PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from nancy mcadams
Other Reviews by this User
 
July 26, 2014 @ 02:33 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By
nancy mcadams

Beer Reviews
(21)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






no
user
photo

21
Beer Reviews from nancy mcadams
   
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great
Great Great Good Great

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Gene's Last Chance, Pittsburgh , PA

Many claim that Tessaro's has the best hamburger in Pittsburgh. My husband says that Tessaro's and Gene's Last Chance In The Strip are neck-and-neck in the "best hamburger" contest.

Check out this friendly watering hole and decide for yourself!

(04/23/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Red Star Brewery and Grille, Greensburg, PA

We visited the Red Star Brewery and Grill on St. Patrick's Day. Love the atmosphere - spacious and airy. The service was wonderful. The Imperial Stout was the best. We had the smoked salmon for an appetizer, and I had the beer-batter fish. We'll be going back to the Red Star soon.

(04/17/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Great Awesome!

Establishment: Rogue Ales / Oregon Brewing and Brewer's on the Bay, Newport, OR

OSU Dr. is the location of the brewery that brews Rogue Ales. Their pub is across the bay at Bayfront Brewery & Public House, 748 SW Bay Blvd. Both locations serve the full line of Rogue Ales, although the OSU Drive location has a more limited food menu and a smaller seating area than the Public House, but very friendly. We had been at the Public House the night before and they had run out of the Shakespeare Stout. The menu describes Shakespeare Stout as "Ebony in color with a rich creamy head, earthy flavor and a mellow chocolate aftertaste. 1998 World Beer Championships - Bronze; 1997 Top 50 Beers in the World - Third Best; 1997 World Beer Championships - Silver, etc. etc. etc." We could see why. A great stout with real heartiness. No wonder the Public House had run out!

(09/12/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Good Great Great Great

Establishment: Rogue Ale Public House, Newport, OR

We loved Newport. Heck, I love anyplace with a bay and free parking! The locals turn up their noses at the idea of going to the bay front, which they consider strictly for tourists. They also differ with the tourists on their interest in the California Sea Lions. Tourists line up to watch the sea lions and take pictures. Locals consider the sea lions to be pests, like pigeons for city dwellers or deer for us suburbanites. The Newport locals do concede, however, that the food at the Rogue pub on the bay is better than at the microbrewery across the bay. The pub has a comfortable atmosphere. Just the place after a day of whale watching. The shrimp melt was great and the Russian Imperial Stout was everything you could ask for in an Imperial Stout - nearly black in color with a lovely head and the characteristic high alcohol content. The menu described it as, "The Emperor of Stouts - Rich in texture, broad, soft and creamy. The strongest and fullest of all stouts." All true. "1998 World Beer Championships - Silver."

Call me a tourist. That's what I was, but I had a great time at the Rogue Pub.

(09/12/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Siletz Brewing Company, Siletz, OR

Siletz is half an hour north of Toledo, Oregon, a wide place in the road. Don't blink or you will miss Siletz. I'm not sure the long drive from Newport is worth it unless you really like the scenery, which is marred by the logging in the area. Fortunately, Siletz beer is also served at Mo's Annex in Newport. A solid, tasty brew.

(09/12/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Deschutes Brewery, Bend, OR

Deschutes Black Butte Porter is commonly found in restaurants in Eugene. A tasty brew, rich and full like a porter should be.

(09/12/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Good Good

Establishment: Bloomfield Bridge Tavern, Pittsburgh , PA

Less than a mile up Liberty Avenue from Church Brew Works and Pittsburgh Brewing Company is the Bloomfield Bridge Tavern. Bloomfield is one of the remaining ethnic pockets in what was once a very ethnic city. The Bloomfield Bridge Tavern includes Polish foods like golabki (stuffed cabbage) and pierogis in their menu along with burgers. We sat in the back room, which is up a few steps from the front bar area and felt like we were sitting on a stage. The man at the next table told us to wait and see how long it took for service. It turned out that he was the owner. "Go downstairs and pick out a skirt," he advised me, so I did. The waitress explained that he had bought the skirts at an auction and was giving them away. I had the sausage sandwich and, of course, a beer. The Bloomfield Bridge Tavern is small and somewhat lacking in atmosphere. I don't know anyplace else that seats customers on folding chairs. It has an unusual age range of clientele. I felt like I was at a reunion with the Polish side of the family along with Cousin John, Aunt Mary and even grandma. What The Bloomfield Bridge Tavern lacks in d├ęcor (I don't think I would eat off of their floor), it more than makes up for in friendly service, a warm, neighborhood atmosphere, and an extensive assortment of imported bottled beer. I enjoyed The Bloomfield Bridge Tavern, and will certainly go back.

(05/16/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great So So Good

Establishment: Bardo Rodeo, Arlington, VA

We went to Bardo Rodeo on a Friday in February. The first thing that caught our eyes were the arrows spray-painted on the blacktop parking lot. We went in the back door. The first impression of Bardo Rodeo is dark and cavernous, but eventually we found our way to the front room with the automobile half through the front window. At the Bardo Rodeo we ordered "If this Kitchen's Moroccan, don't Bother Knockin'," advertised as "Communal Eats." The Hummus, Bababanoosh and Chef's Special served with Pita Triangles was quite tasty, but, as indicated, was enough for a large crowd. I ordered the Graceland Imperial Stout, one of eighteen beers listed on the menu. The Imperial Stout was described as "an authentic "7 grain" stout, a very black and highly hopped ale with an alcohol content exceeding 8%. The extremely rich malty flavor is balanced with assertive hopping and fruity characteristics. The style has a strong bouquet. Named Imperial Stout because the Russian Czars favored this style of stout." The stout was everything that was promised, and a great brew for a dark beer fan.

Our intention was to go to Bardo's for appetizers, and go to Ireland's Four Courts, just down the street, for dinner. It didn't turn out that way. We were too full after Bardo's, so we just drank at Ireland's Four Courts. By then it was standing room only. Next time we will change our strategy. We stood at the bar and drank. Eventually some people got up and offered us their seats. It turns out that they were headed to Bardo's to play pool. I wonder how much traffic there is between Bardo Rodeo and Ireland's Four Courts, but it seems natural that on a weekend a lot of people would be walking back and forth on Wilson Boulevard, looking for, and finding, a good time and a good brew.

(04/11/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Good Great

Establishment: Ireland's Four Courts, Arlington, VA

Ireland's Four Courts has a warm atmosphere, that looks like a men's club from some Masterpiece Theater show. You can purchase a pewter beer mug and keep it on the wall at Ireland's Four Courts. Your name is engraved, and you use it anytime you come in, which lends a homey, community atmosphere. The Shepherd' Pie is particularly good. We went to Bardo Rodeo on a Friday in February. Our intention was to go to Bardo's for appetizers, and go to Ireland's Four Courts, just down the street, for dinner. It didn't turn out that way. We were too full after Bardo's, so we just drank at Ireland's Four Courts. By then it was standing room only. Next time we will change our strategy. We stood at the bar and drank. Eventually some people got up and offered us their seats. It turns out that they were headed to Bardo's to play pool. I wonder how much traffic there is between Bardo Rodeo and Ireland's Four Courts, but it seems natural that on a weekend a lot of people would be walking back and forth on Wilson Boulevard, looking for, and finding, a good time and a good brew.

(04/11/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Boomerang BBQ was Vermont Flatbread, Pittsburgh , PA

"Welcome to Vermont Flatbread Co." announces the menu, "where we make traditional Northeastern Native American style bread, flavored with maple and quickly baked in our wood burning clay oven. Create a unique meal with a hint of the past."

Please see Nancy's full review of Vermont Flatbread Co. in the Critic's Corner section of PubCrawler.

(02/02/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Foundry Ale Works, Pittsburgh , PA

The Foundry Ale Works advertises itself as "a Restored Turn-of-the-Century Foundry, The Strips Newest Restaurant Brewery." Wide variety of fresh, cold handcrafted beers on tap. A style for every taste. I would highly recommend the Foundry Ale Works to anyone.

Please see Nancy's full review of Foundry Ale Works in the Critic's Corner section of PubCrawler.

(01/11/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Good N/A N/A Good

Establishment: Yuengling, Pottsville, PA

Yuengling brews a lovely beer called Black and Tan that has that hardy, stick-to-your ribs taste that I love in dark beers.

(10/11/1997)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A Awesome! Great Great Great

Establishment: Fuel and Fuddle, Pittsburgh , PA

The Fuel & Fuddle is located in the Oakland area of Pittsburgh near the University of Pittsburgh. They have four pages of beers on their menu (almost as many pages of beer as pages of food) including two house brews -- Fire Brick Brown Ale and Pumphouse Pale Ale that are brewed for them by Whitetail Brewing in York, PA, so I don't know if this qualifies as brewing their own beer or not. They also tend to feature an "exclusive" beer, one that they are the only place in the area to feature. A portion of every sale of their house brews goes go a local non-profit organization called Pittsburgh Cares. Being a dark beer fan, I ordered the Firebrick Brown Ale and was very pleased with the full, satisfying taste without bitterness.

They have a "beer geek" on staff to help the beer challenged.

They describe it as "upscale Left Coast bar food" with pizzas and other wood-fired items. Naturally, we had to try a "live fire pie." We had the Guido which was grilled Italian Sausage, olives, and provolone. Being so close to the University of Pittsburgh, the patrons were almost exclusive under 25 years old. The server was polite and helpful. I will certainly go back to Fuel & Fuddle.

(10/09/1997)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A N/A Good

Establishment: Whitetail Brewing Company, York, PA

Whitetail Brewing brews the two house beers for Fuel and Fuddle, described as "Classic Live Fire Brick Oven Bar," in Pittsburgh Pennsylvania. Fuel and Fuddle's two house beers are Fire Brick Brown Ale and Pumphouse Pale Ale. Being a dark beer fan, I ordered the Firebrick Brown Ale described in the menu as having a roasted chocolate taste. I was very pleased with the full, satisfying taste without bitterness. A very good brew. The server told me that Whitetail has plans to bottle Fire Brick Brown Ale, currently available only on draft. When Whitetail bottles Fire Brick Brown Ale, you can be sure that I will have some in my refrigerator.

(10/05/1997)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So N/A N/A So So

Establishment: Latrobe Brewing Company, Latrobe, PA

Rolling Rock Extra Pale is brewed mountain springs, in Latrobe, PA by the Latrobe Brewing Company, established in 1893. Rolling Rock was first introduced in 1939, using the same label still used today. The name Rolling Rock came from the Rolling Rock Estate, a horse ranch outside of Latrobe, hence the horse head on the label. See http://members.aol.com/Lydon71/33.html

If you like a smooth beer without any bitterness, you will enjoy Rolling Rock Extra Pale.

(10/01/1997)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Lousy Lousy Good

Establishment: Pittsburgh Brewing Company, Pittsburgh , PA

Iron City is a solid domestic beer in the mid-price range.

(09/28/1997)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A N/A Good

Establishment: Pittsburgh Brewing Company, Pittsburgh , PA

Pittsburgh Brewing Company is best known for their Iron City Beer, hence their web site: http://www.ironcity-beer.com/index.html If you asked a a Pittsburgh local directions to Pittsburgh Brewing Company, they'd probably answer, "Huh?" but if you asked for Iron City Brewery, they'd tell you it's on Liberty Avenue across from the Church Brew Works.

Iron City Beer has the reputation for being a working class beer. People under 30 make disparaging comments about the taste, but I like it. I-C Light is more satisfying than the light beers from some of the bigger breweries which I think are sometimes watery. The "Gimme an I-C Light" advertising campaign tried to change the image of the beer. My opinion - if you want image, this isn't the beer for you, but if you want a good, solid domestic beer in a mid-price range, you may enjoy Iron City beer.

(09/27/1997)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Great

Establishment: Weeping Radish, Manteo, NC

I will always have a warm place in my heart for the Weeping Radish. Uli Bennewitz, who introduces himself as one of the owners, claims to have the first microbrewery on the East Coast. His aim is to have a family place, which is why, he says, his is the only beergarten with a playground. The atmosphere and food are very German. I particulary like the Black Radish beer. Check out their web site http://www.universe.digex.net/~microbrw/about.html

(09/25/1997)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Great Great

Establishment: John Harvard's Brew House, Wilkins Township, PA

I really liked John Harvard's Brew House. It's less pricy than Church Brew Works and has better parking than The Strip Brewery and is less trendy. I'd compare the atmosphere to T.G.I.Friday's, but a little more baby-boomer. Check out their web site http://www.johnharvards.com/ You will see the stained glass windows which is their logo, but what you don't see is that one of the saints is Jerry Garcia and the testament he's holding is the Electric Kool-Aid Acid Test. John Harvard's has a full menu in the mid-price range including standard burgers and more creative fare like maple salmon. I found the service quite friendly and helpful. The server told me that the staff are required to eat everything on the menu. I was told that they did not advertise, and after having been there, I am not sure that they need to. Try the sampler. They have six or seven beers with new ones all the time. I highly recommend John Harvard's Brew House.

(09/25/1997)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Awesome! Good Good Good

Establishment: Strip Brewing Company, Pittsburgh, PA

A trendy microbrewery in the middle of the action in The Strip on Penn Avenue. There were fourteen beers listed the day I went, including Cherry, Peach, Raspberry, and a Hazelnut Porter. A sampler is available, which I always appreciate. I recommend their Black and Gold - Porter O'Call layered with their Redhead Ale. The menu is limited to burgers, salads, and pizzas, but what they have is quite good. You walk in the door off Penn Avenue into the Cigar Lounge. A great place to drop in if you're in The Strip or before or after a Steelers game

(09/25/1997)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good

Establishment: The Church Brew Works, Pittsburgh , PA

A+++ for atmosphere. A good place to bring out-of-town guests because it is so unique. I highly recommend the beer sampler. Be sure to check out their web site, they take pains to describe their menu in detail.

(09/25/1997)














(0.106 seconds) 14:33:20 54.196.167.69, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS