PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from beer island
Other Reviews by this User
 
April 19, 2014 @ 08:25 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By
beer island

Beer Reviews
(7)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






no
user
photo

7
Beer Reviews from beer island
   
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great
Great Great Great Great

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Awesome! Good Good Good

Establishment: Dr. Dremo's Taphouse, Arlington, VA

I decided to take a trip down the rabbit hole and visit one of my favorite haunts of the mid '90s. Bardo Rodeo was like a constant frat party; lot's of young folks whooping it up, fueled by a very decent selction of beer dispensed through 100 taps or so. There even was the permanent faint odor of stale, spilled beer to add to the authenticity. I was in the neighborhood this week so I thought I would stop in to see the latest incarnation. Aside from being the oldest person in the bar, and there was a decent crowd for a Monday night, it was much as I recall. Shenandoah still makes the 7 house beers which start at $4/pint and go up from there. I tried the Mountain Beast Ale and the Porter. Both had off tastes; given some of the reviews below, I'm not sure if it was the beer or the dispense system. When I saw the serve pour a small amount of the porter, then sniff it; I should have got the message right there. I suspect both beers could have been pretty good in the best possible circumstances. Given the amount of American Industrial Light beer being served, i'm not too sure many patrons will care. I had a black bean quesadilla that was pretty good, I was certainly hungry. Anyway, this is a facility that has the heritage and the capability to climb back into the upper echelons. Hopefully, they'll do it. Worth keeping an eye on.

(02/16/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Good Great Great Great

Establishment: Thoroughbreds Grill and Brewing, Leesburg, VA

WOW !! I was very impressed with this facility and had a great visit. I had driven up from Manassas late in the afternoon on the spur of the moment and found it very easy to get to on the east side of town from the Rte. 7 Bypass. Thoroughbreds is situated in the ground floor of an office building with an outdoor sitting area that might be pretty nice in better weather. The dining room is separated from the bar area by the kettle and lautering tun, giving both areas a cozy feel. As I walked into the bar area, I ran into beer drinking friend Tom Cizauskas who was chatting with the Brew Master, Dean Lake. Dean had extensive experience with Old Dominion right down the road and the quality of his beers shows. I got a tour of the brewing plant which is compact but very capable. Dean said he has to brew early in the morning as not to disturb his office neighbors so I was lucky to bump into him at that time. Thoroughbreds is one of the very few brewpubs in the country that serves quality pilsner and handpull beer at the same time which is a combination that completely won me over. The pils is outstanding with great flavor and balance. I also had a glass of the porter which is a fresh, rich, toasty brew without being a load. A hefe, pale, IPA, and a barleywine rounded out the taps. The handpull was the IPA blended with a bit of barleywine that was an extremely interesting but substantial beer. All in all, the quality of the beers was excellent and this should be a stop on all serious beer drinking jaunts through northern VA. Check it out!

(02/08/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Good Good

Establishment: Swashbuckler Brewing Company Limited, Manheim, PA

I'm glad I finally got a chance to get in here for an extended session. Due to a knee injury, I wasn't up for a lot of walking and shopping, more like sitting and sipping. I had a nice chat with Tom who was holding forth in the works. I was impressed with the size of the operation. On Labor Day, they were pouring IPA, Stout, Amber, Red, and Lager. I was impressed with the lager and the stout was a mouthful. The IPA was hoppy and full bodied. Swashbuckler has definitely upped the ante since the Summy House days. Some folks may think $4.75 is a little stiff for less that a pint (plastic cup) but it's in line with the overall environment. Check it out.

(09/08/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Good Great

Establishment: Cobblestones, York, PA

I'm glad this place is in York. They are not entirely adventurous with their beer selection but an excellent representation of Pennsylvania brews. They have always had a decent sampler deal as well. It's a bit like drinking in an airplane hanger except for the billion or so TVs. They do have NTN for those of you who like a little external competition with their brew. Parking is never a problem, either. Keep on keepin' on...

(06/10/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Mahaffey's Pub, Baltimore, MD

The SPBW recently descended on Mahaffey's and had a great evening of beer drinking. The staff was outstanding in spite of the crowd and the beers were excellent. One of the best "locals" I've ever been in.

(05/20/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Rocky Run Tap and Grill, Columbia, MD

It certainly seems that this establishment is not high on everyone's list. Several of the reviewers below I greatly respect, particularly ADM4, so my two cents need to be stacked up against the gereral consensus. Anyway,here goes. I rather like Rocky Run, however, for certain specific engagements. I have been there a number of times for happy hour in the past month and have enjoyed a stout/pale ale mix while munching on peanuts and playing NTN Trivia. That's it. The other beers aren't real good and they all are somewhat expensive at non-happy hour prices. The stout has a reasonable heft and decent taste and the ale perks it up a bit. I have never met the brewer and I get a kick at looking at the dents in the tanks. I'm not sure what I'll do when the really hot weather comes around, probably migrate to a different venue. So there you are, things can't be all bad even when you think so.

(04/30/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Lancaster Brewing Company, Lancaster, PA

13 beers on tap this weekend! Every tap was pouring something, including the handpump - and no weak spots in the line up. Great job, guys!

(04/24/2004)














(0.067 seconds) 20:25:59 54.242.249.240, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS