PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from lyle c. brown
Other Reviews by this User
 
July 31, 2014 @ 10:44 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By
lyle c. brown

Beer Reviews
(11)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






no
user
photo

11
Beer Reviews from lyle c. brown
   
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great
Good Great Good Good

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A N/A Great

Establishment: Blue and Gray Brewing Company, Fredericksburg, VA

Small regional. Brews 3 beers: Classic Lager, a transitional beer, or sort of a Pre-Prohibition American Lager; Fredericksburg Red Ale, a red with good body, and a real decent hop profile; and the new Falmouth Pale Ale, APA with cascade and liberty. Hoppy, but nice.

(07/20/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So N/A So So So So

Establishment: Taphouse Grill, Bellevue, WA

With a billing like "160 taps," expectations are high. Problem: most of the taps are Corona, Dos Equis, Becks, Michelob, etc. The real basics, which you can find in many places. I was pleased to find Maredsous on tap, but disappointed to find a bartender who would not give me the time of day, and served the beer in a frozen glass. Most of what I saw pured was various martinis, and other current trendy mixed drinks. Bar was loud, and you could not either hold a conversation or see the tap handles. You are much better off going to Rock Bottom (2 doors down), and enjoying a few great beers, served well and by a bar tender who actually knows what he is pouring.

(09/23/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great So So Great

Establishment: Tommyknocker Brewery and Pub, Idaho Springs, CO

I usually stop here when heading through CO. I must agree with the prior comments about service, although I seem to have faired slightly better, but not much. The Butt-Head is a fantastic Dopplebock, one of my favorites for years! Other beers are equally good, including the Pale Ale in the beer engine. Rye Porter was a little wierd.

(07/07/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! So So Great Great Great

Establishment: Kaltenberg Castle Royal Bavarian Brewhouse, Vail, CO

Wonderful examples of true Bavarian style beers. The Weizen has a tartness not found outside Germany, the Pilsner is fantastic, and the best of all is the wonderful Dunkel. Best I have ever had. It is a shame this brewery is only allowed to brew these three beers. I would love to try a Helles or Marzen brewed at this place. The food was great, and the atmosphere is wonderful. Try the porch, no matter what time of year. The heaters and the three walls keep the patio comforatable, even on cool evenings, and the view is fantastic!

(07/07/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Good Great

Establishment: Dillon Dam Brewery, Dillon, CO

A great small brewery, making an astonishing 8 beers. The Oatmeal stout was wonderful, and the American style wheat was fantastic. I liked the Dam Straight Lager best of all, generally in the Vienna style. Food was great too! Best part of this place was the attitude! With slogans like "Best Dam Beer in the Rockies," "Taste the Dam Difference," and "Get Your Own Dam Beer," it is a lot of fun. The view from the 2 story picture windows across the valley to Buffalo Mtn is fantastic!

(07/07/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Glenwood Canyon Brewing Company, Glenwood Springs, CO

Stopped here based on previous entries at PubCrawler. All are coorect. My wife totally loved the Raspberry Wheat, which had a ramarkable balance, allowing you to taste both the beer and the raspberry. The Helles was a good rendition of a hard to find style, and the IPA was great. By far, the best was the ESB, nitrogen tapped. The stout was also great, again, nitrogen tapped. Kenneth S. Jones is the most hospitable brewmaster, who makes the most outstanding beers.

Food was good too!

(07/07/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good N/A Great So So

Establishment: Clyde's of Columbia, Columbia, MD

Bar service was fantastic, with the bartender introducing himself to each patron by name. Unfortunately, the have a problem with what could be a very good beer selection. I ordered the DeGroen's Marzen, and it turned out the lines were obviously dirty. This beer is not supposed to be sour! The Frederick Porter and Dominion Ale were fine. Perhaps they have better distributers.

(10/14/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Good So So Good So So

Establishment: Rocky Run Tap and Grill, Columbia, MD

Lesson learned! I did not read the reviews first, and I definitely should have. The only on of the 6 beers on tap that wasn't phenolic was the weak stout. Unfortunately, the least phenolic of the remianing 5 was the Lemon Wheat. Universally disappointed in all the beers, I did not order any after the sampler, even though I was eating dinner. The dinner was also disapointing. Although the steak was Black Angus, it was a poor cut (claimed to be NY Strip) with much gristle.

(10/14/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Good Great Great Great

Establishment: Castlebay Irish Pub, Annapolis, MD

A small Iraish Pub, with their own 6bbl system for the one house ale. They have recently changed the house beer, now called 3 Nuns Ale (Nun yesterday, Nun today and Nun tommorrow). This is a maltier ale, in broadly the Irish style. With a very nice balance between hops and malt, neither one dominating. A definite must stop. They also feature over a dozen guest brews.

(10/14/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Good Great Good Great

Establishment: Monk's Cafe, Philadelphia, PA

(09/09/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Great Great

Establishment: Cuvee Notredame, Philadelphia, PA

(09/09/1998)














(0.073 seconds) 10:44:50 54.204.77.26, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS