PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from beer island
Other Reviews by this User
 
July 24, 2014 @ 02:15 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By
beer island

Beer Reviews
(117)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






no
user
photo

117
Beer Reviews from beer island
   

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ 4 ] [ 5 ] [ ALL ]
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great
Good Good Great Great

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Great Awesome!

Establishment: Lancaster Brewing Company, Lancaster, PA

It was a Friday night of huge beers at LBC. Gigantic beers; capped by the "EIS, EISbock, Baby"; a 12% decoction of the perennial favorite Lancastrator Doppelbock. This tasty item was served up on the handpump which added an additional unique dimension to this already awesome brew. Winter Warmer, regular draft Doppel (almost gone, just 1 keg left!) and the wonderful Baltic Porter rounded out the menu of big winter beers this evening. It's clear that the word got out becuase the brewery was packed to the rafters. Joe McG had a big smile on his face the whole night, as well he should. His beers are getting better and better and the cogniscenti can't get enough of them. Max's and Sean Bolans in Baltimore were lucky enough to get kegs of the Baltic this winter; a firken of Baltic was demolished by the local SPBW crew in 40 minutes. Get in LBC to get the Baltic before it's all gone!

(02/27/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Awesome!

Establishment: Jean Bonnet Tavern, Bedford, PA

For those of you searching for a great beer experience in the hinterlands between Harrisburg and Pittsburgh, I recommend a visit to the Jean Bonnet Tavern, just west of Bedford. Housed the basement of a remarkable old stone building, the Tavern looks like a throwback to the colonial days when it was built. The unique feature of the Tavern is the lineup of Pennsylvania draft microbrews that is regularly available. Lovingly selected by Shannon Jacobs, 10 or more great beers from all corners of the Commonwealth represent some of the best beer around, anywhere. These are backed up with a limited but equally impressive list of bottled beers from Bell’s, Stone, Yards, and others. Jean Bonnet also has a mug club for the dedicated drinker. Upstairs are four nice bedrooms for the weary traveler (reveler?) that provide an inviting place to conclude an evening’s visit. I was fortunate to spend some time with Melissa Jacobs during my visit and got a tour of the building as well as some company during my meal. Based on her fine hospitality, I am sure that a stay for dinner or lodging at the Jean Bonnet Tavern will be a super experience for anyone. Although you can see the facility on the south side of the turnpike, it sits at the intersection of Rtes. 31 and 30 and is right near the intersection of Rtes. 30 and 56. They maintain a very informative website which is worth visiting before your actual visit.

(01/14/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great

Establishment: Black Rock Brewing Company, Wilkes-Barre, PA

Stopped in over Thanksgiving weekend. 8 Beers, all really good. Cuvee de Rock is outstanding. Rock on!

(12/06/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A Great Great

Establishment: Red Oak Brew Pub, Greensboro, NC

Great lager beers and hospitality! The dunkles was pretty good and the freshnesss of the Red Oak made it a winner at M'Coul's. The light was OK.

(10/30/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Johnstown Brewing Company, Johnstown, PA

This place has fabulous potential. Set on the side of a hill with a wonderful view, this former country club building was way larger than I expected. It has a great vistas from outside and in, two floors, lots of room, and neat but not overwrought ambience. Abounding in steelworking and flood memorabilia, it's a great place to get a beer with a good meal. The day I showed up, Brain was working his tail off cooking up their first batch of beer. I did spend some time chatting with Ralph who is extremely optimistic about their future. It looks like they have all the ingredients; now on with the beer!

(08/30/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Bube's Brewery, Mount Joy, PA

Stopped in the other night to see what was going on. Only had the Hefe and Brown Ale of their own beers on tap. The Brown was very nice. Glad to see it after some variation in quality over the past few months.

(08/30/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Lancaster Brewing Company, Lancaster, PA

Folks, it's very much the end of the line on this season's Doppelbock. Get out there right now to get some of this truely wonderful beer, it'll be gone by the end of the week. It is rich tasting but not heavy, well balanced and very dry. Most doppels are on the sweet side and sometimes cloyingly so. This one was one of the best ever, going back to the original style of 4 years ago. If they're out of that, get an inch of Warmer and the rest Brown. It's a great blend.

(04/06/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Good Good

Establishment: Doc Holliday's Steakhouse and Saloon, Lancaster, PA

Mike - Sounds like you had a bad trip. I've only eaten there a few times; the last this July. I had a hell of a porterhouse and the service was decent. The rest of our party enjoyed their food, too. Maybe you need to get ahold of the Keares family directly to vent.

(02/08/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Ellicott Mills Brewing Company, Ellicott City, MD

Sometimes the service on the Ground floor can be maddeningly slow. I was there this past Wednesday and the Barmaid seemed determinedly oblivious. Things much better downstairs with Tim.

(01/25/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Bryan Street Pub, Drexel Hill, PA

How do I get a job application?

(01/25/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Yuengling, Pottsville, PA

During a recent Flyers visit, I made a beeline to the second floor Yuengling pavilion and guess what? No "Chet"! B&T, Lager, and -Light! You guys need to get with it and give a tip o' the hat to the products that kept the lights on during the middle of the last century. A glass of fresh Chesterfield would give the micro product downstairs a run for its money.

(01/20/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A N/A Great

Establishment: Red Bell Brewery and Pub, Philadelphia, PA

They had a pisner on tap during my 11 Jan visit and it was real good. Good pilseners are so hard to find and there it was. Cherry stout also still kicken'.

(01/20/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Good Great Great

Establishment: McKenzie Brew House, Glen Mills, PA

Finally got in here after a trip to Philly to see the Flyers. It's very easy to get to with plenty of parking. They had eight beers from light to dark and one Begian stlye. They were all well made and I enjoyed the Stout the most. We had a pizza and calzone which were real good. Definitely worth a visit when tooling along Route 1.

(01/20/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Sly Fox Brewhouse and Eatery, Phoenixville, PA

Interesting dialogue! Santini; check out the Steg in lieu of the Yuengling.

(01/07/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Third and Spruce Cafe, West Reading, PA

I recently stopped in here after dropping off the CPU at Gateway for hard drive service. I needed a beer! The selection was pretty decent; the standout being the Young's Double Chocolate Stout. This beer is quite a mouthful. I remember getting loose as a goose at the Spruce 20 some years ago when this was sort of a neighborhood dive ( I could walk there). What a change. I also tried the Fancy Pants Pub Ale and Black and Tan. These were pretty good, the B&T in particular. Check this place out; the selection isn't as lovingly prepared as the NE Taproom but the hours are more user friendly.

(01/04/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Growlers was Summit Station Restaurant and Brewery, Gaithersburg, MD

A friend and I popped in for a session this week and we were both impressed. I had a brief opportunity to talk to Joe and he is quite a character. He wanted to taste me to some beer and asked me what I liked. Since I am always on the prowl for good pilsner, that's how I responded. This elicited a colloquial but unprintable comment and I made do with my standard second choice; whatever is on the cask. The cask pale was very nice, by the way. Standouts were the stout-very rich and smooth and the ales. We split the pizza special, which was very tasty. We were lucky enough to exploit the happy hour pint price and walked out full and happy with a minimal expenditure. Tuesdays also offers the opportunities for a reasonably priced big mug. All in all a very pleasant visit we hope to repeat. Parking can be a little dicey so you may have to walk a bit but it’s a nice downtown neighborhood.

(12/19/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Mystic Brew Pub and Restaurant, Temple, PA

Bad news, folks. I stopped in on the way back from a party in Pricetown today. Or tried to stop in, the place looked a little quiet. Terry finally answered the door and sadly told me that they shut down the previous Sunday. Seems like they couldn't attract a finer dining crowd. Too many folks looking wings and lite. He said they may be able to pull it together in the future but he wasn't optimystic. I got here twice and liked the beers. The one dinner I had was outstanding; ostrich steak. It was over a year ago but Terry remembered me. RIP

(12/13/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Lancaster Brewing Company, Lancaster, PA

Wow,what a Firkin Friday! An amazing Imperial Porter appeared on cask as well as a newly tapped Belgian dubbel. Winter is definitely here in Lancaster.

(12/07/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Lancaster Brewing Company, Lancaster, PA

Winter Warmer now on; I was lucky enough to get it after only a couple hours on tap. Remarkably smooth, deceptively strong. A very tasty batch.

(12/05/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So Good Good Good

Establishment: Wild Magnolia Cafe, Greensboro, NC

It looks like the number of taps has fallen way off since previous reviewers' visits. One patron indicated it's only been in the last month or so that it's happened. The bartender indicated that the beers weren't moving and 3 or 4 dozen taps were too many to maintain. Red Oak the only micro on.

(12/02/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Liberty Steakhouse, High Point, NC

I liked this place a lot. The decor is warm and inviting and it is a nice looking building. The beers were all good with the porter being the standout. They also had a delicious cream soda that was worth having with dinner. Everyone in my party had steak and all were prepared well and tasted great. The crab/blue cheese topped filet is a killer! I had a brief tour of the works but didn't get a chance to meet the brewer. It's a bit of a drive from Greensboro but definitely worth a stop if in Highpoint.

(12/02/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Victory Brewing Company, Downingtown, PA

Stopped in very recently for a sampler; Pils, Fest, Storm, and Horizontal. A very tasty selection. I'm not a big fan of Octoberfest beers but this year I tried a bunch. Even Lancaster put up a good one. The Victory was the most flavorful of all, imports included. I am convinced that some (a lot) of the best beer in the world is being brewed from northern Virginia right up through central Pennsylvania and Victory is a big piece of it.

(11/25/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great So So N/A N/A Good

Establishment: Red Oak Brew Pub, Greensboro, NC

I had this beer in a couple of places in Greenboro. It's good to find Lager Houses to drink from. The Dunkles was an interesting flavor but the Lager was fun, too. I'm glad they have gotten into the local market.

(11/23/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Carolina Beer Company, Mooresville, NC

I tried this beer in the Charlotte airport. The Brown was available in a kiosk in the center of the mall. It was a little on the sweet side but with decent body. The Carolina Blond was on Tap in a couple places but I didn't get to it.

(11/23/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Yuengling, Pottsville, PA

Like hops? Try the Chesterfield. I just got back from Greensboro NC and found Yuengling on tap in most every place I went. The demand from students from the Northeast at UNC required the beer suppliers to get it.

(11/21/2002)


Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ 4 ] [ 5 ] [ ALL ]













(0.146 seconds) 14:15:36 54.83.227.6, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS