PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from bob
Other Reviews by this User
 
September 17, 2014 @ 02:42 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By
bob

Beer Reviews
(18)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






no
user
photo

18
Beer Reviews from bob
   
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great
Great Great Great Great

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Awesome! Great

Establishment: Mount Emily Ale House, La Grande, OR

I visited Mt. Emily a few times last spring and early summer and at the time it was brand new and I thought it unfair to judge too harshly as they were still tuning things. After my fist there in early June it is safe to say that they've got it all figured out. I would encourage anyone who was disappointed last year to give them another try. I sampled five and took growlers of their double IPA and the porter, both true to style and great examples to boot. Tough call between the double IPA and the regular, both great examples of the NW style, the Red will find plenty of devotees, I found it less memorable, but for summer drinking it will be popular. The "Big" is apparently their biggest seller and it strikes a nice balance and I can see why it is the most popular for the town's only local brewery. The service has always been friendly and the food was great. Kids were welcome and the downtown brick building has every bit as much character as the beer. I will go back whenever I'm in town.

(06/15/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Great Great

Establishment: Terminal Gravity Brewing Company, Enterprise, OR

The Terminal Gravity IPA is my archetype for the Pacific Northwest IPA, it is great, equaled perhaps but not surpassed. The Breakfast Porter is well named, flavorful but not particularly robust. The Stout is laudable, a good solid American Stout, well made. I was there recently with my son who ordered the kid's chicken strips and if only all chicken strips were like these. The chicken was grilled, no breading and moist. He was hungry and still did not finish them, what a deal. They do not make calzones any more, which were great. This is really a superior pub and a top notch brewer that is a must stop if you are in the northeastern corner of Oregon or the southeastern corner of Washington.

(08/18/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Good Awesome! Good

Establishment: Calapooia Brewing Company, Albany, OR

Calapooia offers a surprising number or beers and most people should be able to find something that suits them. My spouse and I wandered in on a Sunday afternoon and tried a sampler of their core offerings, wheat, pale ale, ESB, IPA, amber, stout, porter and English Ale. The stout was my favorite, although my partner opted for the IPA. If you are a fan of the Terminal Gravity IPA, or Roots Organic, or the really hoppy PNW IPA, this might leave you wanting a bit more. To our palates, the pale, ESB and amber were all remarkably similar. At first, we thought the server had switched the pale and ESB, very slight color differences among the three and the noses very similar too. Clearly, they are trying and I am rooting for them. The staff was very friendly and happy to fill a couple growlers for us. We also caught a great jam session and all three dartboards were hosting games. We had the nachos, which were just fine. Be warned however, this is a cash-only establishment, although they took checks from locals they seemed to know. I will certainly go back the next time I’m in town, although I probably won’t get off of the interstate just to fill a growler or two to take home.

(11/07/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Great Great

Establishment: Fort George Brewery, Astoria, OR

A nice place by any definition, Fort George was a fairly busy place with friendly staff and interesting menu. I vacillated between good and great on the beer and food rankings and ended up inflating the grade. The Wit will likely please people who favor the style. The IPA was my favorite although the cloying sweetness in the glass became more pronounced when polishing off a growler of it later. The Cavatica Stout was just fine. Their own literature compares it to the Terminator Stout, which is fair enough, but I'd encourage them to make it a bit "stouter." The seasonal aged in pinot noir barrels was unique and may be destined to remain so. We tried the sausage sampler plate too and they were all very good. We did not stay for more, because although the staff was very friendly and nice to our kids, the menu for kids was limited to 3 items so we wandered to the competition. This place seems to have great potential and the brewer seems to be willing to take risks and try things, so I will come back and see what is on tap next.

(08/25/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Great Great

Establishment: Pacific Rim Brewing Company, Astoria, OR

First things first, the name is still the Wet Dog Cafe on the outside, but everything else says "Astoria Brewing Company." Nothing says Pacific Rim anymore. The other reviews had me braced with low expectations that proved to be unnecessary. The porter was very good, true to style and robust. The IPA was very good also true to style. The amber was just fine, it was not what I liked best, but others did. We went to this place twice over the weekend and it was busy both for lunch and dinner, but the staff were efficient and friendly. They are also well equipped to handle kids and large parties. This is a fine place, the location is great, the atmosphere is great, the staff was attentive, in short I will return and look forward to it.

(08/25/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Awesome! Great

Establishment: Bullfrog Brewery, Williamsport, PA

I have to echo the comments of the last reviewer and commend the brewer for taking some risks and offering a diverse body of brews. We visited the brewpub twice and in our 4-brewpub swing through the region, this was the only one that was not part of a chain or string of pubs of some sort. Both weekday nights the place filled up with regulars who obviously are fond of the Bullfrog. The staff was very friendly, and they were happy to have kids in the place. They also appeared to have a decent selection of Scotch; I noticed a bottle of Oban, along with more common offerings. My favorite beer was the Coffee Cream Stout, which was less sweet than the Oatmeal Stout. Over the two nights, we sampled all of the beers thanks to the short walk to the Hampton Inn a few blocks away. The smoked porter is certainly "smoked" and reminds me of the Alaskan Ale Smoked Porter. This is a sipping beer. The Apricot Wheat was surprisingly good, but I find the fruited beers set a low bar generally. I was very impressed with the Blonde; it had real flavor and character, more so than the usual blonde, which seems to be brewed for the American Pilsner or American Lager drinker. The Chocolate Bock was reminiscent of Young's Chocolate Stout and sure to please those who like chocolate flavor in their ale. The Irish Red was my spouse's favorite and ultimately what we took in a growler. The IPA was all right, a nice hoppy nose, but not a great finisher - I am probably spoiled living the Pacific Northwest. As with all of the brewpubs on this trip, they had a Belgian but I do not have much of a base of experience with them to pronounce on its quality. Obviously, I went back to the Bullfrog once and would again. In short, I recommend the Bullfrog.

(04/08/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Awesome! Great

Establishment: Appalachian Brewing Company, Gettysburg, PA

Our visit here was part of a four-brewpub trip through the region. My knee-jerk reaction to chains is negative, so I was pleasantly surprised. At off-peak hours for an early dinner the staff was excellent, could not have been better and they were kid friendly. They were changing the cask while we were there so we did not get a chance to taste it, but the Scottish was top-notch, true to style and very nice. The IPA was fine, not remarkable, and the Irish Red was something I would have again. The consistent presence of Belgian offerings in Pennsylvania was a bit of a mystery to me and none I had was really impressive, but they seem popular. I thought the Porter more robust than the Stout. My two girls gave the root-beer 8.5 and 9 stars out of a possible ten. The Food was up to good pub standards and I say that not to disparage, only to note that it was exactly what I expected and indeed hoped for. Considering everything, I would return here and be happy to do so. I did take a growler of Scottish and it went down easy.

(04/08/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Good Great Great

Establishment: Mia and Pia's Pizzeria and Brewhouse, Klamath Falls, OR

This brewpub is clearly a local favorite and one that I manage to get to about four times a year, mostly during the week for business travel. I have never seen it empty or slow and for good reasons. The pizza is consistently good, generous toppings and a thin crust, I look forward to it, but the caveat is that pizza has to be really, really bad for me to think it so. I waffled between "good" and "great" for the food. The beer selection is remarkable for a local brewpub in a relatively small market. They usually have approximately ten ales and four to six lagers. Their IPA is true to style; the stout is a wonderful creamy and consistent offering. I also commend the whiskey barrel barley wine. As noted, the place is popular and families are welcome. I think it would be hard not to be comfortable or at ease here, this is decidedly not the Pilsner Room or a Rock Bottom, although the bar televisions do reliably have whatever sporting events are available. The staff members are friendly and informal, conversations are easily had and everyone seems proud of the beer. If you are in Klamath Falls, go here, it may be a bit hard to find the first time, but it is worth it. Of course they fill growlers and will sell you one if you do not bring yours with you.

(06/06/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Awesome! Great

Establishment: Canoe Brewpub, Marina and Restaurant / Harbour Club, Victoria, BC

This was my favorite pub out of the six in British Columbia we visited. A disclaimer, all were done with children and that colors things. Everyone was very attentive and they all deserve top marks. The food was excellent and the atmosphere was very nice. The best beer to my taste was the ESB, a great example of the British style. Like the stouts and porters we encountered throughout the province, the darker beers were generally weak. The lager was very good and the pale ale was too. Again, the rating reflects the overall excellence, as the beer, while quite good is not going to blow aficionados away, although as noted the ESB was very good.

(04/04/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So Great Great Good

Establishment: Granville Island Brewing Company, Limited, Vancouver, BC

My expectations were low based on the other reviews, but they were exceeded. The beers are not as bad as some I tasted on this trip and given the obvious tourist orientation of the area a nice respite. The adjacent bottle shop was nice to find too. The menu is brief, but what we had was excellent. My party only tried the Stout and Amber, which were not robust examples of the style, but certainly drinkable and we took bottles of both back to our hotel. Their scotch ale in the bottle was the best of the bunch. Again, if you go in hoping for a place to sit down, drink a beer and get away from the crowds outside you will be pleasantly surprised. If you go in looking for a diverse range of exceptional ales, boldly made you will be disappointed. As for me, after escorting children through the maze of shops and attractions, I was delighted with the place and on that basis wish I could justify a higher rating.

(04/04/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Awesome! Great

Establishment: Dix BBQ and Brewery, Vancouver, BC

I wish we had been able to go on their cask Thursdays, as that would have been more memorable I am sure. From the sound of things, the cask does not last much beyond Thursday. The pub specializes in BBQ and it is very good, especially with their great IPA. The darker beers lacked much substance however. My companion liked the amber, but it was not something that would demand a return trip. The staff was friendly and I have no complaints. I was glad to find the place and would return if I were in the neighborhood.

(04/04/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Great Awesome! Great

Establishment: Yaletown Brewing Company, Vancouver, BC

This is a busy place on a Sunday evening, but the staff generally gets excellent marks for their helpfulness and good cheer. They were certainly friendly to children and I would heartily recommend them for any family meal. The beer selection was as diverse as any we encountered in BC and generally true to style although the darker beers could have a bit more backbone. Nothing here would make me say that it must be sought out unless you are traveling with a family. Nonetheless, it is a fine brewpub to which I would return and I wish it were in my town. My rating of the beer quality is not a knock on the beer, it was what I expected from a brewpub, but to score higher it needs to be "great." I will give the brewer credit for making one memorable beer, a "Brown Indian Pale Ale," which was actually quite good and the reason I almost gave this a "great" rating.

(04/04/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Awesome! Great

Establishment: Portneuf Valley Brewing Company, Pocatello, ID

The pub was more a tasting room when I stopped by last year, but there are plans for food. The place is tucked away next to the tracks and the sign was not too obvious, but it is worth the search. I lucked into a slow time and was given a full tour, including the plans for upstairs. This is a cool old building with lots of character and was formerly a brewery in the early 20th century. The beers showed great promise and the folks obviously have a real passion for beer, with more styles than I expected. They were kind enough to fill a growler from my trunk and were as welcoming as they could be. This isn't Bells, Upland, Lazlos, or Bridgeport or Deschutes, or the Free State or the Tugboat, but it could be and I will go back to see.

(03/10/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Awesome! Great

Establishment: Portneuf Valley Brewing Company, Pocatello, ID

The pub was more a tasting room when I stopped by last year, but there are plans for food. The place is tucked away next to the tracks and the sign was not too obvious, but it is worth the search. I lucked into a slow time and was given a full tour, including the plans for upstairs. This is a cool old building with lots of character and was formerly a brewery in the early 20th century. The beers showed great promise and the folks obviously have a real passion for beer, with more styles than I expected. They were kind enough to fill a growler from my trunk and were as welcoming as they could be. This isn't Bells, Upland, Lazlos, or Bridgeport or Deschutes, or the Free State or the Tugboat, but it could be and I will go back to see.

(03/10/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Good Good

Establishment: Bridgeport Brewing Company and Public House, Portland, OR

I am pained to write anything negative about Bridgeport, the pub, which for me has been the archetype since I first darkened the door in 1990. Alas, the remodel is complete and they've ripped out the soul and character of the place. Make no mistake, the beer is top notch, a porter and IPA on cask at the same time, perfect on a March afternoon. Perfect also for a slice of pizza. Remember pizza by the slice, me too, but memories are all that are left, now you have to buy the whole pie. Mind where you sit too, you cannot have the pizza upstairs on the comfortable sofa, you cannot have the pizza where the long wooden tables used to be, you have to eat it in the designated section. May the saints help you if you try to order in one place and move to another. Do you remember the cartoons above the two best urinals in the whole town? Yeah they did move the urinals to the new restrooms, but this is no longer a place with cartoons on the wall, this is no longer a place with anything on the walls. A member of my party said it reminded him of being in Berlin, which seemed particularly apropos. For my part I had the distinct feeling that they were not catering to beer drinkers. The bartender knew her stuff and was great, but the servers just didn't know about beer or why it was special. It actually hurt to listen to them try to explain cask to folks at another table, although to their credit they were apologetic about “all the rules.” Gone also is the dartboard, there does not appear to be any seating on the loading dock and there is nothing to read, unlike the old days when they had papers available for patrons. Instead they now have one of those annoying people behind a lectern at the front door to direct you, which I suppose is important given all of the new rules. This used to be the perfect place to catch a cask pint on a lazy afternoon, meet up with friends, and it was The place to take any serious beer lover, now I guess I'll take them to the Tugboat. All that said, they still make great beer, wonderful beer, beer to write home about, but the pub is long gone, replaced by Pearl District chic, and it just makes me sad.

(03/08/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Awesome! Great

Establishment: Upland Brewing Company, Bloomington, IN

Upland is exactly the sort of place I hope to find when traveling. They have consistently true to style beers, some interesting variety and a pleasant atmosphere. A chocolate stout on cask topped things off on our last trip there. In reviewing any pub I think it worthwhile to avoid hyperbole, but in my three trips to Upland since January of this year I found a fine establishment, with very good beer and great service. I wish it were my neighborhood pub and I would take any friend of mine there. Worth noting is their amber, which was my spouse's favorite Indiana beer. Amber is a style that means many things to many brewers, but Upland's is a fine example of what an Amber can aspire to, and it is good in the bottle as well. I must also give Upland high marks for its service that kept two young children happy which kept me happy. I recommend Upland.

(07/21/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Good Great

Establishment: Old Market Pub, Portland, OR

We have gone to the Old Market as a couple, as parents with two small children and with a large group of friends over the last four years and are regular, if not, frequent visitors. If we lived closer, we'd be there more often. The beer is consistently pretty good. I've had great food here and food that is what you would expect from a pub. The place can be loud and the service a bit slow, but the folks are consistently nice, laid back and happy to serve families. Their patience and accomodating attitude pulls the service rating up to good. Reviewers tend to rave about every pub, which makes the ratings meaningless, so to fight that trend I've tried to be judicious. Nonetheless, this is a tremendous local pub, with a wonderful variety of beer and a comfortable atmosphere. I look forward to going here and I make the decision after considering the many other great pubs in Portland.

(07/11/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Great Great

Establishment: Leavenworth Brewery, Leavenworth, WA

The food and staff are commendable, first rate. The beers are great examples of their styles and the dark hefeweizen is a nice treat. The amber was a hit too, especially with a member of the party who likes malty beers with a smooth finish. A stout would round out their offerings. In an attempt to avoid grade inflation and without sounding negative I rate this from good to great and a place I recommend. We went after the noon rush on a Thursday and had a nice time, augmented by a staff that was very friendly to young children.

(05/09/2002)














(0.127 seconds) 14:42:25 54.197.74.130, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS