PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from carole
Other Reviews by this User
 
September 16, 2014 @ 10:53 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By
carole

Beer Reviews
(28)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






no
user
photo

28
Beer Reviews from carole
   

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great
Great Great Great Great

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good

Establishment: Rohrbach Brewing Company, Rochester, NY

I liked the beer here - it was good and the service OK too- it was kinda chain-ish for my taste. Not bad just a bit generic. I'm happy for the folks around this neck of the woods, though. It is a good option for those outside of the city.

(07/04/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Tap and Mallet, Rochester, NY

Loved this place! Great beer- variety and quality, nice and efficient staff. Liked that it is in a neighborhood versus a mall or other commercial area. If you like bars, esp. new bars that feel welcoming &comfortable like an old bar- this is the place

(07/04/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great

Establishment: Pearl Street Grill and Brewery, Buffalo, NY

Liked the beer here alot. Cool building- liked the art too. Like the reviewer before me- I liked the Stout the best.

(07/04/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Climax Brewing Company, Roselle Park, NJ

Based on reviews, going to visit Climax on the weekend but why the need to 'dis' on Weyer? Dan may not be the most personable guy but the beer is Not the brewer. Not a bad product comes out of there- sounds like the same is true for Climax. Looking forward to it....

(12/08/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Legend Brewing Company, Richmond, VA

Love Legend. Back to Richmond= back to Legend. What makes this place great isn't just the food and beer- it is the local folk who are great to talk to-about beer, Richmond or whatever.

(11/28/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Great Great

Establishment: Capital Ale House, Richmond, VA

Fantastic beer selection- even on tap. Had the best beer ever at this place- Kloster Doppelbock- staff was eager (if not too much so (they assume you need schoolin'). Cool bar top with the iced strip for those who love their beer ultra cold. Surroundings a bit sterile for my taste - without character- but do like the locale. Would return.

(11/28/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Great Great

Establishment: Richbrau Brewing Company and Restaurant, Richmond, VA

Had the Pale Ale and the Octoberfest. Both Good, nothing exceptional but they went well with lunch (which was very good). Bartender attentive and friendly. Liked the location downtown. Would go back.

(11/28/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Good Good Great Great

Establishment: Penny Lane Pub, Richmond, VA

Was happy to find Penny Lane after the relative 'glitz' of the Capital Ale House. Loved the beer there too but this place was much more like a bar than. FRESH Brit Beer (agree with Porter comment in otherreview-Yummy) Brie app was very good and service was prompt. Have recommended to others, will def. go back when in Richmond again.

(11/28/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: District ChopHouse and Brewery, Washington, DC

We go to the DC in DC each time we visit the Capital. Have had only the best experience there- The TP (total package) is what brings us back- BEER, Food and Service. Met brewer at Cap City's beer fest in October- the beer stood up to the competition out there 'in the field'. Husband loves Bourbon Stout- I enjoyed the Brown this last visit. See you in November.

(10/19/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Three Floyds Brewing Company, Munster, IN

Another trip to a Mother Ship- Love 3 Floyds beers at home in PA. Was in Chicago and HAD to take the short roadtrip to Munster. Beer quality goes without saying- wish we had a driver so I could drink as much as my husband did! Selection was cool too cause we were able to try beers not available at home. Barnaby is cool and was quick on the tap handle- were never without a full pint glass. Pizza was great. Return of the Dragon on the wall and good tunes overhead. Yeah, the place is small but with this kind of business i see an expansion in their future.

(06/05/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Great Great

Establishment: Lunar Brewing, Villa Park, IL

Sooo glad we found Lunar on our trip to the Chicago area. True bar surroundings means enduring smoke but the beer was worth it! Average selection, somewhat responsive barkeep but quality was better than expected. Agree about the stout and the scotch being top notch. My husband enjoyed his Pale Ale so much he opted to skip tasting anything else. Locals sharing the bar were friendly too. Would've stayed longer if there was food to be had.

(05/31/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Great Great

Establishment: Piece, Chicago, IL

Liked the beer - not a huge draft selection but the quality more than made up for that. great spunky bartender, good brewchetta. Not crazy about environment- too generic- cold without being modern and/or interesting- and way too many loud TVs.

(05/23/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Awesome! Great

Establishment: Goose Island Beer Company - Clybourn, Chicago, IL

Wasn't plnng to visit GI 'cause there are so many choices in Chicago however we're glad we did. We went to Clybourn vs. WVille locale as suggested at another bar and the food, beer and service were worth the trip. Tried the Pale Ales, ESB, and the Bourbon Stout. Yum to all. Bartender friendly as were some locals who actually enjoyed sharing info about 'insider' fav spots with us tourists. Bravo

(05/23/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Awesome! Great

Establishment: Chef Paul's Bavarian Lodge, Lisle, IL

Great German food, Fresh German Beer and Wonderful Service. Very glad we found our way to Lisle to visit Chef Paul's. They were genuinely friendly and advised on some must-visit beer joints and food places in Chicago.(took the advice and they were right!)

(05/23/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Which Brew, Easton, PA

Time to update the reviews for Which Brew. Still a great place to go in Easton. KJo has not let us down in her dedication to quality in both the beer and the food she chooses. Firkins on the first Fridays of the month and special additions to the menu as well as the outside deck opening are some of the many reasons to visit.

(04/07/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great So So Lousy Good

Establishment: Dogfish Head Brewings and Eats, Rehoboth Beach, DE

DFH's 60 Minute is a regular house beer for us and we have enjoyed every other retail product tried so a 'Trip to the Mother Ship' was required. After a 3 hour drive, we were thirsty and hungry. We will not return to this place in that state of mind again. Service was terrible and the food was only slightly better- and it was a fully staffed bar, mid- afternoon in the off-season! But when we finally got the good stuff, the beer quality and quantity was terrific. We will return for a fresh one when in town (?) but will not go out of our way, will not eat there again and will certainly not expect friendly delivery of the pint.

(04/20/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Great Great

Establishment: Nodding Head Brewery and Restaurant, Philadelphia, PA

I say overall great because Nodding Head proves that food and service can make up for so-so beer. And by that I mean it wasn't bad- just unremarkable. Had the Grog, 60 Shilling and something else that wasn't worth remembering. Bartender/Server was friendly and prompt and the food was better than average bar food. The place is cool too and the Bathroom was clean- a must for beer-drinking girls. I agree with another who said they prefer Monks' but I'd stop in here first to try to try the Choc Stout (they were out of it on Thursday).

(03/09/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Good Good Good

Establishment: Mad Boar Brewhouse, North Myrtle Beach, SC

1st time here we waited (along with others) for > 5 min.just for the bar tender to show! Werethen given Frozen mugs!! Not so good to taste the beer. Tried another day with all this in mind. Asked for room temp glasses and here's the result: Autumn Fest was quite good and still fresh as was the IPA. OK scotch ale and a delicious Stout- malty, creamy and with depth. Nachos came with 'goo' , not real cheese but the buff wings were huge and tasty. Definitely better beer here than Liberty but I believe the touristy location has spoiled them both and greatness is not a requirement when you have the masses passing through. Will try the location just off of 40 on our next trip to SC.

(12/08/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Good Good Good

Establishment: Liberty Steak House and Brewery, Myrtle Beach, SC

I'd say something between So So and Good= Sorta Good? Lots of seclection- none was great but 3 were good: Unfiltered Raspberry Wheat- not perfumey and not too sweet- nice all around. Santa's Little Helper- slightly spicy with NO aftertaste- now that's good and lastly the porter- nice flavour but not 'chunky' or 'chewy' as is preferred. The Lager is LITE, the Golden, IPA and Oatmeal Stout were all boring. Had bar food which was good and the barmaid was efficient even if apparently bored herself! Mad Boar was better- will post a review of them also.

(12/08/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Good Great Great

Establishment: Legend Brewing Company, Richmond, VA

The porter was very good and that is saying something. Not too sweet as is the tendency lately (ex: Heavyweight) When was the last time you had a good fresh porter??? Chocolate porter also good as it cut down on the caramel flavour a wee bit. The pils was also quite nice-very drinkable with or without food. The others- golden, rye etc were OK but not exeptional. Service at the bar was great and food was good too. Not to be ignored at this bar is your fellow patrons- very nice barfellows- friendly and enthusiastic about beer and Legend. Overall a great, impromptu , sidetrip on our way through the Richmond area. Will stop again when going that way.

(12/08/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So N/A Good Good

Establishment: Bube's Brewery, Mount Joy, PA

I chose Overall- Good because the historic building was worth the visit and the staff is quite nice. Their beers are not so good. Honey cream was said to be fresh but tasted skunky. Pale ale was bland at best. They do have Troegs, Appalacian and Stoudts on tap - better options for sure. Did not dine here but there were plenty of folks there eating.

(10/20/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Great

Establishment: Lancaster Brewing Company, Lancaster, PA

Went to Lancaster Brewing at Noon on Saturday. Sat at the bar and had friendly prompt service. Ate Apps only and they were good. As for the beer: Surprisingly good Pils- nice amount of hops. Disappointed in the Amish 4 grain pale ale- not bad but nothing special about it either- sames goes for the Red Rose Ale- drinkable but not remarkable. There was a very good strawberry wheat- could taste the berries but it was not 'perfumy' like some fruit beers. The India Brown Ale was excellent- well rounded- went well with the spicy buffalo wings. And then there were the stouts- my favorite 'style' of beer. The milk stout is worth the trip alone. Bought a case to extend our enjoyment. They also had a hazlenut stout in cask- quite the yummy end to our visit.

(10/20/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Awesome!

Establishment: Which Brew, Easton, PA

Headmistress KellyJo is doing a fine job providing great beer (quality and selection!)in a cool environment for Easton's thirsty folk. The food is great- looking forward to more selection and spending summer evenings on the deck with the happy and friendly crowd. How can they not be with all this and- Wow- live music too?!

(06/09/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Great Awesome!

Establishment: Northeast Taproom, Reading, PA

Wow, talk about selection! Had a Young's stout, a Yard's bitter and an excellent Porter that I'm straining to remember the name (3rd pub on this Tuesday afternoon crawl). Grrreat draft selection and the bottle choices werent bad either. My fellow crawler and I decided that we're glad this bar isn't in our neighborhood- We'd never be found at home! Definitely worth a visit (and a return visit or two or....)

(05/31/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great N/A Good Good

Establishment: Legacy Brewing (was Neversink and was Fancy Pants), Reading, PA

Beer pretty standard. Likable but not outstanding. Nice place, people nice but beyond the Pale Ale being more interesting than many I've tried lately, nothing really stands out about this place. I'd try again, though.

(05/31/2000)


Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]













(0.15 seconds) 10:53:23 54.89.233.81, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS