PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from l de leon
Other Reviews by this User
 
April 24, 2014 @ 10:21 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By
l de leon

Beer Reviews
(49)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






no
user
photo

49
Beer Reviews from l de leon
   

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great
Great Good Great Great

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Blue Frog Grog and Grill, Fairfield, CA

I had been looking foward to visiting this brewpub for quite some time now. It was sure worth the wait. I can not say enough good things about the place. The first thing that hits you when you enter is the smell of the smoke from the wood-fired pizza oven. I knew right away what I was having to eat. You are also greeted by the giant Blue Frog. Great story behind the Blue Frog.The beers are all very good. I enjoyed thier I.P.A. the best, great flavor. The Hefeweizen is also very good. Friendly, and lively crowd was in while I was there. They made this stranger feel right at home. As an earlier reviewer had stated, the wild mushroom pizza was very good. I will stop by every time I am in town.

(06/17/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Good Great

Establishment: Huntington Beach Beer Company, Huntington Beach, CA

Great views from the upstairs and outdoor patio. Enjoyed the I.P.A. the best. This place is worth a try.

(06/17/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Lousy So So Great So So

Establishment: Laguna Beach Brewing Company, Laguna Beach, CA

Only 3 beers on tap, all were rather weak in flavor. For such a great location, I came away very disappointed in the beer and the food.

(06/17/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Good N/A Good Awesome!

Establishment: Hofbrauhaus Las Vegas, Las Vegas, NV

A must see when in town. The hefeweizen is the real deal. We sat in the bar, but walked through the dinnig room, and the wonderful "courtyard". I'll have to come back and sit in the "courtyard" and have a beer and a brat with spicy mustard.

(03/17/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Papago Brewing, Scottsdale, AZ

A beer drinker paradise, more beers available here than at most liquor stores. This place is a must when looking for a wide selection of ice cold beer. I had a Sierra Nevada Wheat,Papago's I.P.A.,DogFish Head I.P.A. and a Franziskaner. I'll be back soon to sample more of the selections. Good pizza too.

(03/17/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great So So Great

Establishment: Rock Bottom (formerly Cougan's), Glendale, AZ

What a lively place, lots of people having a great time. Also have outdoor seating off the bar. The Desert trail pale ale and the double I.P.A. were the best. Good steak for the price.

(03/17/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Santa Barbara Brewing Company and Restaurant, Santa Barbara, CA

Casual, comfortable brewpub and friendly servers. Nine beers to sample, all were very good, and true to form in color, flavor and aroma. When I was there, they had 2 I.P.A.'s, 1 2X I.P.A. and a Pale Ale. The Hopopotamus 2X is excellent, wonderful flavors and the smell of the hops really comes through. As good as any I have had. Great I.P.A. Castle Rock is also very good, just not as strong. Pacific Pale Ale is tastey, almost sweet. Wet Sand is very mild in hop flavor. If you have never had a wheat beer,(not a hefeweizen, but a wheat beer) be sure to try the Gold Coast Wheat. Great on a hot day. They also had a Blonde, Red, Pumpkin, and a Stout. I will be back to fill my jug, and try the food. I will stop in every time I'm in town.

(12/08/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good So So Awesome! Good

Establishment: Anacapa Brewing Company, Ventura , CA

The building has a very nice brewpub feel to it. Was not impressed with the food. The sampler came with 5 beers. The Offshore Amber Ale had a nice flavor. The Hurricane Hefeweizen was tasteless. The Harvest Moon is a pumpkin spice beer,could not make out the pumpkin flavor. The Pierpoint Pale Ale was pretty weak as Pale Ales go. The Gold Medal I.P.A. was also very weak for an I.P.A. If you are driving the coast and want a good I.P.A. or Pale Ale try The Santa Barbara Brewing Company further north, it's worth the drive.

(12/08/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Awesome! Great

Establishment: Rock Bottom Brewery, Phoenix, AZ

I normally stay out of chain brewpubs, but after reading the reviews here I thought I'd give this place a try. I really enjoyed their beers. The Dream Catcher was very light,good for those hot days you get in the Valley of the Sun. El Hefe Hefeweizen had a unique flavor, I could not pick up any clove flavor or banana aroma. Desert Trial Pale Ale had a great aroma and flavor, the hops really came through. Raptor Red had a slightly sweet caramel taste. Roadrunner Brown had a semi sweet chocolate flavor. Saguaro Stout was dispensed with nitrogen giving it a creamy smooth texture. The sampler came with 7 beers, the seasonal had a nice hoppy finish. All beers were true in color and taste. The Steak I had was also very good and cooked to perfection. Becky was my server and was friendly, and very knowledgeable about the beers. The only negative was the people smoking upstairs, try as they might with fans, you still can smell thier smoke. When is Arizona going to ban smoking in restaurants? Better yet when are people going to have common courtesy and not smoke in restaurants.

(11/17/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Zona Brewing Company was The Cowboy, Scottsdale, AZ

Closed as of 11/17/2005

(11/17/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Stone Brewing Company, Escondido, CA

The tasting room is only opened 2 days a week. Make a special trip and you will be rewarded 10 fold for your journey. Their I.P.A. is far and away my favorite beer. What a great hop finish. As they say "You're not worthy"

(11/02/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Steelhead Brewing Company, Irvine, CA

This place has the best tasting beer of any brewpub I have been to in So. Cal. I really enjoyed the Raging Rhino Red (I normally don't like reds)it tastes more like a Pale Ale. The Bombay Bomber is the bomb. What a great I.P.A. lighter in color than most, with a nice after taste. Wonderful beer. I also enjoyed the Halo Red an unfiltered amber-ale had a nice hop finish. The Hairy Weasel Hefeweizen has a mild citrus flavor. The Barracuda Blonde is just right for the Corona crowd. The Turtle Rock Stout is also very good, nice color and finish. Good service and food too. What more could you ask for? Try it you'll like it.

(10/30/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great N/A Good Good

Establishment: Valley Brewing Company, Stockton, CA

Nice place, enjoyed the friendly people. The beers could use a little work, rather bland. Next time I'm in town I"LL try again. Heck the friendly people are enough to bring me back. Besides they were out of Pale Ale.

(10/29/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Lengthwise Brewing Company, Bakersfield, CA

What a find in Bakersfield. Enjoyed the stinky burger and wings. The beers were fresh and true to color and flavor. Largest sampler glasses I have ever seen. The Wheat beer and I.P.A. were a little mild for me, but very good just the same. Give this place a try when in town or passing thru. I will return.

(10/29/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Awesome! Great

Establishment: Red Car Brewery and Restaurant, Torrance, CA

The building that houses this Brewpub is wonderful. Walking in brought back alot of memories of years past when we (mom, brother, and myself) used to travel the area in rail cars. The service was prompt and friendly. The food was good. Wing were interesting and the burgers were very tastey. I had the sampler which had 6 beers, served on a small plate. The light is good for the Corona crowd. The Pumpkin was also light, good for a hot summer day. My favorite was the I.P.A. very flavorful and hoppy. I will have to go back to fill my PIG. If you are in the area this place is a must.

(10/03/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Big Dog's Brewing Company was Draft House Barn and Casino, Las Vegas, NV

Beers are excellent. Loved the pale ale, and the hot dog,rib eye steak combo. The discounts during happy hour can't be beat. I will spend alot of time here enjoying the brews and the friendly people. A Las Vegas must.

(09/23/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Four Peaks Grill and Tap, Scottsdale, AZ

The sampler "platter" comes with 10 beers. All were very flavorful, I enjoyed the Hefe Weizen, it had a great banana, clove, citrus flavor. My favorite was the Hop Knot I.P.A. (not as hoppy as this Californian has gotten used to) great taste. Out of the 10 beers I am sure you will find something you'll like. Very lively, friendly crowd, they made a stranger feel right at home. Service was also very good. If you are looking for a nice place for a night out, I highly recommend this location. Boston fans should flock to this place.

(07/16/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: SunUp Brewing was Sonora Brewhouse, Phoenix, AZ

Lively, high energy place, the service was excellent. The Kobe beef burger was very tender and juicy, as good as any you will find in Japan. I had the sampler. The Hefe at 4.7% was very,very light. The Top Down Ale at 5.1% was also very light, but had a nice flavor. The Desert Amber at 5.2% had a malt flavor. The Pale Ale at 4.8% had a good flavor.(this was as hoppy as others I.P.A.) The I.P.A. was very good, as good as my favorite(Stone I.P.A. which was on tap here, and I still had their I.P.A.) they were out of their Porter. They will soon be brewing at this location, the tanks just got delivered and "We can hardly wait". I look foward to spending more time atnthis very friendly and comfortable location.

(07/13/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Pig's Ear Pub and Eatery, San Bernardino, CA

This place is closed. Drive just a little further to Redlands, and stop in at the Royal Falconer on Orange Ave. Off the 10 east bound at the Orange off ramp. Drive to sinnal make a right. Just past Redlands Blvd. on the left

(06/14/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Great Good Great Good

Establishment: BJ's Restaurant and Brewhouse, San Bernardino, CA

This place suffers from the same problem as other BJ's BLAND BEERS, over priced food. Nice place to take the kids, large bar area, plenty of seating. Much beter places for good micro-brewed beer.

(06/14/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! N/A Great Awesome!

Establishment: Henry N' Harry's Goathill Tavern, Costa Mesa, CA

Great selection of tap beers here. Have always enjoyed this place, very comfortable and friendly. I like it better than the place across the street.

(06/14/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Lousy So So So So So So

Establishment: Riverside Brewing Company, Riverside, CA

What happened to this place? I have been going to R.B.C. since it opened, have suffered the ups and downs along with them. I don't believe I will go again. Out of most beers, and what they had was not very good.

(06/14/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Awesome! Great

Establishment: Sonoran Brewing Company, Scottsdale, AZ

The tasting and brewing is done at Pinnacle Peak Patio. The sampler came with 9 beers. Nice presentation. The Blonde was a light beer nice taste. The Pale Ale had a nice hoppy finish. The Amber Ale had a hardy flavor. The Brown had a nutty flavor. The hefewiezen was by far my favorite, nice citrus flavor not to heavy. They also had a Honey-wiezen (filtered hefe with honey added. Good beer for a hot day. They also Had a Red Ale, a Porter, you can taste the chocolate. also a Stout To heavy for me. I had the extreme pleasure of meeting Scott M. Yarosh the brewmaster. He was kind enough to give me a tour of his facility. he was able to convey to me the passion and love he has for his craft. He allowed me to taste his I.P.A. and Double I.P.A. both absolutely delicious, he also had a Barley Wine and what he called a Wheat Wine. Both very good. PLease stop in and give his beers a try, they are as good as any I have ever had.

(06/10/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Awesome!

Establishment: Nimbus Brewing Company, Tucson, AZ

What a wonderful place for a brewpub, in a cement tilt up, in a commercial, industrial area of town. Nice cool breeze from the swamp coolers through the building. Outdoor seating on the covered deck.(shipping dock) The Sampler came with 6 beers. The Blonde was a honey blonde very light but with some flavor. The Pale ale was nice and hoppy in taste. The Red Ale had a nice color, nice malty flavor. The Brown had a nutty chocolate flavor. The Oatmeal Stout was a bit much for me, you could really taste the roasted barley. Old monkeyshine was very interesting very dark in color not bitter, but not sweet. Very drinkable. The burger was very good and at a fair price. Nice lively place everyone there was having a great time. I will stop every time I am in town.

(06/10/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So Good Good So So

Establishment: BJ's Restaurant and Brewhouse, San Bernardino, CA

Beers are pretty bland as micro-brews go, possible to appeal to the masses Food is good, service is good, people are friendly. Very lively place, kid friendly, nice place for lunch or dinner, as long as you don't go for the beer.

(06/03/2005)


Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]













(0.124 seconds) 22:21:32 54.81.170.186, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS