PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from connie
Other Reviews by this User
 
December 22, 2014 @ 08:29 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By
connie

Beer Reviews
(13)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






no
user
photo

13
Beer Reviews from connie
   
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great
Great Good Good Good

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! N/A Good Great

Establishment: Bisbee Grand Hotel, Bisbee, AZ

I walked into this place on Christmas Day after a lovely walk around town. I was surprised this place was open on such a festive day, and it was packed! The owners treated their customers to a free Turkey Meal with all the fixin's in the early afternoon. Normally this bar does not serve food.

There were eight other microbrews on tap. Happy Hour prices are $3 after 4pm.

A sign outside welcomes "well-behaved dogs."

I had the Moose Drool Brown Ale on Tap, one of the few places in Arizona that sells this great beer.

The interior is wooden floored and high ceiling, typical of Old West Saloons of 1906.

This is a great place to meet locals and tourists alike.

(12/26/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great N/A Good Good

Establishment: Bandersnatch Brewpub, Tempe, AZ

This place is under new management. The beer is still very good and the selection even better. Besides the mediocre national brands there is the local Dave's Electric IPA and Lagers on fraft, Sunshine Wheat, Bluemoon Lager, Fat Fire Red Ale, Shiner Bock. No food is served in this 1909-built bar that was the original stock bar and brewery. During Happy Hour yesterday ($3 for the drafts) there were few people. But I like the wooden floors and the old-west-style decor. Service is friendly. It's a nice place to meet locals.

(10/25/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Good Good

Establishment: Mill Hill Saloon and Eatery, Trenton, NJ

I was last in this place early last year and what a difference that made. Although service was still not the greatest (this place is intended for the standard usual clientele whom the barkeep knows by name). This time I walked in on a Wednesday at 6pm. There were few people at the bar and NO cigarette smoke. Flying Fish, RiverHorse, Bass, Harp, Bud were just a few of the drafts available. I had two pints and the linguine shitake special of the day and the grand total came to $18.60. A but much, even for Trenton, but I guess that's the price for being in the Old Grist Hill neighborhood. For the state capital this would perhaps be the better pub around.

(07/22/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good

Establishment: Barrington Brewery and Restaurant, Great Barrington, MA

The Brewery is an old barn right off Route 7 in town. We visited this place the day after C'mas (sorry for the delay in posting). Business was slow for lunchtime. we were greeted right away and got a nice seat facing into the place. Lovely decor. Little cigarette smoke. But the prices for the food was outrageous! The women near us had a variety of wraps and they looked good.

I ordered a Berkshire Blonde and my friend ordered the AmberAle. His ale didn't look much different in color than my blonde, and it didn't taste much different either. So I will have to rate the beers "good" at best.

Our server messed up my friend's order TWICE so she ended up taking off his meal AND two of our beers. That was the only way we were able to get out of the pub without going broke.

Will I be back? Sure. There aren't too many brewpubs in the area.

(12/29/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good

Establishment: Valley Forge Brewing Company, Wayne, PA

We were here on a Thursday afternoon. Service was prompt, no problem there. But two of the beers listed on the chalkboard were out. I get a little annoyed when something that is posted somewhere is out that's been out for sevaral weeks!

I tried the raspberry wheat first. I am a wheat lover and don't drink, normally, fruit-flavored beers. Might as well add some cherry syrup and call it a Berliner Weisse then. But the wheat tasted waxy as well as the King's Golden Ale...neither beer impressed me.

However, like other reviewers have mentioned, the Red Coat Ale is a decent amber, good-bodied beer with a nice hoppiness.

The pub is well-designed, with long counters and ideal for large drinking groups.

My beers were $4/pint and the Red Coat was $3.75. We nibbled on some fries served with mustard. Very greasy (duh!) and not golden enough for my taste, but we ate it all up anyway.

I wouldn't drive out of my way for this place unless more quality beers are eventually featured here. The bartender we had said the place has had new owners for the past 4-5 months but apparently the quality hasn't gotten any better. We left as a guy right next to us lighted up his #$#@#$ cigarette.

(12/19/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Awesome! Great

Establishment: Nodding Head Brewery and Restaurant, Philadelphia, PA

We went here 7 Dec 03, the day after the season's first major snowfall. It was 2pm.

The pub is located in the famed drinking quarter of town; nearby there are many other fine drinking holes of eclectic variety to please the most finicky of drinkers.

We were at first taken back by the loud live music playing near the bar upstairs. (We tend to prefer sitting at bars instead of tables because you get a chance to meet others easier this way). We couldn't talk over the music and requested the farthest table possible. Our server didn't mind at all and kept her cheeriness. She was also wonderful serving us beers right away upon request. I had the Grog on tap and enjoyed it immensely with my oddly-named Nodding Head burger, a thick patty with cheese and coleslaw. Only the bun was a tad too hard for the burger. But the fries were the golden brown crisp hot fries I like.

The place is small and dark, but late at night with some music (not as loud!) this would be a great place to enjoy a decent meal in Center City.

(12/18/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Good Good

Establishment: City Tavern, Philadelphia, PA

The City Tavern is a tourist attraction a few blocks east of Independence Hall. I take all my visiting friends there just to be in the area where Ben Franklin was quoted as saying "Beer is proof that God exists and wants us to be happy." There are only four beers on the menu; a dark George Washington Ale (bland) and a more bodied Thom Jefferson amber are the ones I tasted. Beer is served in 10oz glasses and go for $6.50, so be prepared to drink elsewhere (Philadelphia has several outstaning brewpubs elsewhere) for some serious drinking. The beers allegedly are brewed after original recipes by the founding drunk fathers.

The City Tavern is not the original tavern the boys met to discuss the future of this country, but rather a replica. Still, with many things looking colonial, such as the tables and chairs and pewter mugs, and the colonial clothes by the waitstaff, this is at least a drop in for A beer. Because of the prices I'd recommend to eat elsewhere unless you can claim the cost as a business expense.

(12/18/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Good Good Great Great

Establishment: Manayunk Brewery and Restaurant, Manayunk, PA

This place is lousy? Au contraire! My boyfriend and I were there last night (Tuesday evening at 9pm) after a hike through Wissahickon Park with members of the Appalachian Mountain Club. Nothing like a good beer after a long hike!

The first thing that struck me was how huge the upstairs pub was. Second, that there wasn't too much cigarette smoke. It's hard to enjoy good beer when the smoke of an ashtray is around me.

I ordered the Blond Lager, which our server told me was "like a Corona." I asked for lemon and I agreed with her: Yes, it did taste like a Corona Light. My second choice was the Krook's Mill Pale Ale. Now this was awesome! It has a full-body, sweet-bitter aftertaste and I swear I could taste a tinge of grapefruit in it. If I weren't driving I'd have ordered another beer. Even my boyrfriend was wanting another beer (he had three) and I had to cut him off, because at $4.50 a pint the bar tab got pretty high!

We didn't eat any food, but another guy with us ordered the Portabello Sandwich, smothered in cheese. It looked and smelled very tempting. The fries looked like delicious boardwalk fries, golden brown and spiced.

(12/17/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Good Good Good Great

Establishment: Rams Head Tavern / Fordham Brewing Company, Annapolis, MD

I really enjoy the seasonal Wisteria Wheat beer. Too bad it's only brewed from June through August; I should really convince the brewmaster to use winter wheat so this bear becomes a year-round staple! The unfiltered Wheat has a fullbody aroma and a balanced mixture of malts for a refreshing taste.

I enjoy a few wheat beers with my giant portion of Nachos with everything in it (including black beans, chicken and steak chilis). Even though the Nachos are in the "Appetizers" section, one portion is more than a meal for two-three adults and for $10.95 not a bad deal.

Service on a Friday or Saturday night can be slow, confusing and loud, especially when live music is playing. This is certainly a popular watering holes for both locals and tourists because sometimes I get standing-room only. Try this place during the off hours for best service. There is plenty of seating available front, back and outside in decent weather.

My son, who's only 14, ordered rootbeer with the Nachos during our last trip there. I was a little miffed that I was charged for each refill and paid $5 for two of his drinks. Softdrinks should not be charged by the glass, not in a place such as Rams' Head.

(06/16/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Good Great

Establishment: Appalachian Brewing Company, Harrisburg, PA

This is my favorite brewpub in PA. This place is very crowded on the weekends, with its great live music. (=loud!) I especially like the Appalachian Wheat and Mountain Lager. Both have distinctive tastes. ABC always has six beers on tap and at least three seasonals. The MC Belgian White is also worth a taste. Food is good; I personally like the "Green and White Pizza: spinach and chicken pizza.

(10/28/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good So So Good

Establishment: Bethlehem Brew Works, Bethlehem, PA

The restaurant itself is nicely laid out. The separate rooms make the noise more tolerable. However, the service wasn't very good at all. We sat down, looked at the regular menu, and I ordered an Octoberfest which was one of the fall seasonals. "No," the waitress said, and grabbed the menu from my hand to give me the current beer menu standing on the table. Then she left and didn't come back for a while. What kind of service was that?!?!?! I ordered a pumpkin ale (the lightest beer on tap at 4.5%) for starters. Nice spicy aftertaste. The oatmeal stout wasn't creamy or smooth enough (5.5%), though. In general, none of the beers we got in our six 5-ounce samplers impressed us. The samplers cost us $8.50; we would have been better off ordering two pints each. The fries with my turkey burger were exceptional and the mustard-honey was awesome, but I wouldn't be coming back here just for the sauce! I find the Appalachian Brewing Company in Harrisburg to have much better beers.

(10/27/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Good Great

Establishment: Krogh's Restaurant and Brew Pub, Sparta, NJ

The ambiance of this place was great. The old historic building reminded me of my beer drinking days in Germany. We ordered the Three Sisters Wheat and the beer was so good we never bothered getting anything else. Pints were $4.25 and a cheeseburger with fried $8.95. A bit pricy, but what really sold me is that the restaurant (not the bar area!) is now smoke free!!! I'll be back!

(10/21/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A Good N/A Lousy So So

Establishment: Mill Hill Saloon and Eatery, Trenton, NJ

I walked in here thinking this was a brewpub--as it says on its facade, but instead walked into a small, smoky, hickbar with fat guys at the counter smoking and watching the "game." I asked for a menu and beer list and felt bad for interupting the bartender's lunch break. He didn't seem to want to wait on me so I walked out. I don't like walking into brewpubs and finding out it doesn't even brew its own beer. And grumpy bartenders? Don't we have enough with rude drivers in this state?

(02/13/2002)














(0.184 seconds) 20:29:28 54.91.25.210, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS