PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from bill laubert
Other Reviews by this User
 
October 24, 2014 @ 07:09 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By
bill laubert

Beer Reviews
(25)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






no
user
photo

25
Beer Reviews from bill laubert
   
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great
Good Great Good Good

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Sackets Harbor Brewing Company, Sackets Harbor, NY

The beer, food, and service were all great. Unfortunately I left too soon--had this crazy notion of going over to Red Lion in Watertown. DON'T MAKE MY MISTAKE. If you get to SHB, stay and enjoy the view and the great beer!

(07/28/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So Lousy So So So So

Establishment: Red Lion Brewing Company, Watertown, NY

I have to agree with Kevin from Fort Drum--this place is bad. The beer was only so-so but the food was awful. I only ordered wings and fries. When the basket of fries arrived, I TRIED to pick up ONE. They were all stuck together like a big wad of potato strings. Out of 4 'temperatures' of wings to order from I had ordered the number 2 (# 4 beging the hottest). I took one bite and thought I had swallowed hell. After the waitress returned from one of her 15-20 cigarette breaks she asked me how the wings were. I commented that they were plenty hot. She said "yeah, they aren't what you ordered, they are the hottest we make but I didn't think you would notice." There were only 2 other people in the place when I was there so there really was no excuse for screwing up the order or getting nasty fries. Thank God for the new NY State smoking law--as many times as the waitress went outside to smoke--had she smoked them all in the bar I'd probably have left with emphasiema (spell?). Maybe I was so disapointed because I had just left Sackets Harbor Brewing, but the trip over to Watertown was a waste. I should have stayed at SHB and had a few more.

(07/28/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Lousy Good So So So So

Establishment: Route 66 Brewery and Restaurant, Saint Louis, MO

This place has gone to pot. Was there the Friday before Christmas and the place was pretty much empty--except everyone who smoked, they came in and sat next to me. They now offer Schlafly beer too--so when you taste how bad their beer has become you can have a Schlafly and not have to move your car. Their beer is different color but tastes the same. weak weak weak! What a shame! I had such hope for this place when it opened on Watson Road.

(01/10/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Awesome! Great

Establishment: Capitol City Brewing Company - Downtown, Washington, DC

What a great place. Food, beer, and service were excellent!

(06/27/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Awesome! Great

Establishment: Vermont Pub and Brewery, Burlington, VT

I can't say enough good things about this place. I was in town for the Vermont Brewer's Festival and had dinner here on Friday 20 July 2001. Trying to find a parking space was challenging. Once I realized that there are several parking garages and they are all CHEAP (first 2 hrs. free and 50 cents to a dollar/hour after that) I parked in a garage. VP&B sets at the corner of College and St. Paul. Go up (literally) St. Paul, just past the brewery and there is a parking garage on your right--50 cent per hour. If there is a line--don't let that deter you. There was a line when I arrived about 7 PM. When I realized they were all waiting for outdoor seating I went indoors and had a seat at the bar. There was plenty of room indoors--in the airconditiong (it was about 90 degrees outside!). They had 8 of their beers on tap. They pretty much covered the spectrum so everyone should be able to find something they like. I had the stout, Vermont Smoked Porter, and Bombay Grab IPA. Each were excellent and true to style. The smoked porter was so smokey--I swear it made me think of bacon. It was delicious! The IPA gives new meaning to the word hoppy. It's not just bitter--you can really taste the hops--to hop heads like me, that was a plus. Although I wouldn't recommend the IPA for those who don't truly LOVE bitter beer. I had the reuben sandwich and sweet potato fries. The bar tender was excellent--took great pains to be certain that no honey (I'm allergic) got near my plate of sweet potato fries. Burlington has a gem in this place. Others in town may be good too, but this is the only one I visited. If I ever get back to Burlington, I'll be sure to stop in. Great!

(07/23/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Davidson Brothers Restaurant and Brewery, Glens Falls, NY

I visited for lunch on Friday, 20 July 2001 on my way to the Vermont Brewer's Festival. Some of the comments here made he hesitant but I am very glad I stopped. Beer, food, and service were excellent. They had 11 of their beers tapped--all listed with alcohol content and the date that the keg was tapped. I had the oatmeal stout, smoked porter, and the IPA. All were very good. I believe there is no such thing as "over hopping" a beer so readers should take that into consideration. The smoked porter really has a smokey flavor that lasts through out the beer. When I was served the IPA it looked like it was going to taste flat--it didn't. It was a REAL IPA, not a PA or ESB being passed off as an IPA. Very hoppy and served at the appropriate temperature.

I don't know if my experience is the exception or if radical changes have taken place--but I stongly recommend giving this place a try.

(07/23/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Lousy So So

Establishment: Gettysburg Brewing Company, Gettysburg, PA

I guess I will be in the minority here--but I'll speak for the minority. I found this place VERY disapointing. Maybe my expectations were too high after reading the reviews here--maybe since I'd been to Selin's Grove Brewing 2 hours prior I expected too much. Either way, I won't make a special trip again to try this place. The place was to open at 3:00. There was a sign saying that it would open at 3:30. Finally, at 3:45 it opened. Had I not been prepared for 'no table or bar service' by reading reveiws I probably wouldn't have stayed. I ordered a York Street Irish Stout and was told it would take about 5 minutes to pour. I said fine, and waited, and waited--anticipation building--and waited--used the men's room-and waited. Suddenly there it was. I didn't leave a tip since there was no "service" and that might have gotten us off to a bad start. Finally a taste of the beer I'd ordered almost 10 minutes earlier. Good, not great--certainly not worth the hassle. Half way through my beer I went back up to the counter to write down the beers on tap--since it was written on a board about the size of a sheet of paper--I was glared at by the server. When I told him I wasn't ready to order, I was just jotting down the 'menue' I got a curt "OK." There were 7 beers on tap and I might have stayed to try them had the place not been so lacking. I would highly recommend that the owner read "The 5 Star Beer Bar" from the April-May 2001 issue of GREAT LAKES BREWING NEWS. A sign at the order station says "this is not fast food" yet all sevice is dispensed as 'fast food.' The beer is good, but the lack of atmosphere and service makes this place a downer. Standing in line for 10 minutes (and it was slow that afternoon) isn't my idea of a good brewpub experience. Maybe the tourist don't mind the "McBrewpup" type atmosphere and if I were still in college I might not mind it either, but I'm not--so I do. I did leave a tip after my second beer--but that didn't improve anyone's attitude. I'll say again, the beer is good. But the place has so many other drawbacks I won't go again.

(06/10/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Great Great

Establishment: Flat Branch Pub and Brewing, Columbia, MO

Over the past 5 years I have been to Flat Branch 3 times. I have never had bad food, beer, or service. The Katy Trail Pale Ale is very good. I ordered that first as I sat by the taps. Upon tasting it, I thought the bartender had given me the IPA. My next beer was an IPA and it was even hoppier! Both were excellent. The Oil change Stout is very good also. It was choccolaty but not sweet--even after having the IPA. On tap the day I was there (3 June 2000) were: IPA, Hudson's ESB, Honey Wheat, Scottish Ale, Belgian, Katy Trail Pale Ale, Green Chili, Oil Change Stout, Schwarzbier, Mai Bock, Steam Style Rye. Maybe I've always been lucky when I was there, but I have nothing to complain about.

(07/03/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good So So Good

Establishment: Thirsty Dog Brewing Company, Dayton, OH

Once the bartender realized that I was into beer service improved dramatically. Unfortunatly that was after I'd eaten. Prior to that I had to stand on my head and shoot BB's out of my butt to get waited on. Robinson's English Ale was very good (IBU's 55-60).

(07/03/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Boulevard Brewing Company, Kansas City, MO

These guys (there may be gals, but I didn't see any the day I was there) make the best beer in Missouri. Augie Bush wishes he made anything close to what they crank out at Boulevard! I was in KC during the week and just stopped by. They only do tours on Saturday but they were more than willing to let me taste and chat. It was lunch time and many workers came in and joined the conversation. I wish I could get this stuff in Western New York. The first time I brought some back I made the mistake of sharing it. Now I take orders when I go to Missouri. Everything they brew is great, but my favorites are the porter and the IPA.

(06/28/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Great Good

Establishment: River Market Brewing Company, Kansas City, MO

This is a great place to take a break from the Market. DON'T go at lunch-time. It was packed. The bartender was very friendly and knew her beer. She even offered free samples. The IPA was a little skunky. The Flying Crow Porter was very good--not sweet. This place is worth finding.

(06/28/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Good Lousy So So

Establishment: 75th Street Brewery, Kansas City, MO

I don't understand all the fuss about this place. The day I was there (during lunch) there was only 2 other people at the bar. I sat there 15 minutes before the bartender offered me a menue or asked if I wanted lunch. I went the entire meal without silverware of beer. The bartender walked by three times and ignored me. Food was good (hard to screw up a burger and fries) but not exceptional. The stout had a vinegary taste. Yuck.

(06/28/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So N/A So So So So

Establishment: Mill Creek Brewery and Restaurant, Kansas City, MO

This place is nothing special. The best thing about Mill Creek is free parking across the street. I'd say forget this place and go across the street to McCoy's.

(06/28/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Awesome! Great

Establishment: McCoy's Public House and Brewkitchen, Kansas City, MO

This is a great place! Very good beer. The bar tender was very in-the-know about beer and offered several samples. Food was good and reasonably price. God, how I wish this place had been open when I was at grad school at CMSU.

(06/28/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Trailhead Brewing Company, Saint Charles, MO

I found the beer, food, and service to be very good during my visit. I highly recommend the Old Courthouse Stout and the Portobello mushroom sandwich.

(06/28/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A Lousy N/A Lousy Lousy

Establishment: Old Mill Stream Inn, Saint Charles, MO

Avoid this hot, humid, little hell-hole like the plague. No beer on taps with a limited supply of bottled beer that could be found at any major grocery store. I almost didn't find the door to get in. One employee who was lurking around outdoors as I was searching for the entrance fessed up that he was ignoring me because he thought I worked for the health department. Out of obligation I had one beer. When I got up to leave (one employee (who had brought his 4 year old in with him) got hatefull with me for leaving after having only one beer--said "I didn't bring any liturgic (sp?) acid in." No air conditioning on a hot humid day put the icing on an awful experience. Blow this place off and go next door to Trailhead.

(06/27/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Awesome! Great

Establishment: Ellicottville Brewing Company, Ellicottville, NY

There is more to Ellicottville than skiing. This place is great! Worth a side trip off Highway 17. The Pale ale is one of the best I've had. All others are equally as good. The food and service are great. I found their prices to be quite good---I wonder what the people ordered for lunch that brought their bill to $70 before tip(maybe bottles of wine???). Luckily other places in Western NY are starting to carry EBC beers. Manhattan West in Alfred, NY has the Pale ale and the nut brown--both great--and Thursday nights both are only $2.00 a pint.

(07/17/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A Lousy Lousy

Establishment: Strip Brewing Company, Pittsburgh, PA

This place must be closed. After I FINALLY found a parking space--no easy task in PITTSburgh--I get to the place and it's closed. It's 4::15 PM. There is a note on the door asking the owner to call about having the coffee machine removed. Doesn't sound good.

(07/17/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Awesome! Great

Establishment: John Harvard's Brew House, Wilkins Township, PA

Given that this is Pittsburgh, this place is pretty easy to find--and worth the trip. Very friendly service, good food, and beer. They have a chart that lists all the beers tapped with their original gravity and IBUs. This is especially nice for people like me who want the bitterest beer a place has to offer. The BBQ Burrito is very good. The altbier is very good. It doesn't look fizzy, but it is. 30 IBUs but tastes more so. Very clean finish. The nut brown cask is very good. A nice nutty flavor that is usually missing from many nut beers. 55 IBUs but doesn't taste it. If it's hot you won't want many of these--but regardless of the temperature outside you owe it to yourself to try one. If it's cool, I'm sure you'll want more. The porter is good--not exceptional but ok. Have the nut brown instead.

(07/17/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So Good Lousy So So

Establishment: Pennsylvania Brewing Company aka Penn Brewery, Pittsburgh , PA

The first thing I noticed about this place was the number of servers standing behind the bar chatting, ignoring the customers. I sat at the bar--which only seats 4 or 5 people--and it took me 10 minutes to get a beer. The people seated at tables kept coming up to the bar to get drinks. Maybe they don't have table service, but then I don't understand the number of servers just standing around. The Penn Dark is dark in color--that's all. A light malty flavor but nothing to write home about. The Keisser Pills, looks, smells, and tastes like Budweiser--enough said. The Weitzen was actually good--especially considering they opened a bottle and poured it into a Hefeweitzen glass. Not a fan of weitzen, but this was pretty good. The stuffed banana peppers were good--they and the free parking made the trip worthwhile.

(07/17/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great

Establishment: Foundry Ale Works, Pittsburgh , PA

In the hell that is Pittsburgh, the Strip District (where the Foundry can be found) is easy to navigate. The Foundry has the beer, atmosphere, service, and FREE PARKING to make it worth your while to find this place. Although it was far too warm to enjoy it the day I was there, they have a set of couches that surround a fire place and huge windows. Very cool. The bartender apologized for the time it took to pour the oatmeal stout--WELL worth the wait. Probably the best oatmeal stout I've had. The IPA was good as well. A clear hoppy flavor, yet you still get a nice malt flavor. The apricot was not that great--not bad, but not good. When compared to Middle Ages (Syracuse NY) and Pyramid (Seattle) this apricot did not measure up. I'd go back to this place if (God help me) I ever wind up in Pittsburgh again.

(07/17/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So Good Good Good

Establishment: The Church Brew Works, Pittsburgh , PA

You just can't deny that this is a cool place to have a brewery. Being raised Southern Baptist--drinking beer in a church is the best! The beer however was not exceptional...Good, but not exceptional. If I lived in Pittsburgh (God help me!) I'd be a regular, but it was not worth a trip all the way from Western New York The Belltower Brown had a nice flavor but a littled watered down. The Pipe Organ Pale Ale has a nice hop flavor. You'd almost swear it was made from only hops, no malt. The Church is one of the few places that are easy to find in Pittsburgh--with FREE parking!!!! If you're in Pittsburgh, it's worth a stop.

(07/17/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Awesome! So So Great

Establishment: West Side Brewing Company, New York, NY

The sunny warm Saturday afternoon I went to West Side brought out an invitingly small crowd. The warm sun shining through the stained glass made me want to stay all afternoon, but the small variety of beer and the other bars on my list kept my visit to about an hour. There were three of their own brews on tap; blond ale, red ale, holiday, and IPA. The IPA was more of an ESB than an IPA--not hoppy at all--but it had a nice flavor. The Red ale was actually more flavorful than the IPA. The holiday has a full bodied flavor that is tart not sweet like many holiday brews. I didn't notice the metalic aftertaste other reviewers mentioned. The Turkey Reuben is great!!! I had it served with sweet potato chips. The chips were cold. I didn't find out if they were always served cold or not. They would be much better served hot. The bar tender was very unattentive. There were only 3 of us at the bar and it took qutie some time to get served. Those seated at tables seemed to get excellent service though.

(04/04/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great

Establishment: Typhoon Brewery, New York, NY

On a Saturday afternoon the bar was not crowded. Service was great as well as the place. Cool surrounding. I like the fact that the bar was separate from the seating. The pint glasses have ice in them anxiously awaiting the be filled with brew--neat idea--makes the beer almost perfect temperature. And speaking of pint glasses, if you collect them Typhoon has a deal: pint of beer and keep the glass for $6.75. Pints of brew are $4.75. On tap they had a Pale Ale, Golden Ale, Gneiss Dry Stout, and WeeHeavy. The Gneiss Dry was very good, flavorful, not bitter--tart. "Dry" really is a good word for it. The bartender told me the name was a spoof on Guiness. It's not Guiness, but very good all the same. The Typhoon Ale was smooth but not real bitter. It had a slight metalic after taste.

(04/04/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Good Good

Establishment: Commonwealth Brewing Company, New York, NY

A Saturday afternoon in March found the Commonweath almost deserted--no white-shirts that other reviewers complained about. Service was so-so. The bar tender was more interested in talking to the servers that had nothing to do. Their stout seperated like Guiness--albiet much faster. It had a smooth full flavor--doesn't accost your mouth. The Empire State bitter was not bitter at all. It tasted more like an amber. It had a nice flavor, but was NOT a bitter. It's ok if you're in the neighborhood, but not worth a special trip or fighting a crowd.

(04/04/1999)














(0.353 seconds) 19:09:16 54.82.31.133, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS