PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from craig
Other Reviews by this User
 
October 21, 2014 @ 10:10 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By
craig

Beer Reviews
(5)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






no
user
photo

5
Beer Reviews from craig
   
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great
Great Great Great Great

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good

Establishment: Lion's Head Tavern, New York, NY

I needed to kill an hour on a recent Sunday afternoon and found The Lion's Head a convenient and promising looking stop while in this part of the city. They had a few good choices on tap including UFO and Harpoon IPA (I believe it was) among others. It is a very small and informal neighborhood gathering place. A friendly crowd with a mix of all ages and an accent on local sports. I guess this is somewhat popular to Columbia students but it was diverse this afternoon. Adequate TV viewing options. Although I did not have time to sample them, I was told they have a significant reputation for having some of the best wings in NYC, and they did smell good. From what I saw, you should order a plentiful amount as they are a bit small in size, but apparently delicious. Bar service was very good and pleasant. $15 minimum on credit cards. I met some nice folks during my quick visit and enjoyed the experience. A good stop and I would visit again.

(04/27/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Establishment: J. Timothy's, Plainville, CT

I went here for the first time this past Thursday to watch the NCAA tournament and have a few beers. So my perspective will be quite different from the last reviewer's, of course. All we ate were a ton of wings and they were very good, advertized as best in Connecticut (the "dirt variety is very tastey though not terribly hot/spicey). The beer selection was pretty decent and the number of taps was better than most but nothing real unusual by today's standards. They had several nice choices for those of us who like the more challenging "flavors" and higher alcohol contents. A couple pretty obscure ones so I was happy. I have to say that the service was actually pretty impressive in the pub section. The place is largely dedicated to restaurant service but the pub section is good sized and was busy. We found a table and got immediate and regular attention from a friendly waitress. Food and beers were delivered quickly. TV viewing was good from most any angle. Prices are a little high but not so unusual for the area. One of my favorite things about the place is the atmosphere. I'm not sure if it is genuinely old but it appears to be an 18th century sort of establishment with the big old beams and dark lighting. Very warm and pleasant, yet a pretty lively crowd in the pub. It is also quite convenient to I-84 (Crooked Street exit). I'll go back again. Enjoy!

(03/25/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Golden Rail Ale House, Newburgh, NY

Sorry, I forgot to leave my ratings before so here you go. Thanks again for the great service Brian, keep it up!!

(03/19/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Golden Rail Ale House, Newburgh, NY

Easy to miss this place driving by on route 32 but it is well worth the effort. A little bedraggled looking from outside and unassuming inside, but it is a very clean and comfortable establishment. Best of all, they have a thoughtful selection of delicious beer all served to you by a very knowledgable and extremely friendly staff. Even the patrons are all friendly. I think we talked to everyone that came in the place and it was quite busy. The owner spent a lot of time talking with us, sharing his beer insights and showing off his impressive collection of taps (current and retired), thanks Brian! Becky was outstanding behind the bar with her smarts on what's on tap. Despite some of the other reviews, we had chili and it was excellent, went great with the beer. I was sorry they didn't accept credit cards, so bring cash, but they sure were easy on our wallets so it wasn't a big deal. They don't open until 2PM on weekdays so don't show up for lunch like we did, but it was worth waiting and we had lunch and dinner, eventually. Nice pool table on hand, spotless bathroom. I'll be back. Great place if you like beer and friendly people!

(03/19/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Old Corner Cafe, Union City, CT

An excellent relic with lot's of personality. Great tasting beer on tap and good grub but I have yet to sample their specialty German dinners. A popular but classic old place. Easy to find and hard to leave!!

(06/26/2005)














(0.115 seconds) 22:10:19 54.81.187.157, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS