PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from beav
Other Reviews by this User
 
October 23, 2014 @ 12:54 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By
beav

Beer Reviews
(630)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






no
user
photo

630
Beer Reviews from beav
   

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ 4 ] [ 5 ] [ 6 ] [ 7 ] [ 8 ] [ 9 ] [ 10 ] [ 11 ] [ 12 ] [ 13 ] [ 14 ] [ 15 ] [ 16 ] [ 17 ] [ 18 ] [ 19 ] [ 20 ] [ 21 ] [ 22 ] [ 23 ] [ 24 ] [ 25 ] [ 26 ] [ ALL ]
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great
Great Great Great Great

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Grumpy Troll Restuarant and Brewery, Mount Horeb, WI

A very cool place in what seemed to be a nice small town. There was an art fest on the Sunday afternoon I visited whch had some streets closed, so the place was very busy, but the server didn't miss a beat. I offered to buy a sampler, but the bartender insisted that I try a few tastes instead to help make up my mind. Rye Bob was a pretty subdued rye beer while Maggie was a 9% Imperial IPA that was also understated, flavor-wise. Grumpy Creek is a session IPA which fit the bill--fruity and refreshing. Spetznaz is a foreign export stout, well-balanced, roasty with some chocolate notes. Sunshine is a Belgian Double with Brett, very nice--earthy and funky in the nose. My pick this stop was Grumpy Peach and oak-ages peach lambic. I thought this was Rodenbach with peaches--superb. The do offer some 22 oz. bottles to go, with some beers that may not be on tap when you get there. Go for it!

(08/05/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great

Establishment: New Glarus Brewing Company, New Glarus, WI

I haven't had a New Glarus beer in 8-9 years as their distribution doesn't come this way any longer, so I was very interested to see what new/old beers were in the mix. Beautiful hillside tasting/merchandise setup. They charge $3.50 for 3 samples, which includes a tasting glass to take with. Of course, I tried all six they were tasting during my visit. Spotted Cow was fruity, slightly hazy and not over-carbonated. Moon Man was the best pale ale I've had in quite a while--could have (not really) been satisfied with just the nose--wonderful! Stone Soup is an Abbey style spicy with cloves and ginger, while Fat Squirrel is a nut brown ale. Golden Ale is a Belgian ale that's hoppy, fruity and spicy, very nice. Belgian Red is still the best of show; intense with cherry, effervescent and refreshing.

(08/05/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Great

Establishment: Boston's Bistro and Pub, Dayton, OH

I was lucky to find this place within a mile of my hotel on a recent beer tour. On first blush, Boston's struck me as being a bit odd, but as I stayed to enjoy the beer selection, that quickly passed. 13 taps, 90+ bottles. Southern Tier 2X IPA was my pick this trip, but there were lots of great options. Avery Maharajah is always a pleasure to see on tap as well as Dogfish Indian Brown and ST Creme Brulee. A patron gave me a taste of Kentucky Bourbon Ale which was very interesting. Food revolves around pizza, panini and salads with a Hungarian (maybe Greek?) influence. Free pizza during happy hour made the stay even more enjoyable. Give Boston's a try!

(08/05/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! N/A Great Great

Establishment: Barley's Smokehouse and Brewpub, Columbus, OH

Haven't been to or reviewed Barley's in quite some time. 10 versions of their own brews (7 taps, 3 casks) during this visit. 9 guest taps available also. Katie's Summer had a slight cherry character to it, while the nitro Oatmeal Stout was smooth and dry with a fair amount of hops at the finish. The cask Pale, dry-hopped with Summit was my pick this trip--very interesting and reminiscent of Victory's Yakima Twilight. The cask Centennial IPA dry-hopped with Summit seemed to be a bit out of whack, perhaps the hops worked against rather than with each other. Got a taste of Great Lakes Lake Erie Monster and I'm sorry to say, it's "bigness" sort of gets in the way. Barley's Smokehouse is a great stop if you're in Columbus.

(08/05/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Lion's Pride, Brunswick, ME

A new beer destination in Maine, courtesy of the folks who bring you Ebenezer's. Multi-tap, with lots if Belgian and imports as well as American craft brews. On the main route into Brunswick; lotsa traffic--be patient! Server very helpful with advice, descriptions and samples to set you in the right direction. Got to try some brewers I've heard about on theis trip but hadn't encountered. Brewdog Hardcore IPA a decent enough malty/hoppy version of one of my favorite styles. Most interesting were the several single-hop Mikkeller beers on tap. Nelson Sauvin features New Zealand hops, while Green Gold was the only one with a blend of hops on tap. My favorite was Amarillo, which seems to go well in many beers. Seems to be off to a great start; be sure to stop by if you're in the market for some great beer!

(08/03/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Good Good Good

Establishment: Sea Dog Brewery, Topsham, ME

Enjoyed an Old East India IPA--English styled malty then hops. Hazelnut Porter is a favorite of mine most places that offer this brew--this didn't disappoint. A taste of the Summer Ale wasn't impressive, kinda blah. Good, filling bowl of chicken soup made for a nice midday stop. Riverside location is very nice indeed--probably their biggest selling point.

(08/01/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great

Establishment: Allagash Brewing Company, Portland, ME

Allagash is definitely one of the best US brewers for Belgian styles of beer. I really don't go to the brewery for a tour (how many tanks that all look the same can you stare at, anyhow?), but for the sampling. Luckily the guide started with the samples which didn't upset anyone. White is their flagship and is very good to style. Double had slight raisin notes to it while Triple wasn't overly sweet, which suited me just fine. Victoria is unique as it features grapes in the mix--very nice brew. If these styles aren't your deal, then you would be best served trying another brewery. That's OK, just more samples for those who enjoy Allagash's fine products.

(08/01/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Novare Res Bier Cafe, Portland, ME

Move over Great Lost Bear, you've got some competition in Portland! Excellent selection of drafts and bottles, with many Belgians represented. A little fancier than the Bear, but certainly not pretentious. Saisons were very refreshing the humid day I visited. V Cense was fruity and spicy and oh so tasty (must have been, it was gone the next day!) and Blaugies D'Epautre was a very close second. Kerkom Bink Bruin changed things up just enough to keep things interesting. Got to sample from a cask of Aventinus Eisbock--DANGEROUS! At 12% it was slippery smooth, and very drinkable. Had a Sunner Kolsch the next day which hit the spot. Service top-notch, servers helpful and engaging. Find a parking spot and camp out here for some good times!

(08/01/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Good Good

Establishment: Bray's Brewpub and Eatery, Naples, ME

Stopped in for a sampler enroute to Portland from Ebenezer's. Five beers represented: Causeway Cream Ale pretty much "for the masses", not much going on. Orien Oatmeal Pale--unique, soft mouthfeel, slightly sweet finish. Little Red Ryeding Ale was my pick this trip; a nice combination of sweet/malt/roast flavors. Porter not as roasty as I've come to expect. Oatmeal Stout a close second to the rye; well-made.

(08/01/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Good Great

Establishment: Ebenezer Kezars Pub, Lovell, ME

Still one of the best places ever for unique/hard to find beers. I tend toward the drafts when I hit a beer bar, so I tried a Stone Double Dry-Hopped IPA which had a good malt/hop balance and finished well. Brooklyn Dark Matter is the Black Ops aged in whiskey barrels (so I was told) and is a superb brew. Finished with a Rogue RIS--big and ballsy, with a slight warming at the end. Things kinda confused during my visit--new registers/order stations were being installed and were being uncooperative. Took away a little from the service, but not so much that I won't be back!

(08/01/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Great

Establishment: Strange Brew Tavern, Manchester, NH

Thankfully I didn't listen to the employees at Milly's (shame on you!) who advised me that this place only has bottled beer, "you know, Bud and Coors", or I would have missed a great experience. 60+ taps of excellent beers (many New England brews). Had a tasty Long Trail double IPA, and a Double Bag, as well as some Dogfish 90, all on happy hour pricing! Appetizer deals for HH were super--more than one person could finish (chix fingers), but definitely were good later that evening! Big crowd for Happy Hour--opens at 4, I was told. A nice beer oasis in Manchester, NH. Well done!

(07/31/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A So So Good

Establishment: Milly's Tavern was Stark Mill Brewing, Manchester, NH

An update after 6 years. Had a six beer sampler to re-check the place out. Mild was a little sweet, but still drinkable. Bold Horizons struck me like a Beliner Weiss or a really tart cider with spices, not my fave. Maibock a little thin, while altbier very malty with a hint of roastiness--my pick this trip. Pumpkin Ale must be a local hit, because they were touting its return throughout the place. Not bad, spices kept in check. Foriegn Export Stout definitely a sweet stout, good if you like that style. Place seems to run. albeit a bit haphazardly. Shame on them for trying to steer me away from a local beer bar (Strange Brew) by telling me "they only have Bud and Coors". Deduction in the "Service" rating for that!

(07/31/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Great Good

Establishment: Martha's Exchange Brewing Company, Nashua, NH

Looks like I haven't been here in about 6 years, so a refresher review is in order. Had a sampler of 8 taps and 1 cask this visit. Summah Bock very smooth and drinkable, while Smokin Blonde was just a tad smoky, just the way I like smoked beers. The Scene was a single-hopped ale with Centennial. A bit disappointing (and a bit thin as well, as were many of the offerings). Apathy's Reward was a nice hoppy brown ale, while my favorite was the Golden Perch IPA. The cask Vanilla Stout was spoiled or the cask had not been purged from old beer. Salad was great, service too. Had a nice conversation with a brewer who steered me in lots of good directions for good New England beer--thanks!

(07/31/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Great Good

Establishment: Trinity Brewhouse, Providence, RI

6 styles in my sampler this visit. Kolsch--clean, well-balanced, refreshing. Belgian White was very effervescent, coriander a bit much for my liking. IPA had a bitter hoppiness as opposed to citrus or anything else--good. ESB was mild with a slight hop finish. Brown kinda nondescript. Coffee Stout a good choice if you really like the coffee upfront, but that kept it from being better in balance. Monday wing special a good deal and tasty too!

(07/31/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Good Good

Establishment: Union Station Brewery was John Harvard's Brew House, Providence, RI

First stop on a New England beer tour. 6 on tap, one cask this visit. Summer Blond reminded me of Rolling Rock--with a hint of corn flavor, Golden Spike wasn't advertised to be, but came off with a note of Belgian in it. Coffee Bean Porter on cask was just all out of whack, all flavors working against one another--yuk! Half Day IPA was my pick this trip, though to be truthful, it was more in a pale ale style than an IPA. All beers seemed a little thin to me.

(07/31/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Great Good

Establishment: Gardner Ale House Brewery and Restaurant, Gardner, MA

Stopped en route to Vermont on a recent beer trek. 5 brews on tap: Hefe, Kolsch, Pale, IPA and Stout. IPA nice, kind of a Brit/US hybrid, although US hops at finish carry the day. My pick, however was the stout. Dry, hints of licorice, good roastiness. Liked how when a sampler tray was ordered, register prints out the beers in order, with brief descriptions. Good idea.

(08/17/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Good Great Good

Establishment: Lowell Beer Works, Lowell, MA

Boston Beer Works brews at an old brewpub/brewery location (Concord?). Got a sampler of four that seemed interesting to me. British Ale--nice starter for the day, a little too hop forward for traditioal British style, Imperial Pils--fruity, good body, hops not too extreme; smooth and drinkable. IPA--bitter hops, good balance, tasty. Red Ale--slight caramel nose, pretty average overall. Buffalo shrimp--good portion, sauce a little too hot for my likes. Interesting way to approach their beer list. Beers posted with the general color of the beer--would be helpful for newbies.

(08/17/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Great Good Good

Establishment: Redhook Brewery, Portsmouth, NH

Located near my hotel made a stop here a no-brainer. Double Black Coffee Stout had nice flavor, but not overdone. Would be a good first taste of coffee stout for a newbie. Longhammer Dry-Hopped IPA on cask was smooth and drinkable with a nice hop bite. Belgian Triple on cask just didn't make it. It definitely needs more carbonation than the cask allows for. Without that, it turned into a syrupy sweet mess. I enjoyed my mussels very much and would stop by again next time I'm in NH.

(08/17/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Great Great

Establishment: Ebenezer Kezars Pub, Lovell, ME

If there ever was a "go figure" place, this is it. Tucked next to a golf course way back in the country, Ebenezer's was just as cool as I imagined. It's small, with a small screened-in table area. But the beer? Big, big, big. In quality and quantity, it's big. Betsy, my server, was very helpful in pouring lots of samples so I could try as many of these brews as I wanted.

Here goes: Rogue Imperial Porter had good balance, but not too roasty. Brooklyn Intensified Coffee Stout was really nice--smooth and balanced, no off flavors--a winner. La Rulles Cuvee Meilleurs Voeux had a tartness in the nose, spicy and sweet, fruity (cherry/berry?); obviously a pretty interesting beer. And those were just the three I liked the best. Service was great, and my salad was good as well. If you're in Maine, and feel like exploring, wind your way to Ebenezer's.

(08/17/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good

Establishment: Gritty McDuff's, Portland, ME

Although I've been to Gritty's a few times, I'm just not a big fan of the brews. Tried the cask IPA this trip and it was OK, fruity with the hops slightly poking through. The burger special of the day was also OK, nothing special. I love Maine, but I guess I'll have to keep trying when it comes to Gritty's beers.

(08/14/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great

Establishment: Three Dollar Dewey's, Portland, ME

37 taps, lotsa bottles--a third or more of the taps were for Maine brews. Atlantic Coal Porter is a nice hearty and roasty beer--a favorite when I get to Maine.

I do need to know--when do the bars open here? The three guys next to me were definitely in the bag by 1 PM and I had nothing but empathy for the barmaid who had to listen to their tired act. She was obviously uncomfortable and intimidated by them. C'mon guys, get a grip, or stay at home!

(08/14/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Great Great

Establishment: Great Lost Bear, Portland, ME

Has it really been five years since I've been to the Bear? Wow! Maybe that's why I stopped twice on a recent trip. Sampled quite a few New England beers that were new to me. Geary Hampshire Special Oak cask was very woody and malty, slightly medicianal. Allagash Black cask almost reminded me of a dopplebock, especially at the finish. Allagash Confluence was very effervescent and fruity. It had nice body and seemed pretty substantial (dangerous?) overall. Marshall Wharf Big Twitch IPA was pretty big, slightly boozy at finish, aggressively hopped. The Bear is, of course, a Portland landmark.

(08/14/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Great Great

Establishment: Sea Dog Brewing Company, South Portland, ME

I've always liked Sea Dog's beers. Not the fruity beers you even see here in PA, but things like ESB, IPA, stouts; you know--real beers. Was happy to see that they've climbed out of some of their financial difficulty (with the help of Shipyard, I hear) and have a new place in South Portland. Hazelnut Porter was my pick on this trip. It's just a nice mix of hazelnut and roasty. Gollywobbler Brown on cask was OK, but nothing really special. Eggs benedict (b-fast all day!) were great--a real treat. Welcome back Sea Dog!

(08/14/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great

Establishment: Sebago Brewing Company, Scarborough, ME

Hadn't been to Maine in ages, so I was stoppping by all the places I could find. I'd had Sebago's beers in the past, but wanted to see what was new. Hefe was pretty typical, but not overstated, on the lighter side. Full Throttle IPA was a big double IPA with a citrusy nose. Full-bodied and well balanced made it smooth and really drinkable, even at 8.2%. Really nice beer.

(08/14/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Great Good

Establishment: Run of the Mill Brewery, Saco, ME

Building was an old mill and a tannery. Basically went unused for years until it was salvaged for a brewpub. Was told that there's still lots of space on upper levels to expand. Got a sampler of their beers; here's what I thought.

Summer Wheat was unfiltered, kinda fruity, but not the banana/clove deal. Lager was malty and clean. Ale was described as English style, but had US hops, not too malty. Pale Ale amber in color, good bittering hops. Super Lager very malty, borderline sweet. Porter was way, way roasty with almost a burnt (rauch?) smokiness. A neat place, great way to recycle a building and location.

(08/10/2009)


Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ 4 ] [ 5 ] [ 6 ] [ 7 ] [ 8 ] [ 9 ] [ 10 ] [ 11 ] [ 12 ] [ 13 ] [ 14 ] [ 15 ] [ 16 ] [ 17 ] [ 18 ] [ 19 ] [ 20 ] [ 21 ] [ 22 ] [ 23 ] [ 24 ] [ 25 ] [ 26 ] [ ALL ]













(0.797 seconds) 00:54:52 54.226.7.15, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS