PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from alan
Other Reviews by this User
 
September 20, 2014 @ 05:07 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By
alan

Beer Reviews
(43)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






no
user
photo

43
Beer Reviews from alan
   

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good
Good Great Great Good

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Good Good

Establishment: Rock Bottom Brewery, Orland Park, IL

We ate and drank there Friday night and had a very good evening. We ordered their sampler platter of beers, the only beers to stand out were the stout, actually a porter and a slightly thin hefe. The beer that made my night was the Bourbon Imperial Red Ale. This is a great after dinner beer that has bourbon character as well as some sherry like attributes. This beer is well worth just going to Rock Bottom for it alone.

(08/24/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Good Great

Establishment: Goose Island Beer Company - Clybourn, Chicago, IL

Our bartender said it is more than likely that they are closing! It will be a shame to lose this place, it is such a great place to drink and eat. I had their 20th Anniversary ale and the red ale. I really liked the red it was nicely hopped and balanced well.

(08/23/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great So So Awesome! Awesome! Great

Establishment: Phantom Canyon Brewing Company, Colorado Springs, CO

They only had five beers on tap, because of brewing delays from construction outside the brewing room. We had a group of thirteen and our server was awesome. He went out of his way to fulfill our needs. We started with a sampler of 5 beers, everything they had on tap. A Golden Ale it had a slight off taste, a Pilsner that was nicely clean and crisp with a slight hop bite to it. Also a Mild that my wife loved, as well as a terrific IPA that was served at cellar temperature. Their last beer on tap was a guest beer from Wynkoop their Silverback Smoked Porter which was quite tasty as well. Unfortunately because of the construction they only had the five beers and were brewing more to release soon. Overall a great place that I would say everyone when in the area so go to.

(07/04/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Good Awesome! Good

Establishment: America's Brewpub, Aurora, IL

I went with my wife and daughters this past Thurs. night. They were really slow, don't know if the smoking band in Illinois was a factor or not. We set in the bar area so we could watch the Orange Bowl, so the menu is a bit limited versus the regular restaurant menu. The food was average overall, except for the the deserts which are great.

I had a coffee stout to start with which was very good, My wife had a honey wheat that also was very good. My second beer was the amber ale which had some noticeable diacteyl taste as the beer warmed. Needless to say I was less than please with the beer. They my wife and I both had their Bourbon Barrel Barley Wine which we both thought very highly of. It had a smooth bourbon taste as well as prune, chocolate, and some alcohol warmth. This is an excellent beer.

Overall the beer is good and the reason to go is the atmosphere and the Walter Payton museum.

(01/05/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Great Great Good

Establishment: Jasper Ridge Brewery, Ishpeming, MI

This place is in a strip mall and looks like it inside and out. Nothing special nor memorable about this place. The food is the star of this brewpub and the beer is average at best. We both enjoyed our burgers. We ordered the sampler platter which included 7 beers, a belgian wit, a golden wheat, a blueberry wheat, a kolsch, a brown ale, a pale ale, and a stout. As I had said their beers are average at best in taste, but they do have a very good selection of beers.

(07/08/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Library Bar and Restaurant aka The Library, Houghton, MI

This is a great place to go with a date for a nice meal out. Our waitress was very good giving us the attention we needed and left us alone while we ate. We had the ravioli and an order of cheese bread both very good. We ordered a sampler that included 10 beers, a wheat, a golden ale, a light ale, a premium lager, a rye ale, a pale ale, an IPA, a brown ale, a java stout, and a dry stout. I am far from a fan of light ales, but their light ale was very good as well as the dry stout, IPA, and the brown ale. Their beers are all very good to great and they have a complete control of their brewhouse. A very nice place to go.

(07/08/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Awesome! Great

Establishment: Keweenaw Brewing Company, Houghton, MI

This is a great place! The service was great and even had an opportunity to talk with Dave the head brewer. It was great to be able to talk with him and find out about the place. They are one of the only microbreweries that can their beer. We had a sampler platter that included 7 beers, a session ale, a hefeweizen, a blonde ale, an amber ale, a brown ale, a porter, and a pale ale. They all are very good drinkable beers, except for the session ale which the brewer admitted left something to be desired. Dave mentioned that they now have a second place to brew and is looking forward to getting it going and getting his beers to be more consistent after they figure out there new surroundings. A great place to just hang out and drink and most important pints are always $2!

(07/08/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Good Great

Establishment: Lake Superior Brewing Company, Grand Marais, MI

Overall this is a very cool place and a place any one can feel at home. This is just about the only place to eat in town at night so it was busy. We ordered a sampler, they had 6 beers to sample, a wheat, a cherry ale, a pale ale, an ESB, a brown ale, and a stout. Their best beers were the Pale ale and the stout, all of their beer were above average and they seem to care to make beer with flavour. I had a pizza quite good and my wife had chicken fingers and she enjoyed them. The service was a bit slow but I will give them the benefit of the doubt and say it was because they were busy. A very cool place and it is definitely worth the trip to this place.

(07/08/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Good Great Good

Establishment: Vierling Restaurant and Marquette Harbor Brewery, Marquette, MI

We went there for dinner and a sampler of their beers. All told we received 9 beers in our sampler a blonde, a honey wheat, a blueberry wheat(with real blueberries in the beer), a peach wheat( the peach flavour is overbearing if you like peach this is your beer), a brown ale, a pale ale, a red ale, a Scottish ale, and a stout. All are a good representative of their own style, but nothing outstanding. This place is in a college town so it is busy and just about any one can be seen in this place. It is usually very busy so expect to wait for a table. It has a small bar maybe 10 stools so not much of a chance to sit at the bar. For our meal I had a pepperoni pizza, that was ok but not great. My wife had a sandwich that was good. All in all it is a very good place to eat, especially if you get lucky enough to sit in the back room and have a view of Marquette lower harbor.

(07/08/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So Good Good So So

Establishment: Tahquamenon Falls Brewery and Pub, Paradise, MI

Since this is the only food a very busy state park we had to wait at least an half hour to be seated. While we were waiting to be seated we went up to the bar to order a beer, which took several minutes to be waited on and to receive our beers. Once we were seated our waiter did an excellent job getting us what was needed. The food was good nothing special. They have only 4 beers on tap a blonde lager, a pale ale, a wheat and a stout. All 4 have been dumbed down for the tourists, they all lack the flavour and punch that they should. If you go avoid tourist season and don't expect much from the beer.

(07/08/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Great Great

Establishment: Hereford and Hops, Escanaba, MI

We sat at the bar and had great service from the bartender. My wife had the cheese soup it was awesome. I had cheese curds that were really good. We ordered the sampler, we received 7 beers in total. A wheat, a pale ale, IPA, a red, a nut brown, a schwarz, and a Belgian dubbel. Their best beers were the brown, schwarz, and the dubbel. The others are drinkable but not as good as the previously mentioned beers. The brewery has a split personality a bar where the locals hang out and a restaurant where you can go with a date. Overall a nice place and I would go again if I were in Escanaba.

(07/08/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A Good Great Good Good

Establishment: Red Jacket Brewing Company was Michigan House Cafe, Calumet, MI

We went to Red Jacket yesterday for lunch to grab a beer and a meal. First thing that hits you is the bar, it is a great old time bar, pretty much original from the late 1800s early 1900s. They were busy so we had to wait for the hostess. We wound up sitting at the bar. I ask what beer of their's did they have on tap. The bartender responded that they have run out of both of their beers. They make only 10 gal batches at a time and from their literature they only make it once a week. I was greatly disappointed that they did not have any of their on beer. We both had a ham and cheese panni, we both thought it was very good. We were not the only disappointed people in concern with there beer, several other people walked out because they did not have any of their own beer on tap.

(07/06/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Establishment: 75th Street Brewery, Kansas City, MO

WE got the six pack sampler and was well pleased with the brown, IPA(an English style), the wheat and blackberry wheat. Also the had a very good pumpkin wheat. WE had a 12" pizza and were well pleased with that as well. Our waitress suggested trying a mix of the brown and pumpkin beers and it was tasty. Then I had a mix of the pumpkin and IPA beers also very tasty. Overall from the brewpubs I visited in the KC area this is the best one.

(11/02/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Great

Establishment: Yard House, Kansas City, KS

160 different kinds of beer on tap! Everyone can find a beer they like. The Food is as outstanding as the beer selection. The waitstaff are friendly and attentive. A very nice chain resturant that everyone can enjoy.

(10/30/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So Good So So Good

Establishment: Power Plant Restaurant and Brewery, Parkville, MO

I was disappointed with this place. They were out of their seasonal beer, plus their blackberry wheat, and their mocha porter. The stout was weak and needs more roast flavour. The brown was good, pretty malty and the Pale ale was their bezt by far. We sat at the bar, while waiting for a table and the bartender was excellent. Unfortunately that is the only excellent thing about this place. Once we sat down the waitress was surly and did not seem to care about her job. our dinners were less than rousing. We had the Cajun steak, but there was no seasoning on them and rather bland. I would not recommend going to this place.

(10/30/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Good Great

Establishment: Free State Brewing Company, Lawrence, KS

(06/08/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Millstream Brewing Company, Amana, IA

The beer is what you come for here. Tasted a couple of beers loved the Bock. I was able to get a tour of the place, being a homebrewer and no body around. The beer they make is some of the best in the Midwest, Capital in WI only wishes they make beer this good!

(12/26/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Old Capitol Brew Works and Public House, Iowa City, IA

Truly a place worth going to. It totally surpasses the previous establishmnet in this place. The beer is very good, really liked the winter warmer, but all are very drinkable. the food selection is great. I will go back!

(12/26/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! N/A Great Awesome!

Establishment: Bent River Brewing Company, Moline, IL

Jerry's honey bear porter is to die for. Much better than last year beer, more honey taste and not as harsh taste wise. My favorite is still the dry-hopped pale ale a great beer. All in all the best place to go in the QC!!!!!!

(11/12/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Good Good

Establishment: Rock Bottom Brewery, West Des Moines, IA

Rock Bottom's beer continues to improve. They have done a excellent job finding a brewer that cares about making good beer. They had two brewer's specials a hefe and an oktoberfest, both very good. Finished of the night with a stout, good roast flavor, but seem a bit thin. The food as usual is great, anice place for a meal, to meet friends, or take a date.

(10/08/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Great Awesome! Great

Establishment: Upstream Brewing Company, Omaha, NE

The Oktoberfest is avery good beer, currently they have it on tap and on cask condition. The stout is probably there best, served on nitro, nice creamy head and smooth. The wait staff is excellent, they were all ways there when you needed a beer. They are almost to good, asking if you need a another beer when there is still over an inch of beer left. Overall it is a very good place and worth a stop.

(10/08/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Good Good Good

Establishment: O'Griffs Irish Pub and Brew House, Quincy, IL

Had ten beers on tap. Tried a sampler of six with lunch. Ipa was hoppy, but didn't seem to have the alchol edge I expected. the stout was good and the Porter was the best of the lot. Food was good. the bartender was a bit unfriendly and seemed distracted. Felt that she didn't want any one in the place. Overall the bar could use some remodeling, but an enjoyable place with good beer.

(09/17/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Great Great

Establishment: Trailhead Brewing Company, Saint Charles, MO

They had six beers on tap. The brown and stout really stood out to me. They both had nice roasty flavors. The food is great and the bartender was great as well. A little way out of St. Louis but worth the trip. Plus there is a really cool museum of Lewis and Clark.

(09/17/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great

Establishment: Schlafly Bottleworks, Maplewood, MO

Had a few different beers than tap room, but all were of great quality like the tap room. Thurs- Sun they give tours. It's worth the trip for the tour. I you want to know the process of brewing and bottling of beer this is the place to go.

(09/17/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Awesome! Great

Establishment: Schlafly (aka The Saint Louis Brewery Tap Room), Saint Louis, MO

Eight or nine beers on tap. All I had were of great quality! The service is top notch and the food is always great. Not many place better than Schlafly's. If you are in St. Louis this is a must. Beer the way it should be!

(09/16/2005)


Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]













(0.143 seconds) 17:07:27 54.87.156.29, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS