PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from larry violand
Other Reviews by this User
 
December 21, 2014 @ 03:55 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By
larry violand

Beer Reviews
(19)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






no
user
photo

19
Beer Reviews from larry violand
   
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good
Good Good Good Good

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So Good Good Good

Establishment: Tailgators Sports Bar, Avon Lake, OH

Well, it sure ain't a beer bar, and I don't understand why it's even listed here. Ok to go to for quick lunch.

(04/15/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good

Establishment: Willoughby Brewing Company, Willoughby, OH

Go there if you're in the area. I belive it is somewhat overrated. Seems like more of a restaurant than a brewery.

(04/15/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! So So Good Great

Establishment: Harbor Inn, Cleveland, OH

After you've been to the Great Lakes Brewery, this is the second place you should visit in Cleveland. An old working-man's bar, they have over 150 brands of beer, all in bottles (no draft). You are sure to find something you'll like here, and the atmosphere is great---it's a place you can wear a tux (I've seen wedding parties here) and drink next to a biker. No matter, the staff is friendly and the beer selection is great: go over to the wall of beers and pick one out. One of my favorite Cleveland saloons since I moved here in '74. And, it is one of the few, great and original places to go in the overhyped "Flats" district. Some decent restaurats nearby. Limited selection of bar food, but you aren't there for that anyway. A real diamond in the rough.

(04/15/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good

Establishment: Bitter End Bistro and Brewery, Austin, TX

Medium upscale and trendy. Had lunch there several times and enjoyed it. I don't have the impression that beer's the thing here. Check it out when in the area (also go to Ginger Man for the beer and Sullivans for steak, both close by).

(04/05/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So So So Good So So

Establishment: Alcatraz Brewing Company, Indianapolis, IN

Just could not get excited about this place, all seemed fairly mundane.

(04/04/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Good Good

Establishment: Bertha's, Fells Point/Baltimore, MD

One of the best places to go in Fell's point. Good seafood, and decent selection of beers on tap. Nice grungy little bar (a big plus, really) and restaurant in back. Not fancy, but it doesn't matter. Be sure to get a bumpersticker when you're there. Have entertained there several times, and a good time was had by all.

(04/04/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Good Great

Establishment: Arnold's Bar and Grill, Cincinnati, OH

(04/04/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good

Establishment: Watson Brothers Bistro and Brewery, Blue Ash, OH

More of a restaurant than a micro. But if you're staying at a nearby hotel (lots of business travelers here) check it out.

(04/04/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! N/A Good Great

Establishment: Ginger Man, Austin, TX

If you want beer in Austin, this is the place to go. Pool tables, cigars ok---nice relaxing ambience. Well worth the visit in a great area of a great city.

(04/04/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Good Great

Establishment: Pennsylvania Brewing Company aka Penn Brewery, Pittsburgh , PA

Ambience of Munich (squint a little). Long communal tables to eat and quaff your excellent beer. Jazz combo accompanied dinner when I was there, a nice touch.

(04/04/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Good Great

Establishment: Max's Allegheny Tavern, Pittsburgh , PA

Great German food, and beer to accompany it.

(04/04/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good

Establishment: River Market Brewing Company, Kansas City, MO

Worth a vist when you are in KC. Like the location alot as well. Busy lunch crowd.

(04/04/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Good Good

Establishment: Barley's Brewing Company, Columbus, OH

Close to OSU, visit there with son who is a student. Have cask ale, always a plus. Medium size house, and good service. Cigars ok. Gets crowded occasionaly but they keep up. Have enjoyed all beers tried.

(04/04/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Great

Establishment: Great Lakes Brewing Company, Cleveland, OH

This is my hometown, and this is my flagship brewery which I've been going to since it opened in '88. First, kudos to Steve Taylor, who is the greatest bartender I've had the pleasure to know. He makes the "pub" as great as it is---and the pub has a very close ambience to what you'd find in Europe. Be a man (or woman), stand at the bar, but get there early because it fills up fast. The regulars are great, friendly, and are not shy about giveing their opinions about what's on tap. The Commodore Perry IPA, Holy Moses (Belgian style unfiltered wheat ale), and holiday Christmas Ale are standouts. Cigar smoking (plus for me) is OK in the pub. I always take out of town guests here and they love it (and always want to go back when they're in town). If you're in Cleveland this is one of the places to go. Sometimes it can be crowded, but it is worth it. There has been some criticism that the brews have varied over the years (yeah, I think they have slightly) but I feel fortunate to have GLB to go to on a regular basis.

(04/04/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good

Establishment: Water Street Brewery, Milwaukee, WI

Great place for business lunch, which I have used several times. Beer is good but not outstanding. Good service.

(04/04/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good N/A Good Good

Establishment: Milwaukee Ale House, Milwaukee, WI

Great location. I have visited several times, and there's a lot to do in the area. I wanted to rate the beer better than I did, but....

(04/04/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Good Great

Establishment: Schlafly (aka The Saint Louis Brewery Tap Room), Saint Louis, MO

Wide selection of beer. Try whatever they have as a cask selection. Gave me a number of samples (always appreciated). My favorite spot for beer in St. Louis. Bartenders were very friendly. Large restaurant area, would prefer smaller place, but that's a personal preference.

(04/04/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good

Establishment: Morgan Street Brewing Company, Saint Louis, MO

Go there if you're in Laclede's Landing---lots of tourist traps, but good beer and friendly service.

(04/04/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Awesome!

Establishment: Monk's Cafe, Philadelphia, PA

Not since I was in Belgium have I been in a place like this. If you love beer and are in town this is the ONLY place to go. Absolutely outstanding selection of Belgians (Piraat on draft!) Be sure to go to the back bar for drafts, especially the Belgians. Steal a copy of the beer bible too (Monk's beer menu--it is great, especially if you're unfamilar with Belgian ale).

(04/04/2002)














(0.247 seconds) 15:55:49 54.161.192.61, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS