PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from bob
Other Reviews by this User
 
October 20, 2014 @ 10:11 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By
bob

Beer Reviews
(23)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






no
user
photo

23
Beer Reviews from bob
   
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good
Good Good Good Good

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Lousy N/A Great So So

Establishment: Prescott Brewing Company, Prescott, AZ

Beer was not so good. Selection was also poor. They only had four beers on tap, and 2 of those were Pale Ales. I really like a good Pale Ale, just not these 2!

Bartender was very nice, in fact every one I talked to in Flagstaff was very Nice. A very pleasant town. Just don't go there for the beer.

(03/07/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! N/A So So Good

Establishment: Papago Brewing, Scottsdale, AZ

An awesome selection of beers! Many, many styles and breweries to sample. Just don't order their home brew. The 3 beers that I tried which were brewed by Papago were so - so. The initial flavor was pretty good, but as it settled in, they all had an unfortunate after taste. I'm thinking it was a beastly yeasty after taste?

Ambiance and service was nothing to write home about either, but dang they have a great selection of beers!!

(03/07/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good So So So So So So

Establishment: Oggi's Pizza and Brewing Company, Scottsdale, AZ

Not impressed. Beer was average Brew Pub quality. Not awful, but not great. After sampling a couple of dissapointing brews I decided to eat, assuming a pizza place would at least serve a pretty good pie... Wrong. It was all crust? I got the 9" personal pizza and MAYBE 3" actually had suace and cheese... I thought it was a joke?

I was listening to the table next to me discussing their experience (they loved the wings) and they said it best. It's not worth a special effort to go here. If your in the neighborhood then stop by, but Oggi's is not the kind of place were if you're sitting at home with friends making plans for the evening, some one might say, "hey let's go to Oggi's" and everyone else in the group will say, "ya let's go!"

(03/07/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Jupiter, Berkeley, CA

is that some kind of joke? The DOUBLE IPA was over hopped? Please tell me you meant that as a joke!

(01/25/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Great Great

Establishment: Fifty Fifty Brewing Company, Truckee, CA

A very good find. The best beer in the Northern California / Nevada area. The Porter was very tasty with a distinct roast flavor and went down almost as smooth as a nitro-beer. The Pale Ale is as good as any in this area including a famous brand brewed by a company who took its name from the local Mt range.

Food was also good and reasonably priced for a resort/ upscale community! Service was also excellent which was possibly the best surprise of all, as many of the food and drink establishments in the tahoe area are staffed by itinerant ski bums and sock heads who could care less and don't hide it.

Close to Interstate 80 and worth a side trip when in the area!

(11/13/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great

Establishment: Great Basin Brewing Company, Sparks, NV

Had the sampler (11 beers today) All were pretty good, except the wheat beer with cloves... The guy next to me said he really likes the Weizen there so it's probably just me who doesn't want cloves in his beer!

Any way, the Ichy really is good and the Porter was quite delicious. Wait staff was attentive as well as attractive.

Worth a stop.

(10/23/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good N/A Good Good

Establishment: English Ales Brewery, Marina, CA

A very nice locals place. Good people, good atmosphere. Server knew the patrons and their preferences. A hole in the wall joint in a good way.

Unfortunately, the Porter was so-so. I drove an hour out of my way to go here and really wanted to enjoy the beer, but it just wasn't to be, and I was thirsty too. The Porter wasn't bad, it just had no flavor at all. How you can make a bland Porter is a mystery to me. It should have some flavor pleasing or not?

I was unable to try other beers as my final destination was elsewhere, but won't go out of my way to return here. Sorry...

(07/18/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good So So Great

Establishment: Seabright Brewery, Santa Cruz, CA

The beer was very good!! Excellent even... The Amber seemed to be a cross between an Amber and a Pale Ale and had the best of both. The Pale was very good on it's own and the Red was great too. Beer selection was good but I wanted a Porter which they didn't have. Blackened Prawns appetizer was excellent, Pork sandwich was so-so. BBQ suace was excellent but pork was weak! I sat at the bar and the 1st server was great but after she went home, the next server was poor, and it wasn't just me either, as all of us in the general area agreed that he was performing below acceptable service expectations.

(07/18/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy So So So So So So So So

Establishment: Brewery at Lake Tahoe, South Lake Tahoe, CA

This placw sucked. Beer tasted as if it had gone bad some how. Got the sampler and couldn't finish any of the styles. Something was wrong with the beer? Service was indifferent and uneducated about the beer offerings.

(01/06/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A Good Good

Establishment: Six Rivers Brewery, McKinleyville, CA

Tried just two of their beers, The IPA was good but not note worthy, but the moonstone porter (I think that's it) was very good. Wish that I'd bought some in bottles to take home with me.

Service was good. Music was good, but the band was way too loud!! I had one short night in the area and went to six rivers specifically because they had music, so I am a fan, but why do some musicians think louder means better? I had to scream into the servers ear when ordering. Conversations was impossible!

Six Rivers was worth a stop overall.

(09/20/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Good Great Great

Establishment: Sierra Nevada Brewing Company, Chico, CA

What a great place. It's friendly, the staff knows beer, and the sanpler had 16 different beers! Cha ching! Better eat some food with that sampler... and the food is pretty good too. Not the greatest food but better than average. But back to the beer.

All of the beers had a clean, fresh taste. There was a couple styles that I'm not a fan of but still enjoyed the quality of the product.

A must stop for any true beer fanatic!

(09/20/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Great Good

Establishment: Silver City Restaurant and Brewery, Silverdale, WA

The beer tasted pretty darn good. The staff is young and attractive. The food was pretty good too. A bit pricy! but a nice place overall.

(03/06/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good So So So So Good

Establishment: The Tides Tavern, Gig Harbor, WA

This place obviously survives on its view. Food & Beer are way overpriced for the quality & quantity provided. Service is pretty iffy. They act as if they are doing you a favor.

The deck is awesome, and we stop here when we are in the area boating cuz you can tie up right at the door practically. Can definelty turn into a party on the dock!

All I'm asking for is a better offering of food and drinks for a fair price.

(03/01/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So N/A Good So So

Establishment: Tenaya Creek Brewery and Restaurant, Las Vegas, NV

If classy means boring, then this place is classy? I'm trying to think of something good to say, but nothing comes to mind. The beer lacks character and well, taste. As for selection they only had 4 beers on tap, the darkest being a nut brown that was more like a lite beer? I don't get it. What's the point of having a micro-brew if it tastes like your avg bud? Come on you all, you can do better than this. And while your at it, try to cheer up the place!

(12/14/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Great Great Good

Establishment: Chicago Brewing Company, Las Vegas, NV

The beer was, how can put this? The beer was, not good. The pizza was great, the atmosphere was fun with good music, the service was friendly and attentive. The beer was thin and left a bad aftertaste. I had the sampler and tried all 9 that were on tap that day. perhaps 3 were actually drinkable. Sorry

(12/11/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great N/A Great Great

Establishment: Kettlehouse Brewing Company, LLC, Missoula, MT

The beer was good, not awesome, but still good. The atmosphere was great. Friendly staff, great music and a wide variety of beers to choose from. I went to get a t-shirt (olde bongwater)but stayed the evening cuz the place was fun. The locals must like the beer, I've never seen so many people come into a place just to fill up their growlers for home consumption. There was a line at times!

(11/20/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Water Street Brewery, Milwaukee, WI

I travel ALOT and always try to visit a local brewpub where ever I am. I assumed Milwaukee would have some tasty beers and good german food. I wasn't dissapointed. The Pale Ale is one of the best in the whole of the USA. Very complex and interesting. How can a beer be interesting? It is! The food was great and the service outstanding. I tried the beer sampler and enjoyed all but one. T shirt logos were kind of ugly but the beer. MMMMM

(11/07/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So Good Great Good

Establishment: Park Tavern, Atlanta, GA

Come here for the atmosphere. But do not come here for the beer. As the kids say, it sucks. I tried 3 varietys, and actually couldn't finish any of them. They were all bad. No kidding, and I'm not one to waste beer. The food was ok, not great, but still had a good time. The location is great, and you can bring your dog. We sat for a couple hours and watched people play in the play in the park and met some good people there. Stick with the soda pop though!

(11/07/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Good Great Great

Establishment: Flying Saucer, Nashville, TN

Ok guys, you've got to go to this place. The staff is awesome! Perhaps a bit slow, but.....ouch! It would take a year to try all of the beers. An amazing selection. The wharehouse atmosphere is way too loud and the food was only ok, but go for the beer and babes.

(11/07/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A Good Great

Establishment: Lucky Labrador Brewing Company, Portland, OR

Nice atmosphere. Very casual and unpretentious. Great music vibe. Beer was very good. You have to go to the bar for service, but they're very nice once you get up there. On the other hand you can go in thwere and do your own thing and no one bothers you. If I lived in Portland I'd be stoping here on a regular basis.

(11/06/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Good Great Good

Establishment: Columbia River Brewing Company was Laurelwood, Portland, OR

Beer was ok, not great. They need more body. The porter tasted more light white lightning than beer? Definetly got a buzz. Staff was fun and attentive, but the property could use a little personality. Just a building with tables and chairs. The lights at the bar are too damn low and shine right in your eyes. Cool neighborhood.

(11/06/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Lousy Good Lousy

Establishment: Northwest Brewhouse and Grill / Bear Creek Brewing Company, Redmond, WA

When I read the other reviews of this place Ihad to do a double take to ensure that I was talking about the right place? The beer was certainely below average for the Puget Sound Region and the food was truely awful. I'm not a food snob, I'll eat just about anything put in front of me, but I actually couldn't finish my dried outslab of flesh they called a burger. My 3 friends fared no better with their various selections. There are some great breweries in this region, so don't waste your time here!

I ordered the beer sampler and was dissapointed with each and every beer!!!!

(01/13/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good N/A Good So So

Establishment: Sacramento Brewing Company's Oasis, Citrus Heights, CA

If you're not from Sacramento, this is a below average Beer experience. The beers are ok, they're just not anything special. I had one night in Sacto and could only do one place. I should have been suspicious when I was there at 10:00 on a Fri nite and was able to park right at the front door. There was maybe 10 people at the place. The Beers are sissy beers with no distinctive flavors. It's probably a good place to take your girl friend who is used to drinking lite-beers. I like mine to fight a little going down. I've been to over 100 breweries from Tucson to Fairbanks and I feel bad for the folks in Sacto that this place is considered as one of the best beers in town. Sorry folks. Your beer is smooth and well made, but boring!!

(01/11/2004)














(0.3 seconds) 22:11:19 54.234.0.85, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS