PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from chris brewer
Other Reviews by this User
 
November 26, 2014 @ 09:34 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By
chris brewer

Beer Reviews
(33)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)







33
Beer Reviews from chris brewer
   

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great
Good Great Great Great

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Good Great Great

Establishment: Weasel Boy Brewing, Zanesville, OH

Food (in the way of pizza) comes from "Muddy Miser's" down the street, a local icon in and of itsself. Beer selections tend towards the Beer Advocate crowd. A solid IPA, Imperial Black IPA, 2 Stouts, Scottish Heavy, a Brown, and a Pale on this visit. Nice location in the Arts district of Zanesville, right on the river with a small patio. We were the only one's in there that weren't from Zanesville but felt right at home. If the local's flock there, you know it's worthwhile. Not open Mon. or Tues.

(04/29/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome!

Establishment: The BREW Kettle Taproom and Smokehouse / Ringneck, Strongsville, OH

I've been there for dinner for the past two nights in a row and may go again tonight. 20+ taps including 10 or so of great microbrew from other breweries. 5-6 Imperials, it was beer heaven. The food was excellent and the service was fast. Entree and 3 pints was $21. What a weird business model (brewery, restaurant, and brew on premises) but it works, they were packed. In spite of being packed (on St. Pat's no less) I got a seat in 5 min.

(03/18/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Lousy Good Lousy So So

Establishment: Taylor Brewing Company, Lombard, IL

I hope that someone builds a brewery there soon. Nice building and equipment... Two of us went in on a Thursday night for dinner and a few of pints, left after one. They were out of the IPA and the Pale Ale leaving us with a Brown and a Hefe both without much body or flavor. Food was good but the service was lacking. We had to hunt our waitress down for silverware, twice for water.

(09/08/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Great Awesome!

Establishment: Lunar Brewing, Villa Park, IL

Great local place. No food but they ordered pizza's and set them out for everyone. Michael Collins (Forgotten Astronaut), and Neil Armstrong Belgianesque ales were very and well crafted. They also had a good selection of Micro's from all around theGreat Lakes region including Dark Horse, New Holland, Great Lakes, etc.

(09/08/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Black Forest Brau Keller, Frankenmuth, MI

We took our friends from Germany to Frankenmuth to show them what "real" Germany looks like. The Schwartzbeir was unexpected, caramelized and smoky, very tasty. The IPA and Hefe were good but not outstanding. The food was excellent as was the service. The sausage sampler w/kraut, pretzels and mustard are the way to go!

(03/17/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So Great Lousy So So

Establishment: Frankenmuth Brewery, Frankenmuth, MI

The brewery has been closed since November. There was some intitial talk about turning it into a brewery and tasting room (no restaurant). The rumor now is that Dragonmead is considering buying it to increase their capacity. Good luck, I wish them the best.

(03/19/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Great Great

Establishment: Flying Saucer, Memphis, TN

Ditto to the comments below. I can't remember all of the beers that we had. I know that there was a 90min IPA, $2.50(?) Purple Haze, Delirium Noel.... We won third in the trivia game (yeah team Milk Stout Mustache). It wasn't cheap but it was fun. And they have free Wi-Fi if you make it there during work hours (beats the local office)

(02/16/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Awesome! Good

Establishment: Boscos Squared, Memphis, TN

I had dinner here twice during a business trip. They were featuring the XXX Pale Ale available both on draught and in a cask. On the second trip the bartender was very knowledgable explaining the differences in temp., taste and carbonation due to the delivery and storage methods. On both trips the dining area was half-full but the bar was packed.

(02/16/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A Great Great

Establishment: Schmohz Brewing Company, Grand Rapids, MI

Great local place. The bartender and the regulars were all cool to hang out with. They have frequent events, theme nights and contests. I didn't get a chance to "airplane race" but it looked fun. I hope they do well.

(02/16/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Great

Establishment: Founders Brewing Company, Grand Rapids, MI

Beer, selection, service all excellent. Pull up a stool, talk to the locals and throw the peanuts on the floor kinda place. No food to speak of except pretzels and chips but after a couple of IPA's who's still hungry? I will make sure to visit any time I'm near GR.

(02/16/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Lousy Good

Establishment: Sarasota Brewing Company, Sarasota, FL

We stopped in for dinner on our way back to Detroit. Invincible (double IPA) was excellent as was the Amber. The pizza was just OK (bland), the beer soup was pretty good but the meatball sub wasn't very good at all. The service was pretty terrible, our waitress couldn't keep track of who ordered what and didn't seem concerned. In spite of the lackluster food the location is cool and this could have been a great visit with a capable bartender.

(02/16/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Awesome! Great Great

Establishment: Marikka's Restaurant und Bier Stube, Lexington, KY

10 min East of I-75 - The food was fantastic. The beer selection spanned 8 pages including many great imports and micro's. Celis, Bells, Karmeliet, 90 min. IPA, etc. The restaurant was a little on the small side, felt a little cramped after a plate of goulash and spaetzel. If you're ever in KY it's worth the drive.

(02/16/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So Great Good Good

Establishment: Bilbo's Pizza and Brewing Company, Kalamazoo, MI

The new Bilbo's location is open as of May 2006.

Only 2 Bilbo brews were availible, the Wizard Wheat (weak) and the Dragon Red (passable). The pizza was worth the visit and there were several local micro's on tap and in bottle. $1.00 pints, $3.50 personal pizza, $7.95 growler (filled) eased my pain. Lots of college kids, mostly girls is a blessing and a curse. Nice place on game night but I wouldn't want to be there when the fight breaks out over Gilmore Girls vs. the O.C. on tv.

(10/26/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Good Good Good

Establishment: Logan's Alley, Grand Rapids, MI

Stella Arturos, Harpoon Ichabod, Dead Guy, enough said? The chicken wrap was just ok, drowning in sauce. At 2:30 the place was packed and loud. I'm sure this place is one of the best in GR. Today it just gave me a headache.

(09/11/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Lousy Great Great Great

Establishment: Dark Horse Brewing Company, Marshall, MI

Thank you Pubcrwaler for guiding me here, I would never have found it without you. On 8/30 the glycol chiller was busted, severely limiting production. As a result they only had the IPA, Amber on tap and Sapient Tripel in bottles. They're busting ass to get caught up. Even with the limited selection the beer was great and so was the pizza. Michelle was in her element holding court, deftly filling growlers and pints while serving pizza and subs to the entire resturant. Where else do they have hops growing in the beergarten? Don't change anything except getting more beer back online!

(09/06/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Awesome! Great

Establishment: Walldorff Brewpub and Bistro, Hastings, MI

Housed in a historic brick retail space in downtown Hastings.

Standard micro-brew selections in a great old bulding. Very tasty food, all of which is homemade (as opposed to Sysco or GFS frozen crap); Gumbo, pulled pork, ribs, pizzas, salads (no Waldorf though) and sandwiches. Brewer Rob was at the bar happy to discuss the current selections and ideas for upcoming brews. The highlights of my trip were the BBQ chicken pizza with peppers, red onion, gouda and a spicy BBQ sauce that made for a crisp, chewy pie. The Bee Sting Honey Rye was a high-test Blonde with a bite (7.1 abv.). As I sat there Rob discounted several of his beers for the happy hour crowd. Definite revisit.

(09/06/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So Good Awesome! Good

Establishment: Sherwood Brewing Company, Shelby Township, MI

Just starting out. The day after opening the doors they had 3 beers; Peach Pit Wit, an IPA and the Amber. 4 days later there was another Wit and a Stout. The beers taste a little "green". The wine's while young were excellent. The food selection was limited, mostly fried and sandwiches but everything was excellent. Everyone there has been active in the local micro/guild scene. The service was fantastic. Even though they're scrambling to get everything finished Dave, Ray and thier staff were great to talk to. Grand opening isn't for a couple of weeks, I hope them the best.

(09/06/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Good Good Awesome! Great

Establishment: Griffin Grill and Pub, Battle Creek, MI

Bells Two Hearted in a cask (hand pulled), followed by an Amberon (Bells Amber mixed with Oberon) and a Mad Hatter, all excellent. The menu is unspectacular, but the bar burger basket was perfect, thin, greasy, chewy goodness. The atmosphere and service were both above average. Bartenders (Kyle's) joke: 3 guy sit down at the bar. An American, an Italian and a Irishman. All three find a fly in their beer. The American pulls the fly out and slides his beer back to the rail. The Italian picks the fly out and finishes his beer. The Irishman pulls the fly out by his wings and screams "Spit It Out!

(08/29/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Awesome! Good Great

Establishment: Berkley Front, Berkley, MI

The beer selection is fantastic! Frequent cask ales and lots of micro and European imports in bottles. Don't miss the Sauerbratten & boiled potato's or Weiner Schnitzel and Kraut on special. Sabine's a riot and it's your privilege to be served by her. I hate to criticize the place but it is very close to being perfect. The waitstaff (besides Chris or Sabine) is hit or miss, some are not very attentive. The Royal Oak expatriates on Fridays and Saturdays may contribute to the "too cool" mentality. I know you're hip but you need to understand that you're in a service industry.

(08/27/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Good Good

Establishment: Great Baraboo Brewing Company, Clinton Township, MI

I stop in here every couple of weeks for lunch or an early dinner. Beer is always good but not great. The food is better, particularly the sandwiches & roll-ups. The patio's nice but they need a noise break to keep the Moravian traffic from drowning out the conversation.

(08/27/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great So So Lousy So So

Establishment: Copper Canyon Brewery, Southfield, MI

The owner needs to get a handle on the service here. We had to ask someone to track down our waitress twice because our drinks were empty. The beer's great but I expect a higher level of servce for the premium prices charged.

(08/27/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Awesome! Good Great

Establishment: Jobber's Canyon Restaurant and Brewery, Omaha, NE

I visited twice while in Omaha on business, going back for a third time with clients. The beer is excellent, my favorite being the HF Bock although the Pale Ale is also good. The Hefe has a pronounced clove aroma but little clove taste, finishing cleanly. The food is truly excellent. The beer cheese spaghetti and meatballs is a wierd cross between traditional spaghetti and macaroni and chees but is very tasty. The Delmonico Ribeye is perfect, flavorful, nice cut and huge (16 oz). The service and atmosphere upstairs (smoking) is great. The bartender Joe put the Tigers game on all of the flat screens when he heard I was from Detroit. The service downstairs was not very good. A young waiter screwed up the order, was slow to refill our drinks and rattled on forever about his favorite drinks and dishes which encompassed the entire menu.... Go upstairs.

(08/24/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So Good Good So So

Establishment: Grand Rapids Brewing Company, Grand Rapids, MI

I tried the Heffe, IPA and Silver Foam, all of which tasted watery without a great deal of flavor. They must be brewing for the macro crowd. The bar-b-que chicken pizza was so-so, too thin for my tastes with a vinegar flavored off the shelf sauce. Service was good and attentive. I didn't bring home a growler even when I could have expensed it.

(08/24/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Good Great

Establishment: Redwood Lodge, Flint, MI

On each of several visits we found the food of excellent quality if a bit pricey. The beer is better than the food. For a truly indulgent experience sign up for the Brewers dinner. Several courses paired with specific beers. 50 bucks but worth it!

(08/24/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Great

Establishment: Michigan Brewing Company, Webberville, MI

Celis White is a modern classic, a favorite of home-brewers (myself included). The Grand Cru was good enough to take a growler home. I'm missing the Belgian Tripel from a couple of years back though, and they need better distribution. The food (sandwiches) were excellent as was the friendly service. The location sucks but they're almost done with the new, much larger resturant. Once they move it'll be Awesome accross the board.

(08/17/2006)


Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]













(0.325 seconds) 09:34:56 54.161.246.212, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS