PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from bill miller
Other Reviews by this User
 
August 20, 2014 @ 05:42 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By
bill miller

Beer Reviews
(13)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






no
user
photo

13
Beer Reviews from bill miller
   
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome!
Great Great Awesome! Awesome!

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Awesome!

Establishment: Stewart's Brewing Company, Bear, DE

Delaware, the small wonder. A handful of breweries/brewpubs, but a fistful of GABF & WBC medal winners. Stewart's leads the way with consistently excellent beers. The Windblown Blonde very tasty (gold medal winner), the Glacier IPA (on cask!!!) a treat, but the Conundrum, a big, big beer with as much flavor as heft, is the one that blew me away. In 750 mm bottles, the state of Delaware hasn't yet approved the graphics, so must be enjoyed in house (for now). My advice, buy a bottle & share! Is this heaven? No, it's Delaware.

(01/19/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Yuengling, Pottsville, PA

Finally made the trip to Pottsville to tour the old Yuengling brewery. A step back in time & a real treat. A nice little museum display of artifacts along with an informative tour. Getting to go down into the lagering caves alone was worth the 4 hour drive. If you like beer & brewery history you really should make this pilgrimage to America's oldest brewery.

(06/28/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A N/A Awesome!

Establishment: Troegs Brewing Company, Harrisburg, PA

Stopped by to take the brewery tour during the weekend of the Harrisburg brewfest. This is great beer made by great people. The beer variety should please most geeks (especially love the Mad Elf & the Hopback is a real treat). Cases of their one shot beers were on sale if you are looking for something different. Worth making a special trip..............

(06/28/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Bullfrog Brewery, Williamsport, PA

One of the nicest brewpubs I have ever been in. Had the opportunity to sample 12 (12!) different beers, all well made. The Chocolate Bock, Phree & Red Star were memorable, but enjoyed them all. The two appetizers we had were excellent (bruschetta & a real crab dip, better than a lot of places in Maryland make) & the service was perfect. A great experience!

(06/28/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A N/A Awesome!

Establishment: Bavarian Barbarian Brewing Company, Williamsport, PA

A delightful new small brewery in downtown Williamsport, had an opportunity to sample the three beers they are currently brewing. A brown ale, pale ale & an IPA (my favorite) were on tap. Very friendly people pouring great beer & some of the coolest t-shirts around. Definitely a must stop if you are in the central PA area.

(06/28/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Schmankerl Stube, Hagerstown, MD

What a nice place. 6 different German beers on tap & excellent food & service. The owner was very pleasant & made our group of 10 feel right at home. Where else can one order a 5 liter stein of beer?

(06/01/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Max's on Broadway, Fells Point/Baltimore, MD

Saw the two most recent reviews and was surprised. Have been in Max's when it was very crowded and when I was the only customer in the place. Every time I have been there the service was excellent. Stopped in earlier this week and had some great beers, some great nachos (with pulled pork, a nice touch) and the usual excellent service. Max's is a local treasure and is a must visit for any person going to Baltimore. I only wish I could get there more often.

(10/12/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Max's on Broadway, Fells Point/Baltimore, MD

Stopped by this weekend for the Belgian Beerfest. Truly an event worth attending - over 60 Belgians on draft & over 100 in bottles! What a selection! Service was outstanding, even with the horde of patrons. To paraphrase Winston Churchill, "Never have so many been served so well by so few". Thanks for a memorable experience!

(02/18/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Washington Street Pub, Easton, MD

Stopped in recently for a late lunch & a couple of beers. 21 taps: 3 Maryland (2 Fordham, 1 Oliver's), half a dozen or so imports, some micros & some macros. A pint costs $4.29 - better to go during happy hour. Good food, reasonable prices, good service. Nothing really exotic or 'big' (Spanish Peaks Black Dog Ale the most unusual offering). A nice place run by good people; one of the few decent beer bars on Maryland's Eastern Shore.

(02/07/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A N/A Great

Establishment: Twin Lake Brewing Company, Greenville, DE

Visited the brewery this past week. Yes it does cost $22.50 to take the tour. Not unreasonable considering the spread of fine cheeses & the opportunity to drink as much of their beer as you wanted (the glass was nice as well). The tour was excellent and we were encouraged to ask questions and hang around. This is a nice, first class operation with well made beers ( I tried the pale ale & pilsner, but did not try the stout) & I wish them well.

(08/12/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So Great Great Good

Establishment: Piccadilly's, Winchester, VA

Stopped in on a Saturday evening with friends for dinner. We ate in the pub and had a very nice time. Nice building & dining area. I had the 1/2 smoked chicken, not bad at all. The beer was not much. Tried the pilsner & the red ( a blend of pilsner & stout). The bar has a huge cooler for bottles, but not much choice. I will definitely go back for the food & atmosphere, but hope that the beer quality improves, or maybe they'll add some micros to their bottle selection.

(05/01/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Awesome! Great

Establishment: Growler's Pub, Baltimore, MD

Stopped here a couple of weeks ago with my son. Wanted to see what the buzz was all about. I wish I had a corner bar like this where I live. Great micro tap selection & super service. When I was growing up in Baltimore this is what I thought a corner bar would be like - can't wait to go back & spend an afternoon.

(04/23/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Awesome! Great

Establishment: Mahaffey's Pub, Baltimore, MD

Stopped by Mahaffey's a couple of weeks ago with my son. What a great place. The service was wonderful. I had never been to Canton before. If Fells Point is too hectic slide down a couple of blocks & try one of the nicest beer bars I've ever been to. I like this place.

(04/23/2006)














(0.096 seconds) 05:42:27 54.225.24.227, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS