PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from larry p
Other Reviews by this User
 
December 18, 2014 @ 12:24 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By
larry p

Beer Reviews
(16)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






no
user
photo

16
Beer Reviews from larry p
   
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good
Good Great So So Good

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: McNally's Irish Pub, Saint Charles, IL

Hi Timothy -- I hope your stay out here in the Fox Valley was pleasant. Unfortunately you are correct: the bar scene out here sucks a giant Corona Light. Hopefully you found the good places in Chicago, they're usually worth the drive. Meanwhile, I visit McNally's about once a month. It's OK as far as bars go out here go; decent servers, standard Irish-pub type beers and halfway decent food. It's a nice place to relax and unwind as long as the music is turned down and it's cigar-free. If you want a Maproom-like experience, well, you'll have to drive into Chicago and go to the Maproom. You certainly won't find it at McNally's or anywhere else out here in the far-flung suburbs.

(05/29/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy So So N/A Good Lousy

Establishment: Three Stags Brew Pub, Geneva, IL

Golly, what a coincidence that a bunch of laudatory reviews all saying practically the same thing show up on the same day, all from first-time reviewers, almost all of whom mysteriously can't be found in the phone book (or if they can their name is common enough that it's bound to show up in the phone book of a city with 3 million people). Regulars to Pubcrawler know a ballot-stuffing campaign when we see one and we see one here. Guess what... ballot-stuffing has the opposite effect of what you intend. It shows how desparate the one or two supporters of a crummy institution are to offset the legitimate bad reviews it has received. And in this case, I have to go with the people who say it's lousy. They don't brew their own beer so they shouldn't be calling themselves a brewpub. The stuff they carry from other breweries is a dime a dozen in the area. There's no reason for serious pubcrawlers to bother with Three Stags until they start making their own beer, which they claim is at least several months or perhaps over a year away.

(05/22/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Lousy Great Lousy Lousy

Establishment: Stockholm's Vardsus, Geneva, IL

Their "beer" sucks, the staff sucks, this place sucks. I used to be a loyal patron mostly for the food. Today I stopped by to take pictures to post on Pubcrawler. They kicked me out because I was "making the patrons nervous" by taking pictures. Boo fucking hoo. How much expectation of privacy do they think they're entitled to in a place of public accomodation? It's not like I was taking pictures of them in a brothel or a drug market. If they don't want their faces shown, they don't have to look at the goddamn camera. Excuse me for trying to provide some publicity to a local neighborhood establishment even if they don't deserve it. I got off a couple of good shots but I'm not going to post them here because they obviously don't want the publicity. I used to be a regular. Not anymore. Screw you and your crappy beer.

(04/09/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Govnor's Public House, Lake in the Hills , IL

Duplicate entry. For a longer list of reviews go to:

http://www.pubcrawler.com/Template/ReviewWC.cfm/flat/BrewerID=102998

(04/09/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Great Good So So So So

Establishment: Titanic Brewing Company, Coral Gables, FL

Where's an iceberg when you really need one? The friendly and otherwise competent staff didn't know a damn thing about the bland beer they were serving. At first I thought all the bad reviews were just the work of a ballot-stuffing jerkweed. Some of them obviously were, but not all of them.

(01/03/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Harrison's Brewing Company, Orland Park, IL

$25 for a growler of beer that is almost universally regarded as mediocre? This while the going rate for growlers of GOOD beer is about $13 and $8-$9 for refills??? Jesus Christ. Thanks for another indicator of why I should never go here.

(01/03/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good So So Great

Establishment: Hopleaf Bar, Chicago, IL

The impressive beer selection has been commented on extensively, and I concur. Snotty service has also been commented on extensively, and I also concur. A note to the reviewer who defends jerky service because "you wouldn't be happy all the time either" if you were a bartender. You're absolutely right. If I were a bartender, I'd probably be cranky too -- which is why I'm not a bartender. And I'm tired of seeing this excuse rolled out to defend shitty service. I can't think of a more intensely people- and customer-oriented occupation than a bartender. If that's not what you're cut out for, GO WORK SOMEPLACE ELSE. Attitude will drag a hospitality business down further than any other factor and THERE'S NO EXCUSE FOR IT. No patron should EVER have to put up with some jerk behind the counter taking it out on them because the jerk doesn't like the job he chose of his own free will.

(11/29/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So Great Good Good

Establishment: Filling Station Pub and Grill, Saint Charles, IL

The only reason I ever go here is because they have the best sandwiches in the area and they have a nice beer garden that opens up into downtown St. Charles. The beer is mostly American (m)ass-brew, the bands are loud and obnoxious, and the weekend crowds are rude and rowdy. This is a lunch-only venue for me.

(09/05/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Great Awesome!

Establishment: Carlyle Brewing Company, Rockford, IL

This Carlyle place has balls. For starters, it takes balls to open a place like this in what is -- all prior reviewers’ tactful descriptions notwithstanding -- a decaying crater of a blue-collar city. It takes balls to make something as audacious as their raspberry wheat, which is FAR more bold than one would expect from such a typically frilly beer style. You'll have to try it to know what I mean; there's just no describing it. And there is virtually nothing in this place but the beer. No televisions. No dart boards. No pool table. No pinball machine or Golden Tee. No gimmicks. And almost no food. Carlyle says to its customers, "When you walk in our door, your focus will be on our product and little else." That's balls -- and it works. That they can pull it off says a lot about the quality of their product. I'll definitely be back again and again, growler in hand for refill, and each 110-mile round trip will be worth it.

P.S., Rockfordians can spare me their inevitable complaints about my description of your city. Face facts – it is dying a slow, agonizing death. Thankfully for you, Carlyle is around to cushion the fall a little bit.

(08/26/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good So So So So So So

Establishment: Moosejaw Pizza and Brewing Company, Wisconsin Dells, WI

I guess I should have read the reviews on this website before I walked into this place and drank their cookie-cutter beer. Just the fact that it attracts clientele who think being a tourist destination excuses lackluster quality and service speaks volumes about this joint. I really don't want to hear waitstaff whine about how they're fed up with tourists. Too bad -- either suck it up or find another line of work. Tourism is the *entire basis* of your town's economy, and it's the reason you have a job in the first place. Yeah, I know, Wisconsinites get tired of boorish Chicagoans conquering their state on every holiday weekend. I'll even grant that some of their complaints are legitimate. But when I'm minding my manners and I'm spending money keeping you employed, making me feel unwelcome is a sure-fire way to ensure I don't spend money in your place again and warn others to stay away.

(07/11/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Founders Hill Brewing Company, Downers Grove, IL

Now re-opened as a second Emmett's location.

(07/04/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A N/A Awesome!

Establishment: New Glarus Brewing Company, New Glarus, WI

Let me start off by saying this is one of the top-tier midwest breweries, as others have said here. There's not much more I can add.

Hey Enemy, I hear they pulled out not necessarily because demand was outstripping supply but because their Illinois/Chicago sales were well off-pace of their Wisconsin/Madison sales and they decided it wasn't worth the extra distribution and licensing expenses to do business here anymore. So they've decided to refocus on their core constituency and primary source of revenue: Wisconsin in general and the Madison area in particular.

(05/31/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Awesome! N/A Great

Establishment: Dotty Dumpling's Dowry, Madison, WI

This place is not a beer bar. It's not a bar at all. It's a hamburger joint that happens to have an exceptional tap selection for a hamburger joint. I don't mean to bring this place down; in fact, more hamburger places should offer a good variety (20 or so, in this case) of solid-quality beers to wash down your food with. But if you're looking for a pub experience or hard-to-find beers, you won't find either here. It's basically self-serve so don't expect to be waited on either.

(05/29/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Broad Ripple Brewing Company, Indianapolis, IN

Oh, and by the way, dumbass -- it's spelled "craic" not "crack." If you're going to wax cooler-than-thou by dropping a buzzword you think nobody knows but you, at least spell it correctly.

(05/17/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Broad Ripple Brewing Company, Indianapolis, IN

*sigh* Why don't you ballot-stuffing a-holes find a new hobby and get a f*cking life. Buncha jags.

(05/16/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Jacob Leinenkugel Brewing Company, Chippewa Falls, WI

"This is a family owned brewery, they take much pride in their craft."

Family-owned me arse. This place is owned and run by SAB-Miller, and the lack of any aformentioned "family pride" shows in the mediocre quality of this straw-colored skunkwater.

As for you cheesechompers who defend this place based primarily on its incidental location within the borders of your state, there are a dozen or more good-quality craft brewers in Wisconsin who understand, appreciate and cultivate the art of brewing beer. Go defend them instead -- they've actually earned it.

(03/07/2004)














(0.227 seconds) 12:24:24 54.81.94.71, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS