PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from austin hart
Other Reviews by this User
 
September 21, 2014 @ 01:11 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By
austin hart

Beer Reviews
(26)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






no
user
photo

26
Beer Reviews from austin hart
   

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great
Great Great Great Great

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A Awesome! Great

Establishment: Lucky Labrador Brewing Company, Portland, OR

Amazing this place hasn't caught on more. A smaller number of brews but very well done at that, and an almost equal number of guest taps from some of the more obscure breweries in the state. Very large place, which makes it easy to get a seat, as I was worried with the large ratio of Subaru's parked outside it might be packed. Also came here with a group ranging from 22-25 in age all were asked for ID's all brought them expecting they might be asked no problems, thats how it works in Oregon, sometimes u get asked sometimes u don't has never been a problem. Check this place out.

(01/25/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Tugboat Brewing Company, Portland, OR

Excellent Atmosphere, came here after getting off an Amtrak train, very friendly service small and excellent quotes in the bathroom. Rye Ale was incredible adding it to my top ten list. My only complaint was the smokiness, seems like everyone was smoking in there, how can people taste what they're drinking while sucking smoke across their tongues?? I guess they put up with enough non-smoking establishments, they need a good one of their own everyonce in awhile, but it think it'd be easier and cheaper to just inject themselves with nicotine and not bother with all that tobacco and the such. Anyhow I'll still come back.

(01/18/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Awesome! Good Good

Establishment: Full Sail was Riverplace Brewery, Portland, OR

In my opinion this place skirts at the edge of being considered a brewpub, though they do brew some beer on site, its more of a fancy bar for McCormick and Schmicks and and outlet for Full Sail of Hood River. Very yuppy, a lot of smoke, crowded and overpriced except for the 1.95 happy hour menu which is excellent. Also was disappointed that they didn't emphasize the beers brewed on premises. Might be better later at night when the after work crowd has cleared out nad maybe some of the smoke, when you just can't stand to not have a Full Sail. I agree with the others I'd rather go to Bridgeport anyday.

(01/18/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! So So Good Great

Establishment: Archer Ale House, Bellingham, WA

Great atmosphere, large selection of bottled beer, a decent number of taps. Easily the largest selection in Bellingham, and second of the places I've visited only to Old Chicago, but close and more emphasis on Trappist Ales. Had the fish and chips, think I might have done better with a McFish Sandwich. But well worth the stop when in Northwest Washington, just watch out for the squares.

(01/18/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Good Good Great

Establishment: Rogue Ales Public House, Portland, OR

Stopped here at about 10 on a friday night only to find the place practically deserted. I couldn't believe my eyes. Nonetheless, I ordered a Hazelnut Brown, after hearing all the raves I could I resist. It wasn't for me though, it might make a good flavor base for a milkshake though, I found the Hazelnut overpowering, and the beer was all in all too sweet for me.

(01/04/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A Awesome! N/A Good Awesome!

Establishment: Horse Brass Pub, Portland, OR

Finally made it to the world famous Horse Brass. Didn't have much time there though, showed up 7 mins after last call bartender was nice enough to serve one though. Can't say in the short time I was there that I had any problems with the service as I've heard. The atmosphere is dark and wooden, the taps are great and plenty, I can't wait to go back.

(01/04/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Good Great

Establishment: Bridgeport Brewing Company and Public House, Portland, OR

Everyone is right, the pizza here is great, don't come expecting to have many other choices for food. Knowledgeable staff, and an unoverwhelming list of brews make this a good place to sit back an taste the brews.

(01/04/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Awesome! So So Great Great

Establishment: Full Sail Brewing Company, Hood River, OR

I've been here before but I have something to add, first the barleywine, don't bother much too sweet, I was almost sic, second the ripcurl is the whitecap, they just changed the name of the summer seasonal and made it year round.

(12/30/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Leavenworth Brewery, Leavenworth, WA

I actually enjoyed the leavenworth brews across the street at Duckboys. I must say Leavenworth Brewing has a distinct taste not to be missed, I especially enjoyed their Snowblind? Winter ale. And how can one miss Leavenworth?????

(12/30/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Good Great Great

Establishment: Grant's Brewery Pub, Yakima, WA

The nation's first brew pub, you can't go wrong right? RIP Bert your legacy lives on, he was a perfectionist in life, and while I'm not a fan of every beer they offer now, the scottish and the Imperial Stout are wonderful. Grants (though sadly in Yakima) is worth a stop for any serious pubcrawler if for nothing more then its the original. Don't plan on having anything more then an appetizer here though, you'll be wasting your money. All in all a nice establishment.

(12/25/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Awesome!

Establishment: McGlinn's Public House, Wenatchee, WA

While there are no Breweries in Wenatchee this is as close as one can get. When I was there on 12/21/02 they had a wonderful selection of winter ales from the northwest as well as two beers one from Rosyln Brewing in Roslyn, and One from Pyramid in Seattle that were according to the beer list brewed exclusively for McGlinns so one not be afraid of entering just another bar without being able to try something new. The Sat. I was there the place was packed partly I'm sure due to the fact that Kevin Jones was playing live that night. But the atmosphere was great all around, the service was great given how busy it was and the food was decent, though the beer bread was incredible.

(12/23/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A So So Great

Establishment: Snipes Mountain Microbrewery, Sunnyside, WA

Nice place too bad it has too be in Sunnyside, u'd never know it sitting in side. Came here on a Monday night around 5 we were the only ones at the bar. ESB was exceptional, the service was slow and disorganized though, the bartender seemed overworked by all 2 of us at the bar and a small christmas party in the back, they must not be used to crowds. Worth the drive for anyone already in South Central Washington.

(12/17/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Great Great

Establishment: Sleeping Lady Brewing Company was Snow Goose, Anchorage, AK

Made this the dinner stop on a night in Anchorage, great King Crab, good beer, decent view, can't go wrong.

(12/09/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Good Awesome!

Establishment: Glacier Brewhouse, Anchorage, AK

Stopped here for a quick beer while in Anchorage. I was very impressed with the place. Large selection of beer. too bad I only had time for one. I'll be back somtime soon I hope. Was very crowded there was no place to sit in the decently large pub when we first got there. Finally two bar stools opened up and we were able to sit down and enjoy it. Worth a stop if you're in Anchorage.

(12/09/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great So So Great Great Great

Establishment: Steamworks Brewing Company, Vancouver, BC

I've been here a few times while staying at the Pan Pacific in Vancouver. Its worth the short walk from anywhere around Gastown. Its the only Canadian BP I've been to. There isn't much of a selection of beers, but I enjoyed the Brown Ale quite a bit. Atmosphere is good, service is a little slow, and the burgers are great.

(12/09/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Deschutes Brewery, Bend, OR

Well worth the trip down to Bend for this. Pick a clear day for the drive, great view of the cascades. A wonderful selection of beer and an attentive relaxed staff. I was lucky enough to show up on the first week they began pouring this years Jubeale...awesome. Foods not bad either.

(12/09/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Pike Brewery and Pub, Seattle, WA

This place is a lot more about location and atmosphere. Don't get me wrong the beer is good and the food and service go with it. Def is worth a stop.

(12/09/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome!

Establishment: Pyramid Alehouse, Brewery and Restaurant, Seattle, WA

I guess I'm the odd man out being the only to rate their beer so well. I'm a huge fan of Snow Cap. I wait all year for it to come up and make a trip to Seattle to try it fresh. Food here is great, though the service can be a bit slow and it does get loud and crowded. I'm not a sports fan but the location does give me an opportunity to walk from the train station on my hour layover from Bellingham to Portland I sometimes take, and grab a couple beers a quick (really quick somtimes) lunch. Its also well worth the trip for the 3 beers they only serve on tap at the alehouse a barleywine i think its 5,000 year ale, and i think the other two are a stout and a porter correct me if I'm wrong. Well worth the trip.

(12/09/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great So So Good

Establishment: Redhook Forecasters, Woodinville, WA

The beer was good as Redhook is however nothing more special then I can get at anyother bars serving it. No extra beers on tap like you can find at Pyramids. We made the extra trip out to Woodinville trying to get to the source as the highlight of the day only to be disappointed by the atmosphere and the service. Should have stuck with downtown Seattle. Might only be worth the trip if ur interested in the tour. Also was a disappointed when we found out they had stopped making the Double Black Stout that was so wonderful, they should be petitioned to bring it back who's with me? All in all not a bad place just not worth the extra effort and cofusing directions to find this pub exactly.

(12/09/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Boundary Bay Brewery, Bellingham, WA

Well worth the stop for drinks and dinner.

(12/09/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Great Great

Establishment: Belltower Brewhouse, Vancouver, WA

Its been awhile since I've been there maybe I should go back and double check, but the porter I had there was one of there better I've found in such a small place. Nonetheless, the more upscale menu I felt made the place a great stop for dinner. Its at least worth a stop.

(12/09/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Widmer Brothers Brewing Company, Portland, OR

I've never been disappointed in any of my trips to Widmers. I'm a big Widmer Hef fan, whether it be a true hef, their version of a hef(I belive), or a wheat beer. Lets stop being snobs and enjoy it. A thousand times better straight from their own taps then the bottles I often have trouble convincing myself to try anything else on tap when I'm there. The drive to Portland is worth it just for the sausages they serve as well, excellent food, excellent super fresh beer. No one should pass this place up.

(12/09/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Great Awesome!

Establishment: Pelican Pub and Brewery, Pacific City, OR

I often make the trip from Troutdale to Pacific City for lunch and to fill my growler with Dorymans Dark Brown by far my fave Dark Brown I've tried yet. Great food on the menu more then enough to fill me up for the drive home. The stout is great to, and the location other then the drive I have is sweet. Can get very busy on August weekends though. A def must for anyone traveling anywhere on the Oregon Coast to stop.

(12/09/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy So So N/A Good So So

Establishment: Port Halling Brewery, Gresham, OR

Went here after a trip to Full Sail. Was not impressed with the beer at all. I don't plan on going back. I ordered the sampler and found the highlight of the whole place to be there Bud Light wanna be (I can't remember the name of it anymore) which also seemed to be the only thing the bartender seemed to know anything about. Gresham residents would be much better off taking the time to drive downtown or hitting a Mcmenamins near by. I didn't try the food though so I have no comments on that. All in all this might be a place to go if ur gas tank runs dry near downtown Gresham.

(12/09/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Awesome! So So Good Great

Establishment: Full Sail Brewing Company, Hood River, OR

Def a good stop on the boring drive from Yakima to Troutdale I oft make. Though I haven't found many beers there to go crazy over. They seem to present smoother more mild beers then I normally go for. Foods good for a quick snack but thats it. The view is terrific no doubt worth the stop.

(12/09/2002)


Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]













(0.154 seconds) 01:11:00 54.82.58.198, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS