PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from ct
Other Reviews by this User
 
September 02, 2014 @ 02:42 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By
ct

Beer Reviews
(48)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






no
user
photo

48
Beer Reviews from ct
   

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great
Good Great Good Great

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Lousy Great Great Good

Establishment: Granite City Food and Brewery, Davenport, IA

The three beers on tap we're okay. The light was the best, but then it's just a light. The stout was pretty good, but the maibock had little flavor. They were out of the IPA and were not expecting the seasonal beer to be available for a while, according to the bartender, who provided excellent service. The spinach and artichoke chicken sandwich was fantastic, but the chips were not so good. Overall, not a bad place, and I'll probably visit again if I'm nearby - hopefully they'll have more on tap next time.

(05/31/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A So So Good

Establishment: Triple 7 Brewpub, Las Vegas, NV

Only tried the sampler, but all the beers were very good. Maybe I'm stretching it by rating them great, but they were better than good. It might be because I was expecting the beer to be simply a lousy Vegas gimic and was pleasantly surprised that they were actually pretty good. I felt the same way going to Ellis Island. The light, pale, and porter were the best. The dunkelweizen and hefeweizen were okay, although I must say I don't care for wheat beers.

(05/07/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A Good Great

Establishment: Ellis Island Casino and Brewery, Las Vegas, NV

All of the beer was well made, if not as flavorful as some other places. But still, for a buck a beer I was well satisfied. The service at the bar was pretty good considering it was packed. For those of you trying to find your way, Ellis Island is directly behind Paris and Bally's.

(05/07/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Great Awesome!

Establishment: Chicago Brewing Company, Las Vegas, NV

My wife and I really enjoyed this place. The thin crust pizza was an ultra thin curst, but excellent. All three beers I tried were outstanding, especially the pale and stout. Las Vegas traffic can be a pain, especially to tourists like me, but it was well worth the trouble.

(05/07/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Great Great Good

Establishment: Route 66 Brewery and Restaurant, Saint Louis, MO

Union Station has a great look and the mall sells itself as a great place to shop, but when you get inside you don't find much other than shops selling Cardinals caps/shirts and some fast food restaurants. The beer at Rte 66 is the same way - they talk it up and give it names like IPA and dopplebock, but when you taste it, it's all rather light and bland. Probably the least quality of any St Louis brewpub.

(04/19/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good

Establishment: Morgan Street Brewing Company, Saint Louis, MO

The beer isn't bad, but it's nothing to get excited about. I'll go back if I'm visiting the Arch or Busch stadium, but I probably won't make Morgan Street a destination in itself.

(04/19/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great So So Good Good Great

Establishment: Terre Haute Brewing Company and Tap Room, Terre Haute, IN

This place rates a great, maybe awesome, strictly for the amazing display of brewing history. Food and service are okay - my last visit they were out of burgers and chicken, but failed to tell us until over a half hour after we ordered. Last summer, the beer was not too great - kind of old/stale for lack of a better description, but on my last visit in February, the beer was all tasted very nice and fresh. There are no aggressive beers here for the hopheads and other craft beer fanatics, but what's there is solid if my last visit was any indication.

(02/25/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Good Awesome!

Establishment: Lafayette Brewing Company, Lafayette, IN

One of my favorite places. Beer is always fantastic. Food, particularly the high cholestorol appetizers (onion rings, fried pickles, scotch eggs), is excellent. Service is occasionally slow, but I don't care, because the beer is so good.

(02/25/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Great Good

Establishment: Flatlander's Brewing Company, Lincolnshire, IL

Flatlanders was awesome when it opened several years ago, but it's not quite the same any more. The beer is passable, and occasionally good, but never outstanding like it used to be. The last year or so, Miller, Bud, and others have been heavily advertised at Flatlanders - never a good sign for a brewpub. Food is good, but, like the beer, not outstanding. Service has always been above average. If you're in the area, it's worth the stop.

(02/08/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Great Great

Establishment: The Berghoff, Chicago, IL

Great. Fantastic German food. Good old fashioned stand up bar; service is very business-like. Berghoff beer is solid, although hardcore fans of craft beer will think it's too light - it's all well made and tasty, but you won't find any of the bolder, hoppier styles. Still, I love the Berghoff.

(01/23/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great So So Great Awesome! Great

Establishment: Choc Beer was Pete's Place, Krebs, OK

Very interesting and enjoyable place. I was passing through town on my own, and stopped by. Being alone, I felt kind of funny in the individual dining room, but I got some reading done. The three beers were all pretty good, and the service was great.

(01/10/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! So So Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Royal Bavaria Restaurant and Brewery, Moore, OK

I love this place. Great food, atmosphere and service. The beer doesn't quite measure up to style, but I love it anyway. I can't wait to get back to this place. Despite government intrusion and restriction of the brewing business, I find it amazing that the brewers in OK can still create some very good beers.

(01/10/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Awesome! N/A Good Great

Establishment: Big Buck Brewery and Steakhouse, Grapevine, TX

Lots of beer - I think they had 14 on tap. Those I tried were all pretty good - nothing outstanding, but nothing bad. I really enjoyed the atmosphere, but that may have had something to do with the Cubs beating the Cardinals on the bar television.

(01/10/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Great Good Great

Establishment: Taylor Brewing Company, Lombard, IL

Great food, especially the burgers and ribs. They try a lot of different things with their beer, and there are many more misses that hits. However, there are enough good beers to visit again when I'm in the area. Service has always been pretty good, but I've only been there at off hours.

(01/10/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Good Awesome!

Establishment: Lafayette Brewing Company, Lafayette, IN

Fantastic beer, decent food, spotty service. I go for the beer, so I can forgive the occasional slow service. The appetizers (particularly the onion rings, which are like donuts with onions in them, the fried pickles, and scotch eggs) are so good I rarely try any of the entrees. I just hope my arteries stay open long enough to keep going back.

(12/30/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good So So

Establishment: Brass Restaurant and Brewery, South Barrington, IL

While both the food and beer were pretty good, I gave an overall rating of only so-so based on the prices. Beer is $4.25, not including tax. If it were better, I wouldn't mind paying so high a price. Food is also expensive, but good. Brass wants to be a fine dining establishment, but the NW suburbs are already too full of brewpubs trying to be fancy. Not that that's a bad thing, but is it too much to ask for a brewpub you can spend the evening at without spending so much money?

(08/27/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Great Good

Establishment: America's Brewpub, Aurora, IL

I loved this place when it first opened, but now I probably won't go back. The beer used to be awesome, but on my last few visits it has tasted old. Food is still great, but too expensive for the average person. There is one sandwich on the menu, an $11 hamburger, and from there the prices jump up quickly. My theory, and I might be totally wrong, is that in trying to attract the big players from the casino, they've priced themselves into bad beer. This isn't the place you can go for a quick bite to eat and a couple beers unless your willing to spend at least $25. The restaurant is full due to the good food (on my last visit the place was packed, but I was one of only a handful drinking the house brews), but the food prices are driving the beer drinkers away, and the beer is getting old. It's the only reason I can think of for the decline in the quality of the beer, but maybe I'm way off. The atmosphere and food are still great; it's just not worth the time to get there.

(07/06/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Lousy Lousy Lousy Lousy

Establishment: Hilton Head Brewing Company, Hilton Head Island, SC

I was here in 1999, and thought it was great. They had very good house beer, and a decent bottle selection. The food was great, and it was a fun place to go. Something has changed. Only a couple tastless beers on tap, no bottled beers worth drinking, bland food, and poor service (I'm about as white as it gets, so they must not like white people either). There are a few places on HHI to find some decent beers, but this isn't one of them. The Carolina brand (Light, Blonde, Brown) seems to be the only local/regional beer on the island. A new pizza place called the Mellow Mushroom just opened up, and they had a fantastic beer selection (for Hilton Head), including Rogue and Sierra Nevada, among other quality selections. If you want a good beer, head to the Mushroom and avoid HH Brewing Co.

(07/06/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: The BREW Kettle Taproom and Smokehouse / Ringneck, Strongsville, OH

This place is all a beer drinker could want. It's a brewpub, microbrewery, brew-on premise, and even without their own beers on tap, they would be a great beer bar. The selection of guest beers was awesome. The owner, whose name I forget, took the time to have a good conversation - very hospitable and welcoming. I will be back when next I visit Cleveland.

(06/08/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A Good Great Great Great

Establishment: Uncle Tucker's Woodfired Pizza and Brew Haus, Cumberland, MD

This was an enjoyable place, but I was disappointed in the beer. They were all sour, as if they'd been sitting around months too long. Even a regular at the end of the bar made the same comment, so I assume there was just something temporarily wrong. Because of that I'll not rate their beer since everyone else seems to have really liked it. Pizza was good, but extra ingredients were a bit pricy considering how skimpy they were with them.

(06/08/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A N/A Great

Establishment: Sprecher Brewing Company, Incorporated, Glendale, WI

Great, very informative tour, with generous sampling. Beers are all above average and the Cream Soda and Ginger Ale are the best there is.

(12/01/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Great Awesome!

Establishment: Clark Street Ale House, Chicago, IL

The last three reviewers probably wouldn't know the difference between Bud Light and real beer, but I'm sure the service they received ruined their experience. As for me, I've not once been overcharged or received bad service on my several visits. The beer selection is fantastic and they know how to take care of the beer. No food, but a great place to stop for beer.

(12/01/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome!

Establishment: Scotty's Brewhouse, Muncie, IN

Fun place to go. Always crowded, but always relaxing. Great selection of Indiana and midwest craft beer alongside the usual Miller, Coors and Bud. Simple food, but outstanding. Chicken fingers are awesome. Just don't have the extra spicy MoFo Cluck sandwich if you still want to tase your beer.

(10/30/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy So So N/A Lousy Lousy

Establishment: Bricktown Brewery and Blackwater Grill, Dubuque , IA

This is the worst rating I've ever given. I didn't eat here but went to the downstairs bar where everyone else was drink Busch and Coors. After having a couple Bricktown beers I became jealous of all the people drinking more flavorful beers than I was. The bartender seemed only to be interested in looking at girls, and gave just about the worse service I've ever seen - more than one group walked out because the couldn't get his attention. The restaurant upstairs looked nice and was crowded, so if you go there make sure you stay upstairs.

(10/25/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Awesome! Great

Establishment: McCoy's Public House and Brewkitchen, Kansas City, MO

Excellent service at the bar, good beer, good pub food - this was a great place to try a few beers while passing through Kansas City. Although it was more like ginger ale, and didn't taste like a traditional beer, I enjoyed the Ginger Shandy, one of the most unique beers I've tried. It is always a plus when the brewer is willing to do something different.

(06/08/2002)


Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]













(0.141 seconds) 14:42:16 54.205.52.110, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS