PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from chris
Other Reviews by this User
 
August 29, 2014 @ 05:15 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By
chris

Beer Reviews
(23)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






no
user
photo

23
Beer Reviews from chris
   
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great
Great Great Great Great

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Good Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Cumberland Brews, Louisville, KY

Stopped in here for a few hours while in Louisville recently. I won't bother to go anywhere else next time I'm in town.

Stout, porter, and brown ale were all superlative and true to type. The stout could have been a little warmer, but that's about the only issue I had. The bartender was very friendly and attentive.

Foodwise, I tried the vegan burger (had been eating junk food all week - don't ask). It was basically a felafel on a bun. Take that for what it's worth.

Excellent establishment - highly recommended.

(04/21/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Good So So Good

Establishment: Silver Peak Restaurant and Brewery, Reno, NV

I tried both the original and downtown locations on a recent visit to Reno. I had the stout and the porter at the original location; both were thin and overly-carbonated. The IPA at the downtown location was better - creamy and true to type.

The salmon fish & chips was excellent. The pork tacos were nothing special.

I'm giving it a "good" because its one of the few worthwhile stops I could find in Reno.

(10/17/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Great Awesome!

Establishment: Dr. Dremo's Taphouse, Arlington, VA

This is my 2nd update (3rd review). I've been going regularly for happy hour (free pool) since they closed and then reopened in '03. Hadn't tried the food in a while, until the other day when I had a chicken wrap and my friend had a cheeseburger. Since this is Pubcrawler and not Foodcrawler I won't get into details, but I'll just say both were a pleasant surprise, and better than other places who are supposedly known for their good pub grub.

As for the beer, this time around I was drinking a Victory IPA. I went back for another one and the bartender suggested a Dogfish. Excellent suggestion, and showed they not only know what they're talking about, but they appreciate customers who do too.

Dr. Dremo's has been pretty well packed on weekend nights for almost 2 years now, so I guess everyone has finally discovered it. Thankfully the unique and non-pretentious atmosphere remains.

(03/12/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Great Great

Establishment: The Pub and Restaurant, Gettysburg, PA

Stopped in for drinks on a Fri. night and lunch on Sun. Of the tap selections, Boddington's is the best. But they have Troeg's in bottles.

Bar area comfortably crowded on Fri. night. Lunch was excellent for the price, and there were plenty of places to sit in the bar area at about 1PM.

(02/09/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good So So Great Awesome!

Establishment: Birchmere / Native Brewing Company, Alexandria, VA

This is not a brewpub - heck, it's hardly even a bar. It's a concert hall that happens to have a bar inside. If you're familiar with the Virginia Native series of beers, you know what to expect.

The coolest thing about the Birchmere is that you can see a concert while seated at a bar table, complete with wait service.

(02/04/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Great Great

Establishment: Dr. Dremo's Taphouse, Arlington, VA

To update my last post, I've been coming here on a semi-weekly basis and am amazed that the place is still not more popular. The beer selection is one of the best in the area. The atmosphere is by far my favorite of any Arlington bar - it's basically a hip, stylish pool hall with an excellent jukebox.

No problem, though - I'm happy to have the place to myself.

(07/11/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Great Great

Establishment: Rock Bottom Brewery, Arlington, VA

The beer is much better than Capitol City Brewery's. The food is, too. Bartenders are friendly and attentive.

The $1 pints on Wed. night are simply the area's best happy hour deal. Unfortunately, everyone knows about it, so prepare for a hot, sweaty mob scene if you stay past 6. Great place to go at any other time.

(07/11/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good So So Good

Establishment: Capitol City Brewing Company - Shirlington, Arlington, VA

Beer quality is average-to-good, but it's one of the only games in town if you're into microbrews. The food is simply average and not a bargain. Service at the bar is good, but sit at a table and it's a crapshoot.

(07/11/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Good Good

Establishment: Union Street Public House, Alexandria, VA

The bar is nice and big, with pub tables near the window. Better-than-average beer selection. Bartenders are excellent, but service away from the bar can be spotty.

A bit of a tourist trap, so it's not cheap. It's also a meat market on weekend nights (in fact, it rivals Arlington's worst on Fri. and Sat. nights). But go for happy hour or a few drinks in the afternoon and you'll be pleased.

(07/11/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Awesome! Great

Establishment: Faccia Luna Trattoria, Alexandria, VA

Since there's no real pizza joints in the entire Metro DC area (Pizza Paradiso downtown is highly overrated), Faccia Luna is pretty much as good as it gets.

The bar in the front of the restaurant is small, but usually not crowded. Beer selection is surprisingly good for a restaurant. Service, from either the bartender or the waitress, is usually excellent.

(07/11/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Founders' Restaurant and Brewing Company, Alexandria, VA

I'd love to know what they did with my mug when they shut down... if anyone knows, please e-mail me.

(03/27/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Great Good

Establishment: Sign of the Whale, Washington, DC

First off, it's not in Georgetown - it's near Dupont Circle. It's a pleasant bar with a diverse crowd (college to 40s). Beer selection is about average for the area. Bartenders are attentive and usually friendly. Good bloody mary brunch on weekends.

(10/08/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Great Good

Establishment: Kelly's Irish Times, Washington, DC

Closest thing DC has to a real Irish pub (in atmosphere, anyway - the food is mostly your basic American bar food). Best time to come in is a weekend afternoon - weekend nights are ridiculously packed with college kids. They pour a good pint of Guinness, and will serve it warm if asked. Not much in the way of unique beers. Come in at an off-peak time and you'll probably enjoy it.

(10/08/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Great Great

Establishment: Clarendon Grill, Arlington, VA

Better than average beer selection. Great food - especially the wings. Gets ridiculously crowded on weekend nights. Happy hours can get packed too, but not too horrible. Nice patio bar out back. Typcal Arlington crowd - Banana Republic-types. Bands are usually very good and don't interfere with your ability to move around.

(10/07/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Good Good Great

Establishment: Galaxy Hut, Arlington, VA

Great local hangout with none of the Banana Republic-pretentiousness of the rest of Arlington's bars. Small place, which cuts down on the crowds and noise - you don't have to yell to hear yourself. They attract good bands, but as other have said, there's not much room for people once the band is set up. One of my favorites if I'm out alone or with 1-2 other people.

(10/07/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Good Great

Establishment: Dr. Dremo's Taphouse, Arlington, VA

Dr. Dremo's serves Bardo beer, so check the reviews for Bardo Rodeo for more about the beer. The food is excellent, with a few unique items on the menu. Not much of a bargain, though, which is typical for Arlington. Funky atmosphere and decor - I like it. Free pool at happy hour. I've been coming here a lot recently, and wonder why it's not more popular. Not a place to go if you're looking for a "scene" - more like a place to hang out with your friends, shoot some pool, and have some good beer.

(10/07/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Awesome! So So Good

Establishment: CarPool, Arlington, VA

Beer selection is above average. Food is awesome - best BBQ in these parts. The place can get pretty crowded on weekend nights, but not as ridiculous as it once was. Happy hours are fun, especially when the weather's nice and the big front doors are open. Service can be iffy depending on who's working.

(10/07/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Awesome! Good Great

Establishment: Murphy's Grand Irish Pub, Alexandria, VA

Beer selection is slightly better than average. The real draw here is the food - traditional Irish, English, and American fare at prices that are a major bargain for Old Town. There's entertainment almost every night (traditional Irish folk singers) with crowd participation. The St. Patrick's Day festivities must be seen to be believed (the line starts at about 9AM). An Old Town standard for a good reason.

(10/07/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So Great Good Good

Establishment: King Street Blues, Alexandria, VA

Not a beer bar, but the food is great and unique (one of the few good BBQ places around). Give it a 9 for the food, and maybe a 7 for the beer selection.

(10/07/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Great Great

Establishment: Southside 815, Alexandria, VA

Definitely a neighborhood bar, in a good way. Nice, big bar, friendly and attentive bartenders. Beer selection is slightly better than average. Food is excellent, with many unique recipies. Happy hour food is awesome - $1 pulled pork sandwiches, $1 wings, half-price burgers. I will say the wings are nothing special, though.

One warning - don't go here on a Sunday afternoon or Monday night in the fall unless you like football. It's shoulder-to-shoulder packed with loud Skins fans.

(10/06/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Awesome! Great

Establishment: Chadwick's Old Town, Alexandria, VA

Great service - friendly bartenders. Beer selection is better than average, but not amazing. Food is good to great. Never gets ridiculously crowded, and the crowd is highly diverse - 25-55. Still a bit of a locals' bar, which is a good thing.

(10/06/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Great Great

Establishment: Bullfeathers, Alexandria, VA

I personally like the wings, and I'm a conossieur. Food quality is better than average but not amazing.

The place can get ridiculously crowded on weekend nights after 10PM - popular with military guys on leave, college kids, etc. Before 10 or so, it's a good atmosphere. Beer selection is slightly better than average.

(10/06/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Good Good Great

Establishment: Founders' Restaurant and Brewing Company, Alexandria, VA

I've frequented this bar for about 3 years now. The food quality is nothing special, and the bar service can be somewhat slow at certain times depending on who's manning the taps. However, the beer quality and selection are excellent, and it's usually not too crowded (by Old Town standards). I particularly enjoy coming here on a weekend afternoon and usually end up staying into the evening. It's also a good place to "start out" on a weekend night.

(10/03/2001)














(0.132 seconds) 05:15:43 107.22.78.233, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS