PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from neil serafin
Other Reviews by this User
 
September 01, 2014 @ 08:53 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By
neil serafin

Beer Reviews
(17)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






no
user
photo

17
Beer Reviews from neil serafin
   
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great
Great Great Great Great

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Awesome! Great

Establishment: Silver Peak Restaurant and Brewery, Reno, NV

Excellent food in a town still known for its orange colored mac and cheese served on the buffet line at the casinos. Great Beer in a town still known for free Bud Lite if you play the 5 cent slots. I had the Red Roadster Lager. It had good body and a great finish. My wife had the Amber Ale. She said it was a good 16 oz of great tasting brew with a nice color. Food wise I had the Grilled Lamb Loin. It was moist and bathed well in a olive cous cous and madeira wine sauce. My wife had the the Fettuccine Pescatore. She said the scallops in this dish were the best she had anywhere near the West Coast.We did not have any dessert, however the locals have given this opertion awards for them.

(10/22/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Bucksnort Saloon, Sphinx Park, CO

Best Mountain Bar in North America? Good be. If you ride a motorcycle, a Ford or a motor home through the Rockies stop here. Great views. Trout fishing is near by in the South Platte. Try the Buffalo burgers.

(12/18/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So So So Great Good

Establishment: BrewZZi Microbrewery, Bakery and Pizza, Boca Raton, FL

This part of Florida has many former residents of New York and New Jersey. They are used to drinking lagers. After my drive of 3 hours from Venice that led me through fields of sugar cane I figured I needed a lager. I had their Boca Raton Blonde Lager. It was bright with no after taste. I was hungry so I tried the Snapper. The Snapper was OK, however the breading tasted like it was made of sawdust. This location is too much like a TGIF with brewing tanks. Chances are if you come here you can trade war stories with a guy that looks like Grandpa Simpson. This it not worth the short drive from I-95.

(12/13/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Great Great

Establishment: Harvest Moon Brewery / Cafe, New Brunswick, NJ

In a refurbed part of an old city by North American standards this brewpub was a nice stop after a long day on the road. I went straight for the Oatmeal Stout. It was too thick. I had the French Chicken Breast. The chicken was tasty.

(11/05/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Great Great

Establishment: Wynkoop Brewing Company, Denver, CO

I went 11 October to this icon of local brew from my home deep in the front range mountains of Colorado. I had the just above room temp. Stout. It was smooth and thick. Dinner was grilled tuna on a salad. The tuna was good. The salad was too heavy with vinegar. A portion of the proceeds of my bill(the 16 oz. Stout was only $1!) went to the American Red Cross and to the survivors of the WTC.

(10/12/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great

Establishment: BJ's Restaurant and Brewhouse, Arcadia, CA

(07/16/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Great Great

Establishment: Top of the Hill Restaurant and Brewery, Chapel Hill, NC

This was a nice stop off of I-40. The location has a great patio. I had the stout. It was smooth but a little on the weak side. I traveled this part of the South in the 70's and it was Bud and Miller land. It is great to see all the hand crafted brew consumed by the locals.

(06/04/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Awesome! Great

Establishment: Olde Hickory Tap Room Restaurant and Pub, Hickory, NC

I tried the "Paddy's Irish Stout". It was well rounded and quenched my thirst on a hot NC evening.

(06/03/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Great Great

Establishment: Bar @ Ponce and Giralda, Coral Gables, FL

A great bar in a town that is mile post "1" for I-95. Maybe one of the best beer drinking bars in FL. Large slection of beer. I had the Black and Tan. Humidity so high this far south that pitchers are served with inserts full of ice. The burger and fries I had were tasty and low in price.

(05/17/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Moylan's Brewery and Restaurant, Novato, CA

The brewpub is located in a shopping center in the bucolic suburban town of Novato. Plenty of parking for local SUV drivers. I had the Celts Golden Ale. It was clean and fresh. A good choice after a hot day of driving. Even though I was on the Pacific coast, I ordered the Atlantic Salmon. The salmon was well prepared and fresh. It came with mashed potatoes instead of the usual rice. Mashed potatoes are what a road guy wants and needs. The board up front lists brews by alcohol content. Mine was 4.6%. The place as of early May had served 680 barrels of brew since 1 January. This brewpub is worth a stop off of highway 101.

(05/06/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Great Great

Establishment: Downtown Joe's, Napa, CA

Napa is ground zero for wine. While I am a "Spanish Red" wine drinker, I came to Napa for a brew. Downtown Napa is nice place for a brew. This brewpub is next to a small park. I sat outside. Flies and bees were around. This is part of being surrounded by blossoms. I had the Stout. The Stout was low in carbonation and was served at just below room temperature. These are two qualities I look for. I ordered the fish and chips which was a local mix of calamari, fish and fries. It was tasty and not greasy.

(05/05/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good So So Great Good

Establishment: Trailhead Brewing Company, Saint Charles, MO

This was my third visit. The Old Court House Stout was good with a nice finish. The smoked chicken dinner I had was dry. The beans and cold slaw were Army (draft era Ft. Polk) chow hall grade. I was hungry when I left.

(04/25/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great So So Great Good

Establishment: Founders Hill Brewing Company, Downers Grove, IL

I was driven to the brewpub by a taxi driver who had spent 23 years as a "lift" operator in a Czech Republic coal mine. He said the mine was near the town of Pilzen. Pilzen is where we in North America get the name "Pilsener". The driver said during the Soviet occupation of his country, the local brew was price controlled at 12 cents a glass. He missed dearly that part of the occupation. He said to try the stout as he was letting me out of the cab. The stout was thin. It had a good finish. A good fit for most Chicagoland tastes. Not mine.

(04/22/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Good Good Great Good

Establishment: Crescent City Brewhouse, New Orleans, LA

When visiting the French Quarter stop by this Brewpub for some oysters and a mixed drink. Do not drink the beer. Do not drink the beer.

(02/03/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Great Good

Establishment: Typhoon Brewery, New York, NY

The place was packed mid week. The crowd was upscale, mostly 20-30's. The Alt I had was good. For those like me who grew up in upstate New York, we know where NYC gets it's water. The Catskills. Excellent water in NYC for beer making. This pub has in the back comfortable couches from which you can check your e-mail for free.

(02/03/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Great Great

Establishment: Boscos Pizza Kitchen and Brewery, Germantown, TN

This brewpub is a nice change from the mid-south's offering of computer generated beers. I had the Scottish Ale. It was full body and went well with the lamb pasta. As you drive down I-40 in TN being passed by long haul truckers, this would be a good stop for a brew. Graceland is about 25 min. away from this stop.

(02/03/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Awesome! Great

Establishment: Rock Bottom Brewery, Atlanta, GA

This was my second time here. The brewmaster recognized me from my last visit. He said he uses a charcoal filter for the water. He said the big seller in this part of the South was a light lager. I had the stout. It was great! This brewpub is not to be missed even if you have a one night stay in Atlanta.

(02/01/2001)














(0.119 seconds) 20:53:49 54.205.52.110, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS