PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from black and tans
Other Reviews by this User
 
July 28, 2014 @ 08:03 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By
black and tans

Beer Reviews
(7)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






no
user
photo

7
Beer Reviews from black and tans
   
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome!
Great Great Awesome! Great

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Great Great Good

Establishment: Buffalo Tap Room and Grill, Tonawanda, NY

I was initially impressed by the extensive line up of Custom Brewcrafters Taps on the premise. There were 10 in total. We tried the Maibock, Winter, IPA, and the Porter and ordered chicken fingers finished on the grill. This was an excellent selection, the fingers were not greasy and had a pleasant medium spiciness to them, not overdone. The fingers seemed expensive untill we realized that they came with curly fries. Accompanying the fingers and fries was a large side of real blue cheese, fresh carrots, and celery. I would say that the food at BTR is delicious judging by the percentage of bar patrons that ordered food. The service was excellent for a first time visit.

I was unimpressed by the IPA. I felt that it was not an IPA, nore of a weak pale ale. If one can make a blonde pale ale, this was it. My guest thought that it was palatable, average in flavor. The IPA was clear yellow with a "carbonated" head, no true head or lacing present. It had a slight hop aroma, no floral or citrus notes present. This was the same in taste. The hops were mild with a dry finish and no lingering aftertaste, which I enjoy. The winter was average. Nothing stood out in appearance, smell, and taste. Very little winer spices and thin on the palate. I believed that this was more of an brown ale gone wrong somewhere in Honyoye Falls. The porter stood out from the rest of the beer. It had a faint bitter smell with some coffeee detected. The alcohol in the porter overpowered any taste that was present and reminded me of a bourbon. As the porter warmed, some bitterness and coffee emerged. We decided that BTR taps are made for the average beer drinker that might buy 12 packs of Blue for the house and go to BTR to spice it up a notch. One thing that we noticed was out of 20 plus people sitting at the bar, only four other were drinking pints. The rest were drinking Blue, Bud, and Rolling Rock. Buffalo needs to expand its limited beer vision and leave the comfort of the macro beer. There are more true beer bars with better taps in Oswego, a city of 32,000. Syracuse and Rochester have Buffalo beat hands down in quality and quantity of offerings. BTR was a reflection of Buffalo's average beer drinking community.

(04/29/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Awesome! Great

Establishment: Alternative Brews, Amherst, NY

Second, this is the only bar where the bartender (Daryl) takes interest in what you have been up to. After an almost three month long exodus, Daryl remembered me. Now that's service. The selection on tap is varied by brand but consistently offers a line up of styles which is guaranteed to make one smile. Past offerings include: Middle Ages Wailing Wench and Lackheart Stout, Custom Brewcrafters Wee Heavy and Gargolye, Boddngtons, Flying Bison Oatmeal Stout and Pale Crotch Ale, Great Lakes Edmund Fitzgerald Porter, Harpoon IPA, Newcastle Brown, Sam Adams,and Spaten Hefe Weiss and Dunkel Weiss. Quite an offering. The buy one get one special really makes this worthwhile. Unfortunatly, I would not be able to afford going to AB without the special. AB has a large selection of bottles. Some of the prices are high, but thats to be expected. AB is all about the customer: excellent line up of taps combined with great service and music.

(04/28/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Pearl Street Grill and Brewery, Buffalo, NY

Carpet looks comfy enough to take a nap on. I could stare at the ceiling fans for hours. Could easily get wasted and get lost looking at all the historic pictures. Stairs are dangerous after 3 pints. ABV is high in these true pints of goodness. Ohio buddy who drinks only Bud Light stated that a TrainWreck was the best beer that he has ever had. Its worth noting that not only did he try it, he finished it. Senaca Saaz soup is to die for. Plan to order it on your execution day. The Canal Street is a true oatmeal stout. Bitter chocolate with a malt background. As it warmed, coffee anbd chocolate flavors emerged. Silky smooth with well balanced aftertaste that slightly lingers sweet. Triple Double, Trainwreck also tried to my delight. Squealed like a pig in heat. The balcony needs better railing to keep me from falling off of it. Upstairs bathroom location is confusing if one shows up already tipsy. I truly believe that you could stay the whole weekend and never leave, the place is so big. Why stay at the Adam Mark -sleep under a table at Pearl Street.

(04/28/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Great

Establishment: Sterling Place Tavern, Buffalo, NY

My first visit to Sterling was a drunken one that ended up with me walking home. Thankfully, I went back. It is amazing how a place looks different when you're sober vs. wasted. Door situation confused me (which is easy to do). The owner was tending the bar the first night that I was there. Very friendly and seemed glad that we were there. He was concerned about my "AWOL status." The Great Lakes Porter was superb. Chicken fingers were tasty. Enter the bathroom and go back in time to the 70's. One of the cleanest and best smelling bathrooms that I have been in. When I walked in the second time, I was amazed that they carried a full line of really good beers. Nice import and craft selection. I tried the Flying Bison Oatmeal Stout. Previous experiances with FB have been lackluster. I truly enjoyed this beer. Jukebox has Queen and 80's. One can be comfortably wasted without visiting the ATM again. I used to only go to two bars in Buffalo on a regular basis: Alternative and Colter Bay. Now I have added Sterling to my A list. I am glad that we deceided to take a chance and stop by. The place has always looked kindof lonely. When I remarked that I went there, people responded that they didn't know if anybody went there. This means that more people need to: go to Sterling, support the bar, and spread the word. From my understanding, the owner drives to Clevland to pick up the Great Lakes Porter and Pale Ale. Now that's dedication.

(03/04/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Ellicottville Brewing Company, Ellicottville, NY

The Pale Ale is one of the best that I have had. Truly top 3 material. It is unique in it's taste, Ryan is right, like a grapefruit. Colter Bay on Delaware has EPA on tap for $2.75 on Sat. I have actually bought this beer in Syracuse instead of Middle Ages IMPaled. A little slice of heaven. I need to get off my butt and drive down to EVille to "sample" their line. I'm positive that I won't be driving home after that.

(03/04/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Southern Tier Brewing Company, Lakewood, NY

The Porter has become my beer of choice. Good malt and roast notes to it with a strong but crisp finish. Truly enjoy this beer. It makes me smile. Consumers and Wegmans sell six packs. Actually played beer pong using the Porter. Wish that I could start the day with a ST Porter. Used the Porter to make a mean chili. Cozumel on Elmwood carries ST products on tap. The Porter tastes AMAZING on tap. I have had the Pale Ale there over the summer. The Pale gets a B. I prefer a hopped up pale similar to Middle Ages or Victory. Even so, the Pale was very drinkable and I certainly wonuld not turn it down. Look forward to a trip to the brewery.

(03/04/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome!

Establishment: Colter Bay, Buffalo, NY

They serve Ellicotville Pale Ale for $2.75 on Sat. What's not to love. The selection is superb for a Buffalo Bar. Name a place in Buffalo where one can find Harpoon Winter Warmer and Sam Winter on tap at the same time. Carry the usual standard line and quality beers on tap. Can get blind drunk without visiting the ATM again. Girls will use the boys room if there is a line. Weekdays sometimes empty which enables you to make the bar your private party. Carry Flying Bison. Friend stated that the Chicken Gumbo soup was the best soup he had ever had. Pretty bold statement. Last St Pats ran out of Killians and served Guiness at same price. Bartenders and waitresses skilled. Will give you matches. Quick to refill empty glasses. They don't pick up tips quickly. The Jackalope by the enterance is priceless. All they have to do is stop serving bottles of Blue.

(03/03/2004)














(0.064 seconds) 20:03:50 54.196.203.41, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS