PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from leroy strohl
Other Reviews by this User
 
July 28, 2014 @ 11:50 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By
leroy strohl

Beer Reviews
(17)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






no
user
photo

17
Beer Reviews from leroy strohl
   
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great
Great Good Good Good

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Orbits, Fredericksburg, VA

They didn't make it. Closed in early March, but what a closing - they had Chimay, Corsendonk, Winterhook on sale for what had to be their cost. Place is going to open with an ersatz Irish theme - complete with Colonial era attire on wait-staff. Oh, puleez! Much like a car wreck on I-95 - nothing to see here, please move on.

(04/22/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good

Establishment: John Harvard's Brew House, Wilmington, DE

First visit to one of the John Harvard brewery chain. The beers were good - not great - but the Scottish ale was a cut above. Food was good as was the service. Not sure what I expected, but the restaurant had the overall feel of a chain with a nod to fresh brewed beer. Unfortunately the repetitive pattern of operations for Outback, Olive Garden, Ruby Tuesday, etc, et al., makes the various operations seem interchangeable. We could have been in a Olive Garden that had fresh beer on tap.

(06/25/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So Good Great Good

Establishment: Orbits, Fredericksburg, VA

I wanted to get these folks on the list because I think it has some promise as a beer destination in a town that deserves better. Orbit's current beer selection is too predictable, but there apparently has been some interest expressed to bring more variety. There is nothing wrong with RedHook ESB on draft, or Sierra Nevada PA in bottle; but at least it is a start. Could be a good destination in the future. Most of the others in town are ho hum. Last entries for most of them date to the late 1990s which to me speaks volumes.

(06/25/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Brewer's Art, Baltimore, MD

This is my second entry for this fine restaurant. We went up to Baltimore last weekend just to experience Brewers Art again. The beers, the food and the service all come together to make for a marvelous dining experience. The Cerberus Tripel was as fine an example of the style as we had in Antwerp or Brugge. If the waterzooi, a traditional Belgian cream stew laden with seafood, is on the menu, please give it a try! Their version is superb. The gallette with rhubarb was a pleasant dessert with a glass of Resurrection.

It may be a two and a half hour drive to get there for us, but I can't wait for a return visit.

(06/25/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Awesome! Great Great

Establishment: Brewer's Art, Baltimore, MD

What a great treat! Starting with a few of their excellent house brewed Resurrection dubble, we sample their single, triple and a strong golden. Every one of the beers was first rate. The front room bar is comfortable - includes two sofas, nicely appointend bar. Bar service was excellent. We stayed on for a wonderful dinner. The dinner we had was excellent and the service was befitting the quality of the food. I would heartily recommend this excellent restaurant to anyone in Baltimore. We will most certainly return.

(01/02/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So Good Great So So

Establishment: River City Ale Works, Wheeling, WV

Several others have mentioned the metallic off-flavors in the beer which is too bad because this could be a pretty nice operation.Good fish and chips and great service.

(12/02/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Good Great

Establishment: Uncle Tucker's Woodfired Pizza and Brew Haus, Cumberland, MD

Chalk this review up to the "life isn't fair" column. My wife and I live in Fredericksburg, VA, now a suburb of Washington, DC, that has a regional population of 200K, and no brewpub. So, then there's the remote, lightly populated Cumberland, Maryland area with Uncle Tuckers Brew House. Not only is it a brewpub, but it is a good brewpub. Ryan the brewer is producing great to good beers on what appears to be a 3bbl Century Mfg system! The Scottish was a good example of a 90s Export, good porter, and an oatmeal stout that was smooth and complimented the really good wood fired pizza. Too bad that we still had four more hours to travel because we could have stayed for several more beers. We'll be back.

(12/02/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Lousy Good N/A

Establishment: Old Dominion Brewing Company, Dover, DE

I have been here quite a few times, and I have written other reviews on this site. This is the first time I have had anything negative to relate. First of all, do come for the beer! These beers are arguably among the finest on the East Coast. Millenia alone is worth making the trek out to Ashburn (near Dulles airport)However, the food has become another story. The last time we visited, late October, we both thought our meals had slipped in quality - nothing real noticeable, but it just seemed tired. Well, this past weekend I was served the worst meal I have ever been served in a restaurant. Fish & chips ought to be a staple in any pub that serves them. Be warned - these are no longer quality fish products; these fish sticks are watery, tastless things that no amount of tartar sauce could help. They were so bad that I almost stopped Jerry Bailey, the owner, to let him know how bad this meal was. I held off only because I did not want to make a scene with my wife present. While in the restroom prior to leaving I overheard two men say that their food was small in portion and not good to boot. Next time we are up in the Northern Virginia area we will stop for a beer or two at Old Dominion, but head over to Sweetwater for our dinner. It would be very hard to recommend this place again as a place to go out for beer and a bite, especially if you have to drive and hour and a half to get there. Very disappointing!!!

(02/21/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Good Lousy So So

Establishment: Main Street Beer Company, Richmond, VA

Stylish decor is about the only real strength here! Kind of Euro-chic. However, their beers are uninspired in flavor, a bit fizzy, served too cold, etc. For a place that calls itself a "beer company" these beers are certainly not of a quality that you would want to stake your restaurant's reputation on them. More aggravating than the quality of the beer was the incompetent waitress who barely remembered that you might want a beer to accompany your meal. This wist will be my only one. Next time we are in Richmond it will be back to Legend where the decor is not so great; but the beer, food and service are dependably good. What was I thinking?

(02/21/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good So So Good

Establishment: Baltimore Brewing Company, Baltimore, MD

Wonderful German style beers. Theo DeGroen is the brewer and he has all of the right credentials. Others have mentioned the weizens, rauch, and bocks - so let me chime in with a rave for their Marzen and their Pils. The Marzen is simply a wonderful style example - rich, malty with a very understated hop aroma. Pils is nice balance of malt sweetness and hop bitterness. Their big growlers take up a lot of space in the refrigerator - so who needs milk when you can have a fresh German beer until the growler is emptied. One of our favorite brewpubs on the East Coast.

(01/27/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Great

Establishment: Mountain Sun Pub and Brewery, Boulder, CO

This place was a bit of a surprise for us. We had intended to have dinner at a better known brewpub in Boulder but a kitchen fire there sent us looking for another location. Mountain Sun was recommended and it was a great recommendation. Very laid back, kind of hippie like; but everyone in the place couldn't have been friendlier. The place looks more like a local pizza joint than a brewpub, even had a play area for little kids. The beer was all great! The recipes ran from traditional (an ESB that won a gold at GABF) to innovative - Lemongrass and Camomile. We liked it so much that we went there on our second night. We would go back again if we were in the area.

(01/27/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good

Establishment: Squatter's Pub Brewery was Salt Lake Brewing Company, Salt Lake City, UT

Good, but not great, beers. Usually a nice variety to choose from. Years ago they had a beer called Chinook that was truly excellent! It was one of the first single-hop beers I had experienced. I have stopped in here four times over a period of ten years and have never been disappointed. They have a good operation and they aren't tinkering with it. Nice clean facility, good paraphenalia for sale... just a welcome place to be when in Salt Lake City.

(01/27/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Great Good

Establishment: Glenwood Canyon Brewing Company, Glenwood Springs, CO

Thank God you can see their front from the Interstate! We had no plans to stop in Glenwood Springs until we saw the sign. Glad we did. My wife and I each ordered a different beer - honey ale for my wife and the ESB for me - I had two but knew that I had to drive to Grand Junction or I would have another. The ESB was a good example of the style with a rich malt flavor that lingered. Good burgers and very friendly waiter. Great view over looking one of the prettiest tran stations you'll ever see and on out to the canyon and the mountains beyond. A lucky stop for us on a great trip.

(01/27/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Great Awesome!

Establishment: Green Leafe Cafe, Williamsburg, VA

Where to begin? This is truly an amazing beer bar. The variety of beers on draft is always of the first order, and it is always changing. The beer selection allows for showcasing beers from the region as well as styles and brands from other parts of the country. There is almost always a foreign representation - particularly their interest in promoting Belgian beers. The last time we were there they had two on draft. Occassionally they will have a cask conditioned beer on a hand pump.

Why does it work? I think it is because of their publican. A fellow named "Church" is knowledgable about beer, he promotes it, he can talk about it, and his enthusiasm is truly contagious. There "nights" events are well worth going to. Great beer cracked just for the event, and a good accompanying lineup of food the complements the evening. Their food is good, but I have to say it is not why we go there.

For my wife and me this is almost a two hour drive... and we have never felt it is too far.

(01/27/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Founders' Restaurant and Brewing Company, Alexandria, VA

Never disappointed in coming here. Beers are true to styles; and, for the most part, fresh. Wide variety of menu selections - from basic pub to a bit more refined - and all have been very good to excellent. They have an "off-site" operation at Reagan National Airport that is good as well.

(04/24/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Great Good

Establishment: Paddy's Pub and Brewery, Kentville, NS

Visited twice in the summer of 1996 and once in 1997. Great pub food! Superb beers made by a very enthusiastic young brewer. Homebrewers should ask to see the brewery side of the operation - good basic design, no flash, just making great beer!

(04/24/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Good Good

Establishment: Legend Brewing Company, Richmond, VA

We go to this brewpub seven or eight times a year. Almost no "pub" feel to this place - just a big open room, a bit too "bright" so the noise level tends to run high. It wouldn't take much to make this place great. Seasonal beers are always worth a try!

(04/24/1998)














(0.109 seconds) 23:50:24 54.227.25.58, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS