PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from beer island
Other Reviews by this User
 
November 21, 2014 @ 12:14 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By
beer island

Beer Reviews
(22)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






no
user
photo

22
Beer Reviews from beer island
   
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great
Great Great Great Great

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great So So N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Swashbuckler Brewing Company Limited, Manheim, PA

Nick, did they have the Pyrate cider on tap? I got some at John J. Jeffries at the Lancaster Arts Hotel a couple weeks back. Very Tasty.

(11/11/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Gettysbrew, Gettysburg, PA

Looks like Paris wants 50 characters so I will comply.

Several phone calls resulted in rapid busy signal. Called again last night and got "Disconnected" message. Peace at last...

(11/15/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Good Awesome! Great

Establishment: Otto's Pub and Brewery, State College, PA

I had a very positive first visit to Otto's last Sunday. I had been impressed with their beers at several State College Festers but never had the opportunity to stop in. Mike was tending bar and his hospitality definitely helped me enjoy my stay. Seven tap beers, two cask beers is a pretty fair selection in my book. All were really well made with several standouts. I think the Harvest Nittany Ale was wet hopped; it sure had an intense floral thing going on. Nitro pour stout was very good; Russian Imp stout on the cask was also nice, maybe a tad alcoholic. The Helles and the Pils were also notable. Now that I have a son matriculated at PSU, it shouldn't be too tough to swing around for a few on the way out of town. I highly recommend to all.

(10/11/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Great Good

Establishment: Abbey Wright Brewing at the Valley Inn, Duboistown, PA

Stopped in on the way up to Potter Co and is wasn't too far off the beaten track. We ate in the "new" room which is all wood (even the bathrooms) and very interesting looking. The beers are decent, the porter probably the best and the food was fine. The addition of a brewery to a well established facility is a good move, I think these folks are committed to making a go of it. We'll have to check in later in the year for an update.

(09/17/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A N/A Great

Establishment: Stoudt's Brewing Company, Adamstown, PA

I had the Double IPA at a taphouse in Maryland. I thought it was kind of rough and not very drinkable. At 10%, I was expecting a challenge but this item is way below their usual great standards.

(04/13/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Bryan Street Pub, Drexel Hill, PA

I'm glad I made it before the BSP went down the tubes...

(12/15/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Appalachian Brewing Company, Harrisburg, PA

Leffers?

(12/15/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Bryan Street Pub, Drexel Hill, PA

I finally got the opportunity to see this place firsthand, after all the buildup below. It definitely has a waterhole look, both inside and out. At around 5:00PM on a weekday, it was the province of the middle aged caucasian male, including the bartender, nothing exciting here. Guinness should have been available and had to do with Sam's Summer. There was a dance area off to the side. On the whole, shabby and crapped out.

(09/24/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A N/A Great

Establishment: Lancaster Brewing Company, Lancaster, PA

Hop Hog tasted real good out at the ballpark last night.

(06/16/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Great Great

Establishment: Sweetwater Tavern, Merrifield, VA

SW Merrifield put an Imperial Stout on early in the month. This is a Big, Big, beer; rollicking in at over 10%. Genuine Russian Imperial flavor and tending toward the bitter side but still very drinkable and an excellent accompaniment to the chipotle/lime seared scallops. Well worth the visit. They also had a very nice Wit and a Dark Lager "Mexican" style on tap as well. Food and service were outstanding. HOWEVER-

This facility does not take reservations and is ALWAYS crowded (I wish I had a microscopic piece of the action here!). They do have a call ahead service so you can find out what the wait is and be in the front of the line when you show up. Parking can also be a drag but there's a cluster of popular restaurants right next door so it's always a battle to be near SW's entrance. Take all this into consideration so you are not disappointed by your visit.

(05/22/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: DuClaw Brewing Company, Baltimore, MD

Beav, You get to B-More more than I do, which is a lot!

(03/11/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Brewer's Art, Baltimore, MD

Sandy - It takes some guts describing the situation here as "same ol', same ol'" -- Beer Island

(03/05/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Great Great

Establishment: Rams Head Tavern, Savage, MD

Tried the brand new Slam Dunkel last week, very nice! Rich malty brew, slightly sweet - great with oysters.

(02/19/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Max's on Broadway, Fells Point/Baltimore, MD

Beav-Let's get together some Tuesday eve - beerisland@hotmail.com

(02/19/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Cobblestones, York, PA

Beav - We'll have to arrange a session some time!

(01/24/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A So So

Establishment: Bryan Street Pub, Drexel Hill, PA

This place continues to intrigue. One of these nights, I'll have to stop in and see what all the fuss is about. I hope I can get a good beer while observing all the action.

(01/24/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Good Good

Establishment: Bube's Brewery, Mount Joy, PA

Stopped in a week ago to see what was happening and tried all five. They were all pretty decent with the stout and ipa leading the way. I didn't have any problem with service. Looking forward to gettin back for a more extended session.

(01/24/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Great Great

Establishment: Royal Mile Pub, Wheaton, MD

I was having a lousy commute around the beltway and recalled that some of the regulars at Max's had recommended this place. I found it without too much trouble and had an extremely pleasant visit. The beer selection is pretty decent, the Scotch broth really hit the spot, and Jimmy was a very gracious host. Check it out sometime.

(01/21/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great N/A Good Good

Establishment: Eldos Grill and Brewery, San Francisco, CA

My brother in law and I stopped in for a quick sampler the Monday after Christmas. They had 8 beers on tap and the complete roundup was only $4 which I think is a pretty decent deal. They are making some true lagers, which is a welcome change to the rigors of west coast ale. They had a pils which was well balanced, maybe a little on the malty side. IPA was a little confused but the standard pale was very nice. The barleywine was typical of the style but I have a hard time with those beers, even in the coldest of climates. I liked the porter in particular, very toasty and extremely drinkable. The brewer, Joe Agrillo, happened to be sitting next to me and the bartender introduced us. He was also drinking the porter! Joe said Eldos is still running the 15 barrel Liquid Assets system inherited from Golden Gate and he is very comfortable with it. Joe has brewed in a number of places around the west coast (for such a young guy!) and I think he'll do well there. It's a nice facility in a bustling residential neighborhood and should make a go of it. As my in laws live just up the hill, I hope to make it in there agin some time. Have fun !

(01/06/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Lancaster Brewing Company, Lancaster, PA

LBC has climbed on the lupulus bandwagon with the new IPA Hop Hog. While not the heftiest item around, it's well balanced and refreshing and should show better in the warmer months. The hop component is pretty hefty and represents the final repudiation of LBC's roots; they didn't name themselves Lancaster MALT Brewing for nothing! I've been looking for the return of the Baltic but the Munich Dunkles has enough of that excellent porter's character that I might be able to get through the winter with it.

(12/18/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Saranac / F.X. Matt Brewing Company, Utica, NY

Folks, it appears as though F. X. Matt has discontinued production of the low carb Accel beer. As low carbs go, this was the best, by far, and it's a shame more folks didn't go for it. It got a pretty decent BA rating so I wasn't the only bloke that thought so. I guess those who must, must get their waterbeer somewhere else.

(11/30/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Rocky Run Tap and Grill, Columbia, MD

Ha Ha !

(10/29/2004)














(0.258 seconds) 12:14:13 54.166.101.170, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS