PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from bif
Other Reviews by this User
 
July 25, 2014 @ 08:06 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By
bif

Beer Reviews
(29)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






no
user
photo

29
Beer Reviews from bif
   

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great
Great Good Good Great

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Good Great

Establishment: High Desert Brewing Company, Las Cruces, NM

The HDBC is a small place, well hidden off of the main drag in Las Cruces, NM. I think this gives the place a unique ambiance. They have 10-11 beers on tap, the main brews and a number of seasonal and specials on tap. They range from Barleywine to Lagers. I had the ESB and IPA which were quite good. I think the thing that got my attention was the number of people stopping in for growler refills.Everyone was very friendly and enjoyed my stay. The food menu is pretty basic but good. Their motto is " None of our beers suck". So far I have not had a sub par brew. I have not had all of their beers but am working on it when ever I am in the area on business.

(12/08/2011)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So Good Good Good

Establishment: Jaxon's Restaurant and Brewing Company, El Paso, TX

Airway Blvd Location. Has sort of a saloon atmosphere. The brewery is visable behind the bar. The staff is quite friendly and the beer selection is decent but they always seem to out of one of the regular brews every time I visit. I wish they made a couple of brews with a bit more charactor. As the only brewery in El Paso its not too bad. I enjoyed to Andale Pale Ale the best and was a bit dissapointed blandness of the Stout. The Borderland Lager goes best with food due to being a bit bland and is served with a lime wedge.

They have a decent menu with local favorites and a daily special or two. It seem to be more of a restaurant with a brewery on the side.

(12/07/2011)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Good Good Great

Establishment: Great Adirondack Brewing Company, Lake Placid, NY

Located in the middle of town. This is primarily a restuarant with the bar tucked away in the back corner. The bar area is cozy but not quite the brewpub feel you would expect. There is also a patio with a nice view of Main St.We found seats in the bar area and had a choice of about 7-8 beers on tap. The bartender seems quite knowledgeable about the brews on tap. I started with the Ausable Wulff Red Ale which complimented my meal. I then switched to the John Brown Pale Ale which really hit the spot, and had a couple of these.Depending on the season they are open for Breakfast, Lunch & Dinner with a menu tailored to that time of day. Menu has a good variety. Prices a bit above average but considering your in Lake Placid they are quite reasonable. Worth a visit if passing through the area.

(11/11/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Good Good

Establishment: Lake Placid Pub and Brewery, Lake Placid, NY

Located just a short walk from the main drag in Lake Placid and is situated in an old church, sort of reminds me of a ski lodge. There is an Irish Pub on the main floor but did not check it out. I went upstairs to the main attraction. It has a nice patio that overlooks Mirror Lake.

They have 6 beers on tap, 4 standards & 2 seasonal. Bartender seemed to know the brews quite well. The food is standard pub grub and the service is pleasant and friendly. Atmosphere is laid back and relaxing.

Nice place to get away from the tourists or skiers depending on the season.

(10/28/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good

Establishment: Sackets Harbor Brewing Company, Sackets Harbor, NY

Neat location on the bay. It's great to sit out on the patio when the weather allows. They normally have 7-8 bers on tap at the brewpub. However with the exception of the 1812 Amber, they tend to rotate. Along with the 1812 Amber, the Stout was quite good. The Steamroller Ale (IPA?) was more of a Pale Ale. The food is quite good although it is a tad high, but that is due to the seasonal tourists. Worth a stop if your in the Watertown, NY area.

(10/26/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Good Great

Establishment: Silver Peak Grill and Taproom, Reno, NV

Great location, down by the river, just a few block from the main Casino district. There seems to be quite a few locals as well as the expected tourists & gamblers. They have a great selection of their own craft brews as well as a few guest beers including a couple of BMC beers on tap. The bartenders seem very knowledgable about the beers they serve. They will provide a sample if you are not sure what you may want. My favorite were the Pale Ale & IPA. The beers are better across the board than what is served at the Brew Brothers. They have a good menu to go with the brews.

A good place to check out while in Reno.

(08/07/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Good Good Good

Establishment: Brew Brothers Microbrewery, Reno, NV

This is a great oasis in the middle of the Casino. Walking in you get the impression of a sports bar with a number of large screens. They have about 8-9 beers on tap, a bit of something for everyone. The beers are good but nothing outstanding. The bartenders seem to know the beers quite well. The food menu has a good variety without being too large. Can't beat the 3-6 happy hour prices with a large beer only $3. Service can be a bit spotty at times. It is fairly quiet in the afternoon but activity and volume ramps up as the evening progresses.

It is supposedly rated "Best Brewpub in America" by someone. It's really more of a happening night spot that serves decent beers.

(07/07/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Good Good Good

Establishment: Huske Hardware House Brewing Company, Fayetteville, NC

They have a great selection of beers to choose from as they have number of other brews on tap as well as their own. Service was good and personnel were friendly. I tried a number of their brews and the one I enjoyed best was the "Grand Cru". I visited a few times while in the area on business and found the Monday $1 beer night a great time to indulge & sample the brews.

(07/05/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good

Establishment: Cannon Brewpub, Columbus, GA

The brewpub has a good selection of beers. Of the 3 brews I ordered, the Golden Ale was decent, their wheat beer was good, but I enjoyed their IPA best of all. They have good pubgrub although their menu may be a bit extensive. Service was good. The Brewpub is worth another visit.

(03/15/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Great

Establishment: Echuca Brewing Company, Echuca, Victoria,

This brewpub makes 6 beers and some seasonal brews.During my visit I sampled all for the brews on tap. The Hopwood Pale Ale hit the spot. The Paddlesteamer Premium Lager was refreshing and went well with the meal. The Murray Classic was the other brew that I really enjoyed. They also had a couple of guest brews on tap. This brewpub is worth a stop if you are ever in Echuca.

SAVE THE ALES!

(10/17/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good So So Good Good

Establishment: Bright Brewery, Bright,

The brewery is in an ideal setting in the mountains by the river. The selection of beers was very good but none really stood out. I guess the ones I liked the most were the Hellfire Ale & Blowhard Pale but not enough the purchase any to take home. this is another stop on the Victoria High Country Brewery Trail.

SAVE THE ALES!

(10/10/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Awesome!

Establishment: Bridge Road Brewers, Beechworth,

I found this little craft brewery down an alley behind the Tanswell Hotel in Beechworth. The beers have an "Austrian" origin (aka German?). The servers were vey knowledgable about the brews. I was able to sample six of the brews they had on tap. The "Bling" IPA was not quite what I expected in an IPA but could have had another with no problem. The Australian Ale seemed to hit the spot, especialy with the pub grub. They also make some beers under the Chevalier label which seem to have a bit of Belgian flare. This was an outstanding stop on the Victoria High Country Brewery Trail.

SAVE THE ALES!

(10/10/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great

Establishment: Buffalo Brewery, Boorhaman, Victoria,

Found this craft brewery/resteraunt in what seems the middle of nowhere, at a junction in the road. It is not a fancy place but a real establishment serving a quality product. The brews have a distinct flavor from other craft brews I have sampled while in Australia. I sampled all of the beers and was a bit disapointed in the dark ale & stout but really enjoyed the lager & wheat beer. I did not get a chance to eat but the menu looks like standard pub grub. This brewpub is part of the Victoria High Country Brewery Trail.

Save the ALES!

(10/09/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A N/A Great

Establishment: Bintara Brewery, Rutherglen, Victoria,

This brewery is actually at a winery so the quality of the beer was unexpected.They make four beers and some seasonal beers. The beers are a bit fruity but not enough to stop you from having more than one. I sampled all 4 beers but enjoyed the Black Beer best as it was very smooth and went down easy.

Save the Ales!

(10/05/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Great Awesome!

Establishment: Jamieson Brewery, Jamieson,

Hidden in the mountains north east of Melbourne is a fantastic brewpub/hotel. The Craft Brews are patterned after the Pacific North West (USA)microbreweries. My favorite was the Beast IPA (7%) which I enjoyed while setting by the fireplace at the Hotel. As I was staying at the hotel I was able to try all of their craft brews. The Bronw Ale and Pale Ale were also excellent. If you are ever in Melbourne Australia and have a couple of days, "Head for the Hills". It is also near to the Mt Buller Ski resort, not to mention boating & fishing on Lake Eildon right out the back door of the hotel.

SAVE THE ALES!

(09/21/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A N/A Awesome!

Establishment: Grand Ridge Brewery, Mirboo North,

WOW! The best selction of brews I have found in Australia. This brewery has won over 100 awards, local, national & international. This brewery is about an hour or so from Melbourne. I found this brewery by accident when I made a wrong turn while driving thru the Gippsland. I have tried all of the brews and all are way above average across the board. Too bad they are hard to find in Melbourne. The Hatlifter Stout is excellent, although my favorite was the Yarra Valley Gold real ale. I normally do not like wheat beers but their's was a pleseant surprize. I Highly recommend real beer lovers to track these brews down for a try. SAVE THE ALES!

(09/11/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A N/A Awesome!

Establishment: Mountain Goat Brewery, Richmond,

I have not been to the Brewery but am trying to work that in to one of my visits to Melbourne. I have had the fortune to find Mountain Goat brews at a number of locations in Melbourne. My favorite brew was the Mountain Goat Hightail Ale. I have also tried the Mountain Goat Sure Foot Stout which was better than most local stouts I have tried when ever I am in Melbourne on Business. Mountain goat craft brews are well worth the time to find and enjoy.

(09/05/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Great Awesome!

Establishment: Holgate Brewhouse, Woodend,

This place has an excellent selection of high quality craft beers and ales. They brew a couple, that weigh in at over 7%. They have won a couple of awards with the E.S.B. which I enjoyed with my meal. The brewhouse is located abbout an hour from Melbourne.

(08/23/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A N/A Awesome!

Establishment: 3 Ravens Brewing Company, Thornbury, VC

I was able to squeeze in a visit to the brewery while in Melbourne, Australia on business. They do not have a license to serve, but are working on it. They do provide samples of the various brews during the tour. I sampled about 5 of the 8 or so Ales. The Ales can be found at a number of establishments in the Melbourne & Victoria area. The brewery fills the need for real cask style ales. All of the Ales I tried were excellent with my favorite being the 3 Ravens Bronze Ale.

(08/09/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome!

Establishment: Mitre Tavern, Melbourne, VC

This is a off the beaten path pub in the heart of the Melbourne Financial district. It is situated on an alley lane, which is easy to miss. It is listed as the oldest building in Melbourne. It is a great place for a brew. It has a large outdoor beer garden. It has about 12 beers and ales on tap. It has 4-5 european/Engish brews on tap. The rest area Australian or local craft brews. My favorite is the Mountain Goat Hightail Ale. It has good pub grub which is ordered at the bar or there is an excellent Steathouse upstairs.

(08/09/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Good Great

Establishment: James Squire Brewhouse, Melbourne, VI

Brewhouse has 8 craft brews on tap, 3 are exclusive to this brewhouse only. Something for every taste. First visited back in 2007. Still the same quality brews. My favorites brews were the Highwayman and Golden Ale. Good pub grub is available, though you have to order at the bar. Worth a dtop if visiting Melbourne.

(08/06/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: O'Fallon Brewery, O'Fallon , MO

Nice to have a quality Craft Brewery in the ST Louis area. Thought the Porter and 5 Day IPA were the better brews I had. The Gold was decent, better than the local A-B beers, and unique seasonal/special brews provides a good variety to choose from. My new brew(s) to drink when I am at home.

(07/14/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good So So Lousy So So

Establishment: Patty Boland's Irish Pub and Carvery, Ottawa, ON

Stopped in for lunch. Service was terrible, food was so-so and what really surprised me was that the Guiness did not taste right. I asked to change my drink but the girl said the Guiness was supposed to taste like that. First time I ever had to switch to a non Irish beer in an Irish pub.

(06/23/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good

Establishment: Elephant and Castle , Ottawa, ON

English style pub with good grub. It has a good variety of beers on tap for people tired of Molson & Labatts which dominate the market. Too many kids & old people but it was lunch time and to be expexted at a chain type pub.

(06/20/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Good N/A N/A Great

Establishment: Creemore Springs Brewery, Creemore, ON

I have had the pleasure to track down the brewery after I had this great Pilsener at a number of pubs in Ontario. The Creemore Springs Traditional Pilsener is as good as many of the Czech Pilseners I have had in Europe. I was also able to sample the Urbock and that is also a treat when it is in season. They are also putting out a Lager but was nothing to write about.

(06/20/2008)


Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]













(0.13 seconds) 20:06:48 54.89.138.238, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS