PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from amanda
Other Reviews by this User
 
July 29, 2014 @ 10:17 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By
amanda

Beer Reviews
(21)

Restaurant Reviews
(11)






no
user
photo

21
Beer Reviews from amanda
   
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great
Great Great Awesome! Great

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Back Forty Beer Company, Birmingham, AL

"Back Forty currently sends their brewmaster, Jamie Ray, to Lazy Magnolia in Mississippi to produce the beer, while they search for a facility in the Birmingham area, something Wilson hopes will come about in the next 9- 12 months. They would like to release small lot beers about every 60 days."

(08/21/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: , ,

Organic sprouted flour pizzas Burgers, wraps, salads, superfoods and sweets

(03/08/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: , ,

Bakeries, Desserts, Coffees, Vegan, Vegetarian, Ice Cream and Frozen Yogurt

(03/08/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: , ,

Calorie and nutritious conscious welcome. Only fresh ingredients and made from scratch menu items. No fryer or microwave.

(03/08/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Awesome! Great Great

Establishment: Burgh's Pizza and Wing Pub, Bridgeville, PA

i've been to burgh's pizza & wing pub many times for their salad and vege pizza, always fresh and consistent. last night's beer specials were the draft penn pilsner and bottled dogfish head apricot beer. the waitstaff is friendly and attentive always, despite the crowd. they serve good food later than most places in the area.

burgh's supports the montour trail every year and displays the oversized checks of donation on their walls.

(04/27/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Karma on 8th, Homestead, PA

karma is either closed temporarily for renovations or closed indefinitely .. make sure you call before making the trip there.

(04/26/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A Good Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: 6th Street Bakery and Cafe, Alpine, TX

stopped in the 6th street bakery and cafe while traveling on my way out of texas and i had my dog with me so i was prepared to grab a sandwich and eat on the curb.

in addition to about 10 tables inside they had a dog friendly seating area outside in the back of the restaurant so we ate out there. i had the special which was a salad and baked/ sweet potato bar with a main course of either grilled steak or portabella mushroom..i had the mushroom. they probably had about 20 good beers bottled in the restaurant area and also a bar area with more beer behind the outside courtyard. i went for the lemonade due to a long drive ahead. the one's serving and grilling were the owners i believe and paced the meal perfectly and checked in numerous times. nice, friendly and genuine these people were.

i didn't have dessert but there was plenty to pick from.. fruit salad, cakes, fruit and creme pies. all homemade. there was a lovely custom cake being made when i went to pay the bill.. big chocolate stacked thing with a pile of decorative/ edible fruit on top. it was ordered for some event and being picked up.

i suggest if you're in the alpine texas area you give 6th street bakery and cafe your business.

(04/25/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Great Awesome! Awesome! Great

Establishment: UUBU6, Pittsburgh, PA

uubu6 may be challenging to find if you're not from the pittsburgh area, so get clear directions. space inside is open and intimate, clean, relaxed crowd. there is a separate bar area and dining room. i had a czechvar to drink and although it tasted fine i believe it was expired. 14 or so good beers to choose from. the service was top notch.. i almost felt spoiled by the treatment. told the waiter (in training)about my vegetarian preferences and he spoke with the chef who put together a beautiful, seemingly well thought out dish. almost went somewhere to eat first because after looking at the menu online didn't see too many things i would eat. i'm glad i didn't. i took a chance that this upscale place would somehow accommodate me and it did. prices are not cheap. the owner was on premises the whole time, i believe he was in the kitchen cooking. left the place satisfied and smiling. hope to see more vege friendly entrees in the future.

(04/10/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A So So Great Awesome! Great

Establishment: Bella Piatto, McMurray , PA

stella and i believe one other beer besides a few from sam adams were offered along with the buds and millers and coors. hopefully the beer selection will expand. the service was great, attentive and intuitive. i ordered a large garden salad and it came out fresh, crisp and green. atmosphere was comfortable, i was dressed very casually and it was fine. the area is full of big chain restaurants so it's a nice break from that. situated back from the main road a little so don't miss it.

(03/17/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Great Great

Establishment: The Church Brew Works, Pittsburgh , PA

this was my second visit to church brew works, i love the use of the church space. we should convert all of them to brew pubs. :) a lot of free space over head maybe we could do something with that so it's not wasted space. kept clean here too. the food was very tasty, southwestern pizza. not pretty looking but delicious. the salad was crisp and fresh and green, one of the best salads around and i eat them a lot. ranch dressing is made in house. to drink i first had the blast furnace stout, perfect appetizer. next i had the belgian-style abbey dubbel. very pleased, wish i would've brought a growler home. maybe would have if i was offered one. my one gripe is when it was time to pay the bill, i didn't receive correct change back.

(02/27/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Great Great

Establishment: Barley's and Hop's Bottle Shop, Bethel Park, PA

looks to be the first of it's kind in the area. aprox. 800 bottle beers stocked and between 600- 800 kept cold. just read labels for a while. relaxing atmosphere, friendly waitress didn't rush my order. while i was there i tried a weyerbacher insanity, potent stuff they make. and the 1 beer they featured on tap, dilerium.

got salad which was baby greens, mushrooms, tomatos and cheddar. also had a veggie wrap on the menu.

talked to one of the owners, asked him if he recycles there, apparently he's read into it but it's not happening for businesses yet.

got a bottle of buckwheat ale sara to take home. organically processed by ecocert it says on the label.

neat place overall. hope to see more vegetarian items on the menu

(01/31/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Awesome!

Establishment: D's Six Packs and Dogz, Pittsburgh , PA

much has changed since i last visited d's. the new space was opened and much time and thought was obviously put into the decoration. tables and bar both were full, college students, families, little of everyone enjoying their food and beer. 17 beers on draft including troegs mad elf, unibroue maudite, dogfish head 90 minute ipa, great lakes nosferatu to name a few. i tried the magic hat #9.

to eat i had a veggie dog with cole slaw that came on a bun dusted with what i think was poppy seed. anyone who likes hot dogs should try their veggie dogs at least once. also ordered a side salad which was a fresh spring mix and iceburg combo with carrots, green peppers, tomatos, cucumbers and red onions with ranch dressing made there.

walked through the beer cave in the back where they stock something like 800 different beers.. waiter said he's up to around 600 beers that he's tried. noticed a 3 liter bottle of chimay priced at around $80.

(01/28/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good So So Great So So

Establishment: Hereford and Hops, Cranberry Township, PA

first thing i noticed when walking up to hereford and hops was the height of the building and wondered what they were doing with the space inside... still found no use for the high building. it's no longer cheap and never was efficient to heat a place like this when the temp. outside is 13, so random extra space like that just makes no sense to me. once inside i was greeted with a meat cooler containing aging beef. a little nauseating for a vegetarian but it is a steakhouse. got a sample of all 10 beers and waitress brought a printout of their names and put them in order on the table then checked back later and chatted about the beer and their ingredients. similar taste in all the beers b/c same ingredients are used. i'll list here as i tasted them down the list, the full names were not printed on the sheet she gave me, check their website maybe eventually they'll list the beers they make. 1- whitetail: was light, watery and tasted like rolling rock to me. apparently that's a popular one there. 2-cashel brown: thick but light on taste, slight coffee flavor. 3-cleary red: thin, mild malt flavor. i liked the aftertaste of this one. reminds me of my first taste of sam adams after years of light beers. 4-harmony: tired taste, windex aftertaste 5-belgian: this was orange/red in color, nice fruit smell, reminded me of yuengling 6-schwarzb: stout, comparible to the cashel brown but slightly lighter in color and thinner. 7-india pale: very hoppy flavor, too much for me. rough going down and bitter aftertaste 8-helles: unique taste here. almost a fruity scent.. pear maybe. i would order this 9-butler: they called this a lager and a bock in their description.. not sure which it is. tasted alright, bitter in the aftertaste. 10-allegheny ale: hoppy, not as much as the india pale though similar

now on to the food. everywhere i go i at least would like a green salad. its healthy and helps everything else go down. they have salad bars set up in all the rooms here and you have the option to add it to an entree for $2. i ordered a margarita pizza which was fine, crust was seasoned and very flavorful, and h & h house salad and the salad was horrible. uninspired, really. 9 or so dollars for the salad and not a green leaf. iceburg lettuce does not cost that much. maybe in some of the extra space they have they can grow some leaf lettuce.

(01/26/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Great

Establishment: Double Wide Grill, Pittsburgh , PA

had lunch at the double wide grill for the first time.. really neat place. gas station converted to a bar/restaurant. tools and auto parts make up the decor. staff wears mechanic looking shirts. 25+ beers on tap from troeges, great divide, bells, dogfish head etc. i had the atwater vanilla java porter, never heard of it before, tasted good if you like coffee. had a double wide house salad that came out crisp and green with avacado sliced. also had vegetarian hot wings w/ celery & carrot sticks. both owners visible most of the time i was there. highly recommend trying this place.

(01/23/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Great

Establishment: Mellow Mushroom, Winter Park, FL

many different beers to pick from, had water this time though. field green salad was fresh and green.. vege pizza was tasty. fresh herb mix on the table is a nice idea and went well with the pizza. server was friendly, polite and prompt. i felt relaxed there.

(01/02/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Awesome! Great

Establishment: Bangkok Balcony, Pittsburgh , PA

had dinner at the bangkok balcony on december 25th, nice variety of people out. atmosphere was warm with minimal but tasteful decorations. small oriental woman wearing bright purple dress danced in the middle of the room then walked around to tables and made friendly conversation. had a seasonal pumpkin ale to drink. very tasty food..authentic. ordered a vegetable tofu soup and vegetable salad. mango ice cream for dessert. prompt, friendly service.

(12/25/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Great Good

Establishment: The Hop House Wood Fired Food and Ale, Pittsburgh , PA

Drove by the hop house on a Friday and saw it was open so decided to stop. big and open inside with pool tables and lots of seating. i provided my own musical entertainment on the jukebox. nice draft beer selection, i went with dogfish head 60 min. then a celis white. they also had at least one beer from victory brewing. tried the vegetable pizza to eat and pita strips with artichoke dip. both were delicious although pita was a little greasy. fresh veges on the pizza for sure. watched the chef prepare the pizza in the open kitchen with integrated wood burning oven. he came out after his shift for a drink and asked how everything was. nice guy, seems to really enjoy what he does and does it well. hinted to order the pita strips "dry" next time. i enjoyed myself, at one point i got to talk an iron city beer drinker into trying a celis white.

(12/21/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Great

Establishment: Bocktown Beer and Grill, Robinson Township, PA

everyone at bocktown was extremely helpful and friendly. the owner stopped to talk and has been in the industry many years, drinking good beer even longer. they had a walk-in cooler along the wall packed full... not a coors light in the house. i guess they searched for a place that served food and drink like they like and couldn't find it so they opened one. home-made salad dressing with pieces of veges was very tasty. no smoking inside but tables and trays outside. they should do well there.

(12/19/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A Great Awesome! Awesome! Great

Establishment: Jernigan's Scotch and Cigar Bar, Mount Lebanon, PA

Jernigan's Scotch and Cigar Bar is a nice addition to the galleria. the bar is situated inside a cigar shop so any future smoking ban shouldn't affect them. frank was the bartender and was helpful, knowledgeable, and a pleasure to talk to. idealistic you could say. hopefully futuristic he was. few vegetarian items on menu.. had a dip sampler and made from scratch cheesecake with fresh rasberries. both made with lots of love. actually got a glimpse of the cook in the kitchen eagerly asking how we liked everything. :) large bottled import beer selection. blithering idiot being one of them.

(12/19/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: India Garden, Pittsburgh , PA

Went to India Garden for thanksgiving dinner this year. refreshing break from all the turkey heads. they served a buffet with an impressive variety of fresh hot food and cold bar with salads and raw vegetables. something like 20 beers on tap with daily specials. ordered arrogent bastard ale and the not so english speaking waiter repeated it as "american bastard".. funny. this was probably my 5th visit there and i am consistently happy with everything. i could go every day.

(11/25/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Karma on 8th, Homestead, PA

After hearing about Karma i was very excited to visit. their atmosphere was welcoming and decor appropriate for the name. vegan and vegetarian friendly.. obviously the owners have cooked this way or eaten this way for a while. my first beer pick was the dogfish pumpkin ale since i haven't tried it but they were out and the waitress suggested the oak barrel old dominion stout which i had and was tasty. as an appetizer i tried the pea soup with wild rice and it was amazing. really. wish they'd share the recipe. had the thai noodle salad with tempeh as an entree, came out looking creative and pretty. maybe a little overpriced for what it was. so many things on the menu sounded good and will eventually try them all. my bathroom visit was pleasant, space was clean and the temperature in there was slightly warmer, intentional i think and there was a tasteful sign on the door politely suggesting the light be turned off and door shut upon completion. hope more people follow their footsteps. thanks!

thai noodle salad oak barrel old dominion stout

(11/04/2006)














(0.127 seconds) 10:17:39 54.81.75.69, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS