PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from anne and jeff
Other Reviews by this User
 
September 22, 2014 @ 01:34 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By
anne and jeff

Beer Reviews
(18)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






no
user
photo

18
Beer Reviews from anne and jeff
   
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great
Great Great Great Great

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Good Great

Establishment: Mishawaka Brewing Company, Mishawaka, IN

Stopped here on a Notre Dame football weekend. The Four Horseman Ale is a nice bitter...in fact, we bought 2 "party pigs" for tailgating. I thought the Stout was quite good. Food was good too, but a bit greasy. Staff doesn't know very much about the beers or products. A nice place to stop if you are in for the weekend.

(10/31/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Drafting Room Tap Room and Grille, Exton, PA

A revision from our previous review...this has become one of our favorite restaurant/bars. The beer is always fresh, and beer selection is great with local micros and Belgians. They also have a great selection of bottled beers and scotches. We've eaten here many times and the food is excellent, from the burgers to their dinner selections. The staff is very courteous and knowledgeable about their beers and menu.

(05/30/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good N/A Good Good

Establishment: Union Jack Pub, Washington, DC

We expected this place to have a bit better selection of beers. They had only 4 or 5 beers on tap however. Also, the Fuller's ESB on the handpump was incredibly foamy, and took nearly 15 minutes for the bartender to pour a full pint. They do have 2 dartboards in the back, as well as TV's around the bar. A decent place to get a game of cricket or watch a game on TV, but nothing you couldn't find at any other English or Irish pub.

(05/30/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Great Awesome!

Establishment: Brickskeller, Washington, DC

This place is a must go-to if you are in D.C. I don't know what this guy from Brooklyn is talking about...we had some great times in this cozy, neighborhood pub serving people from grad school age up to senior citizens. The count of bottled beers was up around 850 when we visited. They were out of a couple when we were there, but hey, when you have 850 brews, what do you expect? They had some wonderful Belgians that we've never had before, and we drink LOTS of Belgians. Beer quality was excellent...everything tasted fresh. We only sampled a bit of the food, but everything we had was decent. The service was very good...they were very nice to us, and certainly were not "surly". We will definitely be going back the next time we are in Washington.

(05/30/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Lousy So So

Establishment: Urban Word Cafe, Trenton, NJ

The first time I was here, the place was about empty (it was a weeknight and they had just opened). That time was a good experience...lots of variety on tap with a few Flying Fish selections, as well as Dock Street and other local micros. The waitstaff was courteous, and we had a good time. Food was good too. The second time I was there was a completely different experience. They were out of one beer I wanted, and the other I wanted was totally flat. The staff were disconcerned with me or my party to the point of rudeness. We were told to remain confined to the relatively small bar area, or pay a $10 cover each to see (really, really bad) amateur poetry. The next time I'm in the Trenton area I'll stick to other cheaper, kinder establishments.

(04/24/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Great Good

Establishment: Hilton Head Brewing Company, Hilton Head Island, SC

Went here on a barhopping trip on the island. The beers were good overall...they had a nice porter on tap, with an "OK" amber and an uninspired pale ale. The food looked good, but we had already eaten. I agree that there are other places on the island with better beer selection (Steamer's being one of them), but this place was jumping when we went there. All in all, not my top spot for beers, but a fun place to hang out.

(04/24/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Sly Fox Brewhouse and Eatery, Phoenixville, PA

The beers were very good; they had a nice Belgian and a creamy, rich stout on tap in addition to others. Food was very good as well, with great value from what we can remember (it was a few months ago). We'll be going back.

(03/19/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! N/A Great Awesome!

Establishment: Boston Beer Works, Boston, MA

I've been here 3-4 times and I'll stop every time I'm in Boston. The beers are quite varied, and they have always been great. Never tried the food but it's looked pretty good. The atmosphere is great too...it's a fun place to go after a game, or even to watch the game.

(03/19/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Awesome! Great Great

Establishment: Brew Moon Restaurant and Microbrewery, King of Prussia, PA

We were only here once, and we made the mistake of trying to get seated on a weekend...do yourself a favor and try it during the week. The beer was average to above average, with no real standouts. They were out of 2 beers the night we went. The service was very good. The food was excellent...we especially loved the "beer crackers".

(03/19/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A Great Awesome! Great Great

Establishment: White Dog Cafe, Philadelphia, PA

We actually went here for a Sunday brunch and thus didn't have any beer! But they had some local micros on tap, including their own. Food was excellent...they have a great brunch selection.

(03/19/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Good Great Great

Establishment: Moriarty's, Philadelphia, PA

Lots of draft and bottle choices available. Beer quality got only a good because Jeff had something on tap that was flat. Food was good but nothing special. But we gave it a "great" overall because the beer selection is extensive, and it was a fun place to hang out...good atmosphere; a good place to go after work.

(03/19/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Great Great Great

Establishment: John Harvard's Brew House, Springfield, PA

We've always been pleased with John Harvard's. Their food is very good, and their beers are solidly good, with an occasional standout selection. Service is always courteous and prompt. Great place for lunch (where if you go 5 times the 6th is free) or dinner.

(03/19/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So Good So So Good

Establishment: Iron Hill Brewery and Restaurant, West Chester, PA

Overrated and overhyped. An OK place to go if you can manage to get a table on a weeknight. The food is of fair quality and value. The beers are not very impressive in our opinion. There are much much better alternatives that are 1 to 15 minutes away.

(03/19/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Great Great

Establishment: McGillin's Olde Ale House, Philadelphia, PA

McGillin's is a Philly classic. They have a fair number of beers to choose from, with nothing out of the ordinary. It's just a cool place to go...lots of history to it. The bar is fairly decent-sized, but can get crowded on weekends. It's a good stop if you're doing a pub crawl.

(09/16/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Good So So Good

Establishment: Whalers Brewpub, Lihue, Kauai, HI

What you have read is true; the view from this place is amazing. But it's also true that the view is probably the best thing about the place. The food was average to good...we had nothing spectacular on the menu. They did brew a decent variety of beer styles, with a few notable potables, as it were (a very nice barleywine). The service was incredibly slow...slow enough to warrant a complaint to management. All in all, we weren't all that impressed.

(09/16/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Awesome! Good Great

Establishment: Triumph Brewing Company, Princeton, NJ

Triumph has lost some of its luster since it opened, but they still have good beer and food. Their specialty beers are very good but they often run out, and only have 1 on tap at a time. Their Christmas ales have been excellent for the past few years...spiced, with high alcohol content. Staff is generally quite knowledgeable about beer, but a bit slow.

(01/28/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Great Awesome!

Establishment: Drafting Room Tap Room and Grille, Exton, PA

Great selection of beers, both on tap and bottles. We didn't try the food, but the menu looked great -- maybe next time. The seating in the bar area could be better. Otherwise, we loved it.

(01/28/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Monk's Cafe, Philadelphia, PA

Everything at Monk's is always terrific, from the great beer selection to the food to the knowledgeable, courteous staff. We never go into the city without at least stopping here for a great Belgian.

(12/24/1998)














(0.107 seconds) 01:34:23 54.80.120.136, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS