PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from bob barrett
Other Reviews by this User
 
July 30, 2014 @ 02:52 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By
bob barrett

Beer Reviews
(32)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






no
user
photo

32
Beer Reviews from bob barrett
   

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great
Great Great Great Great

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Dark Horse Brewing Company, Marshall, MI

Still a great place!!!!

(07/30/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Great Great

Establishment: Saint Sebastiaan Belgian Microbrewery, Spring Hill, FL

Very nice place. Service was exceptional for a new establishment. Beer was amazingly good. 3 beers on tap. Lite-3.5% ABV lager similar to Stella Artoise was very crisp and refreshing. Blond-unfiltered blond ale similar to Leffe Blond. 5% ABV was very refreshing and full bodied. 1731 Dark was a dark ale which was malty, sweet with a very definate caramel flavor. Prices were very reasonable for both the food and beer. Very much worth the stop.

(11/03/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Great Great

Establishment: Dark Horse Brewing Company, Marshall, MI

Easily the best kept beer secret in Michigan. The IPA is the best in the state. A *must stop* if you like good craft beer.

(05/29/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A N/A Awesome!

Establishment: Yellowstone Valley Brewing Company, Billings, MT

This is not a place you go to sit down and eat and have a few beers. It is a brewery. Warehouse like inside with all the brewing equipment. They do have all their beers on tap for tasting and I would encourage everyone to stop and give them all a try. Black Widow Oatmeal Stout was a 1998 GABF gold medal winner. A great place with a great brewer, George Moncure.

(04/29/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Wiltse's Brewpub and Family Restaurant, Oscoda, MI

First time to Wiltse's. Not a typical brewpub, but the beer was delicious. I had to let it warm up a bit to get the true flavor of the stout, but it was very roasty and smooth. The rare tap had a golden belgian that was very tasty. From reading the other reviews here I would say that the beer has improved in the last few years. They brew on a Pico 3 bbl system and the brewmaster is a former homebrewer. It is the only brewpub on this side of the state. Well worth the stop.

(02/04/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So Good Good Good

Establishment: Big Buck Brewery and Steakhouse #3, Detroit / Auburn Hills, MI

If you're looking for a big, massive, glitsy brewpub that puts more into the fixtures than they do into the beer, this is the place for you. We were disappointed when we were there January 20, 2002 and they had no IPA and no ESB available. The only two beers with any hop presence and they're both 86'd!!! My wife and I are pretty much hop heads so to say the least we were not pleased. The food was ok and the one beer I ended up with (Winter Warmer) was actually quite good. A BIG strong ale that had a massive scotch flavor. We did buy a growler for home.

(02/04/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Awesome! Great

Establishment: The Old Hat Brewery, Lawton, MI

The Old Hat was on our list of stops coming home from Chicago on a Sunday afternoon. They open at 3PM and we were a little early. We decided to hang around until they opened and went across the street to Mr. "T's" to pass the time. Came back at 3PM and stayed until 6:30 or 7PM. I was pleasantly surprised at the quality of their beer. The Alt was nice and bitter with a munich malt smoothness. The Stout was very roasty with a smooth finish. Hops and malt were nicely balanced. They had just put their Maibock on the Friday before and I had just a taste there, but took a growler home to enjoy it some more. Also, had the red lager. It was somewhat malty for a lager, but very delicious. I was not disappointed with any of the beers I had. Other beers on tap included a pilsner, vienna and a Hefe Weizen. We also had dinner. Me with a philly cheese steak and my wife with a portabella mushroom beer burger. Both were very tasty and reasonably priced. All beers except the Maibock were $2.50/pint (Maibock $3.50) which added to the enjoyment of the visit. Kelley the bartender was very attentive and knowledgable of all the beers. The band (Cats in the Hat)started @ 5PM. Live blues on a Sunday afternoon with good beer. Nothing better!!! We will be back again soon!!!

(03/26/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great

Establishment: Turtle Mountain Brewing Company, Rio Rancho, NM

Owner Nico Ortiz likes his beer to be big and full flavored and that's what it is!! Had the Anniversary Ale, Red Rye Ale and the Scotch Ale. All BIG and all great.

(02/07/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A N/A Good

Establishment: Durango Brewing Company, Durango, CO

Stopped on April 26th and Ian was brewing at the time. He was nice enough to stop and give us a little tour of the brewery and samples of their beer. Only three beers available. Amber, Wheat and a Golden. We bought a growler of the Amber and opened it on May 7th. Still very fresh with the right amount of carbonation.

(05/09/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great

Establishment: Turtle Mountain Brewing Company, Rio Rancho, NM

Had a great time here during our Colorado/New Mexico vacation. Lots of locals and very friendly. Wood fired pizza as was the norm at most BP's we visited. Beer was high octane, full bodied and hoppy!! Can't wait to go back!! Nico, the owner, was very adamant about people having good beer to drink. Not a proplem and Turtle Mountain!!!

(05/09/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good So So Great Good

Establishment: Steamworks Brewing Company, Durango, CO

The beer was good. Nothing notable. Stay away from the pizza with hot peppers!!! There is no way anyone can eat that! Had a good time talking with the bartender and watching the Detroit vs. Colorado hockey game.

(05/05/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome!

Establishment: Amicas Pizza and Microbrews, Salida, CO

The IPA is BIG!!! And HOPPY!!!! This is how all IPA's should be. The brewery is just about the most wedged in piece of equipment you have ever seen. Looks like they stuffed it in the closet. Damion the brewer was especially nice enough to share his American Brown Ale recipe with me and reduce it down to a 5 gallon batch so we could make it at home. Pizza is wood fired and out of this world. Good thing I was only on vacation. At $2.30/pint (regular price) I could get hurt at a place like this. The best of all the places we visited on our trip through Colorado and New Mexico.

(05/05/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great

Establishment: Kelly's Brewpub, Albuquerque, NM

One of many stops on our trip through Colorado and New Mexico. For those that have been here before, Kelly's has moved! Don't be alarmed, it's only next door and the place is about 10X bigger. Lots of outdoor seating and a very open air feeling with a big garage door that opens everything up nicely. The beer I had here was very good (ESB). The selection was not as good as it usually is because they had just moved to their new location the day before. The one thing I was amazed about was the fact that their beers are made from extract. I have noticed that no other review has mentioned this and everyone has rated their quality quite high. The place was packed the night my wife and I stopped and could not imagine all those people in their old little place next door. Beers were all $2.50 a pint. Very much worth the stop. College crowd. Nice to see so many young men and women drinking quality beers. With this kind of upbringing we may just be able to save the planet!!!

(05/02/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! N/A Great Great

Establishment: Michigan Brewing Company, Webberville, MI

Barley Wine, Belgium Tripple, 11-12 beers in all. Very laid back and a very knowledgeable staff. I had the brown all and the porter. Both were true to style. Always great beers!!!!

(02/11/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good N/A Good So So

Establishment: Blue Coyote, Lansing, MI

Porter had no flavor. The IPA was way off. Didn't stick around very long to try something else.

(02/11/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Great Good

Establishment: Boyne River Brewing Company, Boyne City, MI

I was a little disappointed to find tha t this is a smoke free establishment. That means "NO smoking" I like a cigar with my beer. Something that some people may want to know, if they are traveling a long distance to visit. The beer was OK, but not fantastic. Had the Pale Ale and the Lake Trout Stout. The stout was very nice with a roasted flavor. The Pale Ale was nothing special. Nachos were hot and delicious.

(01/18/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Good Good Good

Establishment: Mountain Town Station, Mount Pleasant, MI

A nice place. Very much a brewpub atmosphere. An old train station that is still next to the tracks. Trains pass within 10 feet of the building. The beer was so-so. Had the IPA and the Pale Ale. They tasted very much the same and did not have the hop character I come to expect in either. There was an off flavor that seemed somewhat sour. The Russian Imperial Stout was very nice and served at the proper temp. The Red was very blah. We had lunch and the Brewben was Ok. I would recommend the Scotch Eggs for an appitizer. You don't see this very many places.

(01/18/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Tampa Bay Brewing Company, Tampa, FL

Anything I say here about the beer will only corroborate what has already been said by all of the other reviewers before me. This brewpub is about beer, great food and making their customers happy. Everything is fresh and true to style. I went there this time for the barley wine (Moose Killer). I was disappointed to find that they were out and a new batch was due to be ready for New Years Eve. Keeping with the high standards of a great brewpub, John, the brewmaster, was nice enough to draw off a sample for us to try. Those of you that were lucky enough to be there on New Years Eve were treated to a 10%+ ABV blast of barley wine. WOW!! Kevin our waiter was on top of things the whole time we were there. Can't say enough about the wait staff. Come hungry!! The food portions are H U G E and delicious. It's too bad all brewpubs can't be like this one. We'll be back.

(01/04/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Good N/A Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Leopold Brothers of Ann Arbor Brewery, Ann Arbor, MI

Our first visit was October 30th. There were 3 beers on tap. An Oktoberfest, a Red Ale and a Black Beer. This was our first experience with Southern German lagers. Very full bodied with low hop character. Which I understand is typical of the style. All of their beer is first class and made from Todd's own recipes.

(11/01/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Awesome! Great

Establishment: Copper Canyon Brewery, Southfield, MI

When we go to a brewpub or to any bar for that matter, we like to sit at the bar. That way we get more of a feel for the establishment, talk to the bartender and the service is usually better, because the server is right there all the time. Derek at CCB is a first class bartender. He has been there since they opened almost 1 year ago and he is very knowledgable about the beer, the food and the cigars. We left there much more impressed than before we went. I was expecting a place with a bunch of slackers and that was definitely not the case. Funny that we were there the same day as the guy that wrote the review below. Beer was great with a great selection. Food was delicious, appealing and plentiful. We were surprised that for a Monday night the place seemed to be rather busy. We will definitely go back. Kim had the Maibock and I had the IPA from the tap. Both were to style and full flavored with a good mouth feel.

(05/11/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Arcadia Brewing Company, Battle Creek, MI

This is the best kept secret in Michigan. We were there on a Saturday night and it was dead. The beer is out of this world great!! Bartenders and waitstaff were very knowledgable and the food is great. Don't miss this one!!

(05/04/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good N/A Good Good

Establishment: Buffalo Brew Pub / Brewing Company, Williamsville, NY

Not impressed with the quality of the beer they made. There was a large selection of taps.

(05/04/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Hoppers Brewpub, Erie, PA

It appears that this brewpub is closed. We stopped on April 28, 1999 at the address listed and it looked like they were getting ready to open under a new name as a bar. I would call before I stopped again.

(05/04/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Middle Ages Brewing Company, Syracuse, NY

This is a must stop while in Syracuse. That was quite evident by the 15-20 locals that came through for growlers while we were at the tasting room for 30 minutes. All of the ales are very true to style and extremely tasty!!

(05/04/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Blue Tusk, Syracuse, NY

This is a must when visiting Syracuse. Their selection is outstanding. 68 taps and all very fresh. They have all of the Middle Ages brews along with many from the area. We were impressed with the knowledge of the bartenders. Everyone knew their beers and were very willing to make suggestions based on your request. The food is outstanding. The Blue Tusk is cigar friendly! A must for me.

(05/04/1999)


Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]













(0.139 seconds) 14:52:46 54.224.214.109, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS