PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from craig
Other Reviews by this User
 
April 23, 2014 @ 03:57 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By
craig

Beer Reviews
(5)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






no
user
photo

5
Beer Reviews from craig
   
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome!
Great Good Good Great

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A Good Good

Establishment: 21st Amendment Brewery, San Francisco, CA

Stopped by for a few late one night just before closin' her down.

Quality of the beer was very good. Not a whole lot to choose from but the quality offsets that.

Never had food and the service could have been better.

Definately doesn't get my two mugs up, but I'd give it a mug & a quarter.

(06/13/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Good Great

Establishment: Tommy's Joint, San Francisco, CA

Went there on a trip out west. This place is great for a pregame meal and some booze before a long night of partying. Prices are dirt cheap for San Francisco (something like $3 a beer). They had an impressive import list (mostly bottles) sorted by country.

Food is ok, more of a pimped out buffet style. Was a bit overcooked, but still good. The beer selection and price is what makes Tommy's Joint a nice place to stop by. It kind of has that old-school feel to it as well.

Not quite a two-mugs up, but I'd say a solid mug & a half.

(06/13/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Great Great

Establishment: Jack's Bars (various locations), San Francisco, CA

Went out to The City to see my sister and we had to stop in here while heading through the Wharf.

First reaction -- WOW that's a lotta taps. They have brews from all over the world as well as a handful of domestics (although you're crazy to have a domestic while you're at Jack's).

Staff was very knowledgable about every brew we asked about. Went there a few more times during the week and really enjoyed it. If you have an questions or recommendations, just ask and they'll be happy to help you out.

Two mugs up from this cat!

(06/13/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Good Good So So Great

Establishment: Hofbrauhaus Newport, Newport, KY

Went after a Friday night Reds game to celebrate my sister & her roommates graduations from UC. Loved it from the moment we walked in. The Haus band is great and they really get the crowd involved.

Many of my friends think Bud Light and Miller Light is real beer so they weren't very impressed with the quality of the beer, but what do they know? I enjoyed the Wheat (Munich Weizen) the most, followed by the dark beer (Dunkel) and then the Lager.

They don't have a lot of beers, but the quality of what they offer is nice.

Only food I had was some leftover pretzel from a friend. Thought it tasted pretty decent but I was drunk so that might not have been accurate.

Service needs improved for the busy weekend crowds. Bartenders aren't real friendly, but when you're trying to serve 15 people a minute, it's tough to be friendly. The "nazi" security wasn't too bad while I was there. Only problem we had was some wannabe cop kept shoving us out of the way when waitresses would walk by. Other than that, just the routine "get off the table, you're allowed on the benches but not the tables."

Overall -- I'd recommend it to anyone. One of the most entertaining nights I've had in some time.

(06/13/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Good Good So So Great

Establishment: Hofbrauhaus Newport, Newport, KY

Went after a Friday night Reds game to celebrate my sister & her roommates graduations from UC. Loved it from the moment we walked in. The Haus band is great and they really get the crowd involved.

Many of my friends think Bud Light and Miller Light is real beer so they weren't very impressed with the quality of the beer, but what do they know? I enjoyed the Wheat (Munich Weizen) the most, followed by the dark beer (Dunkel) and then the Lager.

They don't have a lot of beers, but the quality of what they offer is nice.

Only food I had was some leftover pretzel from a friend. Thought it tasted pretty decent but I was drunk so that might not have been accurate.

Service needs improved for the busy weekend crowds. Bartenders aren't real friendly, but when you're trying to serve 15 people a minute, it's tough to be friendly. The "nazi" security wasn't too bad while I was there. Only problem we had was some wannabe cop kept shoving us out of the way when waitresses would walk by. Other than that, just the routine "get off the table, you're allowed on the benches but not the tables."

Overall -- I'd recommend it to anyone. One of the most entertaining nights I've had in some time.

(06/13/2005)














(0.052 seconds) 15:57:42 54.227.156.177, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS