PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from chad the brewery guy
Other Reviews by this User
 
September 17, 2014 @ 04:46 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By
chad the brewery guy

Beer Reviews
(20)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






no
user
photo

20
Beer Reviews from chad the brewery guy
   
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great
Great Good Good Good

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Good Good Lousy Lousy

Establishment: Mad Boar Brewhouse, North Myrtle Beach, SC

I've read the other reviews, and I have no idea where these people found this good beer. I ordered the sampler and I couldn't even drink half of them. No, I wasn't full, I couldn't stand the taste. Beauty is in the eye of the beer holder, and to each their own, but I wouldn't recommend their beer at all. I travel all over and visit brewpubs in almost every state - this is the lowest score I've ever given a pub. It's a great looking place in a great location, and the food is good, but I won't go back. Also, went there for lunch, small crowd, and our server (service) was non-existent. When I sent my sampler back, he tried to educate me on the finer points of beer and informed me that my palate must not be used to these bold beers. He then proceeded to tell me that his favorite beer was Bud Light.

I HATE bashing a brewpub, because I really love them and hate it when I go somewhere and can't find good beer. But I have to say, avoid this place.

(05/10/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Lousy So So Good So So

Establishment: Wharf Grill and Brewhouse, Tampa, FL

If you're stuck at the airport, go here. Anywhere else in Tampa? Move on! I guess by definition you have to post this place as a brewpub, but it's an AB restaurant.

(02/24/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! So So Great

Establishment: Tampa Bay Brewing Company, Tampa, FL

If you want great food and beer in Tampa, this is the place. I was in Tampa for the first time and looked this place up. We went there for lunch and everything tasted great. There wasn't much of a crowd, so I couldn't understand why the service was so slow. Atmosphere left something to be desired, but I would definitely go back again.

(02/24/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Good Good

Establishment: Great Basin Brewing Company, Sparks, NV

I like a little more "brewpub" atmosphere. This place felt like a bar that serves "Natty Light". Fortunately, they don't serve "Natty" and have really good beer. Really can't say to much great or bad about the place - kind of "Ho-hum". However, if you want good beer, go here! To the brewery - I love the Icky! Great brew.... great name!

(02/01/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Reno Brewing Company, Reno, NV

They have to be gone. I couldn't find it either.

(02/01/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Silver Peak Restaurant and Brewery, Reno, NV

I don't even know why I'm writing a review. Everyone agrees - this place is great!

(02/01/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Lousy Good So So Lousy

Establishment: Brew Brothers Microbrewery, Reno, NV

So many people and so many reviews can't be wrong. If you like watered down Macro-brewed (not Micro), chances are you aren't at this site reading this review and you will love this brewpub. A poor representation of what beer to style and with flavor should taste like. (Sarcasm) Way to go boys! You've managed to appeal to the masses. You going to sponsor a NASCAR team next? Go to one of the other two in town, you'll be happy.

(02/01/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Good Awesome!

Establishment: Great Lakes Brewing Company, Cleveland, OH

There is something to be said for reputation. It's another to back it up with some of the best beer and food you can get. These guys do it. Only recommendation is for the bar staff - you've got a mix of really friendly people (this is a good thing) and really cold people. Met with one of your managers and a brewer (forgot their names) - these guys were great! They were more than willing to talk beer and brewing, and as a crawler and homebrewer, I enjoyed every minute!

(02/01/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Good Great

Establishment: Rocky River Brewing Company, Rocky River, OH

Enjoyed the atmosphere. Good beer (didn't eat) and the service wasn't anything to brag or scoff about. I'd go back and try a meal and get more good beer. An interesting note.... The manager and brewer at Great Lakes recommended I give them a try (since I'm a crawler), but the staff at Rocky River was shocked! We all like good beer, so throw the boys over at G.L.B.C. a bone, OK.

(02/01/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Good Good Great

Establishment: The BREW Kettle Taproom and Smokehouse / Ringneck, Strongsville, OH

An interesting place, not at all what I expected. Appearances are deceiving, as this place looks like a plain homebrew shop, but is a great brewpub. The concept of helping people brew in the brew pub.... "BRILLIANT" (to quote the Guiness ads). Beer is really good as is the selection. Jay the bartender did a great job, but I felt like they were understaffed (he was tending bar and working the floor / tables). I'd definitely go back if in Cleveland again.

(02/01/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Great Awesome!

Establishment: Browning's Brewery, Louisville, KY

If you like good beer and have interest in visiting good brewpubs, go here. Great location (at Louisville Slugger field), great atmosphere, staff is friendly, and there were seven or eight beers to choose from. I will make this a regular stop when I'm in Louisville!

(04/24/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Great Great Lousy So So

Establishment: Bluegrass Brewing, Louisville, KY

I just got back from Louisville, and noticed that no one has written a review on the Bluegrass in awhile - maybe everyone stopped going? The last review is dead on; food is good, service was terrible (hello?), and the beer has thinned out and lost character since my last visit. Hey guys, wise up and get your act together, you used to have a GREAT thing. If you must go, go on Wednesday night for the live bluegrass music.

(04/24/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Cumberland Brews, Louisville, KY

If you don't like this place, you don't like beer, and you don't know good service when you get it.

(04/24/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great So So N/A So So Lousy

Establishment: Robert Thomas Brewing Company, Grand Rapids, MI

Buy the beer and take it home. Sorry guys, but your place is a dump. This place resembles the local "dive" bar that serve Natural Light and Hamms on tap. Great beer, but I can't sit in there and drink it.

(02/16/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Lousy So So Good

Establishment: Bell's Brewery / Eccentric Cafe, Kalamazoo, MI

I would rather buy their beer at the store, and drink at home. The food and service are very disappointing. The problem with not liking this place is that their beer is just so damn good! The Porter has to be the best (beer isn't a subjective thing.... is it?), and a beer that tends to get overlooked is the amber. It is not true to style -but would a rose by any other name not smell as sweet? It's more like a unfiltered american pale ale (if there is such a thing). Try it (and all of their beers) - you won't be disappointed.

(02/16/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Founders Brewing Company, Grand Rapids, MI

I travel all over the country and this is by far my favorite brewpub (tap room)! The atmosphere is fantastic, the beer is second to none (Breakfast Stout is the best I've ever had). This place is a must if you love good beer!

(02/16/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Awesome! So So Great

Establishment: Denver ChopHouse and Brewery, Denver, CO

Fellow beer drinks.... why are you so hard on the beer? I find the quality of the beer to be very good (not great, and not exceptional, but certaily not tasteless). To whom said it first, you are correct.... come for the food. It's a expensive, but well worth it. Service leaves with something to be desired though. If I'm paying that much for a meal, I should expect more from the wait staff. Unfortunately, I tend to get better service from Ethel at the IHOP. I've been there four times, and the beer and food make up for the less than exceptional service.

(02/16/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great

Establishment: Aberdeen Brewing Company, Valparaiso, IN

A fantastic brewpub.... one of the best I've ever been to!

(02/16/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Good Good So So Lousy

Establishment: Duneland Brewhouse, Michigan City, IN

I was skeptical after reading some of the reviews, but decided to try Duneland anyway..... a mistake. A brewpub should have great beer and atmosphere. I found the beer to be lacking in character, and flavor. And if you think that the beer is bland, check out the inside of the restaurant. It reminds me of an abandoned Waffle House. I love brewpubs and travel the country searching for great beers, so with that in mind, I want nothing but success for Duneland; but they really need to make a lot of changes to improve the experience.

(02/16/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Bon Temps Brewing Company, Incorporated, Baton Rouge, LA

I just called the number and spoke with the former owner.... who now runs a print shop. They closed the brewery in 2000.

(09/15/2003)














(0.13 seconds) 16:46:18 54.87.130.240, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS