PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from bill mcintyre
Other Reviews by this User
 
April 19, 2014 @ 08:35 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By
bill mcintyre

Beer Reviews
(24)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






no
user
photo

24
Beer Reviews from bill mcintyre
   
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great
Great Great Good Great

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Great Great

Establishment: Pizza Plant, Williamsville, NY

This place is worth a stop, beer taps rotate constantly and the food is hot and good. The pods they make are killer as well as the veggie slection for those who are not meatavores.

All in all a very pleasant experience and highly recommended.

(12/31/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: C'est What?, Toronto, ON

This place is a gem and not to be missed, the food and beer were wonderful, as was Kelly - our bartender/waitress. She was very knowledgable and a good server to boot. This is a place not to be missed. I don't know what the problem, from years ago with the manager was but I guess he had a nosebleed as it was his 28th day or his village was missing him.

(12/31/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Lousy Lousy Lousy Lousy

Establishment: Kingston Brewing Company, Kingston, ON

Very marginal, beer was awful, the winter wallop was hardly a wallop, more like a wussy winter, the hard cider was soda pop and the figgy pudding belonged in the dumpster. Food was borderline marginal and that is being generous. The sausage was very plain with no true flavor, the poor man's pizza was hothouse tomato and one razor-thin slice of cheese. Chips were flavorless. Atmosphere was really good, I just wish the beer wasn't so crappy. Add in a dirty table, as well as no sampler and this is a place to avoid like the plaugue.

(12/31/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Lousy So So Lousy

Establishment: Lake Placid Pub and Brewery, Lake Placid, NY

No problems with the beer.

However, my wife and I got moldy sandwiches, stale, freezer-burned pretzels, tasteless pulled pork and ice cold (reused) fries when we were here. The server was polite and did take the moldy sandwich off of our bill.

I think they are resting on their laurels and while the beer is good the food was excrible. they need to take FOOD 101. I was thinking about filling a growler, but they won't get another dime of my money, thats for sure.

(04/15/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Good Great

Establishment: Owl Bar, Baltimore, MD

This is a neat old bar, the beer section was really good and the pizza was great. Service was a little spotty tho, but it still is worth going here, shoot its across the street from Brewers Art.

(10/15/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A Awesome!

Establishment: Brewer's Art, Baltimore, MD

My wife and i were travelling through on Sunday 10/14/07 and tried to stop for lunch.

We were disappointed that they didn't open til later but the man (I'm sorry I didn't get your name) came out and explained that they didn't open til later due to a lack of business. That was more than ok by us and I asked him where another place we could eat was. He sgave us 2 suggestions and we went to The Owl Bar. Man was this a great suggestion, the beer was great, the pizza wa even better and the atnosphere was way cool!! He also gave us a gift certificate for our troubles...(you just earned a customer for life).

While I didn't try any of the beer or food, you damn betcha I will make the trip back to try this place.

(10/15/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Dogfish Head Brewings and Eats, Rehoboth Beach, DE

Heard a lot about this place, so I had to try it. What can I say, it is not to be missed!!!

Food was fast, hot and delicious!

Beer was fast, cold and brewed right.

Spirits were also a home run!!

Only minor thing was that they did not have any of the specialty beers in bottles..damn.

(10/15/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Dogfish Head Brewings and Eats, Rehoboth Beach, DE

Made it a point to go here on a trip to Virginia and it did not disappoint. The service was lightning fast, knowledgeable and friendly. The food was also really good and out fast. Beer was delicious. The distilled spirits were also very fine. The only minor negative was that they didn't have any specialty beers, the waitress apologized and was embarassed for them but what can you do when you hit them at just that odd time. Still, most assuredly worth the trip.

(10/11/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Great

Establishment: DuClaw Brewing Company, Bowie, MD

Stopped on our was the Virginia, and were not disappointed. Damn it was magnificent!! Beer was outstanding as was the service and speed. Toffee Nut Ale is to die for, very smooth!!! Food was damned good too, especially the crab dip, do not miss this place!!!

(10/11/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Good Great

Establishment: Italian Oasis Restaurant and Brewery, Littleton, NH

While the beer is unfiltered and there are many bad reviews for it, my wife and I have been to enough places and drunk enough beer that we do know what we like. The beer selection while small (3 beers) was different and not as bad as people make it out to be, it was drinkable but in truth they were somewhat indistinguishable. The food (pizza at least) was really good (the rueben pizza is different and darn good). The restaurant part is not noticably smoky. The waitress, whle efficient enough didn't know much if anything about the beers.

All in all, not a bad place.

(07/31/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Davidson Brothers Restaurant and Brewery, Glens Falls, NY

Oh,my God!!! My wife and i stopped here last week and we were in heaven. The beer was incredible,we particularly enjoyed the Wheat and Rye ale as well as the Dacker and the Scotch Ale(yummy). The food was to die for, especially the chicken wing soup and the buffalo pork wings!!! Took two growlers to a party and the Dacker and the Scotch Ale were consumed rapidly by my wife's co-workers. Wish it were closer to me as I would probably live here.

(10/07/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Awesome!

Establishment: Old Dublin Inn, Clifton Park, NY

My wife and I met some of her friends here for dinner, for the 4 of us the bill came to just under 80 bucks, which for all the beer we drank and the food we ate was very well priced.

My only lament is that there are no new beers there for me to try, I've drunk their entire current selection.

(08/07/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Great Awesome!

Establishment: Kutztown Tavern / Golden Avalanche Brewing Company, Kutztown, PA

Another stop on our latest beer journey. The beer selection was very fresh tasting as well as just being very tasty. The food menu is huge (and different) and I need to come back to try more of the food and hit them when they have some of their seasonal beers on draft. Another place well worth the trip.

(07/19/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Great Awesome!

Establishment: Selin's Grove Brewing, Selinsgrove, PA

My wife and I like to beer travel and this was out latest journey. This place was incredible!! The only reasons I gave a lower rating for beer selection is that they were out of two beers, but still had 9 for us to sample. They were all very good and tasty. They do have some serious beer there! The bartender was very efficient and very busy, so she was a bit overworked from what I saw. The food is really, really good and while its not a huge menu the chef does an outstanding job with what he has to work with. Well worth the trip to visit this place and we will be back!

(07/19/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! So So Great

Establishment: Egan and Sons, Montclair, NJ

My wife and I stopped last Thursday and were surprised at how crowded the place was. The hostes was very polite and the wait was not very long. We were both impressed with the beers, the only reason the beer did selection didn't get an Awesome was that they do only 4, but they do them very, very well. The food was excellent and there was plenty of it, the Maple wings are not to be missed. The waitress was the only down side to the whole place, she was marginally efficient enough, but after she blurted the specials out to us, she disappeared and there was another waitress who ended up taking care of our food and drinks. Then out of the blue,(although she was perfectly visible the entire evening), our waitress shows up at the end with the bill and was polite then, but it was too late. It seemed she was too concerned with the suits that dotted the place and not with our table anyway.

Overall, well worth the trip for beer and food, but the service (excuse me, our server) was not good.

(04/24/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Good Great

Establishment: Mahar's, Albany, NY

Too bad the person before was such a sour apple, if its so bad then don't come back.

Anyway, on to the bar itself, yes, it is hit or miss with service, but who doen't have good and bad days? The beer selection itself, legal or illegal is awesome! I'm a newbie, closing in on 50 beers myself, but I'm looking to get to the 3 and 4 digit range one day as well.

If you want some nice food for free, go on a Saturday, that's when locals and non-locals bring all sorts of goodies and just leave them for anyone to munch on. there have been some incredible things there and its always different. But its always worth it.

(04/10/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Good Good

Establishment: Van Dyck, Schenectady, NY

My wife and I came after a doctor's appointment and we were not disappointed. The beer has gotten much better since the last time we were here and the selection is also much better. The barbeque was pretty damn good and the hot sauce was very tasty. (I lived in the south for 10 years, so I know good barbeque when I taste it.) It wasn't Memphis but it was close. Overall, I really like this place, I hope to take in a show here sometime this summer. They seem to be on the right track, let's hope they keep it going. Good Luck!

(04/10/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Keegan Ales, Kingston, NY

Good lord, this beer was awesome, words fail me with this place. If the food is half as good as the beer then this place will take off like a rocket. The 3 main beers are marvelous as well as the mixtures of the beers. My wife and I got seriously buzzed on the beer here, and this was after a huge lunch. I cannot wait to go back that way for more beer and their food.

(04/10/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good So So So So So So

Establishment: Skytop Steakhouse and Brewing Company, Kingston, NY

Went for the Sunday Brunch, which looked pretty good from a previous visit. I was with a large group of 30 people, and we got there around noon. Now, I am of the opinon that if you know a large group is coming you should have some food ready to go, but not fully prepared (in case they blow you off). I guess they don't believe this to be the case here. They ran out of just about everything and were none too quick about replacing what they ran out of. We had to wait far too long for replenishment food and when it was finally replenished there was too little of it. Needless to say the group and I were VERY disappointed with our whole experience. A bright note, the beer is very good here and always tastes fresh.

(04/10/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! So So Good Good

Establishment: Heartland Brewery South Street Seaport, New York, NY

Beer is wonderful, with a massive selection. Can't beat the beer! The food was OK, not bad, but not outstsnding, like many brewpubs. It was, of course, NYC pricing and it was a fair price for what was ordered, but it just didn't leap off the plate. Waitress was good at first but she did get a little behind after we got our food.

I would go back for the beer, not for the food. The ambiance is also wonderful as previously mentioned.

(04/10/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great So So So So Good

Establishment: Trap Rock Restaurant and Brewery, Berkeley Heights, NJ

I must agree with the other reviewers. The beer is really good and a nice selection to boot. The service was fine but the whole place had no business being a brewpub, it was very snobby and snooty from the get-go....valet parking should have been a dead giveaway. All in all, a nice place, but either be a brewpub or a fancy-dan restaurant..not both.

(12/12/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Lousy Good

Establishment: Firewaters, Atlantic City, NJ

Beer is great, selection outstanding. Food, from deli next door is pretty darn good considering the location. The only negative was the service, the bartender was very curt with me , almost snooty. I tried (in vain) to explain that I was new and had never been here before, she basically threw the beer list at me and stormed off. Now, I can see if its very busy or she has stupid people there, but there were about two whole people there the entire time I was there.

Apart from the bartender who I feel needs Customer service 101, I recommend the place highly.

(12/11/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Lousy Lousy So So Lousy

Establishment: McNeill's Brewery, Brattleboro, VT

The beer had a funny taste to it, almost like the lines hadn't been cleaned recently. I tried a few just to make sure it wasn't just me, but they were all laden with a plastic aftertaste. As for a selection, yes it is a large selection, but they don't allow you to have a sampler of the beers. To me anyway, having a smpler of the beers allows me to decide which beer I'd most like to drink more of, nothing worse than a pint of some swill you can barely choke down. The bartender looked like a refugee from the cover of Tattoo magazine, but she was polite and efficient enough. My confusion is that they are billed as a brewpub, not just a microbrewery...that needs to be corrected. To charge $1.25 for a small bowl of bagged chips is a bit steep I feel, when they should make most of their money on the drinks. Not really a place I will try to make an effort to go back to.

(08/17/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great So So So So Good

Establishment: Gilded Otter, New Paltz, NY

a nice place, but the food is not to die for like so many brewpubs I've been to. Worth the trip for great beer. The views and ambiance are wonderful.

(07/14/2002)














(0.109 seconds) 20:35:48 54.242.249.240, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS