PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from nate mcdonald
Other Reviews by this User
 
August 20, 2014 @ 01:38 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By
nate mcdonald

Beer Reviews
(62)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






no
user
photo

62
Beer Reviews from nate mcdonald
   

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ ALL ]
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great
Good Good Great Good

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good So So Great Great

Establishment: Crown Brewing Company, Crown Point, IN

Nice little bar. The Special Forces IPA was quite good and they had just put on a Pumpkin Ale that was seasoned just right. Food was so-so, but fairly priced. Several customers came in to get growlers filled, most were looking for the October Fest, which was out, The building has some history to it. Ask about it when you visit.

(09/27/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Awesome! Great

Establishment: Figure Eight Brewing Company, Valparaiso, IN

What a delight!. Look for this place carefully when you are driving or you may miss it. A well kept table area. No food, though they do offer pretzels. Had four or five of their beers available. The IPA was very good. They also offered a double IPA which I did not try. Also available was a Harvest Ale that was made with locally grown hops.I found that quite good also. This place is worth a visit.

(09/27/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Brickworks Brewing Company, Hobart, IN

Not to worry about flat beer and bad food anymore. The place is closed. Building for lease, and equipment for sale.

(09/23/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Awesome! Great

Establishment: Growlers was Summit Station Restaurant and Brewery, Gaithersburg, MD

Arrived right at opening. Expressed my interests in beer as I was trying a couple of the brews. The beautiful young lady that was tending bar, brought out the brewer and introduced him. Got to sample a couple more brews, they have 6 different on tap. Plus, I found out that the brewer supplies some of the vegetables for the menu from his own farm. Altogether a delightful place.

(07/22/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Great Great

Establishment: JoBoy's Brewpub, Manheim, PA

Great local place. BBQ specialty in the food dept. Beers are ales. My favorites. Tried the sampler all were well done. Especially liked the Dark Ale. If you are in the area do NOT miss this place.

(07/10/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Great Great

Establishment: Brewer's Brewing Company, Beaufort, SC

Place is a little hard to find. I called to get help, which was provided. Nice place. Very good beer, and food. I like the IPA. Huge emphasis on organics in the entire operation. Don't miss this place if you are in the area.

(06/03/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Great Good

Establishment: Big River Grille and Brewing Works, Chattanooga, TN

After visiting the sister store in Nashville, my general impressions are that the food and the service is much better than the beer. Being an IPA fan I tried that first. It was a little different than most and not nearly as hoppy as I like. Also tried a seasonal, Espresso Stout which I found quite good

(10/15/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Good Great Good

Establishment: Downtown Grill and Brewery, Knoxville, TN

Visited on a Tuesday night and the place was packed. (Always a good sign) Got carded, first time in 27 years, strict company policy. Tried their IPA, the best seller I was told and found it just OK. Also tried the State Street Stout, which was pretty good and the New World Porter which was just so-so. Food menu was pretty varied however, my burrito was pretty bland and tasteless. Great building and decor, worth a visit.

(10/15/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great So So Great Great

Establishment: Mishawaka Brewing Company, Mishawaka, IN

Took my sons here,as it is one of my favorites in the area. We all loved the beers, except for some sort of a spiced ale, for the season. Our server was very attentive and charming. However, we had a problem with the food. The Shepherd's pie was poorly presented and my son said it tasted funny. It also smelled a little off. Our server took it to the kitchen and the chef told her that it was fine, was supposed to smell that way and that we could take it or leave it. We left it!. They recently changed the menu. My recommendation, just go for the beer until they fire the chef. Which with an attitude like his will not be long.

(10/09/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Good Great Great

Establishment: Three Floyds Brewing Company, Munster, IN

Visited on a Saturday evening. I have read many good tings about 3Floyds and was not disappointed very good selections of their own brews and plenty from other nearby breweries. The place is not fancy, and the crowd was pretty eclectic. Had my two sons with me and we tried about 8 different brews and found them all good to outstanding. You really can't go wrong. Place was very busy, however we had very good service and the food whle not 5 star was both tasty and reasonable.

(10/09/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Establishment: DuClaw Brewing Company, Baltimore, MD

Great setting right on the harbor. Very fine beers, I especially liked the stout and the IPA. Service is top notch and the food is excellent too.

(09/29/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great So So Lousy So So

Establishment: Wharf Rat At Camden Yards / Oliver Breweries, Baltimore, MD

Visit with a friend after a ballgame. The one bartender appeared to be high on something besides beer. The other male bartender was catching a female patron who was running behind the bar and leaping in the air. The music was close to deafening. The beer selection is quite good and I found the oatmeal stout very good. The porter was so-so. As was the food. The second location, in Fell's Point, has the same beer and a lot better behaved help

(09/29/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Good Good

Establishment: Sly Fox Brewhouse and Eatery, Phoenixville, PA

This place does know how to brew good beers. Their IPA is very good as are most of the others. Place is a real hang out for the 'regular folks' in the area. Food is OK service sometimes is a little iffy, but the beertenders remembered my preferences after only one visit. When in the area this is a must visit.

(09/25/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Great Good

Establishment: Iron Hill Brewery and Restaurant, Phoenixville, PA

Tried all the regular beers, they even do a light beer for the yuppie pretenders. The Pig Iron Porter was the best from the regulars in my opinion. Flavorful, not heavy, the one seasonal I enjoyed was the Hoppotomus, which is their IPA. One negative to me the seasonals are more expensive then the regular beers. Menu is extensive and not too pricey. Food is only fair. Service is good. However, the place does get busy on Friday and Saturday nights.

(09/25/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Establishment: DuClaw Brewing Company, Baltimore, MD

They were out of their 'hoppiest' brew and their pale ales did not appeal so I tried the Bad Moon Porter, outstanding! Also gave the Naked Fish Stout a try and it was quite good also. Food was excellent.

(02/26/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great So So Awesome! Good

Establishment: Liberty Steak House and Brewery, Myrtle Beach, SC

If you like busy, noisy, and a place where everyone can still blow cigarette smoke on you start here. Tried Oatmeal stout, White Ale, Clyde's Pale Ale, They were all fair to just OK. However, the CW Porter was quite good. Food is so-so.

(02/23/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Good Good Good

Establishment: T-Bonz Gill and Grill, Charleston, SC

Place was very busy, However, brewpubs that serve Bud Light et al, already have one strike against them with me. Nut Brown was drinkable, that's all, Market St Wheat was lame, seasonal Winterfest was OK. Food is OK, as is the service

(02/23/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Great Great

Establishment: Southend Brewery and Smokehouse, Charleston, SC

Tried The Bombay PA is was OK, not as hoppy as I care for, Ironman Wheat was good, the stout however, was excellent. Food was good, looks as though they do a lot of pizza

(02/23/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So N/A Great Good

Establishment: Olde Auburn Ale House, Auburn, AL

Remember to go around to the back to find this place. Only has one of the house brews on tap. Wamples Winter Warmer, which was quite good. the kitchen was closed at 8 pm. If you are in the middle of nowhere AL make a visit.

(02/21/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Good Good

Establishment: Montgomery Brewing Company, Montgomery, AL

Place does not have a lot of personality. 6 beers on tap. I tried the two seasonal brew, Double Barrel Stout, and the Extra Innings IPA both were quite good. Food and service were OK

(02/21/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Awesome! Good Great

Establishment: Crescent City Brewhouse, New Orleans, LA

Tried the Pilsner, Red Stallion, their dark and the seasonal. All were good, above the mass producers, but not outstanding. The food was fabulous. If you're in the Big Sleazy it's worth a visit.

(02/21/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Great Awesome!

Establishment: McGuire's Irish Pub And Brewery, Pensacola, FL

Great looking place. If they had no beer it would be worth a visit. Tried both the Porter and the Stout, Stout was outstanding. Great looking menu and good service

(02/20/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Great Good

Establishment: Hurricane Brewing Company, Mobile, AL

Love the clever name for the brews. However, most are pretty OK, but not much more. The Insurance Adjuster PA, Flying Debris, ESB, and Storm Surge Stout were just OK, no real character or flavor. the food was average, loved the great service and interesting part of town it is located in.

(02/20/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So Good Good Good

Establishment: Hilton Head Brewing Company, Hilton Head Island, SC

Second visit, I liked it the first time. Tried both the IPA and the Porter, the Porter was by far the better. Food was so-so and service was too. If you're there make a visit but, don't go out of your way

(02/10/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Lousy So So

Establishment: Moon River Brewing Company, Savannah, GA

Second visit. I thought the service was lousy a year and a half ago and apparently that is the norm. The IPA was very good though. Ordered dinner and was told the kitchen was out of vegetables, but they could sub stuffing. I know this is the old south but, how do you run out of vegetables. Also, the bar was fairly busy and one of the best spots was taken by a young couple who ordered a water and a bowl of soup and then shared it. The owner would have loved it.

(01/13/2008)


Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ ALL ]













(0.151 seconds) 13:38:01 54.91.255.151, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS