PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from chris
Other Reviews by this User
 
September 02, 2014 @ 05:02 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By
chris

Beer Reviews
(47)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






no
user
photo

47
Beer Reviews from chris
   

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great
Great Good Great Great

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Good N/A Good So So

Establishment: Brown's Brewing Company was Troy Pub and Brewery, Troy, NY

Sat on the patio and had an insipid porter and a bland IPA. The wafting stench from something that must have been dead and rotting on the river bank below didn't help. Beer reminded me of what you'd get at a "brewpub" run by AB or CoorsMolson.

(08/26/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good

Establishment: River City Brewing Company, Wichita, KS

Had a brief visit on the first Tuesday of August 09. The IPA was decent. The Kansan pizza was supposed to be special by including buffalo, which I didn't notice. The pizza was nothing special (about a step up from frozen).

(08/10/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Awesome! Great

Establishment: Lb. Brewing Company, Hays, KS

This place certainly turned out to be a pleasant surprise. As part of a short visit to Hays, KS, I was taken here for lunch. The pale ale was crisp and tasty with just enough hop backbone. The pork tacos were of good quality and well prepared, although I didn't care for the sauce the pork was marinated in.

(08/10/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Awesome! Great

Establishment: Gella's Diner and Lb. Brewing Company, Hayes, KS

This place certainly turned out to be a pleasant surprise. As part of a short visit to Hays, KS, I was taken here for lunch. The pale ale was crisp and tasty with just enough hop backbone. The pork tacos were of good quality and well prepared, although I didn't care for the sauce the pork was marinated in.

(08/10/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Great

Establishment: C.H. Evans Brewing - The Albany Pump Station, Albany, NY

First, the beer was very good. All we had was IPA, but it was excellent, akin to a Dogfish Head 60 Minute. The food was interesting. They tried, but it didn't always work out, however, I give them extra points for trying. Had the calamari, which the jalapeno sauce on the bottom of the dish really helped kick it up and enliven it. The Thai Chicken Wings were an interesting take on the traditional wings, but it worked. I'd definitely try this place again.

(03/02/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Awesome! Great

Establishment: Seven Barrel Brewery, West Lebanon, NH

In an odd location in a strip mall. The space was poorly laid out, and the decor felt like leftovers from other establishments. The beer though was very good. And, the server, was no greenhorn and new about the beer and the history of this small brewery. Both the porter and the IPA were very good. Skip the food. But, do come for the beer.

(03/02/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Great Good

Establishment: Long Trail Brewing Company was Mountain Brewers, Bridgewater Corners, VT

All we had was their IPA, which was very light. Not bad for a hot summer afternoon, but a little too light for a snowy evening apres ski. Good service.

(03/02/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Good Great

Establishment: Harpoon Brewery, Windsor, VT

Weird that it only serves until 6 pm on weekdays. Stopped by after skiing and had a winter warmer and their signature IPA. Both were good. The bar featured a modern take on the fireplace and all men at the bar (many of them brewery workers after their shift enjoying the fruit of efforts).

(03/02/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Good Great

Establishment: Amherst Brewing Company, Amherst, MA

Bison burger was excellent! The IPA was good - nothing outstanding, but nothing offensive either.

(03/02/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Good Great Great

Establishment: Johnstown Brewing Company, Johnstown, PA

Frankly, I was skeptical about finding good beer in Johnstown. After all, the only other time I had been in Johnstown I couldn't find a decent cup of coffee. Fortunately, the town has better luck with beer. The IPA here is well done - nicely balanced and full flavored. Just assertive enough without being too overbearingly hoppy. The food was OK. The wings were weird. One of the options was to get them breaded - what does that mean? The setting is a little odd too. I felt like I had stepped into a time warp (well, it is Johnstown). The place feels like some country club from the early eighties - bad furniture, vinyl "table cloths", fake ficus trees, faux wooden barrels, carpeting, etc. I hope this place thrives so they can afford to make the place over in a fashion more inline with the branding established by their logo and beer.

(05/25/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Great Good

Establishment: Grizzly Peak Brewing Company, Ann Arbor, MI

This is essentially the same as North Peak in Traverse City. And like that branch, the beer was unimpressive. Tried the heffeweizen, which was too banana-y and floral, but yet was thin and flat.

(05/25/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Good So So Good

Establishment: North Peak Brewing Company, Traverse City, MI

This large brewpub is in a former factory and is a rather interesting space. The chicken artichoke pizza was quite tasty. The waiter was rather clueless about the beverages they were supposed to specialize in: "What style of Belgium beer is it?"... "Ohhhhh, it's new." New or old, the beer was unimpressive. The IPA was rather flavorless. The porter was better, with some complexity and flavor.

(05/25/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Jamesport Brewing Company, Ludington, MI

Great spot. The IPA was excellent - very well balanced. It was so good, it was all we wound up drinking. The loaded potato chips are probably one of the worst things you can eat from a health perspective, but I dare you to resist them!

(05/25/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Good Great Awesome!

Establishment: Bell's Brewery / Eccentric Cafe, Kalamazoo, MI

Bell's has some the best beer in the east. The space is interesting and inviting. The two hearted is a nicely balanced IPA. The Belgium abbey was strong and flavorful and the porter, while robust, was well proportioned. The food was blander than expected.

(05/25/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So N/A So So So So

Establishment: The Church Brew Works, Pittsburgh , PA

The setting is what draws you here. It is a spectacular setting. Unfortunately, the beer is totally uninteresting.

(05/25/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Great Great

Establishment: Magnolia Pub and Brewery, San Francisco, CA

Magnolia doesn't disappoint with its beer. It's well made and simply delicious. This time, my third time here in about the past 5 years, had Saison and one of the IPAs. the Saison was very good and the IPA was more of an imperial style. The wings were overcooked and dry. The only downside was that the tables were kinda grungy.

(02/23/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Establishment: ThirstyBear Brewing Company, San Francisco, CA

Had the IPA and ESB. The ESB was the better of the two, with a nice, well balanced flavor. The IPA lacked the same level of finesse and had an off wheat aftertaste. The shellfish stew was excellent. Note that they don't serve food past 9:30. Ummm, isn't this supposed to be the big city?

(02/23/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So N/A Great Great

Establishment: Boulder Creek Brewing Company, Boulder Creek, CA

This was a fun, quirky find. While passing through Boulder Creek CA noticed and thought I'd stop in. It was later Saturday afternoon, and they were out of 2 of their 5 beers - an odd way to start a long weekend. The only things on tap were a pale ale, a winter warmer and porter. The pale ale was OK, similar to a wit. The porter was good, but nothing particularly memorable. The staff and other mates at bar, though were what made this a fun, interesting, quirky, good pit stop.

(02/17/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Awesome! Good

Establishment: Mahogany Ridge Brewery and Grill, Steamboat Springs, CO

Only had the Pale Ale, which was a little off. On the nose I expected a wheat beer, but it finished very minerally and acidic. Not that good. But at happy hour prices ($1.75!!!) who could complain. The tappas apps during happy hour was only a buck a piece too. So, financially, it's a great deal between 4-6.

(09/22/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great

Establishment: Breckenridge Brewery and Pub, Denver, CO

Luckily, a game was going on while visiting, so this vast essentially sports bar, was nearly empty. The pale ale was OK, but nothing memorable (at least after visiting Great Divide prior).

(09/22/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Great Awesome!

Establishment: Great Divide Brewing Company, Denver, CO

the beer, which is essentially all they serve here, is excellent. Had the IPA and the Belgium wheat. Both were very good. But watch out for the Belgium wheat - it kicked my ass! I like the small minimal space, but even with just a few boisterous people, it can get quite loud.

(09/22/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Rosie's Brewpub, Leadville, CO

Stopped by while passing through Leadville. Had the Pale Ale, which was good. The wraps are good, and big enough for two. The fries are great! The space is small and little too homey for my taste.

(09/22/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great N/A Great Good

Establishment: Dillon Dam Brewery, Dillon, CO

Tried two beers here: the pale ale and the chili beer. The pale ale didn't connect with us. The chili beer certainly had the flavor of chili peppers, but little other flavors. After the first few sips, the novelty wore off and we didn't wind up finishing the beer. Didn't try the food. Lively bar with good bartenders.

(09/18/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Tommyknocker Brewery and Pub, Idaho Springs, CO

Had the Pale Ale down the street at Beau Jo's pizza. It had a slight sweetness at the end and could have benefited from a bit more hops. Didn't check out the brewpub.

(09/18/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great So So Great Good

Establishment: Mountain Sun Pub and Brewery, Boulder, CO

Go for the beer and not the food. The FYIPA was great. The food and decor leave a lot to be desire. The prices were incredible - even before happy hour!

(09/18/2007)


Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]













(0.107 seconds) 05:02:37 54.82.66.236, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS