PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from larry kelly
Other Reviews by this User
 
April 19, 2014 @ 03:25 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By
larry kelly

Beer Reviews
(13)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






no
user
photo

13
Beer Reviews from larry kelly
   
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great
Great Great Great Great

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great So So Awesome! Great

Establishment: Founders Brewing Company, Grand Rapids, MI

Whenever my wife and I travel we try to stop at as many brew pubs/microbrewies as we can. The beer here was excellent. They didn't have any wheat beers, but the other 16 beers on tap were of very high quality. I have found that the best time to visit ANY brew pubn is on a Saturday between 11 and 2.[I hate to give this secret away] They are never crowded, not much smoke, and the staff is available to answer any of your questions. This was the case here. we thoroughly enjoyed the beers and the friendly staff.

(05/17/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Great Great

Establishment: Hoppin' Frog Brewery, Akron, OH

first met them at a beer festival in Greensbur,PA. It happened to be the first booth I stopped at and I didn't want to go anywhere else. They filtered a black/tan through coffee beans. delicious. Great hoppy beers. All there beers were excellent

(11/16/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Awesome! Great

Establishment: Hereford and Hops, Cranberry Township, PA

My wife and I went early on a Saturday afternoon. No crowd, no waiting, the owner and brew master came by to talk with us. I hate to let everyone know this, but early afternoon at most places is the best time to test the beers and meet the staff. They aren't as harried. Of course, if everyone does that, I'll have to change my methods.

(11/16/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Rivertowne Pour House, Monroeville, PA

This place has everything you could want in a microbrewery. There are two top notch brwerers with state of the art equipment. The staff is very knowledgeble and friendly. My wife and I have sampled all 16 beers and find them all to be well crafted. We will be getting small kegs of the IPA and Scottish ale for our home system. Besides the beer, the most appealing feature of the place is that they do not allow any smoking until after 10 pm.

(06/21/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Southend Brewery and Smokehouse, Raleigh, NC

Since my wife & I dislike the very light offerings brewpubs feel the need to provide in order to accommodate the timorous palates of Bud drinkers who wander in, we could give only a "great" rating to the overall beer quality. Beginning as always at the light end of the 8-beer sampler our hostess served up, we agreed immediately that our sips of Blonde Light were so awful we wished we could have spat them out. Our revulsion was so vehement, we were hastily given a replacement-- happily, a second serving of Downtown Brown--with an excellent, complex, nutty flavor. The next light beer, Southern Blonde, was marginally drinkable (although we never would choose to do so), and evidently appeals to many locals. (As we sat at the bar, a non-microbrew drinker came in and asked to taste the two lightest beers, ultimately choosing the Blonde Light along with a glass of house white wine for his companion. The wine had more color than the beer!! Southend's Wheat was better than many; the Railroad Red very good for a red and the Powerhouse Pale quite flavorful, but then we came to the great beers: an awesome almond stout (not overpoweringly almond, unlike some of that genre we have tried), and the brewer's seasonal, Frostbite. This was our overwhelming favorite; we agreed it should be a regular fixture, as it was incredibly delightful: wonderfully hoppy, smooth, and delicately flavored. We enjoyed the very noticeable variety of Southend’s beers; we have sampled beers at some houses that were boringly similar in flavor, or having the same, not necessarily happy, aftertaste. We look forward to a return visit!! Oh, yes: we each had a pizza, which arrived rapidly, and we enjoyed very much.

(03/13/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Great

Establishment: Calhoun's Restaurant and Brewery, Harrisonburg, VA

We were passin g through from Pittsburgh. All the beers wer excellent. My wife and I often differ in our taste in beer. But we both agreed that we would order any of their beers. The Belgian (11%) WOW!

(03/06/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Bunky's Legends Brewing Company, Newark, OH

We intended to stop here on our way from Pittsburgh to Columbus, OH but when we arrived found out that this pub is no longer in business.

(03/17/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Good Good

Establishment: Copper Canyon Brewery, Southfield, MI

Very crowded on weekends, but service was good. I enjoyed the CC Alt and my wife liked the IPA. They also brew a good root beer.

(02/08/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So N/A So So So So

Establishment: Mad Crab, Strongsville, OH

We only stopped in to sample the beers and have a snack. The carrot cake was outstanding. But the beer was only so-so.

(02/08/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Awesome! Good

Establishment: CJ's Brewing Company, Commerce Township, MI

Very crowded on weekends. The beer was okay but I found nothing outstanding.

(02/08/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Great Great

Establishment: Michigan Brewing Company, Webberville, MI

Amazing range of beers, 12 on tap. and the root beer and cream soda was excellent also. I appreciated the no smoking section. They provided a take-out menu for a local pizza place and the food was very good. Serious connoisseurs of microbrews should not miss this place.

(02/08/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Garrett Mill Brewing was Alessi's Ristorante, Garrettsville, OH

We made a weekend pilgrimage to several Microbreweries in Ohio and Michigan and this was by far the best.

(02/08/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Lousy Good Good So So

Establishment: Cork Street Tavern, Winchester, VA

Only big brewery beers on tap. Nothing special about this place.

(02/08/2000)














(0.1 seconds) 15:25:39 54.81.170.186, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS