PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from bill caraway
Other Reviews by this User
 
September 02, 2014 @ 06:44 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By
bill caraway

Beer Reviews
(25)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






no
user
photo

25
Beer Reviews from bill caraway
   
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great
Great Great Great Great

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good

Establishment: Blue Canoe Brewery, Titusville, PA

This is compiled from 2 visits over the past 40 days. I used to travel from Pittsburgh 4-6 times a year to come here but I probably won't anymore. The beer both times was average. The Heavy Kevy was bland, which back when Matt brewed this at 4 Sons several years back wasn't the case (it seemed to have a lot more flavor and more body). The hefe-weizen was OK, the distorter porter was pretty good. The food wasn't bad and the service was good. I hope this place makes it because it's shocking how many stores and business have closed in Titusville over the last year or two. Hopefully the locals will keep the brewpub in business.

(05/24/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Blue Canoe Brewery, Titusville, PA

This is just like coming home. The Four Sons Brewery went out of business over 18 months ago and re-opened as Blue Canoe. Matt Allyn is brewing here so you won't be disappointed! The Scotch Ale and Porter are "must haves" and the food was even better than I expected. Service was very good too!

(08/25/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Great Good

Establishment: Bluegrass Brewing Company, Louisville, KY

The beers were solid, but nothing stood out. Food was good and the service was good. Overall a decent experience. One irritating item was that several of the beers listed on the web site and their menu were not available.

(02/17/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A Great Great

Establishment: Cumberland Brews, Louisville, KY

The atmosphere is not for everyone. This is a "college bar" for the most part, but an old fart like me really enjoys this type of atmosphere. The beers were very good - the Red and the Pale Ale were good but the nitro porter was excellent. Regina and Lucy are both very nice bartenders and were always attentive. I get to Louisville several times a year and I will be back.

(02/17/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good So So Good Good

Establishment: The Church Brew Works, Pittsburgh , PA

First, my quesdilla was burned. Had 3 of the seasonal beers. The Anchor Hammer was very good but the other 2 seasonals (one was a porter, can't remember was the other one was) were medicore. Have been to this establishment many times over the last few years and I really believe the overall quality is sliding downhill. Even though I live in Pittsburgh, places like John Harvards, Rivertowne Pub and North Country are better choices.

It also really bugs me that the one seasonal I had (7% a.b.v.) was served in a small snifter glass? Come on!

Bill Caraway

(09/02/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Great

Establishment: Four Sons Brewery, Titusville, PA

The Dead Tony's Triple was awesome! However, the Heavy K used to be one of my all time favorites - but it tasted very bland this time - and kind of thin. That's very surprising indeed.

The food was good and the service was better than average. I still love this place but I know it's for sale and I'm wondering how much longer it will be in business? I hope Thom finds a buyer that want to keep this going and maybe add some marketing and PR to it. I also wonder if Thom's big issue is that he needs someone really good to help him manage it.

(11/26/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Great Good

Establishment: The Church Brew Works, Pittsburgh , PA

The managers and brewer need to look at the last several reviews. Four out of the last five have not been flattering - and I see why to some extent. The good? The service was very good and the Pizza is some of the best around. I enjoyed the Blast Furnace Stoudt and the Cask Conditioned Ale was decent. However, the Heffe Weizen and the Wit tasted kind of ackward. Very citrus like and frankly, you couldn't tell much difference between the two. The waiter basically said it wasn't surprising and there had been some problems with the Yeast. To be honest, I opt for John Harvards, North Country or Four Sons (even though the two are much farther to travel) because the Church Brew Works is overpriced and the beer quality (and choices) are not up to these other places. And when they have a good beer that's over 6% - you're charged more and it's given to you in a much smaller glass. To have basic Pizza, a kids meal, 2 beers and a growler refill came to almost $50 - a good $10 - $15 (or more) above a similar selection at the locations mentioned.

(09/10/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Great

Establishment: North Country Brewing Company, Slippery Rock, PA

Stopped on 9/3. Food was good as usual but my daughter's grilled cheese was a little to overdone. Tried the Dunkel - medicore but the IPA (and it taste different and much better than before) and the Friars Porter were both excellent.

(09/10/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Awesome! Great

Establishment: John Harvard's Brew House, Wilkins Township, PA

In the past, my comments on this place were great on the food and service, and only good to so-so on the beer. However I have visited this place twice over the last two weeks and have found the beer to be really good (almost excellent). It tastes like the IPA has changed over the last several months..and I love it! Hoppy, full-boddied and flavorful. Two of the seasons - the Schwartzbier and the Koelsh were terrific. The service was excellent and John Harvards does great with food. You can come here and consume great beer with friends, or bring your whole family for great food and service. If you haven't been here for awhile - stop back!

(08/24/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Four Sons Brewery, Titusville, PA

James,

Apparently, there was a problem with a disagreement with the PA LCB for this festival and that's why it was canceled. Of course, we do live in the "tight ass quaker state" so I'm not surprised. If I recall, they had to cancel it either last year or the year before too.

(08/20/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A So So Good

Establishment: Outer Banks Brewing Station, Kill Devil Hills, NC

If you like beer that's different and has a lot of flavor - this is a great place to go. The Wisenhiemer Weizen was very good and I had a nice spicy dark ale (can't remember the name) that was truly unique. However, the service both times I was there wasn't all that great.

(08/20/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Weeping Radish Brewery, Manteo, NC

It's one of the more interesting places I've been to. The food and beer are both very good. The food is well prepared and tasty and the beer is very well done. The only minor drawbacks are the beer (especially the double bock and the krolsh) maybe a bit sweet for some people. The food is also a little pricey. The previous reviewer was right - check out the gift shop which includes deep discounts on "slightly over-aged beer" by the six pack and case. Neat shirts also!

(08/20/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great

Establishment: Marzoni's Brick Oven and Brewing Company, Duncansville, PA

The Mai Bock was great, but I really enjoyed the Weissbock - a truly unique beer. I had to take a growler of this home! The avalanche IPA was as good as usual. The people that work here always seem to be nice and Bill Kroft is one of the best people around.

(05/15/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Jean Bonnet Tavern, Bedford, PA

Thanks to Bill Kroft from Marzoni's for letting me know about this place. This was a pleasant surprise. My crab cake sandwich was terrific and I loved the fact that I could get the Marzoni's Mai Bock on draft and a Troegs Hop Back Amber in the same place. I had the pleasure of meeting with Melissa - one of the owners and she was very nice and informative. A must stop, whether you want to dine or drink in the tavern part or have an upscale dining experience downstairs.

(05/15/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good

Establishment: Hereford and Hops, Cranberry Township, PA

The food and the beers were decent, but not great. It's a nice place and the atmosphere blends in with the more upscale Cranberry Township area.

(04/13/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Good Good Great

Establishment: Four Sons Brewery, Titusville, PA

I Was pleased with this visit. The Hop to you drop IPA reminded me of Dogfish Head 90 min IPA. The Poor Richards was another good seasonal beer on tap. The service has improved over the last two visits I had here. I still believe the beers offered here are some of the best. I still would suggest some upgrades and addtiions to the food menu.

(04/09/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Establishment: North Country Brewing Company, Slippery Rock, PA

I was never a fan of Rye beer - until I've had two great ones here - the Amber Waves of Grain and I believe it was "Catcher in the Rye". I've had Rye before at Appalachian, but North Country does this style well too! I'd like to see either a hardier, stronger IPA or return of the Slimy Pebble Pils to round out their selection.

(04/03/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Great Great Great

Establishment: North Country Brewing Company, Slippery Rock, PA

Nothing stood out as far as beer this go around. I heard about the Winter Warmer but it was gone by the time I got there. Food and service were great as usual. This place is a gold mine overall.

(02/17/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Great Great Good

Establishment: Harvest Moon Brewery / Cafe, New Brunswick, NJ

Went there twice while in New Jersey on business this past week. Tried their 8 beers but only thought two were really good - bock (9.1% and tasty) and the Firehouse Red - a solid beer that can be drank pint after pint. They were out of the Dubbel at the time.

Food and the service were both good. Definately stop if you're near Rutgers University or in that area at all.

(02/17/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Great Great

Establishment: Sharp Edge Creekhouse, Pittsburgh , PA

Had not visited for awhile because of my disappointment with the service. The service last Saturday was really good at the bar - bought the big bottle of Delerium Noel - one of the best beers made. I still say this place is pricey. I was also surprised how dead this place was for a Saturday Night. Still - the best beer in the world is found here.

(01/28/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Great Great Great

Establishment: John Harvard's Brew House, Wilkins Township, PA

Stopped in this past Saturday. I'm always surprised how good the food is here! Had a sampler - the only beer that bowled me over was the stout, which is typical because I find John Harvards porters and stouts to be their best selections. However, I was disappointed with the scotch ale - not up to the quality I'm used to from places like Four Sons and Rohrbachs. The IPA was ok, the John Harvards American Pale was above average.

(01/18/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Ellicottville Brewing Company, Fredonia, NY

Wow - this was first time I've been there since Barker Brew (the daytime of December 31). Had a sampler and all beers were excellent! There was a seasonal German beer (may have been a Dortmunder style) that was particularly pleasing. Took home Imperial IPA and killed it New Years Eve! The Chicken Quesidilla (may not have spelled that right) was very good. The bartender was a very attractive young lady who was as nice, intelligent and attentive as her looks. I definately want to get back to there or the location in Ellicottville as soon as I can!

(01/17/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Good So So Great

Establishment: Four Sons Brewery, Titusville, PA

There are very few brew pubs that top to bottom have great beer - this is one. I travel almost 2 hours several times a year to go to Four Sons. The last time, I walked out with a growler of Dead Tony's Trippel and Heavy K. However, the service has gown down hill the last few times. In October, my check was wrong and it took several times to get it right. The last time Thanksgiving weekend (we travleled in some rought conditions to get there) , the server was about as apathetic as any I've encountered. There were issues with my kids food order although I don't know if she was to blame. However, the best she could do was shrug her shoulders. The menus keep changing and I understand that to a point, but if you have kids it really narrows down things that kids generally eat. I hear from others they've know of other patrons having service issues when they've gone too, The beer is too good to let this place falter from less than average service. I e-mailed Four Sons - never got a response.

(01/17/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Great Great

Establishment: North Country Brewing Company, Slippery Rock, PA

Went there for the 5th or 6th time since it opened in late December. Had a Slimy Pebble Pils - one of the best Pilsners I've ever had. The first one or two times I went (early summer 05), the service whas medicore. But the service has been nothing short of fantastic the last few times - prompt and courteous. It's a great place to bring kids. As a matter of fact, Molly remebered what they ordered the last time and rattled it off before they could even get it out of their mouth - now that's service! The bar tender that waited on me in late December was expecting, but she couldn't have been nicer under the circumstances (the place was packed and seating was an hour wait).

(01/17/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Good Great

Establishment: Pittsburgh Bottleshop Cafe, Bridgeville , PA

I've enjoyed the Bottleshop since it's opening. The fact is the selection is great and reasonably priced (certainly better than the Sharp Edge). The service has improved over time. It was very erratic at first, but the last 2 or 3 times I've visited, it's been above average.

(01/17/2006)














(0.125 seconds) 18:44:36 107.22.141.14, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS