PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from bob berner
Other Reviews by this User
 
November 22, 2014 @ 11:16 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By
bob berner

Beer Reviews
(7)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






no
user
photo

7
Beer Reviews from bob berner
   
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great
Great Great Good Great

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Great Great

Establishment: Victory Brewing Company, Downingtown, PA

I was there for dinner and beers two weeks ago and was glad we decided to make the drive. It was our first meal there and the pizzas were great. My friend and I split a sampler (10 Beers) and each decided on a St. Victorious to enjoy with dinner. They had Hop Devil on the hand pump which was excellent and probably worth the visit on its own. The best beers in the place are the Bocks and the Hop Devil, but they are all very drinkable. If you haven't been there I suggest that you go, and get a designated driver!!!

(06/18/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Good N/A N/A Great

Establishment: Brewery Ommegang, Cooperstown, NY

I've been on more interesting brewery tours but this one certainly isn't a bad tour to take. The brewery is very bright and nicely decorated. The real reason to go is to sample their beer which is excellent!! The bottling line, which cost about $1,000,000 according to the tour guide, is very impressive also. If you are in the area, I suggest stopping in. When you are in Cooperstown, stay at The Duke's Oak B&B. It is a very nice B&B, and the owner is a homebrewer who worked for Ommegang. Cindy makes a great breakfast; I am speaking from experience.

(06/02/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome!

Establishment: Monk's Cafe, Philadelphia, PA

Stopped here for dinner after Michael Jackson's tutored tasting at U Penn. Place was very crowded, as expected. The beer selection was phenomenal, although I wasn't up to drinking too much after the session with Michael. I saw two or three Lite beers slide across the bar and couldn't help but shake my head. Service at the bar was excellent, the table service was a little slower. Had the smoked trout as an appetizer and the filet for entree. Both were outstanding!!!! Everyone else in my party was extremely satisfied with their dinners. Lindemans Framboise is excellent with dessert, especially chocolate!! I will be back when I am in the mood to sample more beers. Keep up the good work. Food prices are very reasonable for the quality of the food!

(04/05/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Good Great Good

Establishment: Porterhouse Restaurant and Brew Pub , Lahaska, PA

Was there on Saturday for lunch. The sandwiches were tasty but pricey. Their beer selection is good but the beers are only average. For $3.75 a pint I would have expected better. We had three different beers, all were cloudy and not really to style. I asked to speak to the brewer, and he came to our table and answered our questions very politely. My wife had the Blonde Lager, I had Ed's Red and the Hoppy Trails IPA. I actually thought that they brought my wife a wit just from the appearance of it. The Red seemed more typical of some browns I have had and the IPA isn't. Too light in color and body for the style and it should have more hop aroma. When I asked Ed about the cloudiness, he said that he no longer filters his beer, and that they will clear if they sit around long enough. For some styles this is acceptable, but for a lager? I can understand brewing for the market and deviating from style. The place is nicely decorated, great murals, and there is an excellent view from the upstairs dining room. A pleasant place for lunch if you are not overly critical of the beer.

(04/05/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Stoudt's Brewing Company, Adamstown, PA

Was just down at Stoudt's on Saturday and had dinner in the pub. The cream of mushroom and chicken soup was excellent!! I had a burger that was very good and my friend had the Kielbasa platter which he couldn't finish. They had a dry hopped version of their American Pale Ale on the the beer engine and it was phenominal!!! The head was extremely rocky and long lasting, much more so than the draft version. Of course it also had a much softer and full mouth feel than the draft. I have also had the ESB on the engine and wish that they had more than just one variety available at time. The bartender provided us with excellent service and a constant supply of pretzels.

(02/08/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Good Good

Establishment: Bethlehem Brew Works, Bethlehem, PA

Second time there was for dinner with friends. First time was just for a beer. I have heard spotty reviews about service and my last experience was very good. Only faux pas was that dinner arrived before we finished our appetizers. They were also out of the Scotch Ale. The stout is excellent as is the Diamond Plate Pork. My friend had the wienerschnitzel which he said was authentic and the ladies both had generous portions of pasta dishes. The crowds seem to have settled down a little and I recommend trying the place for dinner and beers.

(01/27/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good N/A Lousy So So

Establishment: Greenwich Brewing Company, New York, NY

Party of 4, just had coffee and a sampler. Waitress couldn't get my sampler order right. Beers were way too hoppy for styles, although the Christmas Ale was good and the stout very good. Might go there again if convenient.

(11/24/1998)














(0.14 seconds) 23:16:25 184.73.104.82, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS