PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from bill
Other Reviews by this User
 
December 20, 2014 @ 12:41 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By
bill

Beer Reviews
(31)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






no
user
photo

31
Beer Reviews from bill
   

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great
Good Good Good Good

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Great Great

Establishment: Russian River Brewing Company, Santa Rosa, CA

The Pliny The Elder and Pliny the Younger are both beers that are worth driving long distances to taste. I've been here 3 times and the guys working the bar made me feel welcome. I recomend this place highly to everyone.

(03/22/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So Good Good Good

Establishment: Prince of Wales, San Mateo, CA

If this place offered at least one strong, hoppy IPA, I'd be a weekly customer for life. Instead I stop by once a month or so for the fish and chips. Meet the owner if you get a chance, a real character who likes to connect with his customers. My girlfriend thought the place was "filthy" and has no interest in returning. I like the charm of this bar, I just don't like their beer.

(10/12/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good So So So So Good

Establishment: Tied House Cafe and Brewery, Mountain View, CA

Large, open, nicely done building. Nice place to take friends, clients, business associates. I noticed a lot of power lunches going down around me. I tried one beer and it was a really good example of a strong barleywine. I would return here for that reason solely, that barleywine was really well done. The food was your usual brewpub-ten-or-twelve-dollaraplate stuff, nothing all that memorable or iamginative. Still, that barleywine is calling me back. Cheers!

(01/12/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Callahan's Pub and Brewery, San Diego, CA

Just to clarify some of the misinformed points the previous reviewer made: The new location of Callahan's does not support brewing at this time, so maybe their name is a little misleading. All of the "house" beers do in fact come from San Diego Brewing. However, Callahan's was not "bought out" by SDB, they're just owned by the same folks. That's been true for many years, nothing new. Also, the previous reviewer should know that Callahan's usually has at least one example of Ballast Point's product on tap along with several other fine brews of note. For a pub with 20 or so taps, they do a really nice job of keeping a diverse collection of brews available. There may be pubs with a couple of better beers on their rosters, but you won't find a better collection of PEOPLE working it, managing it or owning it anywhere. Their people make the difference. Cheerz, Bill

(04/08/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Great

Establishment: San Diego Brewing Company, San Diego, CA

Two words for this brew-pub: GREAT PEOPLE! The workers, the waitstaff, the management are all wonderful folks who are more than happy to make your experience a great one. World-class guest beers I enjoyed while visiting: Sierra Nevada Bigfoot, Stone IPA. House beers I enjoyed: Old 395 Barleywine. A few of the barmaids here have really perfected the fins art of pretending to be interested in the patron's ramblings! As the sign out fron says: We're Open, Get in here!!!

(02/20/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Great Great

Establishment: Pizza Port Carlsbad, Carlsbad, CA

AMEN! to the reviewer prior to mine. These cats truly produce, consistantly I might add, some of the finest beers in the US to ever satisfy my beer jones. These folks love over-the-top, EXTREME beers. The 17 percent "Broken Keg" Ice Bock, the "Mike's" 8 percent double IPA hop-bomb, the "Bombshell" barley wine, the "Wipeout" IPA hop-monster, I'm getting thirsty just writing about it. Time to head out to Carlsbad for a short trip to BEER HEAVEN!!! Say hi to Jason, the cool bar manager.

(02/20/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A N/A Great

Establishment: AleSmith Brewing Company, San Diego, CA

The 2001 Holiday "Yulesmith" offering was one of the finest beers to ever hit my taste buds. THANKS ALESMITH!!!

(02/20/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Good Great

Establishment: Lucky Baldwin's, Pasadena, CA

I walked into this place unaware of an ongoing, (exucuse me while I catch my breath) BARLEY WINE FESTIVAL!!! 31, count 'em, 31 barley wines on tap. I really appreciated the $2 "samplers". What a selection! What else needs to be said?

(04/03/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Good Great Great

Establishment: Lucky Baldwin's, Pasadena, CA

Stopped in over the weekend and much to my delight discovered EIGHT Rogues on tap! The Rogue Imperial Stout and Old Crustaceon on tap are joys rarely experienced outside of Oregon. Apparently, Baldwin's had a 14 keg Rogue festival the weekend before. Unfortunately, I missed that, but a few months prior, I walked into a 16 keg Belgian festival that floored me. I'm enthusiaticaly upgrading my previous review of this establisment. Lucky Baldwins is just a WONDERFUL place.

(01/31/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Good Good Great Great

Establishment: Nimbus Brewing Company, Tucson, AZ

This place rules! KILLER pale ale, good food, wonderful music, great atmosphere, cool crowd, great staff, so-so location, what else do you need to know? OK, there are some GREAT horseback riding stables outside of Tucson that will take you into the mountains and high desert. Get yourself to Tucson and enjoy these great establishments!

(01/03/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Brewery Ommegang, Cooperstown, NY

I didn't visit the brewery, but I did sample the Omegang Abbey at The Parting Glass in Saratoga, NY and let me tell you, this beer is EXCEPTIONAL!!! If you haven't tried this awesome brew yet, FIND IT and love it!

(06/16/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So Good Good So So

Establishment: Karl Strauss Brewery Gardens, Sorrento Mesa, CA

OK, first the highlights: BEAUTIFUL place, wonderful surroundings, PERFECT date destination. Of the four plates of food ordered at our table, none were worth a second mention other than they were competantly done. No standouts. Of the three different beers ordered at our table, only one, the dry-hopped brown, would muster a second fill of the glass or a reorder on a second visit. Did I mention that the place was full of gorgeous women?

(05/17/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great So So Good

Establishment: Yard House, Long Beach, CA

Yeah, they've got quite a few beers and "the worlds largest tap beer delivery system". The place is in a nice spot on the water and the interior is quite nice. What's not to like about this place? Well, it's just a bit too *sterile* for my tastes. You know, it's got that franchised smell to it. The zombie-like wait staff, the 30 varieties of t-shirts and the like. One major plus: the music being piped in was a cool diverse selection very unlike the crap in most gordonbeerschlikefranchiseyuppiehouses. Still, you can get a damn good beer here, so I gotta give 'em a good review.

(04/16/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So N/A Great Good

Establishment: AleSmith Brewing Company, San Diego, CA

Just so you know, this place is just a brewery. They've got 4 taps in back with a few chairs around them. The first time I stopped in, one of the owners took me in back and let me sample all four beers he had available. None of the four floored me, though I found the Brown to be drinkable and purchased a growler. It was well recieved by others who tried it that night back at home. These guys are good people. Support their products whenever possible!

(04/13/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A Good Good Good Great

Establishment: McSorley's Old Ale House, New York , NY

I'd *really* love this place if it wasn't so damn hard to get a seat most of the time. You really need to plan to hit this place during an off hour, if there really is such a thing, though early Sunday afternoons seem to be reasonable sometimes. Gotta love any place that requires you to buy two beers at a time! When you get inside during one of their manic crowd hours, don't panic, flow with it. You'll be glad you did once you start meeting folks from all parts of the planet and all walks of life. This is the true essence of The Bar.

(04/09/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Stuffed Sandwich, San Gabriel, CA

After just one visit, this place has vaulted into my "Top 5 places to enjoy a beer in SoCal" list. Want this year's Rogue Mogul? They've got it, and they'll point out that this year's label features a snowboarder, not the "traditional" skier. Want last year's Anchor Celebration in a magnum? They've got that too. Oh yeah, their sandwiches rule, as does the potato salad and just about anything else they make for you to eat. Make sure you bring your own glass as they don't have any unless you want to buy one. Make sure you bring your appetite too, as they won't sell you beer unless you buy food. Sounds odd, yes? Don't argue with their rules, everything else is just *SOOOooooo* good!

(04/06/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Sierra Nevada Brewing Company, Chico, CA

Hop head heaven! We ventured up to Chico from SF one afternoon not too long ago just to hit this place. What a treat! If beer gets any better than this, I want to know *where*.

(02/25/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Good Good

Establishment: Lionheart Blues Cafe, Albany, NY

I usually stop here after grabbing a bite to eat at El Loco around the corner. They always have something good on tap. I like the way the place is split in two rooms. Good local music scene too. If you're looking for someplace to go after Mahar's closes, this is a very good choice.

(02/03/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So N/A Good Good

Establishment: Pauly's Hotel, Albany, NY

This place has been around *forever*. I still remember when they had a *7AM* happy hour! I've spent many hours here listening to great local and regional bands. A memorable place, but not for its beer or food.

(02/03/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Lousy N/A Lousy Lousy

Establishment: Gordon Biersch Brewing Company, Pasadena, CA

Ugh. Avoid this place unless you're trying to network with people as contrived and vapid as the environment there. The whole thing reeks of middle aged lawyers in Porsches, the bimbos they chase and the requisite wannabes. They should just gather all these places along with those that frequent them and give them their own state. Wall it off like Club Med and let them keep to themselves rather than continuing to spread this dreck.

(01/28/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good So So Good

Establishment: Lucky Baldwin's, Pasadena, CA

This place can be hit or miss. There have been times when my girlfriend and I waited so long for service in the back room by ourselves that we said "what the heck" and reached over the bar for a glass and *poured our own beer*! The fish and chips are dependably good. Too bad the same can't be said for their beers. I've had some that were awfully stale, though they've always replaced them until I've been satisfied. One visit took four trys before I got something drinkable. My last visit in December, however, produced the wonderful elixir of Sierra Nevada Celebration. Between that and the fish 'n chips, we left as one happy couple. Enjoy this place while you can. I have a feeling the harsh economic realities of operating a business in Pasadena will eventually doom Baldwin's, which would be a shame, considering its potential for unique character. We've just been there too many times when it's been empty.

(01/28/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Good Good Good

Establishment: Crown City Brewery, Pasadena, CA

A MUST stop while in Pasadena. Good beer, good service, zero attitude, friendly regulars all happily willing to trade beer advice. To get the true spirit of this place, sign up for one of their sports bus road trips.

(01/28/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So N/A Lousy So So

Establishment: Brewhouse, Santa Monica, CA

I like to stop at this place to rest while hanging at the Promenade. There's *never* anyone in the back room, so its a nice getaway from the masses on the street. I've never had a beer there that I would want to try a second time. 'nuff said.

(01/28/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So Great Awesome! Great

Establishment: Ye Olde King's Head Pub, Santa Monica, CA

Best fish and chips I've had anywhere in the U.S. Killer clam chowder. Great ladies serving you. You'll see "celebrities" if you visit enough and keep your eyes open. A MUST stop while in Santa Monica.

(01/28/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So N/A So So So So

Establishment: Newport Beach Brewing Company, Newport Beach, CA

If I wanted to take my yuppie white-bread family to someplace that served white-bread beer in a contrived, sanitized environment while in Newport Beach, this might be the place. But since none of what I just described pertains to me or my girlfriend, I'll skip this place and drive a few miles to Costa Mesa and hang at The Goathill Tavern. Something about The Newport Beach Brewery just didn't sit right with me. Was it just *too* clean? Or was it the fear that I'd be singing Barney tunes after sitting another hour there?

(01/28/1999)


Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]













(0.235 seconds) 12:41:32 54.211.113.223, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS