PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from alex bensky
Other Reviews by this User
 
August 22, 2014 @ 06:55 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By
alex bensky

Beer Reviews
(15)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






no
user
photo

15
Beer Reviews from alex bensky
   
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good
So So Great Good Good

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So N/A Good So So

Establishment: Sports Brew Pub, Wyandotte, MI

I had the IPA, which wasn't too well-balanced but was perfectly drinkable. Not worth a special trip but should be all right if you're in the area. This is the only brewpub downriver, and I suppose it could have been worse.

(08/06/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So N/A Lousy Lousy

Establishment: Titanic Brewing Company, Coral Gables, FL

I was here a year ago and chose not to offer a review. I feel obligated to do so now, given their rather unpleasant attempts to assail the product and reputation of the Tampa Bay Brewing Co. So they're up for a medal? Stroh's Light won one somewhere. I don't recall now what I had, but I noted that the selection was limited and I barely finished the beer. One great thing about brewpubs is the friendliness and knowledgeability of the staff. There are exceptions, and this was one. It wasn't too crowded but the bartender seemed to have something better to do than answer my questions about their product. If I made beer like this I suppose I'd be posting negative comments on the review sites for good brewpubs, too.

(07/02/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So N/A So So Lousy

Establishment: BrewZZi Microbrewery, Bakery and Pizza, Boca Raton, FL

I had to ask for a non-frosted glass and the bartender seemed bemused when I did. I'm sorry to say his responses to my questions about the beer were not very helpful, and he didn't know what "cask conditioned" meant. I had the special, a dortmunder, which was drinkable although despite the warm glass was still much too cold. The pizza looked good but I didn't have any. It's not far from the International Museum of Cartoon Art, but there is no reason at all to go out of your way to this place.

(07/02/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Good N/A Great Awesome!

Establishment: Tampa Bay Brewing Company, Tampa, FL

The only brewpub I went to during my Florida trip that was really any good, but it was really good. I had the IPA; served at the proper temperature and carbonation, very well balanced, a truly fine IPA. I had tasters of the barley wine, the wheat, and the stout, and they seemed good--not enough of a sample of any to speak declaratively. Also a very nice chat with the friendly and knowledgeable John, brewmaster. Bartender was knowledgeable.

I went to the Titanic in Miami on a previous trip. Its attempt to run down the TBBC on this site is, like its beer, not very tasteful.

This place is highly recommended.

(07/02/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Lousy N/A Lousy So So

Establishment: Sarasota Brewing Company, Sarasota, FL

I forgot to ask for a warm glass and got an ice cold wheat beer. It probably would have tasted all right if it had been near the proper temperature. I asked the bartender about what was on cask and had to ask twice before it dawned on me that she had no idea what I was talking about. I had a few questions about what they had but she either didn't know or didn't care to tell me. I would have tried something else, but after nearly ten minutes of trying to attract her attention without shouting I left.

(07/02/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Lousy N/A N/A So So

Establishment: Hops Restaurant and Brewery, Saint Petersburg, FL

We tried the Hops in West Palm Beach but at midnight on a Saturday it was closed. It had the same beer list as this one: a light; a blond; and a red. Out of an absence of anything else to do I tried the red, and as seems to be necessary, had to ask for a glass that was not frosted. The red was indifferent; more or less drinkable. This is not the place to go for a variety of beer or subtlety in the product.

(07/02/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So Great So So Good

Establishment: Traffic Jam and Snug, Detroit, MI

Their beer list announced a new Scotch ale. What came was sort of a pale ale--gold color, dominant hopes, very little malt taste at all. The server appeared to know very little about beer and the bartender insisted that this was what Scotch ale was supposed to be. It wasn't bad at all; just not a Scotch ale.

(05/08/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great So So N/A Good Good

Establishment: North Channel Brewing Company, Chesterfield Twp, MI

Service was great, but I was at the bar in the middle of the afternoon, so I don't know what it's like when it's busy. Didn't try the food. Only four beers on tap, none cask-conditioned. I had the Pale Ale, very good of its type; a bit too heavy on the hops for my taste, but hopheads will love it.

(03/09/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Lousy N/A Good N/A

Establishment: CEEPS Barney's Ltd, London, ON

I just had their own beer and no food, so I can't speak to the selection of other beers or the food. The bartender described their beer as "sort of an amber ale." Whatever it was, it wasn't that. I found it as sort of a mildly improved Bud. Not worth the effort. Place was a college hang-out if that's what you want.

(09/10/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So Good Good Good

Establishment: Quay Street Brewing Company, Port Huron, MI

"Good" is not damning with faint praise. I had the IPA and found it quite tasty--not outstanding, but certainly very drinkable. Hamburger came cooked to order and the fries were good. Worth stopping in if you're in the area or on the way to London, Ont.

(09/10/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A Great Great

Establishment: Redhook Ale Brewery, Seattle, WA

The IPA and ESB are particularly good. Fairly small, friendly place a bit off the beaten track.

(05/23/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Great Great

Establishment: Pike Brewery and Pub, Seattle, WA

I have found the IPA and the pale ale to be excellent examples of their type. I'm not overly fond of their stout, but it's quite all right and many people love it. Worth stopping in.

(05/23/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! N/A Great Great

Establishment: Berkley Front, Berkley, MI

Staff is knowledgeable and helpful. They are very good about offering tasters. Not much atmosphere but the beer selection is excellent and varied.

(05/23/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good N/A Good So So

Establishment: Woodward Avenue Brewery, Ferndale, MI

Competent and drinkable beers but nothing to write home about. I found the highly-touted vanilla porter to be a bit thin.

(05/23/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good N/A Good So So

Establishment: Harper's Restaurant and Brewpub, East Lansing, MI

(05/23/1998)














(0.084 seconds) 18:55:09 54.91.255.151, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS