PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from bob brandenburg
Other Reviews by this User
 
July 24, 2014 @ 06:08 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By
bob brandenburg

Beer Reviews
(14)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






no
user
photo

14
Beer Reviews from bob brandenburg
   
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good
Good Great Good Good

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Lousy Good Great So So

Establishment: Millrose Restaurant and Brewing Company, South Barrington, IL

Went there before the Elton John concert in April. Beer was awful. The Panther Pale should be renamed Panther P^&S. The Pilsner was also terrible. Both were cardboard tasting. The pilsner had the wrong hops. No Sazz.

I would avoid this place all together except for the food.

(05/02/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Great Great

Establishment: Ram Restaurant and Brewery, Wheeling, IL

Haven't been there in a year. Pretty good turn around from my last review. Try the Red IPA. Good choice of hops, smooth finish. The food is good. They are currently featuring Copper River Salmon. Excellent fish, my wife enjoyed it.

(06/16/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good So So Good

Establishment: Ram Restaurant and Brewery, Wheeling, IL

Beer was ok, nothing spectacular. Food was good but somewhat pricey. This place is located in an area called restaurant row in Wheeling. Several better places around so only try it if you really want beer and not food.

(04/19/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Good Great

Establishment: Minneapolis Town Hall Brewery, Minneapolis, MN

Excellent beer. Try the IPA and the Scotch Ale, they are both excellent. I had a walleye sandwich which was excellent.

(04/19/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Gators, Wheeling, IL

The best Buffalo Wings in Chicagoland!!!

(04/19/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Goose Island Beer Company - Clybourn, Chicago, IL

Had an opportunity to visit one of my favorite brewpubs Saturday. It was great timing since the Friday section of the Daily Herald mentioned that Goose Island has added a Pils to their line up. I gave the new brew a try but alas Greg you missed on this one. The Pils is a little tasteless (Miller Lite like) and definitely needs more carbonation. I'll stick with his great brews like Honkers, Hexnut and the rest. I know he is trying to appeal to the Miller, Bud and Old Style crowd but the Pils definitely needs a shot of hops and CO2. As always I was extremely pleased with my meal. The Pulled Pork is excellent!!!

(03/04/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Awesome! Great Great

Establishment: Millrose Restaurant and Brewing Company, South Barrington, IL

Have been to this place several times. The beer quality is so-so. It always seems like the beer is still green. They need more aging. The food is always excellent even though it is somewhat pricey.

(05/21/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Great

Establishment: Bukowski's Tavern, Boston, MA

I stumbled into this bar one night and found over 120 different beers available in bottles. They also had 15 different beers on tap. The bartender Kevin was extremely knowledgable and was the perfect host!!!

(05/02/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Good So So So So

Establishment: Duneland Brewhouse, Michigan City, IN

First of all, I agree with many of the comments on the beer. I had all of the beers while there and thought the IPA was'nt hopped enough and had no resemblence to an IPA...no oaky taste! The pale tasted like canned beer. Bubba Brown was too thin. The stout had taste but not enough for my liking. The wheat smelled worse than it tasted! I did enjoy the ribs and shrimp but stay away from the steaks, they are kind of fatty and grizzlely. Being that the pub was walking distance to my hotel was the only reason to go there. When I got smashed I didn't have to drive.

(11/23/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Good Good Great

Establishment: O'Grady's Brewery and Pub, Arlington Heights, IL

Took my wife to O'Grady's for her birthday. She's a wine drinker but did try the Chicago Fire Amber and liked it. It was acceptable to my tastes also. I did also try the pilsener and thought it could use a little more carbonation and a tad more hops. I had the jambalaya for dinner. It was a very good and spicey version...too bad there wasn't any shrimp in it. For the price I paid, I kind of expected that. My wife had the salmon. Had to send it back because it was under cooked. Second one was ok. I could tell that the server we had never tasted any of the beer. He only knew what they told him.

(06/14/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Lousy Good Lousy Lousy

Establishment: Times Square Brewery, New York, NY

I went there with great hope since this establishment was within walking distance of my hotel. What a waste of time. They have four beers. A pilsner, a pale, a bock and a specialty brew (Irish Red when I was there). The pilsner had good hop quality but was not very crisp...flat to be precise. The pale was toooooo fruity. The bock tasted like medicine. The only saving grace was the red. It was drinkable although not outstanding. You could pass on this place and not miss anything. The food wasn't too bad. But the staff being a NY place had all the personality of the east river!!!

(04/30/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Awesome! Good

Establishment: Millrose Restaurant and Brewing Company, South Barrington, IL

Have been to this establishment three times and I guess you can say the third time is the charm. The first two times we waited and were seated in the main dining room. The service was awful. This last time we sat in the pub area and had excellent service and very good food. I had the pecan breaded walleye and my wife had the veal oscar. Both dishes were excellent. I'm still on the fence about the beer. Both pales I had were at best watery. They would be better with more hops and a little more character. I'd rate them as good nothing more.

(04/16/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good So So Lousy So So

Establishment: Flatlander's Brewing Company, Lincolnshire, IL

Don't expect to eat right away on the weekends. Very crowded. Beer is ok but I would rather go north about 15 min to Mickey Finn's.

(02/09/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good So So So So So So

Establishment: Millrose Restaurant and Brewing Company, South Barrington, IL

The day I ate there the beer was somewhat sour. I asked if this batch was contaminated with a bacteria but got no answer. Next visit beer was better but not what I would go back for again

(02/09/1999)














(0.08 seconds) 18:08:07 54.196.194.204, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS