

(10/24/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Good Great

Establishment: Sequoia Brewing Company, Fresno, CA

The oatmeal stout was a joy to watch settle. Drinking it was also a joy because it was oh-so-creamy! I could drink this for breakfast if it weren't for the 6% alcohol content. The Oktoberfest was also good. The Sequoia was hoppy and clean, the Tamerack Amber kind of sneaked up on me and it warming.

This place used to be Butterfields and there is another Sequoia brewpub in town now.

(10/24/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Good Good

Establishment: Western Pacific Brewing and Dining, Oroville, CA

Enjoyed this place. Good beer, good popcorn and good people. Wanted to stay longer, but had to keep driving. Will come back next time I'm in the area.

Bar Specials Sunday 9:00am-12:00pm $1.99 Bloody Mary! Sunday $1.99 Draft All Day Long! Monday Happy Hour is from 4:00pm till closing! Monday Night Football All Draft Beer Is Only $1.99 While The Game Is Playing! Tuesday Margaritas are only $2.75! Wednesday all Well Drinks are only $2.25! Thursday Long Island Ice Teas are only $2.75! Happy Hour is Monday Thur Friday 4:00pm-7:00pm! When a train goes by you also get Happy Hour prices on your drinks! (Happy hour prices and all bar specials only available in the bar)

(10/21/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great

Establishment: Sierra Nevada Brewing Company, Chico, CA

Certainly impressive. Now for the beer. I tried a taste of the Best Bitter and decided it just didn't hit the mark of a true British bitter, so I purchased a pint of Porter. It was good, clean-tasting at first, with a hint of coffee taste. However, it was way over carbonated and once I finished, my tongue had a residue of either treacle or hop pollen, not sure. My partner had a pint of Harvest Ale, which he enjoyed, but also thought it had that bite from overcarbonation. It was definitely hoppy (a good thing). All in all, I got the impression I would have the same experience drinking the bottled product as the draft.

(10/21/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Good Good Good

Establishment: Klamath Basin Brewing Company @ Creamery Brewpub, Klamath Falls, OR

We were staying next door at the Maverick, so couldn't resist to watch some sports, drink some local brew and eat. Being homebrewers and brewpub enthusiasts we were underwhelmed by the beers. No balance, either too hoppy, too sweet or both. Don't take me wrong, the beers were drinkable, just not worth hanging around for another round.

(10/19/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Great

Establishment: Brewers Union Local 180, Oakridge, OR

This is only the second brewpub I would give this kind of rating to. I was tempted to try all 5 cask ales, but stuck to just the stout (yummmm) and the session beer (leftover fuggles). TRUE British ale from cellar temperature to beer engines to imperial pint glasses. The head on the seesion beer was classically less (London style), but the creamy head on the stout came from the beer, not added by gas. We were lucky that there was still some quiche in the kitchen, not only because we were starved, but that it was delicious. I shall return!!

(10/18/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great

Establishment: Rogue Ales Eugene City Brewery, Eugene, OR

Certainly glad I made a point of coming here. The Shakespeare Stout is very good, as well as the Triple Jump pale ale -- NICE balance. Very good beers here and lots of fun people. Definitely a beer lovers place. Apparently the food is very good as well.

(10/18/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good

Establishment: Boundary Bay Brewery, Bellingham, WA

Always a good bet to stop here. The cask amber was $3.50 and was okay. I assume it was truly cask, but didn't see it dispensed. The $4.50 oatmeal stout was also good.

(10/18/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Good Good

Establishment: Birdsview Brewing Company, Concrete, WA

a nice stop in the countryside, very conveniently along US20

several miles west of Concrete, watch for the "Beer Crossing" sign

(10/01/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great N/A Great Great

Establishment: Moylan's Brewery and Restaurant, Novato, CA

We tried the cask conditioned ESB. Nice, but a little sticky. Not what we were looking for. I think the Irish angle to the beers made the ESB taste that way. Anyway, didn't want to hang around to find out at $4.25 a pint to see if we were wrong.

(10/22/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Bear Republic Brewing Company, Healdsburg, CA

Made a quick stop here. We should have cleared our afternoon to stay here! The beers are very tasty and a big variety. Just ask for what you like in a beer and I think they can give it to you. The brewmaster is very informational and the place is just wonderful.

(10/22/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great

Establishment: Eel River Brewing Company, Fortuna, CA

Stopped in thinking we might stay nearby. Probably should have because the beer is so good. Peanuts everywhere and very good beer. I foung the porter and stout a little over carbonated, but swilling it around took care of that. My husband loved the IPA, whether being organic has anything to do with it or not. The owner and bar staff as well as the clientele were very sociable and even made a point of helping us find accomodation. If we're ever back this way again...

(10/21/2008)


Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ ALL ]













(0.35 seconds) 08:50:16 54.161.181.49, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS