PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from berta pettis
Other Reviews by this User
 
December 19, 2014 @ 12:53 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By
berta pettis

Beer Reviews
(109)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






no
user
photo

109
Beer Reviews from berta pettis
   

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ 4 ] [ 5 ] [ ALL ]
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great
Great Great Great Great

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Great Great

Establishment: Clark's Ale House, Syracuse, NY

We are sorry to see Clarks is closing. We started going here when it first opened 18 years ago. A great place for a good beer, a couple of games of darts, good roast beef sandwiches, even limburger cheese, red onions, and crackers - believe it or not! We wish something could have been worked out with the Landmark but that was not to be. Clarks is booming this week with the anticipated closing tomorrow. Get there early and expect long lines! What a great way to "go out." Good luck, Ray.

(09/24/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Kitty Hoynes Irish Pub and Restaurant, Syracuse, NY

We spent the most delightful time on St. Pat's Day yesterday at Kitty Hoynes. The music was terrific all afternoon, the people we met were wonderful, service on such a busy day in Syracuse was great. All in all, it was one of the most spectacular St. Pat's Day we have ever had. Thanks to David Hoyne for making it so.

(03/18/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great N/A N/A Great Great

Establishment: Syracuse Suds Factory, Syracuse, NY

We have been to the Suds Factory quite often over the past 19 years. We enjoy the atmosphere, Norm the Brewer, Patty and Al, and especially like their Wednesday night Jazz concerts. Last night was no exception. Spent an enjoyable evening with Norm and Patty and thoroughly enjoyed the two beers we had - the Pale Ale and the Honey Light. Both were exceptional last night. It has always been a very friendly place and continues to be so.

(02/04/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Great Great

Establishment: Kitty Hoynes Irish Pub and Restaurant, Syracuse, NY

We love this place, but on a visit yesterday we were very disappointed in the fact that David has raised the price of his beers so much. We had just left one bar in Armory Square where the beer was priced under $4.00. Last week at Clark's, the beer was about that same price. At J Ryans (the old Kelly Cole's/McGregors) we did not pay more than $4.50. But Kitty Hoynes' beers are now $6.00. There is no way we will be able to frequent this favorite place at these prices. We don't understand the huge increase. Yes, hops prices have gone up, but not to justify such an increase as this. When we walked into Kitty Hoynes at 4 o'clock yesterday, we were the only ones there. That never used to be that way.

(12/17/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Great Awesome!

Establishment: Chapter House, Ithaca, NY

This was a great stop before a basketball game. Although they do not have food, there is popcorn and it was fresh! Always good to have a salty snack when drinking beer! Makes you drink more!

And they had Anchor Porter on draught - one of my favorites. And also Middle Ages (Syracuse) IPA. The beer selection is fantastic. Wish they had food, because we had a long, downhill walk to the restaurant we ate at. And do I mean long and downhill! If you've never been to Cornell, you'll find out soon enough!

But this place is fantastic.

(11/26/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Cumberland Brews, Louisville, KY

The atmosphere at Cumberland Brews is fantastic. This entire area of Louisville is a "must see." Reminds me of the Haight-Asbury section of San Fran. The food we had was great - pulled beef bbq, sweet potato fries! The Nitro Porter surprised me - it is very good! Friendly bartenders, just a neat place to go to and enjoy an afternoon beer or two (or three)!

(07/10/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Elevator Brewery and Draught Haus, Columbus , OH

We stopped here after having a beer or two at Barley's. Elevator's is just a few blocks up the street. This, too, is a very friendly place. We talked to the owner for quite a while and enjoyed exchanging thoughts on different beers and places we have been to. We had the Procrastinator Doppelbock which was excellent and the Heifen-Weizen. (After having a stronger beer at Barley's, I needed something lighter. But this was one of the best "Heifens" I have had.) Elevator brews a Schwarzbier for the fantastic German restaurant in town - Schmidt's. They also have their Heifen-Weizen on tap at Schmidt's (which by the way is a fine German restaurant). Wish more cities kept up this culture. My only "complaint" about Elevator is it is not open on Sundays. Sigh!

(06/14/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Barley's Brewing Company, Columbus, OH

We stopped here twice on our last trip to Columbus. Having been here several years ago, we remembered it to be a very friendly bar with excellent beer and food. Although we didn't eat this time, we of course had beer! I had the Oatmeal Stout (Ol Ron's Surly) and it is excellent. My friend had the Four Seas IPA, and although it is too heavy for me, it was perfect for him. Being right across the street from the Convention (or Civic) Center, it is very crowded when something is going on over there. These two times it was not crowded, however - but still plenty of people there. This continues to be a must-go-to stop when you are in Columbus.

(06/14/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Awesome! Great

Establishment: Buffalo Wild Wings, Lafayette, LA

This is a great place to have a beer and watch just about any sports team you choose! Lots of TVs, lots of access with different networks. There are some decent taps, e.g. Abita, but I wish there were more. Very friendly place - great bartenders, friendly locals, good food.

(04/24/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Tap and Mallet, Rochester, NY

We stopped here before the Louisville/Rochester game last weekend. What a thrill to find a great beer bar back in the Rochester area. The beer selection is fantastic, rotating selections often. We were glad to see Syracuse's Middle Ages beers there, in addition to many other fine beers - drafts and bottles, some we had never seen or tried before. I can't believe there are actually beers out there that we have never tried! The bartender was very knowledgeable about all the beers, which at times at other places is a rare trait. Our only complaint is that they are not in Syracuse! Why can't they open up another Tap & Mallet at the previous McGregor's/Kelly Cole's location in downtown Syracuse? That would be perfect, then we wouldn't have to drive the 80-90 miles to Rochester to have some terrific beers! We'll just have to find more reasons to come here, especially when baseball season is over. This is really a great, great place.

(06/18/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: 69 Taps Pub and Eatery, Akron, OH

We were here on a business trip and were in time for their $2 Happy Hour of any of their beers! And wow, do they have a selection. Very impressive. We had a great visit with two locals and the bartender. They were all knowledgeable about the beers on tap, some of which we had never had. We were happy to see Thirsty Dog's selections there (having had these on a previous visit to Akron) and we started off with the Old Leghumper Porter. Fantastic beer. We also had the Thirsty Dog Siberian Knight - whoa ho! What a powerful beer. Since we were walking back to our hotel, it didn't matter that it was higher in alcohol! We also were happy that there was a Barrelhouse beer (from Cincinnati) - the Boss Cox Double Dark IPA. They also have a great selection of Great Lakes Brewery (Cleveland) beers. The pub food was good, although we were heading over to Bricco's at the corner for dinner (also highly recommended for their excellent foods, impressive beer and wine list, including our favorite Burgess Cellars wines!) All in all, these two stops were the high point of our 4 days on the road this week!

(05/22/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Kelly Cole's Improper, Syracuse, NY

This place was closed down a few weeks ago by the Government due to failure to pay $80,000+ in taxes. The third time this owner has done this with two locations in Syracuse. What a shame for the downtown Syracuse area. One of the few places open on Sundays. Their beer selection was fantastic - with many Middle Ages taps. How could this happen again? Who will buy this place, which is now up for auction. A darn shame for Syracuse.

(02/17/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Maui Brewing Company, Lahaina, Maui, HI

We spent two delightful afternoons in this fantastic place. Andrew, our bartender, was wonderful and a delight to talk to. He has ties to the Syracuse and other Upstate NY areas, so we had lots to talk aobut. I had the Wild Hog Stout (a Nitro) that I really liked. Tried their Coconut Porter also. Don't usually like beers with raspberry, etc. in them, but this was very, very good. We also had the Barracuda Bitter, Penquin Imperial Stout (watch out! That's 8 percent we were told.), and the Hempman Brown. The food is excellent, also - they have a great Cioppino soup which you can also get in a pasta. The people here are very friendly and we could not have asked for a better stopping place each day. Hope we can get back again today.

(12/10/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Detroit Beer Company, Detroit, MI

The "People Mover Porter" just came out the day we got there this week! One sip and WOW was it terrific. The aftertaste is just incredible. Couldn't wait to finish the first draft and get to the second! And then the third! This may just be the best Porter we have ever had. We enjoyed talking to Kevin the brewer, PJ the manager, and Sean the bartender. We tried the Detroit Dwarf (ask them about the history of the red dwarf that appears whenever there's a tragedy!), the Nut Brown, the Detroit Red, the IPA, and the Lager (I believe this one won an award at the GABF this year). We had a great dinner here, also. The blackened catfish was excellent, as was the Swiss Butcher Platter (try saying that 3 times fast!). All in all, we were SO happy we were here and especially for the "inauguration" of the Porter! Keep up the good work, Kevin.

(11/29/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Crescent City Brewhouse, New Orleans, LA

It was so terrific being back in the Quarter after a long absence, due to Katrina. Crescent City is back, the people have returned to their bar stools, the best oysters we have ever had are back (hallelujah!), and Vern is back shucking those oysters. It was a thrill to walk in that door, as we did many times before, and see him and his wonderful smile. We miss not having our other oyster shucker, Lou, there. Maybe someday he will return. But we are so happy things are getting back to normal in the Quarter. We had our usual - the Black and the Red. They were as good as before. This place is "home."

(09/26/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Gordon Biersch Brewery Restaurant, New Orleans, LA

This particular Gordon Biersch is fantastic. Their Schwarzbier is one of the best we have had and not being that high in alcohol, we could safely have a few of these and not be afraid of staggering out! Had a sample of their upcoming Dopple Bock - wow! a great beer, but lots of alcohol. That was a "staggering out" beer, but excellent! Phillip is a great bartender - it was fun talking to him and the brewer and the locals that we sat by. They have the NFL package so it is a good place to watch the games on Sunday. Food is terrific, also. Their pizza was excellent - not greasy, and done just right. We look forward to a return visit.

(09/26/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good

Establishment: Parker's Grille and Tap House, Geneva, NY

There are 15 taps, including Ithaca Nut Brown, Brooklyn Lager, Leinie, and Yuengling. Also, a good bottle selection, including Anchor Steam and Sierra Nevada. This place is just a few doors up from the Smith Opera House, where some great musical talent (Little River Band for one) performs. When we were there, it was extremely crowded. That's a good thing. Food choices were good.

(06/21/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Great Awesome!

Establishment: Kitty Hoynes Irish Pub and Restaurant, Syracuse, NY

We were here for Kitty Hoynes Sam Adams 5-Course Beer dinner several weeks ago. The meet-and-greet oysters, not part of the 5 courses, were terrific. Sweet and large. The beer selections with each course were properly matched. The chef did a great job with both the food choices and presentation. As always, David Hoyne was there, overseeing the entire operation and making sure he personally greeted everyone. A terrific evening and it seemed to be enjoyed by the entire group.

(06/19/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Willoughby Brewing Company, Willoughby, OH

After such a terrific visit here last summer, we stopped here again on our way to the Midwest. Again, we were not disappointed. We had a great time with the bartender, Nikki, and some people who frequent the Brewery often. We decided on appetizers for our meals and each one of them, at "happy hour" prices, were excellent. The pizza, pretzels, quesadilla, eggrolls were terrific.

We shared a sampler - consisting of 9 beers, including their special Vanilla Porter. Although we are not "into" Wheats or Wits, they were both good beers. The Railway Razz was a great raspberry. Our favorites were the Hopfull American Brown Ale (great), the Bavarian Dark Lager (double great!), and the Pride of Willough Porter (fantastic!).

Judging by the full bar and dining area, Willoughby continues to do things right! This will continue to be a regular stop for us on our way to Cincinnati or Chicago. Thanks for the great time! And Nikki is a perfect bartender.

(08/24/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: The Chimes East, Baton Rouge, LA

Our flight to BTR was early in the day, so before heading West on I-10, we stopped here for a few beers and freshly shucked oysters. We have been to the LSU Chimes location several times before, but we wanted to try this new location. Although we liked the LSU Chimes, parking there is next to impossible and we thought this might solve that problem. We don’t understand, however, why it is called “Airport” since, according to Mapquest, it is further from the BTR airport than the LSU location. Nevertheless, we arrived 10 minutes before their 11 a.m. opening time and “patiently” waited for the doors to be unlocked! We were pleasantly surprised at the beautiful building, both inside and out, in addition to the ample parking area. When we left about 1.5 hours later, the parking lot was jam packed, as was the restaurant and bar. Obviously, Chimes East is doing everything right. Our bartender on Thursday was Abbi (a “transplant” from Cincinnati – so we had lots of Cinti Reds talk, since Cinti is my hometown). We wish there were more taps of the beers we like. Even at that, there are a lot of taps and many good beers in the bottles. I had Anchor Steam on tap and Sierra Nevada Porter and Stout in bottles. We told Abbi we would be back on Sunday before our flight out of Cajun Country (sigh). Indeed we were. Abbi was not yet working, but we had another great bartender – Matt. He was very informative about the beers they have on tap. The oysters here are terrific – Matt even “talked us into” having them without the hot sauce that we are accustomed to dipping our oysters into. These oysters are so sweet that they really do not need the sauce. Enjoy the pleasant “real” taste of an oyster. The size of the oysters was also terrific – close to the size of the ones we always had at Crescent City Brewhouse in N.O. They have a great Sunday brunch with very different omelets – crawfish omelet, boudin omelet, and others. We have decided to make this a regular stop on our way to Eunice, Mamou and points west. This place is terrific. Keep up the good work, Abbi and Matt!

(05/04/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Great N/A

Establishment: Syracuse Suds Factory, Syracuse, NY

We try to get here every Wednesday evening for the various Jazz groups that perform. Ronnie Leigh, Jazz Collective, J Project. They are all terrific. Syracuse people, you are really missing something special on Wednesdays (starting around 6 p.m.) if you like good music and don't come to these. The last two times here Norm's "Brown" and "Pale Ale" were both outstanding. There was a terrific "buffet" last night (free, by the way) - a very spicy quesadilla - was that ever good! We had their soft chicken tacos for dinner, along with the toasted raviolis for an appetizer. Both were excellent.

(12/15/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Kitty Hoynes Irish Pub and Restaurant, Syracuse, NY

A few weeks ago we attended a reception sponsored by the local Chamber of Commerce. We have attended these before and frankly we have seldom been impressed with the catering. This time the theme was British. We walked through the doors and there were two of the Queen’s “Royal Guard” greeting us. We encountered a remarkable dessert layout and highly professional servers were everywhere passing out fresh and excellent hors d’oeuvres. There were other nice touches throughout – small models of double-decker buses, candles, and a live trio playing chamber music. We went to the bar and never have we seen such a wonderful selection of beers at a business reception, as well as excellent wines. The beer selection tended toward the locals. There were Middle Ages and Saranac beers, among others. We looked at each other and almost simultaneously said to each other, “Who catered this affair?” A few moments later, David Hoyne walked by, checking out every detail. In fact, the reception was catered by David, the proprietor of Kitty Hoynes. He runs a first-class pub with first-class beer, first-class food, and first-class entertainment. We now realize that the excellence that we have experienced at Kitty Hoynes is also part of his catering business. David, you do things right!

(12/01/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Big River Grille and Brewing Works, Chattanooga, TN

This is an update to my review from October 2004. We were lucky to be able to return here again this weekend (October 2005)for a conference and we had dinner here both Friday and Saturday nights, again on Saturday with a large group. There are so many times we have seen places go downhill over the years. However, this is not true of Big River. The beers continue to be fantastic - we had the Oktoberfest Bier, since it is only out for a short time, and we were not disappointed. It is served in its own Oktoberfest 20- ounce glass, so there's lots of great beer to drink! We also had the Sweet Magnolia Brown Ale and the Iron Horse Stout - both excellent beers. The service was as good as can be expected with a large party of 33 people, but no one complained. Food was great, especially the shrimp and grits. Whatever Big River is doing to stay busy and to satisfy its customers should be copied by other brewpubs. It again appears to be frequented by locals, including those with young families. Something is good here! Keep up the good work!

(10/09/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Anchor Brewing Company, San Francisco, CA

Wow! What a treat to come here. We were lucky there was a cancellation that allowed us to get in for their once-a-day tour. Don't miss this place and be sure to call well in advance as their tours fill up fast. This was the most informative and fun tour we have ever been on. We have been on many brewery tours over the years and this is indeed the best. Kate, our "tour director," was fantastic. Her knowledge of Anchor's beers, the ingredients, the interaction of those ingredients, her enthusiasm - none of that could be any better. And tasting Wort before the yeast was added to it was something we had never tried before! Not a bad drink - kinda sweet, but still good! We have always loved Anchor Steam and Anchor Porter, but we are now keeping our eyes open for Anchor's other beers. The samples were generous and included beers that are unavailable outside of California. This was an afternoon that we will never forget.

(09/23/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Clark's Ale House, Syracuse, NY

We, also, love this place. For the friendliness of the bartenders - particularly A.J. - as well as the beer selection, and Darts games that the two of us continue to try to learn! Someday we'll get it right! We have learned so much from A.J. - he is the most knowledgeable person we know when it comes to finding out about this beer or that. He knows them all! A.J. decides what beers will be on tap and we trust his judgment when it comes to trying out a new beer. We particularly love the Middle Ages beers, but also love the beers from Stones. This is a great place to meet new and old friends.

(09/23/2005)


Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ 4 ] [ 5 ] [ ALL ]













(0.307 seconds) 00:53:19 54.237.99.131, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS