PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from colin harding
Other Reviews by this User
 
September 02, 2014 @ 10:05 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By
colin harding

Beer Reviews
(38)

Restaurant Reviews
(1)






no
user
photo

38
Beer Reviews from colin harding
   

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great
Great Good Great Great

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Cooperstown Brewing Company, Milford, NY

The next day, we visited this brewery - small operation near Milford, NY - four employees - vice 46 for Ommegang with 46; again, so much fun - all the beers have a baseball motiff - and they are great. Colin Harding, Fairfax Station, VA

(04/14/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Brewery Ommegang, Cooperstown, NY

What a great experience!!! This is a first class - and large - operation; we visited there on Sunday in conjunction with a visit to the Baseball Hall of Fame. Take the tour - taste all the beers - they're great!! Then buy some to take home - we did. Colin Harding, Fairfax Station, VA

(04/14/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Marietta Brewing Company, Marietta, OH

According to the February 25 edition of the Marietta Times, will reopen on March 19 - previous brewmaster, Kelly Sauber, back in the fold. Colin Harding, Fairfax Station, VA

(03/02/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Richbrau Brewing Company and Restaurant, Richmond, VA

This place is closed. Colin Harding, Fairfax Station, VA

(02/24/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Marietta Brewing Company, Marietta , OH

My source in Marietta says that it has been sold and will reopen in a month or so. The people of Marietta are looking forward to it, but hope that the food improves. Colin Harding, Fairfax Station, VA

(02/24/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Battlefield Brewing (The Pub), Fredericksburg, VA

Actually, the brewpub is in Fredericksburg, Virginia in a place called The Pub. Same street addresss; same telephone number; different city. Colin Harding, Fairfax Station, VA

(01/17/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Marietta Brewing Company, Marietta , OH

Closed on November 30, 2009 according to an article sent to me by a friend from the December 1, 2009 Marietta Times - too bad - apparently from the article, it was a tax problem - but all reviews were positive; hope is that someone will buy and reopen it.

ColinHarding, Fairfax Station, VA

(12/05/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Great

Establishment: Eagle Brook Saloon, Norfolk, MA

Whenever I visit my hometown, Walpole, I always split my time between the Eagle Brook Saloon for great beers and great burgers, and the Red Wing Diner on Route 1 for great fried clams - nurvana. Colin Harding, Fairfax Station, VA

(11/02/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Keltic Brewing Company was Mugsy McCeol's Pub, Truro, NS

Went into Truro in early September - this place is closed. Colin Harding, Fairfax Station, VA

(10/25/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Big Tide Brewing Company, Saint John, NB

Was driving through New Brunswick this week and as I passed St. John, listened to an interview of CBC, St. John of the three owners - has been open only about three weeks. It was only 8am, so too early for them to be open.

(09/01/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Pub, Fredericksburg, VA

Did I read that they are going to install some brewing equipment and start brewing some of their own? Heard sometime this fall? Can anyone confirm?

ColinHarding Fairfax Station, VA

(07/20/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A N/A Awesome!

Establishment: Tuppers' Hop Pocket Brewing Company, Bethesda, MD

Welcome back,Tupper!!!

Went to the Leesburg Beer festival last week-end - stopped by the St George brewery booth - and what should I find at the unmarked beer tap? But Tupper's Hop Pocket Ale.

It was great - boy, have I missed it!!!

Cheers,Colin Harding Fairfax Station, VA

(07/04/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A N/A Awesome!

Establishment: Mountain State Brewing Company, Thomas, WV

Stopped in yesterday while on a 'ferroequinology' (railroad history) tour - 'ferro'=iron & equine=horse = iron horse - a little Latin test. A two-person operation and so much fun visiting with them - they are expanding - building an addition on the brewery as I was there and getting new equipment. Also, actually got to impart some railroad history - one of the two lives in Dryfork, WV and has a building on her property that was an old railroad station - she didn't know what railroad it was - told her it was the Central West Virginia and Southern Railroad, an old logging railroad. They also have a pub attached to the brewery - wasn't open when I was there - I didn't care - was only interested in the beer - very friendly. Colin Harding, Fairfax Station, VA

(06/20/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Old Dominion Brewing Company, Dover, DE

Just gets worse - even brewery closing - in yesterday's WashPost Food Section:

http://www.washingtonpost.com/wp-dyn/content/article/2008/11/04/AR2008110401013.html

Colin Harding, Fairfax Station

(11/06/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Old Dominion Brewing Company, Dover, DE

WashPost article from this morning; this time they quote Jerry Bailey - down deep, must be sick.

http://www.washingtonpost.com/wp-dyn/content/article/2008/10/26/AR2008102601843.html

No way to put humpty-dumpty back together again. What a crew-up!! Colin Harding, Fairfax Station, VA

(10/27/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Old Dominion Brewing Company, Dover, DE

Talk about really screwing up the 'golden goose' - now the brewery in Ashburn is closing in the first quarter of 2009. What a mess!!

http://www.dcexaminer.com/local/Ale-ing_brewing_company_to_shut_down_Ashburn_branch.html

In the great cosmos of things, maybe someone, like Jerry, will buy the facility and get life back to normal. Colin Harding, Fairfax Station, VA

(10/23/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Old Dominion Brewing Company, Dover, DE

RIP!! Boy, did these guys screw this one up!! Was out there a week ago and that was the topic of conversation. Since the A-B buy-out, all down hill - starting with the Oak Barrel Stout - tried to go on the cheap. Can only imagine how upset Jerry is. Lots of good memories. Next question - where do we get growlers filled now - a month or so ago, went to Vintage 50 in Leesburg.

Colin Harding, Fairfax Station, VA

(08/26/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Establishment: McGuire's Irish Pub and Brewery #2, Destin, FL

Most enjoyable - had an Irish Ale and a Porter. What struck me being Scottish was that one of the tunes they played as background was 'Scotland the Brave', the de facto national anthem of Scotland - thought it was pretty 'brave' of them especially being an Irish brewpur - I stood up to salute the Scottish flag - and there wasn't one. All in all, a good time had by all. Colin Harding, Fairfax Station, VA.

(08/01/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Good Great Great

Establishment: U Fleku, Prague,

Was there the first time in January 1980 when we lived in Stuttgart Ger - before the Wall came down. As I remember, they advertise themselves as the oldest Brewpub in the world - back in the 1980s, one of the few places you could go. Visited again in 2004 - boy, has Prague changed!! U Fleku is now a must-see on the tourist agenda - beer is still great, but there was something about being there in 1980.

(06/23/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great

Establishment: Vintage50, Leesburg, VA

Stopped by a week ago Sunday - picked up growlers of ESB and Pale Ale. Both very good. Didn't try the food, but a really nice looking facility - certainly worth trying again.

Colin Harding Fairfax Station, VA

(06/03/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So N/A So So So So

Establishment: Old Dominion Brewing Company, Dover, DE

Well, went back on May 4 - the mystique is gone - as many of us expected would happen. I asked the guy behind the bar - who didn't appear to have a clue about the beers - how business was - he said problem with the location. I told him that previously it was the location that gave this place a cult following - place was nearly empty - never used to be like this. All the good Dominion beers are gone. What a shame!!! What a shame!!!

Colin Harding Fairfax Station, VA

(05/17/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Old Dominion Brewing Company, Dover, DE

As a follow-up review, went there last Saturday to get a growler of Oak Barrel Stout - which used to be their signature brew - and one that I looked forward to getting. But, boy, have things changed. The Oak Barrel Stout I got was NOTHING like the Oak Barrel Stout that I used to get before the sale to A-B. It was thin, had carbination, and left a tinny, metalic flavor after-taste. I also agree with the previous reviewer on the qulaity of the food - certainly came from Costco. This place has REALLY gone down hill.

What a shame!!! This place had a cult following - this must really bother Jerry. It takes years to build a reputation - and minutes to destroy it. I sent a e-mail to the brewery last Monday on the Oak Barrel Stout issue - have yet to get an answer.

Colin Harding Fairfax Station, VA

(11/10/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Lousy Good Good

Establishment: Old Dominion Brewing Company, Dover, DE

Went to the Old Dominion to eat; have bought beer there on numerous occasions, but hadn't eaten there in over a year. While the beers, although not as many as before the buy-out, were good, the food could be describe at best as marginal. This is a shame as we had always previously enjoyed the food. Am also getting the feeling that it is now losing some of its cult feelings - again a shame. Am I the only one?

Colin Harding Fairfax Station, VA

(09/29/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Boston Beer Company aka Samuel Adams, Boston, MA

In today's Boston Globe; didn't identify the brewery; could this be the old Rolling Rock brewery in Latrobe?

http://www.boston.com/business/globe/articles/2007/08/03/boston_beer_to_acquire_pa_brewery/

(08/03/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Great Great

Establishment: Old Dominion Brewing Company, Dover, DE

In yesterday's WashPost - hilites concerns with going with A-B.

http://www.washingtonpost.com/wp-dyn/content/article/2007/07/31/AR2007073100382.html

Colin Harding Fairfax Station, VA

(08/02/2007)


Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]













(0.117 seconds) 22:05:14 184.72.154.124, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS