PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from christoher mcmath
Other Reviews by this User
 
October 24, 2014 @ 10:42 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By
christoher mcmath

Beer Reviews
(17)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






no
user
photo

17
Beer Reviews from christoher mcmath
   
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good
Great Good Good Great

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Great Good Good Good

Establishment: Pint's Pub, Denver, CO

I used to go to Pint's when it was just a bar. They have a good selection of beers from the UK and Ireland. I later went to try the new cask ale that is brewed there. It was OK. It was a little warm and flat, even for cask ale. The dark star ESB is pretty good. Good pub food. They were out of chips (fries for you yanks) when we were there. Lame. I will have to try it again. I like it as a nice multi-tap bar. As a pub with cask ale, it needs some improvement.

(09/29/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Good Good

Establishment: BJ's Pizza, Grill and Brewery, Boulder, CO

At first glance, BJ's seems like another chain pub. They have a new brewmaster and the company gives him a lot of leeway in designing the beers. I am pretty impressed with this place. The appetizers and burgers are good. Their imperial stout is very rich and alcoholic. I also like their weizen and pale ale. Lots of cascade hops. They had a barleywine for several months that started out thin and harsh and ended very complex and malty. They just put on a batch of witbier that is nice and a batch of the stout was fermented in a whiskey barrel. Pretty strong flavor, but interesting. Recommended.

(09/29/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good

Establishment: Alcatraz Brewing Company, Littleton, CO

This a pretty decent brewpub. They brew clean, flavorful ales. They could use a little more character and richness, but are probably brewed to be middle of the road since they are in a mall. The food we had was decent. The stout is dispensed with nitrogen and was flavorful.

(09/29/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! N/A Good Great

Establishment: Falling Rock Tap House, Denver, CO

A new place with 69 taps of great variety including a bunch of high end imports from Germany, the UK and Belgium. The Paulaner Maibock was great. Nice atmosphere too, with a huge bottle collection on the wall. The menu looked good with a lot of beer cuisine, but I didn't eat anything. Definitely the best tap selection in Denver.

(01/16/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good

Establishment: Walnut Brewery, Boulder, CO

This pub has pretty good food and a nice atmosphere. The beers are decent, but a little thin for my taste. They had an excellent barleywine this winter. Worth going to.

(01/16/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Good Awesome!

Establishment: Anderson Valley Brewing Company, Boonville, CA

I haven't been to the pub, although I really want to. I hear that it is really nice with some beer cuisine and a dinning room that overlooks the brewery. The AVBC beers are some of the best microbrews I have ever had. The oatmeal stout is incredible and the amber, winter solstice and ESB are all fantastic. I look forward to trying the rest, especially the GAFB medal winning porter. Very highly reccomended.

(10/02/1997)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A N/A Awesome!

Establishment: Great Divide Brewing Company, Denver, CO

I have not been to the brewery but all of their beers are excellent. The porter is one of the best porters I have had, micro or import, the amber and the wheat are great and the new denver pale ale i well done. They also had a really nice winter ale with a touch of chocolate malt and a nice warming feeling. One of the best Colorado Micros. Highly reccomended.

(10/01/1997)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy So So N/A N/A So So

Establishment: Champion Brewing Company, Denver, CO

A place that is mostly for the sports crowd, not beer lovers. Most of the beer I have had was thin and pretty flavorless. They have lots of sports memorabilia and typical bar food, nachos, burgers etc.

(10/01/1997)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Good Great

Establishment: Breckenridge Brewery, Breckenridge, CO

A nice pub and a great place to go after skiing. The avalanche amber and the oatmeal stout are there best brews. They have good food and pool tables. The brew kettles are right behind the bar, so you can watch the brewers work. They have beer to go and lots of t-shirts, hats etc. Worth a look.

(10/01/1997)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Good Great

Establishment: Back Bay Brewing Company, Boston, MA

I used to work here and I can honestly say that it is the best pub in the boston area. The beer is good, especially the porter and the cask bitter. The food is innovative, although a little highbrow for a pub. They also have a cigar bar.

(09/30/1997)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome!

Establishment: Wynkoop Brewing Company, Denver, CO

I am going to go out on a limb and say that the Wynkoop is the best pub I have been to. The beer is very high quality especially the Cask ESB, the stout, which is brewed with oats and nitrogen fed and the railyard ale. The food is great especially the red gumbo and the gorgonzola ale soup, made with railyard. They have killer beerbread and good entrees. There is a fantastic pool hall upstairs with 20 brunswick ventura tables and another bar. Don't miss this if you are in Denver and are a beer lover! It has sold more beer than any other brewepub in the last few years and has won several medals at the GABF.

(09/30/1997)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So Good Good So So

Establishment: Sandlot Brewery, Denver, CO

A very nicely decorated pub with amazing copper brewing equiptment. The pub is at Coors Field, home of the Rockies. The pub is owned by coors and the beer is then sold to Aramark due to liscensing. The food is good, especially the artichoke cheese dip in a bread bowl. The beer is pretty mediocre. Most are drinkable, but they are too thin and watery for their respective styles. I guess they are brewed for the sports market. Could be a great place if the beer was better. They are capable of making great beer, but they choose not to. This has always puzzled me about large brewing companies. I guess you can't argue when you have 90% of the market.

(09/30/1997)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Good Great

Establishment: Rock Bottom Brewery, Denver, CO

The first of many Rockbottom pubs around the Country. The beer is good with a decent selection. The Molly's Titanic Brown ale is the best microbrewed brown I have had. The place is very large with tanks all over the place. The menu is varied and good, although some of the portions are too big. A fun place to go after work.

(09/30/1997)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Good Good

Establishment: Oasis Brewery, Boulder, CO

A Boulder pub with a subtle Egyptian theme. The beers are all good and the Zoser Oatmeal Stout is the best one. The brown and the ESB are also good. Good appitizers and the burritos are killer. A decent place.

(09/30/1997)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Good Good

Establishment: Phantom Canyon Brewing Company, Colorado Springs, CO

A nice place in Colorado Springs. The beer is pretty good and the food is very good. They have good appitizers and salads and killer steaks and meat dishes. A fun place with a great pool hall upstairs also run by the brewery.

(09/30/1997)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Good Good Good

Establishment: Mountain Sun Pub and Brewery, Boulder, CO

Small pub with a sort of hippie atmosphere with flowers on the ceiling etc. They have six house brews plus a good selection of guest beers from around Colorado and the Pacific Northwest. The food is simple but good and the staff is friendly. Worth a look.

(09/30/1997)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Good Great

Establishment: 5280 Roadhouse and Brewery, Littleton, CO

Nice small brewery in a suburb of Denver. They usually have 6 or so choices. The red and the brown are very good and the pale ale won a medal at the GABF. They have great pizza and salads as well as other choices.Highly reccomended.

(09/30/1997)














(0.246 seconds) 22:42:59 54.226.0.225, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS