PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from chris ware
Other Reviews by this User
 
April 20, 2014 @ 09:20 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By
chris ware

Beer Reviews
(14)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






no
user
photo

14
Beer Reviews from chris ware
   
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great
Great Great Great Great

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great

Establishment: Dr. Dremo's Taphouse, Arlington, VA

Made my first visit recently. Doesn't look like much from the outside, and it doesn't improve much on the inside, but that actually adds to the charm. 32 beers on tap, nice selection, and the bartenders seemed to know and care that they are serving good beer.

(03/08/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Awesome! Great

Establishment: District ChopHouse and Brewery, Washington, DC

I was there Saturday night, we arrived around 6:30PM and the wait was about 30 minutes, not bad for a Sat. nite. We found a spot at the bar and I sampled some brew while waiting for a table. I started with one of the Brewers Choice beers, the Belgian Trippel. Its a strong 11.5 ABV, sweet with notes of bubblegum and apples, but the finish was a little off. Next came the Dunkel Weizen Bock. Too much Weizen flavor and not quite enough Dunkel for my tastes, the banana notes were very strong, but could have been balanced more by the roasted malts. It was a good brew, don't get me wrong, but not enough of that roasty flavor for a dunkel. Next came the Nut Brown, a very solid well balanced amber beer. I also sampled the Velvet ale, the nitro version of the Amber Ale, which was creamy and smooth. I ended with a sample of the Bourbon Stout. Very stron bourbon notes give way to a nice chocolate-espresso finish. The service at our table was top notch, as was the food. I would come again, and its right down the street from RFD, so it makes for a nice DC pub crawl stop.

(02/28/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great N/A Good Good

Establishment: Founders' Restaurant and Brewing Company, Alexandria, VA

I stopped by this afternoon, I sampled two beers, the Grand Cru, which was a tasty spiced Belgian style beer, and the 80 Shilling Scotch Ale, which was pretty average. It had a very strong yeast flavor. The service was ok, not great, but we were not in any hurry either. We didn't have any food, so can't comment there. The beer list was pretty impressive in terms of selection. I hope the 80 Shilling just is an off batch, the location is great, and the place itself is nice.

(02/21/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great So So Great

Establishment: Growlers was Summit Station Restaurant and Brewery, Gaithersburg, MD

OK, full disclosure. One of my good buddy's girlfriend is a bartender here. But, she was sick the night I visited, so no free brew for me! The place is in a nice location, and the overall impression is a good one. We ate downstairs, there is another pub upstairs that we did not explore. First, the good: I sampled three beers, the Irvington IPA, which is a solid IPA, not too heavy on the hops, the Scotch ale, which was ok, but I am fan of Scotch ales, and I was a little disapointed. Don't get me wrong, but it needed a little more body. I was very pleased with the Nut Brown Ale. It was almost a stout/porter with its espresso/bitter chocolate notes. Wonderful and very smooth and drinkable. More good: The food, once it arrived, was very good. The nachoes are huge, and go well with a few beers. Not so good: The service was s-l-o-w. And they were not that full. Our food orders took way too long, and our server did not really help things. To his credit the beers arrived soon after I ordered them. But the food delay was a disapointment. Bottom line: I would go back for sure. They also have a couple of guest taps, which is a nice touch. I will chalk up the average service as a fluke. My wife, who is not a beer drinker, was displeased that she was charged for refills on the root beer.

(02/05/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Awesome!

Establishment: Ginger Man, New York, NY

Fantastic selection of beers. I took a tour of the winter seasonals, and they have a great selection. Good mix of import and domestic seasonals. The bar is in a nice location in midtown, not hard to find right of 6th Ave. The bar has a classic pub feel. The food was average, and they have a limited food selection, which is fine, just don't come for the food. Come for the Beer! I ended up sitting with a random group of local professionals. So the clientele is friendly and laid back. Service was good. Bottom line, if you love beer and are in Manhattan, you should make a point to stop in.

(02/05/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Awesome!

Establishment: Capital Ale House, Glen Allen, VA

Wow. One of the best selections of beers on tap I have seen, and I have seen a lot! This place is a little out of the way, but worth the trip. The bar is nice, clean, and the service good. I was there early Saturday evening, and it was pretty empty. I have heard that it can get crowded in the evenings. The ice rail at the bar is a nice touch, but do most beers need that? Its still pretty cool. We only had the fries as a snack, and they were very good. They have on tap right now Eggenburger Samichlaus Dopplebock, an ass kicking beer, one of the best I have ever had. Its not for the faint of heart, however, only serious beer drinkers need apply for this one. Bottom line, if you are in the Richmond area, and you love a great selection of brews on tap (and they have quite the bottle list, too), you need to visit Capital Ale House.

(02/05/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Great Great

Establishment: Sweetwater Tavern, Centreville, VA

I was just there last night, and the seasonal right now is the Weisenbock. If you are in the area, stop by while the have it on tap. Its a wonderful brew for the cool months, very drinkable, notes of banana and bubble gum, almost like a classic Belgian brown. Wonderful. In general, this is a great place to grab a beer, but they are almost always crowded, and the food is not cheap. Its good, and so is the staff, but this is not the home of cheap pub food. Worth the price, I think.

(02/05/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Great Good

Establishment: America's Brewpub, Aurora, IL

The best beer of the bunch was the Sweetness Stout. Very smooth, well done stout. The seasonal reindeer red was pretty good, too, and the other brews were drinkable, but none memorable. I was there with a party of 6, we all were happy with our food. I had the prime rib sandwich, and it was tasty and huge. I would go back the next time I am in Aurora. By the way, this place was co-owned by the late great Walter Payton, and it features a mini-Walter Payton musuem.

(11/28/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Good Great

Establishment: Durty Nellie's Pub, Restaurant and Music Venue, Palatine, IL

Excellent selection of beers. About 15 on tap, and some excellent seasonal winter brews. I was there on a Saturday night, and it was full, but not packed. We didn't have any food, but the selection of beer was the main attraction. Again, 25 or more beers on tap plus lots of bottles to choose from. The atmosphere was so-so, lots of people drinking bud-lite?? Do they have a clue? But the great selection of beer made up for it. Did I mention the selection of beers?

(11/28/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Onion Pub and Brewery, Lake Barrington, IL

I'm not sure what people are talking about when they say this place is expensive. Maybe they lowered the prices. I was there over the Thanksgiving weekend. The 10 beer sampler was 10 bucks. Not bad for 10 5 oz. beers. The lunch menu wasn't pricey either, and the food was good. The beer was good, but only a couple are exceptional. The Belgian Doppel was very good, as was the bourbon barrel stout. The pumpkin season beer was one of the better pumpkin beers I have had, get there and try some while they still have it. The lighter beers were drinkable, but not memorable. The atmosphere is great, and the staff was nice. The only negative is the location, its not really near anything, tucked away in a light-industrial park. Worth a try when you are in the area.

(11/28/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Great Awesome!

Establishment: Weeping Radish, Manteo, NC

One of my favorite brew pubs, if you are anywhere near the Outer Banks, you must make a stop here. The beers are excellent, the heffe and the Black Radish being two of my all time favs. The seasonal beer selection is good too. Food is great. I usually sit in the pub section, and the service can be a bit slow, but hey, you are on island time, right? They recently started up a brew school, which I haven't attended yet, but is an all day event that includes beer, food, and helping the brew master create a batch of seasonal beer. Talk with the owner, Uli (pronounced Ooh-lee), if you get a chance, and he will tell you how he had the state law changed in NC that allowed him to open NC's first brewery restaurant.

(10/30/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So Great So So Good

Establishment: Taylors was Terrific Pacific Brewery and Grill, San Diego, CA

I was disapointed that only 4 brews were offered when I visited recently, and one was a light beer, so why bother with that? That said, the beers that were availble were decent, and the food was quite good. We sat outside, and the service was average at best. Its worth a trip if you are in the area and looking for a decent brew, but not worth making a special trip for.

(10/30/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So So So Good Good

Establishment: Coronado Brewing Company, Coronado, CA

The location is excellent, and that makes it worth the trip. I sampled the Islandwiezen, the porter and the seasonal Octoberfest. The Islandwiezen was so-so. wheat beers are one of my favorite, and this one did not measure up with the best in the category. Was it bad, no. Was it exceptional, no. The porter was quite good, and the Octoberfest was tasty too. Decent service, though the food was average. I had the pizza, and it wasn't anything special. But the beer is worth a trip if you are in the area, so I would go back. One other note, only 5 beers were available when I was there, I was hoping for more variety.

(10/30/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Good Good

Establishment: Karl Strauss Brewery Gardens, Sorrento Mesa, CA

Karl Strauss has several locations in the San Diego area, I went to the one is La Jolla. The heffeweizen was excellent, as was the IPA. The Porter was good. Try the sampler if you go, and don't get the pre-sleceted 6 beers, you can customize to get what you want. The service was good, we were seated right away, and the food was pretty good, though the beer was the real treat. Worth a visit for any beer lover visiting San Diego.

(10/30/2004)














(0.1 seconds) 09:20:25 54.204.64.152, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS